Liz Earle • Liz Earle Cleanse and Polish • Skincare - Face

rated 3.9(407 reviews)

Average Rating.3.9
Would buy this product again.67%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 countess77 on 7/29/2013 12:55:00 AM more reviews by countess77

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

A really nice cleanser, that gives an extra glow. I usually use this during the cold months since it is rich, but works actually well during the summer too. Especially if you got some sun, this cleanser gives back some moisture to the skin. Recommend!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Skyflyer67 on 7/26/2013 3:28:00 PM more reviews by Skyflyer67

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Other   Eyes: Blue    

This is the only cleanser I use. I have good skin but I notice it looks dull without cleanse and polish. It is expensive but I think worth every penny

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Itsheatherlol on 7/23/2013 10:00:00 AM more reviews by Itsheatherlol

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I've been using Liz Earle's Cleanse and Polish Hot Cloth Cleanser for over two years, morning and night, religiously. It's a great, gentle cleanser which makes good on all the promises made on the bottle. I primarily use this to remove my makeup of an evening and am currently looking into a few different cleansers for am / pm to shake up my routine a little. But overall I know that unless the formulation of this seriously changes, this cleanser will continue to be a permanent fixture in my skincare rotation. It does a really good job at removing all of my makeup, especially some of my heavier, more durable foundations. I would say it removes about 90 - 95% on first application. If I've worn a lot of makeup, I'll use it to cleanse again, but I usually just follow up with a good toner which removes any last traces. This is very, very gentle on the skin and leaves my face feeling fresh and soft. I also really like how mess free this is too. I can really massage the product into my skin without it going everywhere and to finish I buff off with a LE muslin cloth which prevents my hair and top from getting soaked with water.

Pros:
- Great at removing makeup
- Gentle, nourishing and kind to skin
- Easy to use & mess free
- Lasts a really long time
- Doesn't break me out
- Nice packaging & not too expensive

Cons:
- None

I would repurchase.

Ingredients:
Aqua (water), Caprylic/capric triglyceride, Theobroma cacao (cocoa) seed butter, Cetearyl alcohol, Cetyl esters, Sorbitan stearate, Polysorbate 60, Glycerin, Cera alba (beeswax), Propylene glycol, Humulus lupulus (hops) extract, Panthenol, Rosmarinus officinalis (rosemary) extract, Anthemis nobilis (chamomile) extract, Eucalyptus globulus (eucalyptus) oil, Limonene, Citric acid, Sodium hydroxide, Phenoxyethanol, Benzoic acid, Ethylhexylglycerin, Dehydroacetic acid, Polyaminopropyl biguanide.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* susie03 on 7/20/2013 12:16:00 PM more reviews by susie03

Age: 44-55   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I understand why this is so popular. It's the one cleanser I repeatedly come back to. Gentle, effective and a really lovely consistency. I didn't notice a difference in my skin when I started using it but when I stopped I found my skin was less balanced and more prone to the odd break out and dry patches. I use it at least once a day, sometimes choosing to oil cleanse at night or use an AHA cleanser in the mornings. Overall this is simply an absolute pleasure to use. The muslin cloths are also great, I do sometimes use a cotton wash cloth or micro fibre cloth but I think the Liz Earle cloths are pretty good and I usually stock up with a couple when I repurchase.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 gobecky on 7/15/2013 12:38:00 PM more reviews by gobecky

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I love this cleanser. I didn't even used to wash my face - I hate the soaps that sting your eyes and dry out your skin. I dislike foam cleansers because it seems like the foaming is just a side-show to pretend the soap is cleaning your skin - like washing your face with bubble bath. yuck.

anyways, I tried the Liz Earle Cleanse and Polish and will never be without it (or another cream cleanser). It was weird to apply the cleanser to a dry face, but it works. Sometimes I just let it sit on my face for a minute or two to allow it to break down my makeup and soak in.

When I rinse it off (with a warm, wet washcloth or muslin cloth), I can literally see the makeup (and eye makeup - mascara too!) on the cloth - along with all the other yuckies your face picks up throughout the day.

After washing my face with the liz earle, my skin feels soft and soo clean. Not stripped of all it's oils and suppleness, but just clean and refreshed. I look forward to washing my face now that I have this product. Wonderful!

The pump is nice - I used one pump and just washed my face in the evening. I think next time I'll buy the tube (cost savings). One pump is about the size of a red grape or small olive.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 danski1986 on 6/23/2013 5:12:00 AM more reviews by danski1986

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette, Kinky, Fine   Eyes: Grey    

I wanted to love this, I really did but I honestly can't understand the hype. I ordered online and couldn't wait for the postman's knock at the door. When it arrived the packaging did not disappoint, everything was lovingly wrapped in chic tissue paper making me even more excited about washing my face.

The first thing that I wasn't expecting was the unusual herbally smell, it was almost medicinal and not pleasant. The thick cream formula was very rich and not something I would have thought would agree with my combination skin. After using the muslin cloth my skin felt clean, comfortable and refreshed so I continued to use the product. I restricted this usage to night time only as I felt it was almost too heavy to use during the day.

Although this didn't do anything bad to my skin, it did not do wonders for it either which I was expecting for the money paid. The product is average and I don't think I'll buy it again, however I love the principle of using the muslin cloth. I will carry on using this method of cleansing with a cheaper cleanser from the boots number 7 range maybe,

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 testerwhore on 6/16/2013 2:59:00 PM more reviews by testerwhore

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

This stuff is awsome! Altho hav only used it twice so far but it did a fab job at cleaning my face.
The smell reminds me of Airwaves gum (if ur from the UK u will know what i mean!) ...a very sweet mentholy.. kinda smell... like liqorice almost.
The texture was very diffrnt compared to what iv used in the past. Like a cream foam so to speak. But a thick texture. Something like what comes out frm a mans shave foam gel can! ;p
It felt luxurious to use... and i felt like inwas in a salon ;)
Wud definatly re purchase this again. I will update again after a weeks continued use so watch this space ;);)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 PrincessBean on 6/6/2013 5:48:00 PM more reviews by PrincessBean

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

Yabba dabba doo! This is the safest and most effective cleanser to use and it is soooo kind to your skin. If you are dry skinned just wait after you have put it on and watch the natural ingredients just soak right in, it's okay it's all moisturising based too, even though its a cleanser. If your skin is sensitive it will love it too. If your skin is oily this will cure it. The creamy consistency of this will actually dissolve oils gently, while 'deeply' cleansing the corripores! It will calm and balance all skin types, moisturise and tame the skins behaviour. I have had spot prone skin over the years and I only get them back when I stop this cleanser. It is like a vitamin pill, just keep using and take for granted, and you only notice the effects of any bad skin return when you stop. I always return to this if ever I experiment, it is a holy grail. I can understand anyone who says its effects are overrated, they are expecting bells and whistles after rave reviews, but if you just use it and just trust it for a while, it will be a loyal best friend. A delight to use EVERYTIME xx

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 courtneyxo on 6/6/2013 4:56:00 PM more reviews by courtneyxo

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Kinky, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

Amazing! Only cleanser I've used problem free, perfect for my combo acne prone skin, neither too drying or oily. Smells lovely and leaves face feeling fresh and soft. Worth the price of you have problem skin.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 pinimon162 on 6/5/2013 12:37:00 PM more reviews by pinimon162

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Grey    

Ah, the Cleanse and Polish. I had a love/hate relationship with this product and was debating between 2 and 3 stars. If I could give it 2.5 I would. Basically, around a year ago my skin started to get bad and nothing was working. I knew literally nothing about skin care products (my routine since high school had been to remove makeup with a makeup wipe - done) and my first way of dealing with it was to strip my skin with harsh toners and soaps to try and get clear skin.

Which didn't work. Looking back, this is not surprising. Whilst talking to my mother about my skincare woes, she basically gave me her entire Liz Earle set - the cleanser, toner, and moisturiser. Bear in mind this is the first time I had heard the phrase 'cleanse, tone, and moisturise'. I was a bit overwhelmed - twice a day, every day? Huh? It was only upon googling that I realised that everybody and their aunt knew about this 'ritual' and that we were all supposed to be doing it.

..Okay then.

So I started to cleanse, tone, and moisturise. The cleanse and polish in particular was a treat to use and my favourite product out of the set - it has pretty coloured packaging but is durable with a handy and hygienic pump; the scent is my kind of thing - vaguely herbal and eucalyptus-y without being overpowering, although I can see why others wouldn't care for the smell; the consistency is creamy and luxurious and it felt nice rubbing it onto my skin. I used it twice a day as directed, once in the morning on clean skin, and once at night to cleanse after having removed makeup with a wipe. I started off using the muslin cloth, but as a student living in halls I did not do laundry as often as I should have (oops) and I stopped using it after a while.

Even without the muslin cloth, my skin felt and looked lovely immediately after I'd used this cleanser - my skin felt really supple and smooth and didn't feel dry or tight or tingly or irritated like it had when I'd used 'anti-blemish' cleansers or washes. The areas of my face that are sensitive and prone to allergic reactions did not flare up, and my face didn't look red afterwards which it is prone to doing after being washed.

So..why the 2 stars, you ask? Well, the lovely skin effect described above was only noticeable directly after cleansing. My skin continued to get worse and worse whilst using this product. I'm not saying this caused it, because I don't know that any one product could do that - it was probably a multitude of factors. However I feel this definitely contributed - my skin is delicate and clog-prone and I just think the cleanse and polish, whilst a lovely product, is too rich to be suited to my particular skin type.

My skin was at its worst whilst using this twice a day. I used this for the better part of a year - maybe around eight months. My skin only really started to improve when I decided that the 3-step system was clearly not working for me, and I began washing my face with just water in the morning, taking off makeup with a wipe, and then using Cleanse and Polish only a couple of times a week. When my skin improved from doing this, I decided to cut it out of my regimen altogether. I moved on to micellar cleansers which I found much better for my skin type - my skin just doesn't like being 'washed'!

Since my skin has cleared up I often think about trying this again because my mum adores it and uses it religiously, and her skin at 45 is amazing and much better than my own at 20. And so many Youtubers and bloggers rave about it and get great results. But although it didn't appear to be irritating my skin when I used it, there's no denying that whilst using this I had really bad skin with lots of spots, both the big red sore ones and the smaller ones that result from clogged pores.

I give it a 2/5, because I do like the product itself and think it is a genuinely well-formulated and good product. I think it is very reasonably priced because I used it for eight months twice a day and still didn't run out. It just isn't for me unfortunately.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Liz Earle products

More Skincare - Face products