The Body Shop • Coconut Body Butter • Lotions/ Creams

rated 4.1(378 reviews)

Average Rating.4.1
Would buy this product again.73%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 kayek on 6/24/2012 3:15:00 AM more reviews by kayek

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Sensitive, Medium Brown   Hair: Brunette, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

The body butter was luxurious, and really moisturized my legs and body. It was cheap and did last a good amount of time before I put it away.
The only problem I had with it was the smell. ugh! It was quite overpowering and I couldn't handle it. I didn't even finish the tub (6.7 oz). Maybe it was because it was such a large tub. It did lessen once you rubbed it in but I just didn't like the scent. So besides the scent it did a great job. It just depends on whether you appreciate the more heavy, warm scents.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* raenamercedi on 6/19/2012 3:20:00 AM more reviews by raenamercedi

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I really do like TBS body butters, some more than others. Not just because of the scent, but different ones have different textures. I did like the texture of this butter, and the scent is nice, but it is not one of my favorites. It is a true coconut scent, not too sweet, which is a problem that I have had with other coconut scented products from different lines. It does have a slight chemical odor. My favorite body butters from TBS are the Shea followed by the Brazil Nut for both scent and texture.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 3Lanvin on 6/19/2012 3:09:00 AM more reviews by 3Lanvin

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Medium   Hair: Brunette, Wavy   Eyes: Brown    

The scent wasn't what I was expecting, I love coconut scents - but this didn't smell like that, it was quit chemically scented. It wasn't the easiest to blend, but when you get out of the shower and your body is still wet(as your suppose to because it locks in moisture), it's easier to blend in and you don't have to use as much. As for moisturizing I'll give it a 2.5 out of 5, it moisturizes but nothing special(the moisture can last all day depending on what season it is, it doesn't last in the winter).

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 SamW87 on 6/16/2012 1:50:00 AM more reviews by SamW87

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

This product is my go to body moisturizer. It hydrates dry skin and will make your skin feel nice and smooth. The scent is lovely and is perfect for the summer! At first glance this product may seem a bit pricy, but it lasts a while even when used on a daily basis.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 milliegwen on 6/15/2012 2:37:00 PM more reviews by milliegwen

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Super mositurising, rather expensive but lasts a lifetime, a worthy investment for those with dry skin. I used E45 cream for about 3 months and it gave me the same effect as about 3 nights use of this. Beautiful when you hop out of the shower, and the wonderful coconut smell lasts all day! Perfect.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 calzz on 5/24/2012 10:26:00 PM more reviews by calzz

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

It's not my favorite Body Shop scent, but it's still pretty good. It does moisturize very well. I wish the packaging didn't feel so "exposed" because it seems like it can get contaminated pretty easily.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* kgloverii on 5/4/2012 11:47:00 PM more reviews by kgloverii

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

Love this stuff. The scent is pure summer to me. 1 application after the shower keeps my skin soft for days. Love putting some on my palms and into my hair as a leave-in conditioner. Totally tames the frizzies!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 PhatMuffin on 4/29/2012 12:49:00 PM more reviews by PhatMuffin

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I love TBS body butters and always have one at home but this has got to be the worst coconut scent I've ever encountered! Way too sweet and nauseating like coconut oil gone rancid or old SPF lotion. I usually love sweet coconut scents but this makes me gag. First time I've ever thrown away a product because of the smell.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* ShiverWithAntici on 4/24/2012 4:29:00 PM more reviews by ShiverWithAntici

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This is a "What the f*ck!!!??" product for me. I have used this product three times; the first time, I didn't notice anything strange. The second time, I applied it, and a few minutes later, ran my hand over my arms only to feel these greasy clumps which felt like dead skin peeling off. I thought it was odd, as I am an exfoliating junkie and had deeply exfoliated my arms previously in the shower. I didn't think anything of it, but then I felt these weird clumps again the next time and realized that it was the product balling up. I have never experienced that before and it is a bit bizarre and rather gross (has anyone else had the same problem with this product? ). Also, the packaging is extremely unhygienic (I think LUSH got a cue from The Body Shop). I am a staunch environmentalist and all about minimal, simplistic packaging, but not to the point where it compromises the product. It's a shame because I enjoyed the consistency (it's the consistency of ACTUAL butter), and the smell (although it's not the best coconut fragrance). It also seemed to make my arms very smooth the first day I used it. Maybe it creates this film over your skin and needs sufficient time to soak in before you make contact with the area again? I'm not really sure. I, sadly, will not be repurchasing this, or any other body butter from The Body Shop.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* sarahann1994 on 3/21/2012 4:34:00 PM more reviews by sarahann1994

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I really dislike this product. I bought it in the small travel size at the checkout at my local sephora and I loved it when I first purchased it. After I wore it a few times, the smell made me sick. It is very sweet and sick smelling. I also think the body butter has such an oily feel to it and it makes me feel very gross after I put it on. It does have a very authentic coconut smell (the only thing I like about it). I will never repurchase because it's too expensive, hate the smell, oily, and the packaging is terrible.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More The Body Shop products

More Lotions/ Creams products