Liz Earle • Liz Earle Cleanse and Polish • Skincare - Face

rated 3.9(395 reviews)

Average Rating.3.9
Would buy this product again.67%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 5 of 5 rmitchell5 on 5/4/2013 12:30:00 PM more reviews by rmitchell5

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I absolutely love this stuff!!! I'm quite surprised it only has a rating of 3.8.

I have used this for two years now and am completely addicted to it. When I use this my skin is left feeling clean, fresh and soft (down to the chamomile and cocoa butter I suspect). This is a cream which has a thick, luxurious texture and is applied to dry skin. It's very gentle and contains nothing harsh e.g. alcohol or sulfates (hence it doesn't lather). For such a soft cleanser this does a very good job of removing makeup, even heavy. However, I tend to remove makeup with wipes prior to using this to get the full cleansing benefits (FYI my skin type is combo).

I love using the muslin cloths with my cleanse and polish but I've recently started using it with my clarisonic. I massage it well into dry skin, wet my clarisonic a little so it glides more easily and then cleanse away! Finally I rinse what's left off my face and follow with my Instant Boost Tonic which is also super. Quick tip!!! When washing your cloths avoid using fabric softener which makes them too soft. This keeps them nice and firm which works better to exfoliate the skin.

I definitely prefer the 200ml tube over the 100ml airless pump. When the tube appears empty I cut the top open to reveal another 3 days supply which is why I think the pump is wasteful.

For those who feel their skin is not clean, perhaps they are not rinsing the muslin cloths well enough, therefore just smearing the cleanser around their face instead of removing it altogether.

Overall, I highly recommend this cleanser, you should give it go!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 libertine1988 on 5/2/2013 5:19:00 PM more reviews by libertine1988

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I bought this like a lot of people because of the hype and I was starting to get into skincare just recently. So I thought this would be a great beginning for restarting my usual skin care with the cleansing part.
The cleanser is okay, it does no wonders for my skin, I can only use it on night times, when I use it morning and evening I have the feeling it is too heavy for my skin type (combo).
The part I like most about it is actually the cloth, therefore I will not buy it again, as it does nothing more as some other cheaper cleansers I have. But I will think about purchasing the toner that was given away with it as a sample.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 nicolajayne on 4/30/2013 12:07:00 PM more reviews by nicolajayne

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

What a shame! After all the hype surrounding this product, I have finished a bottle and feel rather underwhelmed.

There is nothing majorly wrong with the product - it smells okay, the packaging is simple and sophisticated, the pump works well and gives the right amount of cleanser for each cleanse BUT...the cleanser I feel just doesn't really clean!

Everyone says this is perfect for removing make up, but I look for a cleanser to cleanse my face really well in the morning when my make up is already off from the night before. This just doesn't feel it's really getting into my pores and even though it leaves my skin soft and not tight like other cleansers, it just doesn't make it feel very clean.

This cleansing balm should be rubbed into dry skin before being rinsed off with a hot cloth. I found this way of cleaning quite strange as I like to wet my face with water first and really lather a product onto my face. Perhaps the way this is to be used is the reason I never feel really clean afterwards.

I did use this to clean off my make up one night. It was very gentle on my eyes but I really didn't feel it cleaned any better than any other cleansing make up remover creams. And my mascara was left a big smudged over my face rather than wiped off nicely by a cream and cotton pad.

Overall, this is harmless! But it's not something I would bother purchasing again.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 JuliaSYarwood on 4/24/2013 8:44:00 AM more reviews by JuliaSYarwood

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

This is my staple face cleanser. Before I would have to run from the bathroom after using cleansing wash to get some moisuriser on my face before it cracked but this cleanser leaves my skin clean and soft. To get the best out of it you need to massage it in for a minute - this lifts the dirt out. As for the "polish" with the cloth, it gets the cleanser off but I can't see any exfoliation happening TBH. You can take your eye makeup off with it but I dont like the feeling of creamy cleanser in my eyes. My only complaint is that the coco butter in it can coat your sink and eventually block it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 dys4ia on 4/16/2013 9:47:00 AM more reviews by dys4ia

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

My skin is acne prone, but also extremely dry in areas and prone to eczema. I have been struggling for years to find a facewash that adequately fights my acne without irritating my eczema and this is the only facewash that achieves this. My skin feels clean but not too dry and my acne has been at bay ever since I started using it, my eczema has cleared up too.

This facewash has to be used with hot water and must be used with a washcloth to get the full effect, If I am wearing heavy eye make-up after a night out I will use an eye make up remover prior to this but it gets off my regular day make up fine including w/proof mascara.

I cannot recommend this enough especially for people with sensitive skin as like I said it is the only product that has not flared up my facial eczema.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 LovelyLucy on 4/8/2013 7:20:00 PM more reviews by LovelyLucy

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Brown    

I love the cleanse and hot cloth combination/idea and Liz Earle has always been good on my skin however I'm not bowled over by it. You could use the muslin cloths with any cleansing wash and I'm sorry to say they've lost my custom simply because when ordering on line it takes 5-6 days to arrive and costs 3.50 postage. If you want regular 1st class (which I think should be standard) it costs 5. There are very few places that sell this without parking in the town centre and incurring the same car parking charges so unfortunately I'm not using this anymore.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 susieglass on 4/6/2013 6:49:00 AM more reviews by susieglass

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

Everytime I use this, I love it and my skin looks nice, but once it's finished I never seem to buy it again...probably because my skin seems fine, and I can't justify spending so much on a cleanser. I have been having such trouble with cystic acne all year though, and this seems to be working. My skin is clearer, feels great after I use this product, and there's no irritation or dryness, and I generally just trust it.

I've decided that I'd rather spend alot of money keeping my skin clear, rather than spending loads on mask-like makeup. (I think nothing of spending 15-20 on foundation, but balk at more than a tenner on cleanser) Going to keep it up this time!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Synapses on 4/4/2013 3:26:00 AM more reviews by Synapses

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

I used this cleanser about a year and a half ago and loved it, however, I decided to buy the rest of the range and found that I kept getting these large spots under the skin in my chin area. Spots in that area are supposed to be linked with hormones so I kept using all of the products in the hope my hormones would settle down. After a good 8 months of using all the products and getting fed up with the state my skin was in I went back to my usual face care range (Clarins) and not long after my "hormonal" spots disappeared. Just recently I decided to give the hot cloth cleanser another go (thinking it could have been the moisturiser that was causing the spots) as I felt the skin on my cheeks was getting small dry patches and thought the Liz Earle cleanser might rectify that. It absolutely did and it has also given me back my "hormonal" spots :-( . I am so disappointed as the cleanser is superb at taking off makeup, doesn't make your skin feel tight after cleansing and makes your skin feel really clean - unfortunately my skin just doesn't like it. Now on the hunt for another hot cloth system (not Eve Lom - sounds like the spot issue may occur again and I'm not taking a £50 risk just in case it doesn't!).

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 LivviR on 4/2/2013 6:11:00 PM more reviews by LivviR

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

Read so much about this product and how amazing it was and was so excited to use this product when I bought it. But to my disappointment my skin came up in a rash and developed very dry skin (having perfect skin previously) It just so happens my skin just didnt get on with it and I am so sad that is the case! Luckily they have a money back guarantee so I took it back and showed what happened and they refunded me. Loved the smell and packaging though!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 hannahwallington on 3/31/2013 4:53:00 AM more reviews by hannahwallington

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

Love this cleanser. Great for taking off eye makeup at the same time at facial - before I would end up removing eye makeup first but no need with this cleanser. I do wonder whether part of its success is the muslin cloth though. I'm going to try less expensive cleansers with a muslin cloth and see if they work any better. Overall though - great product!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Liz Earle products

More Skincare - Face products