Carmex • LipBalm • Lip Treatments

rated 4.0(988 reviews)

Average Rating.4.0
Would buy this product again.77%
Ingredients


rated 1 of 5 kaysae on 10/11/2013 6:37:00 AM more reviews by kaysae

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I've used carmex at different points in my life and it has generally always been a bad experience. I recently started using it again because I figured it might somehow help with my cold sore (it says so on the jar that it does actually), but all it has done is dry out my lips and make them flaky. Since I started using it again my lips have chapped and cracked pretty bad (before they were fine minus the cold sore spot). I've also noticed that after some use of it, hours later, it peels off my lips inside membranous skin layer? I'm not sure how to explain it, but I'm left with a whitish, translucent peel of my lips on the inner rimming of my mouth. Definitely not using this product again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 heyitstran on 10/9/2013 12:47:00 PM more reviews by heyitstran

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I've used Burt's Bee's Peppermint, Origins, Blistex, Chapstick, an expensive Japanese brand I don't remember the name of and Bur Bee's Pomegranate but nothing compares to Carmex! Unlike other lip balms, my lips are fully hydrated and I don't need to reapply over and over again. The smell of Carmex doesn't bother me either....I understand it's not the most pleasant smell but I actually like that it does the job done of being a WONDERFUL lip balm. I'm usually skeptical that cheap products don't have good qualities but you really get your dollars worth! I bought the Carmex jar in the original flavor for 1.79 and it was buy one get one free! Even if it wasn't on sale I would've still purchased it.

I also heard that once you use Carmex, your lips get addicted to it so that you would have to re-apply it over and over again. Also, I heard that there's salicylic acid so that it makes lips drier. For me, none of that happens. Before using Carmex, my lips were SUPER dry like the Mojave Desert LOL. Now that I use Carmex, my lips are very moisturized and even if I go days without Carmex, my lips are more moisturized than when I had used other lip balms on the same day.

There are tons of lips balms on the market and I have been the type of person who liked to use lip balms which I saw good ratings for (ex. Burts Bee's Peppermint) but the other products don't stand a chance with Carmex. This stuff is truly awesome!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 mrsb622 on 9/21/2013 5:33:00 PM more reviews by mrsb622

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium Brown   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

The best. I use this everyday!!!! Been using since high school

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 CPaola on 9/14/2013 11:01:00 PM more reviews by CPaola

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

This product is amazing. I've been on Accutane for over 2 weeks & I've been using it daily. I've had tightness in my lips but this has fought all dryness & peeling! It's amazing. Nothing works like this for dry lips. I don't mind the smell; and I love the consistency.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 KBru on 9/5/2013 4:48:00 PM more reviews by KBru

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I love this stuff. It will heal any problems your having but it's also great for day-to-day for maintaining moisture and softness.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 CollegeKid on 8/25/2013 7:15:00 PM more reviews by CollegeKid

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium   Hair: Brown, Relaxed, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Back in elementary and middle school-- before my makeup days-- this was my HG lip moisture. But as I grew up and I started growing out my nails longer and every time I would dip my finger into it it would get under my nails. Also, the container got dirty and it would get into the pot. It does moisturize and leave my lips soft. But now I'm into Chapstick.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 athena2112 on 8/24/2013 10:31:00 PM more reviews by athena2112

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

I used to love Carmex, for a long time it was the only thing I would use on my lips! It would leave my lips soft and smooth and I liked the way it felt when I applied. About 2 months ago I bought a new 3 pack of carmex (i used the original in the stick form, not the pot) and when applied to my lips it tasted awful! I really try not to lick my lips but it happens sometimes! Anyway the awful taste lingered in my mouth forever and I couldn't figure out why :-( I never had that issue before. After a couple of days of this I just couldn't stand it anymore so I looked at the ingredient list and compared it to an old tube that I had, the ingredients have changed; carmex now contains avobenzone where as before it did not...I don't like the new formula and won't be purchasing again unless they change it back! I felt I had to do a review as I have seen several recent reviews for this with people talking about how it make them break out and have allergic reactions and it's gotta be the new formula, hth!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 anu919 on 8/23/2013 1:48:00 PM more reviews by anu919

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

Just horrible! I have never had a allergic reaction to any product before nor do I have any allergies but after using carmex for only one day, my lips are in a disgusting state. They are all swollen, look burned, dry, flaky and have white bumps all over them. Definitely going to stay away from this product.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 dstar12 on 8/17/2013 11:19:00 AM more reviews by dstar12

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

Carmex lip balm is the best. I bought this at a Dollar General for $2. I use it every morning before I put on my lipgloss/lipstick, and every night as a bedtime lip treatment. I have very dry and potentially chapped lips and this makes my lips feel and look amazing.

The only downside is the jar (although yes, I know you can buy it in other formats). I generally don't take this in my purse since I hate dipping my finger in it in public. I just find it kind of gross so I leave it at home. I will likely invest in the tube version since I love this and want to take it everywhere!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 theiriina on 8/17/2013 10:17:00 AM more reviews by theiriina

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Red, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I found Carmex about two years ago when I decided to buy a pot of it just to try it out - I had been searching for the perfect lip balm for ages and hab been reading good reviews about Carmex! I bought mine for 3 euros (I was living in Ireland) at that time. First of all I love the scent of it, it is something I don't know how to describe - like a mixed medicine+vanilla. Second I love how healing and moisturizing it is. I use it as an over-night treatment for my lips, I just put on a thick layer of it and wipe off any extra in the morning. It leaves my lips moisturized and fuller looking. I use just a basic chapstick during the day under lip gloss and lipstick but you could use Carmex as well. Carmex comes in 3 different packaging (jar, tube and chapstick). I prefer to use the tube or chapstick because I have long nails - the effect is the same anyway :) Carmex is also sold in many other flavours like Vanilla, Mint, Cherry, Strawberry and Green Apple. However, all the flavoured ones except Vanilla sting my lips VERY badly so just try one flavour at a time, don't buy all of them so you won't lose money if you get the same irritating reaction!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Carmex products

More Lip Treatments products