Maybelline • The Rocket Volum Express • Mascara

rated 3.6(705 reviews)

Average Rating.3.6
Would buy this product again.63%
Ingredients


rated 2 of 5 azalea2 on 7/31/2014 3:43:00 AM more reviews by azalea2

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I expected a lot more from this product because I heard so many good things about it, but ended up pretty disappointed.

I like the brush and the packaging. The colors are pretty and the brush reaches each lash well. It has the strangest formula though, and after the first couple of uses it starts to dry out really, really fast. Its the first mascara I've used that got dry and flaky after just one month of usage. Applying it is a little bit of a chore because sometimes there are these dry clumps that get stuck to my lashes. Its not very long lasting either, and after a couple of hours I look like I'm wearing a lot less mascara than I left my house with - in short, not much can be said about the length and volume department either. Most of the time I wonder why I even bothered to put on any mascara.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 lushblush on 7/28/2014 5:49:00 AM more reviews by lushblush

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I really am disappointed with this mascara, so many people seem to enjoy it. It's really nothing wonderful... I was hoping to have really long lashes full of volume but it barely lengthened them, didn't hold the curl very well, clumped and just didn't work for me at all. However, it did add quite a lot of volume, it could work if paired with a lengthening mascara but it does leak underneath your eye! Seriously, never going to use or repurchase this again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 littlerogers on 7/25/2014 10:36:00 PM more reviews by littlerogers

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

Ok so I hope I'm not the only one guilty of buying a product just based on the color of the tube...I bought this because of the deep blue colored tube and Maybelline is my favorite brand. It separates well and is good for a more natural look. However, it doesn't volume-ize my eyelashes which kind of sucks but whatever. I've purchased this i think twice?? One in waterproof and the other in washable. I like both but I haven't had the chance to actually test out the waterproof-ness haha but over I like it because even though it doesn't add volume, it separates better than I thought :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Jjkokey on 7/19/2014 11:03:00 PM more reviews by Jjkokey

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Love it. It's build-able and lasts a long time. Easy application and has great colors.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Jessicalabasic on 7/17/2014 10:29:00 PM more reviews by Jessicalabasic

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

It waterproof perfect for summer !

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 haleynights on 7/17/2014 7:50:00 PM more reviews by haleynights

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

This mascara is not for me. My lashes respond well to wet mascaras and this mascara is so thick and makes my lashes clumpy, it's not super black, and doesn't lengthen or separate them at all.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Laviniabeauty on 7/15/2014 6:25:00 PM more reviews by Laviniabeauty

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

Comes out on my lashes clumpy its not very black and does not extend my lashes at all, very disappointed because of all the hipe i expected way more and am let down

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 LorettaBellxo on 7/15/2014 2:05:00 PM more reviews by LorettaBellxo

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Green    

Okay I usually really hate the type of brush the rocket has, but this mascara makes my lashes feel so nice afterwords. My eyelashes end up pretty long! The only thing I wish was different is the pigment. Make it more black!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 GirlyGirlLover1234 on 7/15/2014 2:21:00 AM more reviews by GirlyGirlLover1234

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Fair   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I've bought this product about twice already. I love it! It makes my lashes look full & gives lots of volume. But at the same time they look natural. Its also last all day. The only down side is that it takes time to build up the product.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 lizzobee on 7/13/2014 2:22:00 PM more reviews by lizzobee

Age: 19-24   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I recently went through a mascara phase and tried a number of drugstore mascaras. This one is my favorite of them all, including Jordana and other Maybelline mascaras like the classic Great Lash, the one with the Christmas tree-shaped brush, and the colossal brush.
Two reasons:

1) The brush: It looks little and I didn't know what to expect at first, but turns out it's perfect for reaching even the little lashes near the corners of your eyes and it really helps build both length and volume.

2) The formula: I love Maybelline's formula. I always buy blackest black and it has a great deep black color. It's easy to apply multiple coats without making your eyelashes feel like cardboard, forming clumps (clumps drive me NUTS!) and it's also very easy to remove. I don't even use makeup remover, just my facewash at night is enough to take it off. Also it doesn't smudge or give you raccoon eyes. Stays on all day until you want it off.

I hope they keep this one in their line for years!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Maybelline products

More Mascara products