Mary Kay • Medium Coverage Foundation • Liquid

rated 3.9(376 reviews)

Average Rating.3.9
Would buy this product again.69%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 5 of 5 bayli on 4/13/2011 11:01:00 PM more reviews by bayli

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

i've been using this foundation for about 10 years now. i have tried many foundations (probably like 20!, including mufe, mac) thinking that i will find something better than this, but i haven't yet! so i'm pretty much convinced that this is the best foundation for me! on days when i want more coverage or my skin feels dry, i mix in some of the mary kay full coverage foundation with this and it works amazingly and has enough coverage to cover up my acne scars and redness. highly recommend this foundation!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 mrsbelindha on 4/12/2011 11:21:00 PM more reviews by mrsbelindha

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Dark   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I absolutely LOVE this foundation. I had a very hard time finding a foundation that matched my exact skin tone. As an African American, it's hard to find foundation that matches you perfectly because many beauty lines cater to lighter shades. When it comes to our complexion they're products are either too light or too dark but I'm proud to say this one is just right. I think the pricing is decent. I would pay more if I had to that how much I love this product. I find that using this foundation with Mary Kay's loose powder works perfectly. I haven't had any break outs which is a plus because I have sensitive skin so that tells me the product isn't too harsh. I have oily skin so I try stay away from the dewy look and embrace the matte one. If matte is your thing then this is definately the product for you.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 jennkels on 4/11/2011 2:41:00 PM more reviews by jennkels

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

After attending a Mary Kay party I was unfortunately sold on many of the products. One was this. I don't know what I was seeing or thinking but the shade for my skin color was horribly too pale and too yellow. I also found that it created oily shine where i never had previously.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* stephani99 on 4/11/2011 2:19:00 PM more reviews by stephani99

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Other, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

My only real complaint about this is unfortunately a big one and one I see mentioned repeatedly with MK foundations - the lousy shade selection, especially for pale gals like me. I'm pale but on the warm-yellow side; just enough that nearly every manufacturer still considers me Ivory. This, in the Ivory 200 shade (I was color-matched in person and I guess the lighting was different there, e.g. not natural), is beige. It's a pale beige, but still, it's darker than you normally think of Ivory so don't buy it sight unseen. That aside, it's a great foundation so I hate to dock it by two, but the shade selection is just too limited. The lighter Ivory 100 in this formula is too pink and the next shade down after the Ivory 200 is too dark *sigh*



Because I need to be more tan to faithfully use it, it's my summer foundation only and works beautifully then! I need very little (we're talking pea-sized amount) for good coverage and it blends well using just fingers; in fact, I find that the best way to apply it for some reason. I don't need a setting powder and it lasts most of the day with minimal touch-ups. It covers well as mentioned above, looks natural (color aside, I'm talking finish here) and I don't experience breakouts. It doesn't settle into fine lines or look cakey, and has no SPF so it photographs well. It's just not the right shade for me during the fall and winter when I'm at my palest but for summer when I self-tan my face to match the rest of me, it's perfect. And it would be the perfect foundation for my combo-dry skin year-round if they would work on their shade selections and realize most of us, even the palest, can be yellow-toned (or at the very least something other than pink or beige, neutral even?). I adore MK skin care and it's made a huge difference in my life - now if they could just do the foundation shade in this one a bit better I'd be on the MK boat for life.
UPDATE: I am also using MK's Mineral Powder Foundation in shade Ivory 2 now and it's wonderful (reviewed separately). I still like this one but only when I'm the right shade to use it which unfortunately, is only about half the year if that, where I live.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* blueberryfrost on 3/31/2011 9:46:00 PM more reviews by blueberryfrost

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I saw this on ebay for about $5 shipped, so for such a good price I decided to try it. In almost all cosmetic brands the standard "ivory" shade suits me pretty well, so I was pretty surprised when my tube came and the foundation that squeezed out was an orangey tan color. Really? This is supposed to be ivory? I checked the tube and it indeed was marked ivory. No ivory I'm used to seeing has looked this olive and tan. Despite the WTF moment I decided to apply it anyway, and once blended into my face the orangey tan smoothes out a bit. If I use this sparingly with my usual powder over it, it looks okay. The slight darker-than-natural shade isn't all that noticeable. Now for the good things...I do like this foundation, the coverage is in the "just right" region for me. I can apply it at 8am and by 8pm my face still looks smooth and even. It hasn't made my skin feel oily or break me out yet. I am not sure if this comes in lighter shades but if it does then I'd gladly buy it in another color. I'm just not used to seeing a shade marked "ivory" that would be better labeled "medium natural" or something.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* miomega on 3/3/2011 11:40:00 PM more reviews by miomega

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Dark   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I am SO disappointed in this product. Let me explain.

It has the look and texture of a foundation but the coverage of a cheap tinted moisturizer. Even after layering there was no "pop" that you'd expect from a good foundation. It just sat on my skin and even managed to make it look dull. Shame on Mary Kay! Their Day Radiance foundation from back in the day could do circles around this stuff.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 erodrig44 on 3/1/2011 6:45:00 AM more reviews by erodrig44

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I have been using this since I was in a wedding party in high school. It seems old school but it's what works for me and it takes me over 1 year to go through a single tube. I don't need a lot of coverage, so this works well. I only apply it on my nose, undereye, and around my cheeks since I only use it to cover redness and my sun spots. I apply the monistat gel as my primer, then I apply this with my fingers, and it glides on so smoothly. I then wear CG simply powder foundation all over to set it/to control my oily T zone. This combo leaves me matte until the end of my 12 hour work shifts. I always get complimented on my complexion.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 lyazzat on 2/14/2011 8:56:00 PM more reviews by lyazzat

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I am a big fan of Revlon Colorstay, but this foundation can be very comparable to it, coverage is almost the same! However, it is not liquid, it is cream formula. Thus, I apply it with my fingers, it is blended better according to my experience. However, the staying power is not as good as Colorstay (because of that I gave it 4 rating). I am getting greasy after 3-4 hours of use, and with Colorstay it takes 5-6 hours. However, I do not compliant, and the feeling of coverage is very good, you do not even feel it, Colorstay feels a bit heavy for me. For everyday use this foundation is perfect, also it did not break me out which is an advantage since I am very acne prone.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* BlackDahlia on 2/7/2011 1:53:00 AM more reviews by BlackDahlia

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Warm   Hair: Red, Wavy   Eyes: Green    

I actually really like this foundation. The lightest color matches me perfectly, which is a rarity. Its fantastic at keeping shine away and keeping me nice and matte without powder. The tube is also great as it makes application easier. I really like this =).

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 kikirose on 1/29/2011 5:00:00 PM more reviews by kikirose

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Oily, Dark, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Kinky, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I really like this foundation I have oily skin and when I use this over my milk of mag, it stays pretty matte(not completely, but nothing does). It's called medium coverage foundation but it can be light coverage also it looks very natural I like this better than the revlon colorstay, but it's very similar to it, just better, try it!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Mary Kay products

More Liquid products