Neutrogena • Norwegian Formula Hand Cream • Lotions/ Creams

rated 4.2(614 reviews)

Average Rating.4.2
Would buy this product again.79%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 4 of 5 BeautyAddict62 on 1/30/2013 6:10:00 PM more reviews by BeautyAddict62

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

This is an excellent hand cream. My hands get quite dry especially in winter so I put a small amount of this on my hands at night and wake up with incredibly soft hands. It is quite greasy and does leave a film on your hands so I recommend putting this on before you go to sleep.

Good: Smooths and softens, cheap to buy, improve condition of nails, you only need a small amount so a tube will last a long time

Bad: Quite greasy and doesn't absorb in very well



    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 angelablair on 1/25/2013 3:31:00 PM more reviews by angelablair

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I received this hand cream via Bzzagent and was super excited to try. In the winter my hands are always dry and cracked due to weather and constantly washing my hands. Typically I use Cetaphil for my hand cream, so I was happy to try something new. First, I wouldn't call this a hand cream. It is far from a cream. While it is moisturizing it is more gel-like. I would compare it to aquaphor as in texture. The product is $4.99 and you only need a dab to do the job, so price wise is great. When it goes on it's a little greasy feeling but it absorbs pretty quickly and almost leaves a barrier on your hands. You can wash your hands a few times and this stuff doesn't come off. Overall, as a hand cream I'd rather stick with an actual cream (like cetaphil, etc). But, I do like this for my nails. I have been using this daily and I think it has helped my nails. They crack less and over all look more healthy.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 jenzbugrulz on 1/25/2013 12:48:00 PM more reviews by jenzbugrulz

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I have moderate to severe eczema, and this is one of the only things that helps, even on my face, besides virgin coconut oil.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 rainydays1234 on 1/21/2013 1:35:00 PM more reviews by rainydays1234

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Green    

WOW. How have I missed this product?? I have extremely sensitive, dry skin that absolutely cracks, bleeds, and peels in the winter. I live in the PNW so we get LONG winter months which is beautiful to hike in but sucks for skin like mine. I have been faithfully using Cetaphil cream but it hasn't been moisturizing enough for me. After trying a couple other samples of hand creams, decided to purchase this.

It's a tiny 2 oz tube for $5 at Target which is pricey considering you can get a HUGE, whopper bottle of Curel or something else for the same price. But, if you are really suffereing with dry skin, you'll try anything no matter the price. I slathered my hands with this the first night and it's about the consistency of Neosporin ointment and I was afraid to touch anything and was afraid I was going to wake up with greasy mitts but it had all absorbed and there was definite improvement in my skin. So, after some experimenting I have found that before I go to sleep at night to put a layer of Cetaphil cream on my legs, arms, face, neck (basically everywhere from head to toe), and feet and then after that is absorbed, put a thin layer of this hand cream all over. I even tried it on my face and it's seriously the only thing that keeps my eczema under control.

I can't use straight up vaseline or vaseline products because they irritate my skin but for some reason, even though the Neutrogena hand cream is like an ointment, it soothes and really moisturizes my skin. My skin is velvety smooth when I wake up and best of all, doesn't flake anymore and the redness is going away.

Be warned if you do use this on your face. You cannot put makeup over this at all. I tried to put my concealer on over this stuff, around my eyes, and it streaked and clumped and would not rub in at all. I had to wipe it off and just go barefaced to let my skin heal. Which I'm okay with since I would rather go through a couple of days makeup-free and finally let my skin heal than to battle redness and eczema patches for weeks and weeks.

This stuff is highly concentrated and such a good price after you see how little goes a long way. I recommend it for anyone with severely dry skin. I'm almost out of my little tube and I will be repurchasing later on today! Love this stuff.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 1Bruce1 on 1/19/2013 11:30:00 AM more reviews by 1Bruce1

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Green    

Meh. Verrrry greasy, and strong perfumey smell to my nose. Doesn't do anything for me.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 araic4988 on 1/18/2013 6:43:00 PM more reviews by araic4988

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Other   Eyes: Blue    

I love this hand cream! It's super mosturizing, and cheap. I use this before I go to bed, because it's kind of greasy. It's the best!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 leilajansen on 1/2/2013 8:35:00 PM more reviews by leilajansen

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Tan   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

This is not really a cream and does not fully absorb into the skin- it has a petroleum jelly feel to it.

It's really great for dry, chapped hands. I wash dishes and handle many cleaning agents, so it's really what I need but it's very impractical for the daytime. If you rub it on, you can't really touch anything else... It leaves a layer on the hands that rubs off onto everything else.

I give it a 4/5 because it is very effective in relieving dry hands, but, for practical reasons, you can probably only rub it on in the evening before bedtime.

I wouldn't really buy this again solely on the fact that I'm looking for something that absorbs fully into the skin and will be practical to use during the day.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 sanduhra on 11/29/2012 11:00:00 PM more reviews by sanduhra

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Medium   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I would not call this a cream, as it has a consistency similar to Aquaphor Healing Ointment. Like Aquaphor, it is VERY moisturizing and stays on the hand through multiple handwashings. Like Aquaphor, it doesn't fully absorb and rather sits like a thin protective film over the skin. This is particularly annoying when trying to touch things immediately after applying. While I would use this in cases of extremely chapped skin, I've found that it's a little too waxy for daily use, at least on the hands.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 AestyPase26 on 11/16/2012 7:42:00 PM more reviews by AestyPase26

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I bought this for those nasty dry hands I get now an then, esp when you have to constantly wash your hands as an Aesthetician. This is one my favorites list!!
It's very thick and you only need a little bit, or else you'll be looking for other locations to moisturize haha It's really fantastic. :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 lemonz4us on 10/29/2012 2:20:00 AM more reviews by lemonz4us

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

This burned my hands in some kind of red rash. I had to slather them in aquaphor overnight to calm them down. A miss for me .

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Neutrogena products

More Lotions/ Creams products