Maybelline • Shine Free Oil Control Loose Powder • Loose Powders

rated 3.5(124 reviews)

Average Rating.3.5
Would buy this product again.63%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 gcgirlzprez on 10/11/2010 1:15:00 PM more reviews by gcgirlzprez

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I originally went to the store to purchase my HG foundation ( Maybelline Mineral Power Foundation in classic ivory) but low and behold, I saw this on sale for $4. So I thought, hey, why not? If it doesn't work, it was only $4 anyway. So i gave it a shot. And I love it!
I've had this for about a month now, and its way better than the mineral foundation. I noticed that, with the mineral foundation, if I didn't use primer, my face got shiny after a few hours. But with this, I can go primer-free and it still looks great at the end of the day. This is my HG.

Pros:
•really controls shine
•light, not cakey
•can use without primer

Cons:
•packaging is not very good quality-lid can come off in makeup bag very easily.
•puff that comes with it to apply is not good quality. I suggest buying a kabuki brush to apply it with, if you do not own one.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 mheichelheim on 9/26/2010 6:29:00 PM more reviews by mheichelheim

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I bought this for about $3.50 when it went on sale at work. I have combination skin and just wanted something to use as a finishing powder. I like it because there are not too many suspicious ingredients, it feels very light and fresh on my skin, and the color I got (light) seems to blend well. I'm sure there are better powders out there, but I am very happy with this one for the price. I only rated it a 4 because I'm afraid of spillage in my makeup bag, I wish the lid could be secured better.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Lomelindi on 9/22/2010 7:43:00 PM more reviews by Lomelindi

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Black    

I use mineral powder on a daily basis and I always end up a little shiny after a few hours because I have oily skin, so I hoped this tub of loose powder would help with that problem. It did help with the shine but I had to add more than I thought I needed, so I guess this is a great powder for newbies because it's hard to overdo this one. Overall, this product is a very fine powder, goes on smoothly and works best with a big powder brush (ignore the pouffe that it comes with). It also doubles as a great setting powder for foundation or concealer. :)

NOTE: Yes, the packaging is absolute hell. The trick I use is that I take out the pouffe entirely, close the lid, hold it upright and then give it one shake. I gently remove the lid and there should be more than enough powder remaining on it. (DO NOT TILT IT UPSIDE DOWN, a lot comes up if you do that!)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 kittywompus on 8/27/2010 2:03:00 PM more reviews by kittywompus

Age: 44-55   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I bought this recently in Target for approx. $5 in the Medium as whenever I get those supposedly translucent or universal colors, they appear ghostly on me. The Light looked too pale. I was pleased with the Medium. It's not yellow, not pink. Good finishing powder. Nothing keeps my oily skin shine free in this heat, but this is a lightweight powder to use over foundation or just on bare moisturized skin. The puff provided is awful. I use a brush I got with some other loose powder product and I use the swirl & tap method. I'd like this better in a pressed powder and I am not a fan of loose powder, but it's a good product anyway. Great value for the price.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 oatmealcupcake on 8/24/2010 9:37:00 AM more reviews by oatmealcupcake

Age: 25-29   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

Love this loose powder. been using it for years. HG loose powder. I use this in light and it is the perfect shade. There is no shimmer or shine with this powder. Good for long wear. Keeps the foundation looking matte and wearable. i like how this shade is yellow based and gives my skin a more natural finish. I've tried powders from loreal, covergirl and rimmel but they were just too pink. This also glides on very smooth. I use the ecotools powder brush. It sets foundation well and last 4-6 hours. Its my HG. hope maybelline doesnt discontinue this. I always buy again, cause Maybelline always discontinues it if doesn't sell well. they discontinued the shine free pressed powder, but please do not discontinue the loose powder, i will go into a rage if they do.

Maybelline please DO NOT DISCONTINUE!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Darkchocolatelover on 8/16/2010 12:44:00 AM more reviews by Darkchocolatelover

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Fair   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Hazel    

This product works good!! It helps with shine. The con of this product is that it tends to get messy and the powder puff is flimsy. I use a makeup sponge instead. After I apply the loose powder, I use their shine free pressed powder. Then, I use a makeup brush to blend everything in. And the results are decent.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 455smile on 8/9/2010 10:07:00 PM more reviews by 455smile

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Hazel    

I love the actual formula; it really controlls shine and keeps other makeup on. No, what ruined it for me was the irritating packaging. It was hard to get powder on the puff, was messy trying to do it.... packaging sucked...

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 healthcrazy23 on 7/15/2010 3:38:00 PM more reviews by healthcrazy23

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Other    

This is very good! It controls the shine amazingly and is non irritating. However I wish instead of the weird powder puff it was just loose and we could use a makeup blush brush thing. Other than the annoying packaging, the actual formula/product is great.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 choshinsei on 6/25/2010 3:07:00 PM more reviews by choshinsei

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

There's a lot of product in there, but it does an okay job for being a setting powder. I use it on top of my Physician's Formula powder, as I'm trying to see if I can clear up all my pimples that were probably caused by Bare Minerals. But I don't think I would purchase again once I run out.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Simply2Smile on 6/17/2010 11:43:00 PM more reviews by Simply2Smile

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I have combination skin so I needed something that would tone down any oiliness in my T zone. I spotted this and had high hopes for this product because I like the Shine Free Pressed Powder even to this day. Unfortunately, I've only used this twice ever since I bought it almost two years ago. Shortly after applying this (as in a few minutes), my skin started to peel! I thought it may have been caused by something else and I ignorantly used it the following day. Of course, my skin peeled yet again within the next 10 minutes. I'm sure that this is what caused that irritation because this was the only product I applied to my face that day. My skin isn't particularly sensitve to products and so I was extremely surprised. I don't even care if this truely does matify the face anymore, I wouldn't dare lay a finger on this powder again!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Maybelline products

More Loose Powders products