Dermablend • Cover Creme - Cream • Concealers

rated 3.7(216 reviews)

Average Rating.3.7
Would buy this product again.68%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Hawko on 5/8/2011 11:04:00 AM more reviews by Hawko

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

This is my current favourite, I played with Dermablend a few yearsback & did not like it, mainly because I couldn't find a good colour-match. Now I have found a good match & I am putting this as good as my Cle de Peau cream fdn (in a square jar; now discontinued).
The Canadian version of Dermablend, I believed, was bought out by Vichy, which is made in France, and the colour classifiction is different from the US. version, and it comes in a tiny 6 gm. size at $25 (can't quite remember).
I bought the G34 and G 56 for my NC 30-40 skin, depending on the time of year.
However, I found the US. version available from skinstore and it comes in 1 oz, almost 4 time as much product as the Canadian version for $5 more. Ironically, the US. version is made in Canada, but I cannot find that in any Canadian store. Yellow beige & golden beige is equivalent to G34 and G 56. The spatula is used to scrape (shave) off a small amount of the product to be deposit on the back of your hand in order to soften it before putting on the face.
It didn't work for me a few years back (about 10 yrs) because silicone primer was not popular, the twos are a perfect couple, you can mix in the 2 together before putting on the face. I can thin it out as much as I want with the primer, and keep layering it until I achieved the coverage I wanted, because the product is such a blessing, even if I use a bit more, its virtually undetectable, under natural, or strong sunlight, I checked with 2 mirrors at a 90 degree angle & its undetectable.
Face it, if I was given a cup of coffee, too strong for my liking, I can add more milk, or cream, or water, or more sugar, so if I get a fdn that doesn't suit me, I tweak it, you can do so, pre-mix a small amount in a small jar, simple as that, easier than whining.

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* claragonz on 4/26/2011 8:35:00 AM more reviews by claragonz

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Tan   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I recently got into Dermablend after watching a lot of videos on youtube. This is a superb product! This is one foundation I will always have. You don't need to use a separate concealer with this. This cream really does a great job of covering all flaws. I think the key to not looking cakey is finding the right shade. Application can be a bit tricky because of it's thick consistency. You have to really blend. I got lucky because I ordered online, and Caramel Beige matched my skin tone perfectly. (For reference: Mac NC40-42)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* lusciouspreciousluv on 4/24/2011 8:09:00 PM more reviews by lusciouspreciousluv

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Other    

I've been using this for 5 years now. It covers everything I need it to from acne marks to under the eyes and freckles. I'm an NC20 warm undertones and Warm Ivory is a good match. The 1oz jar will last you FOVEVER. I haven't bothered trying any other concealer and I'll find any excuse to try new things! Best of all, it stays put all day long on my very oily skin. (It may be drying for normal/dry skin.)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Nuni2011 on 4/2/2011 3:37:00 PM more reviews by Nuni2011

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Sensitive, Medium Brown, Cool   Hair: Black, Kinky, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

This is the best foundation I have ever worn. It stays on all day (even through Track practice) and covers up my (many) acne scars. The price is reasonable, though I'm used to buying drugstore brands. I also love that it's hypoallergenic (can't go wrong there). My one complaint is that without setting cream it rubs off :(

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Katinthecorner on 3/31/2011 9:14:00 AM more reviews by Katinthecorner

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Other   Eyes: Blue    

I have freakishly pale skin. (NC15, though I think an NC10 would be closer if it existed) I am pretty much clear. So I need a foundation that can cover dark cirlces, veins, capillaries, and NOT look like I'm wear a pound of foundation, cake into my pores, and make me look like I'm wearing a mask.

I'm going to start by saying this product has a learning curve. I'm no makeup novice by any means, but after about 5 applications I'm still working the kinks out of my process. It's not the easiest foundation I've ever used, but I think it's worth the effort for the quality of coverage. That's why I gave it a 4 not a 5. It would be nice it if was a little easier to deal with, but as a woman who applies primer/mascara in a 4 step 10 minute process so it's "just right", a little extra work doesn't phase me in the slightest....

That being said, once you get the hang of this product, it is genius! You get a lot of coverage with VERY little make up. I'm always trying to get the most effect out of the least makeup, so something that makes me look flawless after a couple pats? I'm on board.

I use Too Faced Primed and Poreless, then some MAC Studio Tint moisturizer for areas that don't need a lot of coverage. Then I apply, with a super light hand, to my forehead, nose, cheeks, chin, and undereye with a damp make up sponge. Dust with MUFE HD powder, and I'm perfect. Flawless skin, but you can only tell I'm wearing make up if you get about 3 inches away.

I'd like to say I'll buy this again, but since I use sooooo little, and the tub is huge, I probably won't have to replace it for at least 5 or 6 years....

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* kinonyc on 2/3/2011 8:29:00 PM more reviews by kinonyc

Age: 44-55   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I'm using Dermablend because I had cervical spine surgery last summer. It leaves you with a big scar at the front of your neck, so that scar must be covered. At first when the saleslady put it on me in the store, I was really disappointed but I thought, basically, I guess I have no choice. When I went home I read the application instructions, and put it on differently. She put on layer after layer of cover creme followed by powder and it looked kind of like a mess. The instructions say to just do one layer (or more, but not you have to do a lot of layers) and then to set it with the powder for 2 minutes. Somehow the powder makes the pasty cover-up into a velvety skin-like texture. I wish I hadn't had to get this scar in the first place but now I have it, Dermablend has been a godsend. (The only reason I say I would not buy this again is because I an't imagine I will ever use up the whole tub.)

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 princezzdee on 12/30/2010 10:49:00 PM more reviews by princezzdee

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Other, Fair   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Ok so i buy this product thinking it will magically make my scar on my face not noticable. Oh boy i sure was wrong. I had so much high hopes for Dermablend's Cover Creme. When the lady at Ulta put it on me I was so dissapponted. It looks excatlly as if i do my own foundation compeltley the same. So Im still looking for my magical conceler that will hide everything. Sadly I guess it does not exsit.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* jmp24 on 12/5/2010 10:21:00 PM more reviews by jmp24

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Brown    

This stuff is the best. Covers everything, including black tattoos. Waterproof, stays on till you take it off. Can be used all over the body, which is what I bought it for.

I don't really need concealer on my face, except maybe to cover up a few little sun spots or the occasional broken blood vessel. I know if I put this on in the morning, set it with a little translucent powder, and I am covered for the day. It's very thick so if you do use it for around or under the eyes, use it sparingly. I usually take a dab and warm it up on my palm before applying, to make it smoother to apply. A little goes a very long way, for my needs, one jar lasts YEARS. Seriously.

I also recently started using it on my eyelids as a primer, and even tested it by using a few different brands of eye shadow primer on one lid and Dermablend on the other....and the Dermablend did just as well.

A little pricey, but worth it, just make sure you go somewhere where they have a good selection of samples. The first time I got this I bought the wrong color, too dark, and it was awful.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 aalienlady on 12/5/2010 7:28:00 PM more reviews by aalienlady

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Very Dry, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Brown    

I have used this product for over 25 years. I have natural dark circles. Now I am old with uneven facial tones and I guess a few age spots.

This has always been a miracle worker for me. 24 years ago, when I was a guest on the Geraldo Show and also Phil Donahue Show... both shows make-up artists had the "Palates" of every shade imaginable for the different ethnic people they must have to do make up on daily.

They did not have to even touch up my make-up. They said it was PERFECT! I used Dermablend before I got on the plane to fly to NY. My make-up was still fresh looking - like new when I arrived many hours later.

As for remover for the make up... BABY OIL will do the trick! I have been using that for years and years. It will remove any grease base make up, as well as "water proof eye make up."

Like many people have said in their reviews... you need as close to perfect a match as possible. Not too WHITE... Not too Yellow... Not too PINK. If you dabble into any one of those shades and it is not in your skin tone... it will be an OMG moment and you will despise the stuff!

If you spend a small fortune on the stuff at a store like Macey's or JC Penny's and the sales girl leads you astray because she only carries a few shades and forces the wrong color on you... bring it back and demand to see the Supervisor of the WHOLE STORE... not the Dept. Supervisor. Raise Cain and get your money back!

I found my match and I LOVE IT!

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 truckerswife2009 on 11/2/2010 4:40:00 PM more reviews by truckerswife2009

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Brown    

this is really heavy. it doesnt cover all day. i seem to need to reapply after a couple hours. its supposed to cover like 16 hours.

i ended up getting something else.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Dermablend products

More Concealers products