Essie • Fiji • Polishes

rated 3.5(172 reviews)

Average Rating.3.5
Would buy this product again.61%
Ingredients


rated 3 of 5 Lily580 on 2/24/2013 9:50:00 AM more reviews by Lily580

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

This is very streaky but after 3 coats it looked ok and if I were a pro at applying nail polish it would have looked even better. I am really pale so not many colors look good on me but this one suits me wonderfully! Such a pretty color. Also, I really like the Essie brushes.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Ladyleopard805 on 2/23/2013 2:42:00 PM more reviews by Ladyleopard805

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Olive, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

This is the only Essie polish I own, and it is incredibley horrible! Streaky as another reviewer said, it chips fairly easy, and the color on your actual nail is so much paler than what it appears to be in the bottle. I will NEVER waste my money on another Essie polish. The price point is ridiculous; save yourself some time and find a similar color in OPI.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 dawndru on 2/23/2013 12:25:00 PM more reviews by dawndru

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Green    

Impossible to paint without streaks. I do my nails often and with all sorts of brands and colors and this was literally the only time I was unable to do my nails. I simply could not paint a nail without making it a streaky mess. I ended up throwing the bottle out.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 tinkerbell1019 on 2/23/2013 12:36:00 AM more reviews by tinkerbell1019

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Medium   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Junk!.. this has to be the worst formula ever which is really sad since the color is such a pretty shade of pink. I think I need to get 3 coats for it to look reasonable and even then it looks streaky.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 GoddessTara on 1/18/2013 2:31:00 PM more reviews by GoddessTara

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Hazel    

I adore this color! As a super pale skinned person (I have two colors, white or red), I enjoyed the slight 'tan' effect it had on my skin:D
As a very light polish, I expected numerous coats to reach opacity, so maybe that's why I was impressed when it only took two. Not sure either why so many seem to have formula issues. I would absolutely buy this again, even at $11 a bottle in Vancouver!!
As with all pale colors, patience and practice are required to get the desired look, but it is well worth it for this one!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* MsHepburn on 12/9/2012 10:51:00 AM more reviews by MsHepburn

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

This is such a cute colour. It's pink, but it's so light it's almost white... In the past, I have tried colours like this before but they always made me look like I had that stuff on that keeps people from biting their nails. Fiji is different... It evens out perfectly with two coats and makes my hands look so tanned! Even in December... I am contemplating wearing this at Christmas, am I a rebel or what. With a glossy top coat this becomes extra gorgeous.

It looks clean and neat enough to try it at the office...although it does kind of scream 'beach holiday'. I actually bought this because I booked a little spa hotel getaway for the holidays and will be prancing around in a bikini, so I'm hoping wearing this on my fingers and toes will make me look a little tanner without having to resort to desperate measures like a spray tan:) So far, so good.

There seem to be a lot of complaints about the formula, not sure what the formula is like overseas but here in Europe I am having no trouble whatsoever with streaking. The first coat looks a bit streaky alright, but by the second coat the streaks are gone. The finish is not super glossy so if you like your nails shiny add an extra glossy top coat.

(Word of warning: make sure to moisturise your hands when wearing this, for some reason any dryness becomes extra apparent with this light hue. Maybe because it brings out the tan, I don't know... If my hands are dry this can make them look a little leathery. I was going for beach babe, not Florida granny)

Edit 10 December 2012: Well. Boyfriend asked me last night why I had this white stuff on my nails. He thought it was medical. Guess this polish is not as different as I thought! Didn't have time to take it off this morning, on my way to work now... Wonder what people in the office will think...

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 jennstar777 on 12/7/2012 12:29:00 AM more reviews by jennstar777

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

Opaque cool pink goes on perfect with 2 coats. Spring / summer really pops on the toes. It's a fun, casual kind of shade-not at all delicate.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 linh989 on 11/6/2012 7:44:00 PM more reviews by linh989

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Tan, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I think this product really is a hit or miss for different people.
Personally, I love it! It looks great against my tan skintone and the color really is a milky pale light pink.
The bottle is cute and the brush is small so its easy to control.
When combined with Essie first base coat, my manicure doesn't chip for about 6 days, which is way longer than my other polishes. I was alittle blown away that it lasted so long. The chipping is not the problem, but if you leave it on your nails too long, you will start to see some light cracking in the polish. I got it for $6, so I'm happy with it.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 d1d1 on 10/23/2012 1:51:00 AM more reviews by d1d1

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Hazel    

And again I loooooooooove Essie's brand, the cute bottle, and I don't mind the small & short brush. The price... in my local drugstore in Canada Essie retails for about $12, and about $9 at the competition. It adds up quickly when you are an avid nail polish fan. : ( Maybe not too expensive for those who buy one or two bottles a year. : )

1) Color: gorgeous, chic pale pink, modern shade
2) Formula/application : if you don't have patience or time, skip this color because you need a light hand when you apply it: I used only two light coats and I had the color opaque and even the way I like. The formula itself looks like a chalky paste and I think that's why this is not your glossiest polish either ( hello fav top coat). I didn't use any base coat or top coat though, I applied right on top of my bare nails and so far so good. It looks lovely.

I probably will be using Fiji for a whole week!!! I'm loving this shade right now and I don't even care if it's winter season.

Rating: 3 lippies because:
1) price: I wish there was a better deal
2) re-purchasing: I always shop for different colors so 1 bottle each is usually enough for me.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Meech25 on 10/11/2012 3:21:00 PM more reviews by Meech25

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Love the color, HATE the formula!
I have so many Essie polishes, and this is the only one that is streaky.
Even after applying 3 coats, it still does not look even.
I am not sure if it's due to the light colors, but it's really hard to work with.
I do not reccomend this!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Essie products

More Polishes products