Giorgio Armani • Luminous Silk Foundation • Liquid

rated 3.9(1034 reviews)

Average Rating.3.9
Would buy this product again.64%
Ingredients


rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* amyers2 on 4/27/2014 12:56:00 AM more reviews by amyers2

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I'm really undecided on this foundation. And really, if you're paying close to sixty dollars for a foundation - you should know whether or not you like it.

Pros - glowy, does not feel heavy or mask like on face, nice range of color matches (I'm pale with yellow undertones - a lot of foundations are either far too light or too orange), the packaging (bottle with pump).

Cons - sinks into pores, clings to dry patches, foundation wears off on the oily sections on my face (at the end of the day I can see where it has worn off on my nose), it does oxidize slightly.

Bottom line: i like the texture - it's lightweight and it does make skin look glowy and luminous. It's the perfect foundation for in between light and medium coverage and the coverage is buildable. However, this is foundation for my good skin days. It does require a primer to last for the majority of the day and even then it does wear off. Proper moisterization and exfoliation are necessary in order for skin to work with this foundation. I would expect these kind of set backs from lower end foundations, but not for a high end product.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 amerific on 4/23/2014 6:45:00 PM more reviews by amerific

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

I love this foundation! One bottle lasted me over a year. I have yellow undertones and freckles and this looks natural on me. I don't break out with this. It doesn't look cakey and is buildable. I usually stick to all MAC products but when they discontinued the Hyperreal foundation yeaaars ago, I've been trying to find a luminous foundation. Mixed with a bit of GA fluid sheer this is absolutely amazing.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 rosepetalears on 4/18/2014 7:42:00 PM more reviews by rosepetalears

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Before I get into any details let me state the harsh truth about this foundation (for me): this would absolutely be my holy grail foundation...if it didn't make me break out in closed comedones wherever I put it :(((

It first came to my attention when Lisa Eldridge mentioned Luminous Silk in her favorite foundations video. I usually have pretty oily skin, but I just moved to a cold place in the fall, after living in south Florida all my life. My oily skin was experiencing winter! And seasons! It wasn't that oily in sub-zero temps, so I decided to try out a glowy/luminous foundation. This got Lisa's stamp of approval, and after much research to find my shade (#4, a perfect match), I bought some sample packets off eBay.

Sample packets in my possession, I applied the foundation--which is quite thin and liquidy--with my fingers. And OMG--my skin looked so nice!!! Lisa was right!!! Also despite the light consistency, GALSF can be built up to medium coverage. Skin imperfections I have are some few pimples and quite a lot, but very faded, post-inflammatory hyperpigmentation, and it covered the latter quite well! I still spot-concealed select areas, but I accept that with any foundation. It also wore well throughout the day.

And then, the honeymoon phase passed. Around 2 and half weeks later, I noticed a whole bunch of small flesh-colored bumps (closed comedones) all over my cheeks (where I usually apply GALSF). I keep up a pretty consistent chemical exfoliation routine because I'm so prone to CC and clogged pores, so I was pretty frickin frustrated. SInce this was the only new thing I added to my face, and I wore it at least every other day, Luminous Silk had to be the culprit.

Then I came across Dive14's review of GALSF here on MUA, and they stated it did indeed have some highly comedogenic ingredients. (Check out the review! Mad props to Dive14.) My skin is sooooo sensitive to comedogenic ingredients. Like, I do not products with coconut oil derivatives or algae extract with a ten-foot pole. So yeah.

This stupid beautiful product is really good if you can tolerate comedogenic stuff. Well, I also presume it wouldn't hold up in extreme humidity, but I tested it on oily skin during 20 degree F winter.
mrrrghhmmmmhrr

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Infinitize on 4/13/2014 4:48:00 PM more reviews by Infinitize

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I love the packaging of Giorgio Armani's foundations.. its honestly what draws me in to buy them

Colors are great. they have just the right amount of yellow for my skin. #3 is a great match for my skin (I use #31 in Guerlain Lingerie de peau, Dior nude in 011, etc). Love that its not orange.

texture is lovely. very light weight. that blends in seamlessly.

Its not as bad as their maestro fusion foundations, but there is a minor accentuating of the pores and dry patches..
the coverage it self is pretty light.. its not sheer, but its not a full medium either.

the turn off for me was how this foundation felt on my skin after a few hours. I've never had a foundation or product in general that made my face feel as suffocated as this one. It's hard to describe.. but it just felt like I was wearing a thin mask that didn't let my skin breath in a very hot and humid weather... (on 10 degrees Celsius and dry climate day where I live)
it also oxidizes into a crazy color. very unflattering dark orange color.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 sk90 on 4/8/2014 10:41:00 PM more reviews by sk90

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I do like that this foundation has many color options to choose from but it is not a good choice for people with oily skin. It makes skin look TOO oily.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 babycatn on 3/26/2014 11:35:00 AM more reviews by babycatn

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Red, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

Love, love, love this foundation! Smooth, creamy, glides on, feels light, does not sit in my pores or lines, but covers my redness from rosacea. Everything I've been wanting in a foundation! I've tried quite a few lately (Lorac, Urban Decay, Dior, Tom Ford) and sent them all back. This is the one! Now my skin looks like it has a beautiful glow! Finally!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Eastend_Snob on 3/24/2014 8:52:00 PM more reviews by Eastend_Snob

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Red, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I rarely wear foundation. Once I outgrew my hormonal teenage years and my skin settled down, I reverted from full coverage foundations to tinted moisturizers. But sometimes it's nice to doll up, especially for dinners, parties and events. My last foundation was Chanel Teint Innocence, which was sadly discontinued, but I really loved the luminous finish it gave my skin. GA LSF is a light to medium coverage foundation, and you can build it up without looking cakey. I love the hygienic pump action bottle (one pump is all I need), and the luxuriously creamy and super blendable formula. I start off in the morning with a "makeup fresh" face and soft powdery look after setting with MUFE loose powder, but by late afternoon it becomes my second skin, and looks more natural and dewey. I highly recommend getting colour matched. Not only is this one of the most expensive foundations on the market to not warrant going home with the wrong colour, but the shade range is not strictly linear. I was matched to 4.5 which is a near perfect match for my skin.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Iana2592 on 3/22/2014 9:45:00 PM more reviews by Iana2592

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Brown    

Love love love no complaints at all.. Gave a beautiful glow to my skin and is medium coverage. You don't have to use too much a little goes a long way. Defo recommend

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 maja1502 on 3/19/2014 6:22:00 PM more reviews by maja1502

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

My skin is very oily and acne prone. I adore this product! Its mattifying, but yet it gives you such a beautyful glow and healthy look.
My holy grail. Soo worth the hype and money.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 ViMaquillage on 3/19/2014 12:47:00 PM more reviews by ViMaquillage

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Tan   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Black    

Just some ref: I'm somewhere around NC37-40 at the moment, I have oily combo skin and suffer from residual acne scars.

GA LSF offers a light-medium coverage and dries to a satin finish which does require some powdering, either by setting or touch ups. I was color matched to 6.25 which is a decent match, it doesn't have too much yellow unlike my previous foundation. I do find that it's not really the best when it comes to oil control, depending on the weather--I do touch up with some powder and continue on with my day.

I'm surprised to say how much I enjoy this foundation, I was hoping not to because of the price. It just looks so natural on the skin but still provides the necessary coverage that I require. I do use my fingers to apply and blend the foundation, then follow it up with my Beauty Blender to give it a final blend(IF necessary). I prefer this over Lancome's Teint Idole Ultra because it doesn't separate on my face by the end of the day and continues to look flawless without the obvious make up look even after touching up with some powder.

It leaves your skin with a glow but not dewy. I do recommend using a primer with SPF as this foundation has none, and as to what brand--that's your preference. I enjoy Philosophy's The Supernatural. GA makes their own primer but I find that to be too silicone-y for my comfort.

Overall, this has knocked out my Lancome foundation that I've been using for years out of its rank. I will definitely repurchase!

I highly recommend testing these out first and try to buy it from Nordstrom as they're more willing when it comes to returns.


    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Giorgio Armani products

More Liquid products