Almay • One Coat Mascara (lengthening) • Mascara

rated 3.7(137 reviews)

Average Rating.3.7
Would buy this product again.67%
Ingredients


rated 3 of 5 caligirl1979 on 6/27/2009 9:38:00 AM more reviews by caligirl1979

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I didn't hate this mascara, but it definitely did not lengthen for me. It's just a basic, fairly mediocre mascara. It dries out really fast. I like the original much better. I haven't tried the triple effect yet though, maybe that will be better.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* melinda_ on 6/20/2009 11:13:00 PM more reviews by melinda_

Age: 36-43   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Other, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I like this product. I like a very natural eyelash look, though. I don't like dramatic eyelashes that are the first thing you notice. I think it takes away from the eye's beauty and can look garish. So, that said, I like this mascara. It looks and feels natural. It doesn't give spider eyes, which I hate.There are no clumps and no unnatural goopiness. I'm lucky to have naturally long lashes, so maybe that's why this is enough for me, I just need some color, because they are brown. I do wish I could find a mascara that actually added volume, but have yet to find one. Basically, if you like a natural look, you should like this. If you like extreme lashes, don't bother, this isn't the mascara for you.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* AuNatural716 on 6/9/2009 11:59:00 PM more reviews by AuNatural716

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This was my very first mascara ever...I believe I used it freshman year of high school and it was very average..didn't do anything really but coat my lashes in a thin layer of black..EXTREMELY mediocre and nowadays I have such standards for mascara so I don't even give this one a second a look....still lookin for my hg mascara...

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* DLYNN on 6/5/2009 2:13:00 AM more reviews by DLYNN

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I began using the waterproof version of Almay One Coat Mascara after an optometrist told me that there was some irritation at the base of the eyelashes, which I wasn't aware I had. Prior to that I had been using Maybelline Great Lash exclusively, but found that toward the end of the day it flaked into my eyes, which must have caused a sensitivity because my eyes began itching toward the end of the day. Almay's mascara does not irritate my eyes and I like the brush better because it is fuller and doesn't produce the dreaded spider effect. It is also easier to wash out with ordinary soap and water compared to Maybelline Great Lash. Because this formula is gentler, I feel that my eyelashes have grown in slightly thicker and healthier over the past year as a result. I do note, like others, that a single coat is not enough, however. I probably apply three or four! After a few hours the freshly applied look does seem to fade. This formula is probably best for someone who wants a natural look and feel in a mascara. Partly this is because this formula does not hold the lashes stiffly in place so it is easy to forget that the mascara is there at all. Almay One Coat Mascara waterproof formula is just as good as Maybelline's Great Lash waterproof formula in the sense that it doesn't run. It is far less likely to flake but it tends to smear a bit. Just the same, I only notice a slight problem with color transfer when I visit the chiropractor and lay face down on the table (a tough test for any mascara :). My last observation is that the contents of the tube do not seem to last as long as the brand I formally preferred. It seems to have less liquid in it but at the same time it isn't very thick or sticky in texture, either. The fact that I find myself replacing it more often is probably for the best though because mascara isn't something you want sitting around month after month. In closing, I will continue to use Almay Once Coat Mascara until I find something that is equally gentle yet holds the lashes a bit more firmly in a fanned out position.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 mistressKC on 6/1/2009 5:01:00 AM more reviews by mistressKC

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight   Eyes: Brown    

It's a good everyday mascara, and it does what it promises - it lengthens your lashes. You won't get that false lashes look here, but you'll get beautifully defined, natural looking lashes. Despite its claims to not smudge, of course it'll smudge some by the end of the day, especially if you have oily skin. A waterproof formula will help with the smudging, but you're really not supposed to wear waterproof mascara everyday.

What else can I say? I really like that it's infused with aloe and vitamin B5 since we hardly ever condition our lashes and just beat them to death with waxy products so that they're curl and make our eyes look more defined. I really like this mascara, so I'm glad that I got this on a limb.

Having good technique will help you avoid clumping while putting the product on.

The price is good too - a good quality mascara, and you're going to get more for your dollar in my opinion.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 officefan on 5/10/2009 12:57:00 AM more reviews by officefan

Age: 19-24   Skin: Other, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Hazel    

All I can say is WOW!!!!!!! What a wonderful mascara. My lashes have never looked longer or more defined. I used to use cover girl exact lash, but recently my eyes began to sting like crazy and I figured out that it was the mascara that I was using. Must have developed an allergy to it or something. I switched to Almay because they are hypoallergenic and my eyes have not stung since!!! No clumps, no flaking, no smearing, and it comes instantly off with a light face wash - I don't care for waterproof brands... I wasn't looking for volume as much as I was length and this mascara does the job beautifully, although it does give some volume as well. Absolutely beautiful results. My HG mascara. Will never switch to anything else. Give it a try, you will not regret it!!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 adriannap on 4/27/2009 6:49:00 PM more reviews by adriannap

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Olive   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

This mascara does clump, but if you apply it on with a little more expertise, it's one of the best drugstore mascaras you can buy. I have really sensitive eyes and it didn't make them water or sting. This mascara isn't for extreme length for a dramatic look, but more of a im-going-to-braid-my-hair-and-put-on-loadsofblush kind of natural lash look. It makes lashes look really pretty and fresh. Also, if you want it to last longer, you're going to need primer on there first because Almay's mascara can't stand long alone.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* cwinter on 4/22/2009 12:27:00 PM more reviews by cwinter

Age: 44-55   Skin: Other   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Other    

An average mascara with a standard brush. Looking for a mascara that offers more. It applies smooth no clumps. Lengthens but won't last more than 2 hours.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 cosmokitten on 2/27/2009 9:21:00 AM more reviews by cosmokitten

Age: 44-55   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Blue    

This mascara is ok. I find the brush to be a little too big and fluffy, not the type of brush that works when you are trying to define every lash. The mascara lenghens your lashes, until it dries. Then it disappears. I use this mascara as a base for my L'Oreal waterproof mascara. I need to use less of the waterproof mascara plus having the Almay underneath it makes it easier to remove. It is definitely less irritating than some mascaras but if you are looking for mascara that use can actually see, buy something else. I would buy it again just to use under my waterproof mascara.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 teaholic on 2/7/2009 2:02:00 PM more reviews by teaholic

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight   Eyes: Black    

i love the brush for this mascara! it separates my eye-lashes very well. i am very surprised this mascara doesn't clump or smudge unlike the other DS brands that claim they do but don't. it also doesn't take too long for it to dry like the maybelline mascaras. it does slightly lengthen my eyelashes and makes it natural as well. not too expensive too and it's usually on sale somewhere.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Almay products

More Mascara products