NARS • Lipstick in Dolce Vita • Lipstick

rated 4.1(433 reviews)

Average Rating.4.1
Would buy this product again.71%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 5 of 5 Bronzetoe on 2/28/2012 5:47:00 PM more reviews by Bronzetoe

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry, Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Brown    

Dolce vita Oh how I love thee! I have worn you for many years and continue to be astonished at your ability to look natural yet gorgeous. I have tried many times to replace you, but alas, I always return. I find your staying power adequate and you never peel or slough. Perhaps you have to have the right coloring for you to flatter, but when you do there is no equal.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 twocentsworth on 2/26/2012 5:18:00 AM more reviews by twocentsworth

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I love the colour & the consistency. It is quite sheer but that is what I was looking for. I think this one is my favourite for day to day wear.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* xoxsexylv57 on 2/14/2012 10:54:00 PM more reviews by xoxsexylv57

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Other    

This may be my all time favorite lipstick. The formula is a cross between a lipstick and a gloss, so you get a glossy yet decently pigmented color. Sheer dusty rose (shade description from the Nars website) is actually a pretty perfect color description. This is a shade that you can slap on without any fuss and it goes with ANY look that you do. It is the perfect complement to dramatic eye looks, because it can work as a nude lip that doesn't make you look washed out (if you're like me, and have pigmented lips, you know what I'm talking about!) It is also superb for daytime or office looks, because it is polished and sophisticated without looking overdone. This is the perfect no-fuss, no-muss lipstick that always looks good and always works. Definite must-have and this will be an absolutely permanent staple in my makeup bag for life.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* tokiomama on 2/13/2012 3:56:00 PM more reviews by tokiomama

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Dry, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Cons:
-Super sheer so you really have to pack it on.
-Little product for such expensive product.
-It literally comes off in like 3-5 pop kisses. (i totally made out with the back of my hand)
-Not exact color as the Dolce Vita Velvet Matte Lip Pencil. This one is a sheerer version obviously. Not opaque at all.
-I'm not a huge fan of the smell. but the smell goes away quickly.


Pros:
-No taste.
-MLBB on me and im a medium fair with yellow undertones. my lips are pigmented already and this gives them a warm rosy appearance.
-This lipstick warms up your face. thats why i love the dolce vita line. because im so pasty it helps a lot.
-It's a lazy day lipstick.
-Moisturizing
-has shine but doesnt feel sticky or heavy like gloss. very light.

Dupes:
Covergirl Trushine lipstick in Blushberry
Benefit Silky Finish lipstick in Good To Go (almost identical to Dolce Vita)
Kat Von D lipstick in Lolita
MAC amplified creme in Cosmo is close

13 out of 14 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 iamandaa on 2/11/2012 4:55:00 AM more reviews by iamandaa

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Red, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

great lipstick,
it has a very sheer coverage
very moisturizing
great packaging!

highly recommended!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* audmac on 12/31/2011 9:10:00 PM more reviews by audmac

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Straight   Eyes: Hazel    

This is my hg mlbb lipstick, my go to on an almost daily basis despite my large stash of other ls and glosses. Its so pretty - a sheer rosy glossy color and it feels like a buttery cushion going on my lips. I love the smell which to me is like froot loops cereal-lol. Ive tried other NARS lipsticks but none work for me as well as this one so I will definitely repurchase soon since this tube is almost done.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 999888 on 12/20/2011 5:00:00 PM more reviews by 999888

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

I just say i love this lipstic..........................

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 missanthropic84 on 11/29/2011 1:45:00 PM more reviews by missanthropic84

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Tan, Warm   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

This is the lipstick I gravitate towards when I don't want to add color and don't want to look glossy. Dolce Vita barely shows up on my lips (NC42) but it provides some sheen and enough moisture. It's a bit pricey considering that I use it like a glorified lip balm, but I wanted to try it given all the glowing reviews.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Simms85 on 11/4/2011 12:15:00 PM more reviews by Simms85

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I feel like some acronyms on MUA are grossly overused. "PPP" is often used to describe anyone who just isn't tan, and HG, meaning "HOLY GRAIL," as in, the ULTIMATE beauty product, is often thrown around with reservations.

I can say this is honestly my MLBB HG. I was wary after trying the gloss, since I much prefer gloss to lipstick I got the gloss first, but it turned a weird terra-cotta color on me. I tried the l/s in the store, and was wary again because I always use gloss and not l/s, but this is smooth, moisturizing, and not too dramatic. I feel it polishes my face, and I love to wear it at work because I feel it lends a more sophisticated look when placed against tons of girls my age slathering on Turkish Delight l/g and MAC C-Thru.

This l/s can be applied without a mirror, which is another plus for ladies who prefer gloss. All women need a basic, polished neutral lip in their MU collection, and this is a great option.

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 kbabyd on 10/25/2011 1:10:00 PM more reviews by kbabyd

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

Sometimes you neglect to review something because it is such a staple that you overlook it. Such is the case with this lipstick. When I bought this, I wanted a lipstick that was subtle, lacked shimmer, and could be applied without a mirror. This hits my criteria and then some. It is quietly build-able and works with a number of various lip pencils to create slightly different looks. It's also a joy to wear - moisturizing and pigmented. I don't feel a need to apply lip balm before wearing this. The only con with this (yet I keep my rating at a 5 out of 5) is that it isn't the longest wearing lipstick. I think there's a bit of trade-off due to the fact that it is so moisturizing. I'd rather have to reapply more often than have it dry out my lips. At the end of the day, this is my perfect, everyday lip color. The one that is ALWAYS in my purse.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More NARS products

More Lipstick products