Maybelline • Shine Free Oil-Control Loose Powder • Loose Powders

rated 3.5(127 reviews)

Average Rating.3.5
Would buy this product again.63%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* PurpleCupcake87 on 1/8/2011 8:56:00 PM more reviews by PurpleCupcake87

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Was running low on my sephora brand mineral setting powder, and decided to try this cheaper alternative after watching jlovesmac1 on you tube. Comes in a big blue tub and a puff. The lid doesn't stay on well but that's okay because I use this in the morning to set my makeup and keep it at home, then on the go I use my NYC translucent compact to blot my tzone. They have a pressed powder in this as well but I heard that the tub gives you way more product and the pressed runs out really quick. I'm NC 25-30 and I got this in light in fear that the medium would be too orange... now because of the talc is it slightly chalky, however if I use it sparingly its fine. It cost me around 5$ at winco.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 rockthisworld on 1/2/2011 1:56:00 PM more reviews by rockthisworld

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

My skin is oily- or so I thought. this product is not for even semi-oily skin.
I thought this Shine Free Powder would really calm down shininess I was seeing in flash pictures, -eek- but, it turns out the moment I put this stuff on it dried my skin out BADLY. It took thirty second to see dried up skin. If you've had this kind of experience with oil blotting sheets, this product is not for you. The packaging kind of sucks too- the lid slides off too easily.
So, if you practically have oil dripping off your face, then maybe your skin can benifit from this. Even my oily skin did not.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 thebandit1984 on 11/27/2010 8:52:00 AM more reviews by thebandit1984

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

This loose powder is by far the best I have used. It's perfect for light coverage and shine-absorption. It never looks cakey; in fact, it looks more like I have no makeup on at all. The color was easy to blend - not too pink or yellow. I used "light" and it was perfect for my rather fair skin - not too dark or too light. I was also happy with the price - about $6 at the drugstore. If you want heavy coverage, you probably will be disappointed. But, if you want light coverage that won't aggravate acne or sensitive skin, this is the product for you!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 gcgirlzprez on 10/11/2010 1:15:00 PM more reviews by gcgirlzprez

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I originally went to the store to purchase my HG foundation ( Maybelline Mineral Power Foundation in classic ivory) but low and behold, I saw this on sale for $4. So I thought, hey, why not? If it doesn't work, it was only $4 anyway. So i gave it a shot. And I love it!
I've had this for about a month now, and its way better than the mineral foundation. I noticed that, with the mineral foundation, if I didn't use primer, my face got shiny after a few hours. But with this, I can go primer-free and it still looks great at the end of the day. This is my HG.

Pros:
•really controls shine
•light, not cakey
•can use without primer

Cons:
•packaging is not very good quality-lid can come off in makeup bag very easily.
•puff that comes with it to apply is not good quality. I suggest buying a kabuki brush to apply it with, if you do not own one.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 mheichelheim on 9/26/2010 6:29:00 PM more reviews by mheichelheim

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I bought this for about $3.50 when it went on sale at work. I have combination skin and just wanted something to use as a finishing powder. I like it because there are not too many suspicious ingredients, it feels very light and fresh on my skin, and the color I got (light) seems to blend well. I'm sure there are better powders out there, but I am very happy with this one for the price. I only rated it a 4 because I'm afraid of spillage in my makeup bag, I wish the lid could be secured better.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Lomelindi on 9/22/2010 7:43:00 PM more reviews by Lomelindi

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Black    

I use mineral powder on a daily basis and I always end up a little shiny after a few hours because I have oily skin, so I hoped this tub of loose powder would help with that problem. It did help with the shine but I had to add more than I thought I needed, so I guess this is a great powder for newbies because it's hard to overdo this one. Overall, this product is a very fine powder, goes on smoothly and works best with a big powder brush (ignore the pouffe that it comes with). It also doubles as a great setting powder for foundation or concealer. :)

NOTE: Yes, the packaging is absolute hell. The trick I use is that I take out the pouffe entirely, close the lid, hold it upright and then give it one shake. I gently remove the lid and there should be more than enough powder remaining on it. (DO NOT TILT IT UPSIDE DOWN, a lot comes up if you do that!)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 kittywompus on 8/27/2010 2:03:00 PM more reviews by kittywompus

Age: 44-55   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I bought this recently in Target for approx. $5 in the Medium as whenever I get those supposedly translucent or universal colors, they appear ghostly on me. The Light looked too pale. I was pleased with the Medium. It's not yellow, not pink. Good finishing powder. Nothing keeps my oily skin shine free in this heat, but this is a lightweight powder to use over foundation or just on bare moisturized skin. The puff provided is awful. I use a brush I got with some other loose powder product and I use the swirl & tap method. I'd like this better in a pressed powder and I am not a fan of loose powder, but it's a good product anyway. Great value for the price.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 oatmealcupcake on 8/24/2010 9:37:00 AM more reviews by oatmealcupcake

Age: 25-29   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

Love this loose powder. been using it for years. HG loose powder. I use this in light and it is the perfect shade. There is no shimmer or shine with this powder. Good for long wear. Keeps the foundation looking matte and wearable. i like how this shade is yellow based and gives my skin a more natural finish. I've tried powders from loreal, covergirl and rimmel but they were just too pink. This also glides on very smooth. I use the ecotools powder brush. It sets foundation well and last 4-6 hours. Its my HG. hope maybelline doesnt discontinue this. I always buy again, cause Maybelline always discontinues it if doesn't sell well. they discontinued the shine free pressed powder, but please do not discontinue the loose powder, i will go into a rage if they do.

Maybelline please DO NOT DISCONTINUE!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Darkchocolatelover on 8/16/2010 12:44:00 AM more reviews by Darkchocolatelover

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Fair   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Hazel    

This product works good!! It helps with shine. The con of this product is that it tends to get messy and the powder puff is flimsy. I use a makeup sponge instead. After I apply the loose powder, I use their shine free pressed powder. Then, I use a makeup brush to blend everything in. And the results are decent.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 455smile on 8/9/2010 10:07:00 PM more reviews by 455smile

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Hazel    

I love the actual formula; it really controlls shine and keeps other makeup on. No, what ruined it for me was the irritating packaging. It was hard to get powder on the puff, was messy trying to do it.... packaging sucked...

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Maybelline products

More Loose Powders products