Paula's Choice • Super Antioxidant Concentrate • Treatments

rated 3.5(229 reviews)

Average Rating.3.5
Would buy this product again.62%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 1 of 5 GreenEyes85 on 2/14/2008 1:23:00 PM more reviews by GreenEyes85

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

Definitely a no-no for oily skin. I will be trying the Mattifying Antioxidant Concentrate with SPF 15 next (it's actually being shipped to me right now, so I'll review it when I get a chance to use it for a week or two.) Left my skin shinier than if I had just used my Neutrogena Oil-Free Moisture SPF 15. This is also too expensive for the amount you get. Even your hands are greasy after applying, so I would only recommend this for someone with super dry skin. Other than that, it did not make me break-out, surprisingly. Packaging is terrible, I would prefer the other dispensers she uses on other lotions.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Hawko on 2/2/2008 12:27:00 PM more reviews by Hawko

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

This ingredients are housed in a silicone base, very slippery. I definitely HATE silicone in skin care, it gives a false sense of smoothness. For such a critic like Paula, she did not offer the option of a watery/gel serum.... can't wash away fast enough, its going back.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* mightymittens on 1/20/2008 2:08:00 PM more reviews by mightymittens

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I got this a little while back and I find waiting a bit is the best way to review a product to see how you really like it. This stuff is a clear, slippery serum that you smooth onto your skin. I find it absorbs pretty well (it's winter here) and leaves a slight sheen on my skin. I smooth it on after I use some Cetaphil on my face, that way the application is more even. I don't use this stuff as regularly as I should (always forgetting to) but I really like to use it after I use BHA and BP. I don't think it breaks me out since I really treat my acne aggressively but I could see how it might be a little too slick for some people's skin. Next time I might just buy a moisturizer with antioxidants in it so I could skip this step altogether but I like that I can use such a basic moisturizer with it. It's not the type of product you see results with so much but I like it.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 LowSelfEsteem on 12/30/2007 2:31:00 AM more reviews by LowSelfEsteem

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Other    

I use this product sporadically. As per some of the previous reviews, the product is very "oily" in its consistency when first applied. TBH the first time I did so, I thought "what the?" and took it all off! It was weeks before I tried again but that second time I let it absorb. It does so fairly quickly. I only apply this at night because I find it too shiny for daytime use. I do think it gives the skin around the eyes a boost and plumps the area a little and perhaps with daily use I might find it to be a great product. Just not sure about the stickyness and shine...

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 wurm on 12/22/2007 1:15:00 PM more reviews by wurm

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I've held off reviewing this product until I had actually used it for several months. I was not expecting dramatic results to my 45 year-old-face such as the total "undoing" of all sun damage or wrinkles. However, I am pleased with results and I do believe it aids skin's own recovery resources. My skin looks smoother and more uniform in color. The price is unbeatable. I'll continue using the Super Antioxidant Concentrate as an investment in my skin's future.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* luxed2 on 12/15/2007 9:11:00 AM more reviews by luxed2

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Straight, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

This feels oily/siliconey when first applied, but sinks in fast to a semi-matte finish. I thought for sure it would clog my pores because most PC products do (all the cones). To my surprise, not only is this non pore-clogging, but it actually keeps my skin clear and smooth. I do notice immediate cosmetic effects from this (been using the latest version for about 2 weeks). It reduces redness (I have mild rosacea), tightens my pores and gives my skin a smooth glow. Also evens my skin tone a bit (contains bearberry & licorice which are supposed to be skin lightening). Check PC site for most current ingredients. Some think she has replaced with cheaper antioxidants, and the vitamin C is at the bottom of the list now whereas it used to be at the top. I never tried the previous version so I can't compare, but this is working pretty well for me.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 persiangirl85 on 12/8/2007 8:32:00 AM more reviews by persiangirl85

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Violet    

Okay, I purchased a sample of this because I am naturally weary of skin products in general. My skin is naturally oily, but since moving to a city where I walk everywhere in declining temperatures mixed with excessive wind.. it is dehydrated/parched to say the least and my skin needs some lovin'. This was a great product to get rid of the flakies and dry spots. It smells good (IMO), kind of like olive oil though, so not everyone is going to be crazy about it. I can see how someone will ance prone skin or oily skin may have problems with it, so I highly suggest sampling before buying. I intend to purchase the product when my sample runs out.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 sisax on 11/17/2007 3:20:00 AM more reviews by sisax

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

This product has improved in the last few years though it still feels a bit oily at times and it might clog my pores.

I keep using it though because it's full of antioxidants and in the winter it soaks right in.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 flyyy372 on 10/17/2007 4:32:00 PM more reviews by flyyy372

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

this contains a lot of beneficial ingredients for your skin, so thererfore it provides good antioxidant protection. it's also from a trusted source, Paula's choice. i bought it for those reasons. it feels soft and glides on almost. your skin doesn't feel excessively oily after putting this on. it has a good mix of antioxidants. it doesn't break me out all the time, although it does periodically. my complaint is that although it may provide good antioxidant protection over the long term, it doesn't provide any cosmetic benefits that i'm aware of. i use cellex-c or skinceuticals and when i put those on i can tell a small, tiny difference in my skin. it looks a little tighter and over time i've noticed that it's lightened my skin, evened out skin tone, and made it a little tighter. some of those effects are due to the vit c alone, and others are due to the low pH (acidic) of the solution that the vit c is in. w/paula's antioxidant serum you get the protection but it's not acidic enough to provide the collagen production that's needed over time to give your skin a small tightened effect. so to conclude, this is good for protection under your sunscreen but if you're looking more for antiaging benefits i think you'd be better off trying skinceuticals, cellex-c, &/or a retinoid product and using those as your main antiaging regimen and paula's serum as an addition to them.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* gingerrama on 10/15/2007 8:03:00 AM more reviews by gingerrama

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Red, Fine   Eyes: Green    

PC's Super Antioxidant Concentrate is a very fine high-grade silicone-based antioxidant serum. Considering its formula and contents, it's one of the bargains of the century (see further, and in greater detail, in others' many excellent reviews below).

NB This review is for the old formula - still sold in Europe. The US version has been reformulated and looks different. See end of review.

PC makes three versions of the concentrate, the others being a mattifying one for oilier skins and an oilier one for drier skins (it has lots of evening primrose and olive oils and suchlike). I've used both the one for drier skins ("skin recovery") and this one, the middle-of-the-road one for "all skin types." This one may contain the greatest concentration of antioxidants of the three versions. It's good on drier skins (friends with drier skin agree), and may not be suitable for the less dry or for those with a sensitivity to silicone. You'll see from the reviews for all three versions that people often find that the best version for their skin may go against its perceived type, so I would strongly suggest buying the sample sizes of all three and trying them out, say for a week each. This will at least be long enough to see if your skin is unhappy with one or other of the formula(e), and will not have broken the bank.

I used the Middle-of-the-Road first (way back, long ago...) then the dry-skin one, then switched back to this. No problems with either, and that's on slightly dry and quite sensitive skin. I had moved to over to the drier one due to changing contraceptive pill, and my skin becoming drier. I moved back to this, lighter one, as off the pill (wahey) and using jojoba oil instead of moisturizer at night (hence also less need for extra oil).

I use this at night, all over my face, after cleansing and massaging in the fabulous jojoba oil and applying some eye cream. Only a small amount is needed - I'd agree with other reviewers on a pea-sized quantity - and if you use too much, just rub it into the backs of your hands. Skin is delightful the next day. To be fair, this also has a lot to do with the jojoba oil. Between this night-time routine and using sunscreen during the day, skin is happy and looks good. A tube lasts a long time.

Price: $/EUR18 (sample size: $/EUR 1.10). Good deals on postage in the US, including regular free postage, so consolidate your orders. In Europe, much pricier postage, but as it's by weight you can benefit to some extent from ordering several months' supplies in one go.

INGREDIENTS:

(1) Europe - old formula

Polydimethylsiloxane (silicone slip agent), Tetrahexyldecyl Ascorbate, Magnesium Ascorbyl Phosphate, Superoxide Dismutase, Tocotrienol (stabilized, vitamin-based antioxidants), Alpha Lipoic Acid, Curcuma Longa, Lycopene, Lutein (antioxidants), Oat Beta Glucan (anti-irritant), Caprylic/Capric Triglyceride (emollient), Glycerin (NMF), Lupinus Albus (antioxidant), Retinyl Palmitate (stabilized, vitamin-based antioxidant), Arctostaphylos UVA Ursi (Bearberry) Extract (antioxidant), Glycyrhiza Glabra (Licorice) Extract (anti-irritant), Propylparaben (preservative)

(2) US - new formula

Cyclopentasiloxane, Polydimethylsiloxane (silicone slip agents), Carthamus Tinctorius (Safflower) Oil (non-volatile plant oil), Camellia Olefiera (Green Tea) Leaf Extract, Arctostaphylos Uva-Ursi (Bearberry) Extract, Lupinus Albus (Lupine) Seed Extract, Solanum Lycopersicum (Tomato) Extract (antioxidants), Avena Sativa (Oat) Kernel Extract (anti-irritant), Tocopheryl Acetate (vitamin E/antioxidant), Glycyrrhiza Glabra (Licorice) Root Extract (anti-irritant), Tetrahexyldecyl Ascorbate, Retinyl Palmitate, Tocotrienols (stabilized, vitamin-based antioxidants), Phenoxyethanol (preservative).

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Paula's Choice products

More Treatments products