Giorgio Armani Luminous Silk Foundation

3.9

1087 reviews

64% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.1

Price: $$$$

Package Quality: 4.1

Price: $$$$

INGREDIENTS

AQUA / WATER CYCLOPENTASILOXANE GLYCERIN ISODODECANE ALCOHOL POLYGLYCERYL-4 ISOSTEARATE ALUMINUM STARCH OCTENYLSUCCINATE CETYL PEG/PPG-10/1 DIMETHICONE HEXYL LAURATE DISTEARDIMONIUM HECTORITE PHENOXYETHANOL ACETYLATED GLYCOL STEARATE MAGNESIUM SULFATE ETHYLHEXYL METHOXYCINNAMATE TRISTEARIN CELLULOSE GUM NYLON-12 LIMONENE BENZYL SALICYLATE LINALOOL DIPHENYL DIMETHICONE ACRYLATES COPOLYMER PARFUM / FRAGRANCE DISODIUM STEAROYL GLUTAMATE METHYLPARABEN BUTYLPARABEN BUTYLPHENYL METHYLPROPIONAL ALUMINUM HYDROXIDE HEXYL CINNAMAL [ /- MAY CONTAIN CI 77891 / TITANIUM DIOXIDE CI 77492, CI 77499, CI 77491 / IRON OXIDES CI 77007 / ULTRAMARINES MICA


on 12/11/2014 1:46:00 PM

Age: Unknown

Skin: Other, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

Pros
- Color match is ok/average. Not the best, not the worst. I am #3.75, although I imagine I could also try the lighter shade. I am not very satisfied with the color match though.
- Isn't drying/doesn't feel bad on the skin (comparing this directly to the foundation I was using previously the MakeUpForever Matte, which is very drying/matte)
- Finish is alright - not dewy to the point that if you have oily skin you can't use it, but also not as drying as matte foundations can sometimes be

Cons
- Coverage is not the greatest
- Not very long lasting

Overall an average foundation in my experience. Not the best, not the worst. I am on the fence about it. But I am just not crazy about this foundation. I would recommend you try it for yourself. I personally would not buy this foundation.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.



on 12/10/2014 2:36:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Other, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

Words cannot describe how much I love this foundation! Have tried all the usual suspects - Laura Mercier silk creme, nars sheer glow, Illamasqua skin base, Dior Airflash etc and non even compare to this! I have oily skin and find that I am shining like a disco ball after a few hours of wearing other foundations. Not so with this! It is a medium coverage foundation with a lovely dewy finish. Really really love it!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 12/8/2014 12:10:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Straight, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

Received a sample of this. Was interested in purchasing but the foundation just didn't work with my skin. I have dry sensitive acne prone skin (normal to oily t-zone)

As soon as I applied this, the foundation accentuated flakes and made the texture of my skin look worse... It also accentuated my face hairs.. Not sure how that worked but it did. Just didn't look good at all. I moisturized twice and primed my face prior to foundation application so the foundation had more than enough moisture to work with. The shade match was good; 5.75. BUT the foundation does have alcohol listed in the ingredients which could be drying.

I'm glad I didn't purchase the full size product. I do see this working for normal to oily skin.

For reference: NC25-30, MUFE F&B 32, Dior Star 021 Linen, YSL TE BD50, Chanel Vitalumiere 010

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 12/2/2014 10:00:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Medium Brown, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown


I just love this foundation. It looks very natural and yet gives me the coverage I need. After a long difficult search for the perfect foundation, I have finally found the right one.


on 11/28/2014 11:01:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I have been wearing this foundation for almost a year now. Here is what I have noticed about it:
-Color selection is very confusing, it took me a few visits to find the right shade. I have a light to medium skin tone and I have settled on 5.25 which has reddish undertones. I tried 5.5 and it looked fantastic upon application but oxidized to a very dark brown which looked awful. I also tried 5.75 which is too golden.
-Is not made for people with oily skin- only dry/normal otherwise it is too glossy because it is very moisturizing
-Medium/full coverage, lasts all day
-Will NOT cause breakouts (one of the few liquid foundations with no pore clogging ingredients)
-After a few hours it can oxidize leaving your skin with a slight yellow/red/brown undertone depending on the shade you buy
-Looks gorgeous in photographs

I have tried a zillion different foundations because I have sensitive skin and am prone to breakouts and I love this one. It would be perfect if there was no oxidation, but I have settled for now as the pros outweigh the cons.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 11/27/2014 1:32:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This is my favourite foundation so far. Glides on, medium coverage, as the name suggests makes my skin look silly soft. However product is very expensive so I try not to use it daily. It is also one of very few foundations that don't cause breakouts.


on 11/20/2014 3:59:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Absolutely love this foundation however I couldn't find my shade properly.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 11/17/2014 8:14:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I so wanted to love this foundation but sadly it does not seem to work for me. I have combination skin which veers towards oily and I know which products work for me e.g Double Wear Light amongst others. I had read that this is fine for oilier skins but I don't believe that is true. I think a foundation at this price should work well enough without a primer if it really is ok for oily skins but it leaves me incredibly shiny after just a few hours. Also when you look closely it sits oddly on the skin, it can highlight pores and even any facial hair which none of my other foundations do! I can imagine that this leaves a lovely dewy finish on drier skins but please try this out before you buy, there are many other foundations out there which are just as good if not better.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Age: 25-29

Skin: Normal, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

OVERPRICED.


on 11/8/2014 12:23:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Oily, Olive, Warm

Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

Nice medium coverage, not as natural and beautiful as finish i get with Vitalumiere aqua. Staying power: after 5 hours it begins to melt, after 8 hours in the office - almost all is melted. Primer, powder, finishing spray - nothing helps. I have normal skin. Conclusion: Due to the bad staying power not worth the price I paid. For 63 EUR (cca 75 usd) i paid for it I expect to get more.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Video Reviews & Tutorials

MAC Glitter Makeup Tutorial by Only Wafa



Top Rated Giorgio Armani Products

image

Black Code

49 reviews
Back to Top