Almay One Coat Mascara (lengthening)

3.7

141 reviews

67% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.6

Price: $$

Package Quality: 3.6

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS



Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

This mascara is pretty good for a natural look. It's not going to give you really full lashes but it does good if you just want to look fresh.



Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

i went to target and saw this. the main reason it caught my eye was because it came with a bonus eyeliner. i was thinking this was gonna be 7 or 8 dollars guesss how much................5.19!!!!!!!! I WAS LIKE O MY GOD IM GETTING THIS. i was more excited for the eyeliner then mascara but when i tryed them out i loved the mascara but could care less for the eyeliner.
PROS: inexpensive, really lenghening, keeps a little curl, doesnt flake, lasts at least 6 hours or more(didnt really keep track), get alot of product, no clumps.
Cons:nothing absolutly an amazing mascara


on 9/5/2009 2:40:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

This is okay. Have to apply 3 times to give me length. I prefer the Almay one coat thickening.


on 8/2/2009 5:56:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Oily, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Meh. Another boring, do nothing mascara. This mascara adds minimal length but no thickness to lashes. It just defines them slightly. I don't know if I'd call this a mascara, it's a lash 'enhancer' at best. Not worth it even for the dirt cheap price of no more than six bucks a pop.

On the plus side it doesn't flake or smudge on me...but I won't be repurchasing.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 6/27/2009 9:38:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

I didn't hate this mascara, but it definitely did not lengthen for me. It's just a basic, fairly mediocre mascara. It dries out really fast. I like the original much better. I haven't tried the triple effect yet though, maybe that will be better.


on 6/20/2009 11:13:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Other, Other, Fine

Eyes: Blue

I like this product. I like a very natural eyelash look, though. I don't like dramatic eyelashes that are the first thing you notice. I think it takes away from the eye's beauty and can look garish. So, that said, I like this mascara. It looks and feels natural. It doesn't give spider eyes, which I hate.There are no clumps and no unnatural goopiness. I'm lucky to have naturally long lashes, so maybe that's why this is enough for me, I just need some color, because they are brown. I do wish I could find a mascara that actually added volume, but have yet to find one. Basically, if you like a natural look, you should like this. If you like extreme lashes, don't bother, this isn't the mascara for you.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 6/9/2009 11:59:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

This was my very first mascara ever...I believe I used it freshman year of high school and it was very average..didn't do anything really but coat my lashes in a thin layer of black..EXTREMELY mediocre and nowadays I have such standards for mascara so I don't even give this one a second a look....still lookin for my hg mascara...


on 6/5/2009 2:13:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I began using the waterproof version of Almay One Coat Mascara after an optometrist told me that there was some irritation at the base of the eyelashes, which I wasn't aware I had. Prior to that I had been using Maybelline Great Lash exclusively, but found that toward the end of the day it flaked into my eyes, which must have caused a sensitivity because my eyes began itching toward the end of the day. Almay's mascara does not irritate my eyes and I like the brush better because it is fuller and doesn't produce the dreaded spider effect. It is also easier to wash out with ordinary soap and water compared to Maybelline Great Lash. Because this formula is gentler, I feel that my eyelashes have grown in slightly thicker and healthier over the past year as a result. I do note, like others, that a single coat is not enough, however. I probably apply three or four! After a few hours the freshly applied look does seem to fade. This formula is probably best for someone who wants a natural look and feel in a mascara. Partly this is because this formula does not hold the lashes stiffly in place so it is easy to forget that the mascara is there at all. Almay One Coat Mascara waterproof formula is just as good as Maybelline's Great Lash waterproof formula in the sense that it doesn't run. It is far less likely to flake but it tends to smear a bit. Just the same, I only notice a slight problem with color transfer when I visit the chiropractor and lay face down on the table (a tough test for any mascara :). My last observation is that the contents of the tube do not seem to last as long as the brand I formally preferred. It seems to have less liquid in it but at the same time it isn't very thick or sticky in texture, either. The fact that I find myself replacing it more often is probably for the best though because mascara isn't something you want sitting around month after month. In closing, I will continue to use Almay Once Coat Mascara until I find something that is equally gentle yet holds the lashes a bit more firmly in a fanned out position.


on 6/1/2009 5:01:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Other

Eyes: Brown

It's a good everyday mascara, and it does what it promises - it lengthens your lashes. You won't get that false lashes look here, but you'll get beautifully defined, natural looking lashes. Despite its claims to not smudge, of course it'll smudge some by the end of the day, especially if you have oily skin. A waterproof formula will help with the smudging, but you're really not supposed to wear waterproof mascara everyday.

What else can I say? I really like that it's infused with aloe and vitamin B5 since we hardly ever condition our lashes and just beat them to death with waxy products so that they're curl and make our eyes look more defined. I really like this mascara, so I'm glad that I got this on a limb.

Having good technique will help you avoid clumping while putting the product on.

The price is good too - a good quality mascara, and you're going to get more for your dollar in my opinion.


on 5/10/2009 12:57:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Other, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

All I can say is WOW!!!!!!! What a wonderful mascara. My lashes have never looked longer or more defined. I used to use cover girl exact lash, but recently my eyes began to sting like crazy and I figured out that it was the mascara that I was using. Must have developed an allergy to it or something. I switched to Almay because they are hypoallergenic and my eyes have not stung since!!! No clumps, no flaking, no smearing, and it comes instantly off with a light face wash - I don't care for waterproof brands... I wasn't looking for volume as much as I was length and this mascara does the job beautifully, although it does give some volume as well. Absolutely beautiful results. My HG mascara. Will never switch to anything else. Give it a try, you will not regret it!!!


Popular Mascaras


Miss Manga
429 Reviews
Roller Lash
105 Reviews
They're Real
2012 Reviews


Top Rated Almay Products

Back to Top