Physicians Formula • Matte Collection Quad Eye Shadow in Canyon Classic • Eye Shadow

rated 4.5(126 reviews)

Average Rating.4.5
Would buy this product again.88%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* MackMimiMommy on 7/8/2010 6:39:00 PM more reviews by MackMimiMommy

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

The PF Matte Collection Quad in Canyon Classics is a great find. The shadow applies smoothly to a matte finish. It has no powder residue left under the eye. I use a matte concealer beneath the shadow, and it lasts all day. A very good find! The highlight color is great, and the 2 browns works well as both a crease color and a brow definer.

I am displeased with the following:

The packaging is cheap. [Some of the shadows are "tilty", the mirror is very tiny, the applicators are not even worth mentioning as I use brushes anyway.]

The colors are redundant. [There is a light highlight shade, 2 camel browns that are nearly identical, and a grayish color.]

One color is "off": [The gray color does not go with the other 3 colors IMO. Also, it gives me an ugly appearance. I avoid the shade.]

No color is appropriate for eyeliner shade.

OVERALL: I consider this a great DS find. I will repurchase just for the 2 good colors and the brown brow color. I will pretend the gray color isn't there! So, it's a great trio!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 jjiyunlee on 5/22/2010 2:13:00 AM more reviews by jjiyunlee

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Tan   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

This is my every-day, go-to quad. I use one of the mid-toned browns all over the lid, a little bit of the white as a brow highlight, and the darkest gray-brown to fill in my brows. I would re-purchase just because the brow color is right on but I'm still looking for a brow product that will last all day.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 mellowdali on 4/27/2010 3:40:00 AM more reviews by mellowdali

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I don't even know how many of these I've gone through!
The first one I bought was actually a Canyon shimmer or "metallic", which I liked until I had to replace it and ended up buying the matte instead.

I've stuck with this quad because these neutrals can be built up from a natural look, to a darker, more sophisticated finish. The dark grayish one has definitely been my eyeliner staple for the past few years. And I really enjoy the dark brown as an everyday shadow. The vanilla shade is a great highligher.
I never actually used the lighter brown one unless I made a point to, though.

I started buying MAC shadows not too long ago, and I found myself buying shadows in similar shades to these.

This quad is definitely my favorite of all time. I will be lost when they stop making this.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 jaebass on 4/19/2010 4:22:00 PM more reviews by jaebass

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I love this product! I use it everyday. I can't live a day without it. I use the flesh colored shadow as a highlight and the one lighter brown color for my eyebrows. Sometimes, I take a LITTLE of the dark brown and put it into my eyebrows. I love all of the shadows, accept the dark brown one, it's okay. It's blotchy, kind of. If that makes since?
I definitly recommend it. It's my HG.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* kraftykaitie on 3/31/2010 5:17:00 PM more reviews by kraftykaitie

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

This is definitely a great asset to my makeup collection. I found it on clearance at my local walgreens and decided to pick it up since i didn't own very many matte shadows. I am so glad I did! I was also thrilled to find that it wasn't discontinued.

There are four very silky and pretty well-pigmented shades in this quad. The first is a yellowish matte off-white color. It's my favorite matte highlighter, even after I purchased many more matte highlight shades. Then there is a cool-toned light brown shade, which is a nice color, but not one I use a lot. There is also a warm-toned light brown shade. I find that to be excellent for blending out creasework or to create a very natural look that I like to wear with colored eyeliner. Last is a very nice slightly cool-toned grey color. I really love this for smudging along my lashline, or for deepening a crease color. It's probably one of my favorite colors for a smokey look. Each of these shadows are amazing on their own and I would repurchase the quad or the colors as singles in a heartbeat.

I really like the quality of the eyeshadows. They aren't quite as creamy as the shimmer strips, but are almost a silky texture. They have good staying power. I haven't noticed any fading or creasing. the payoff is good. I haven't had any problems with the packaging or anything else concerning these eyeshadows. They're an excellent addition to any collection. I'll definitely repurchase if I ever run out.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* pjw1209 on 2/20/2010 1:01:00 AM more reviews by pjw1209

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I have been on the lookout for matte shadows, and was glad when I found this quad on sale at drugstore.com. It's really hard to distinguish colors on a computer screen, but I have a chronic illness that has robbed me of the ability to go shopping. Let's put it this way, my DH wishes there was no such thing as internet shopping :D...


Unfortunately, I am in the minority here, because I did not like this quad. The eye shadows are on the cool side, and were mostly grey tones. Out of four, I only liked one shade, which was the darkest shade. They seemed to be of fairly good quality, but I thought the shades were all too blah! I think I will check out the NYX matte shades. I will not buy this product again...

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 karmalissa on 2/9/2010 4:58:00 PM more reviews by karmalissa

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Other, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I will never go w/out this product again. The vanilla matte colour is so pigmented and goes on silky - it is the perfect matte highlighter in my opinion. As far as drugstore shadows go, I have been most impressed with this one. The colors are easy to blend with other shadows, and greatly compliment more shimmery shades for a balancing effect. Definitely worth trying.

EDIT/UPDATE: the ivory matte in this quad is a better quality exact DUPE FOR BLANC TYPE.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* labu on 2/5/2010 9:23:00 PM more reviews by labu

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Olive, Warm   Hair: Brown, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

These are my HG eyeshadows for so many reasons, and I say eyeshadowS plural (not referring to the entire quad) because the shadows are so blendable and neutral that each can be used individually with so many other colors. First of all, the formula is extremely smooth, like velvet, it's incredible, which makes for smooth application and a really nice, soft finish. Also, the colors are neutral and skin toned, yet highly pigmented. I find that whether I put an eyeshadow base or just apply them on my nude skin, they leave a nice finish either way that is basically my own skin but better. The colors go together great as a quad, or, like I said, used with other shadows. They're super versatile because you can switch which colors you use on the lash line, lid, in the crease, etc. to make for different looks that are appropriate for a variety of occasions, from the simple and casual to more elegant... yes, elegant, because I believe matte looks are very classy, and these are the best matte shadows with absolutely no shimmer, sparkle, shine or frost that I've ever used. In other words, this one quad makes for numerous looks. The applicator is pretty decent and works better than the generic ones that come with most drug store eyeshadows, although using a brush is far better. Don't expect to get super dramatic or highly pigmented looks with these shadows, but do expect to get soft, smooth, pleasant-toned eyes. The taupe colors, by the way, are PERFECT for blending and for soft transitions between crease colors and highlight colors at the brow. My skin tone is warm/yellow, and these work perfect. The package is sleek and thin, perfect for storage or packing away without taking up too much space. I can't believe this thing sells at the price it does (under $7), it's a steal in my book and well worth every penny.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 shiaobundan on 2/2/2010 12:26:00 AM more reviews by shiaobundan

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

To start off, I'm used to using MAC, UD, Lancome, Stila every day. I almost NEVER wear d/s eyeshadows.

That said, this quad is FABULOUS. The color shows up perfectly fine on me (I'm NC30, which is a lighter medium tone) and I LOVE how soft, matte and easy to blend they are. The gray in this palette can also be layered on for a subtle, smokey look. I find that as long as I have Carbon or Black Tied by MAC (or even a dark brown, dark maroon from any other higher end brand) I have EVERYTHING I need for a classic smokey eye or a night out. Basically this quad is versatile enough for everyday where, but can be dressed up simply with one more dark color for more drama.

Would definitely buy if I ran out.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 1somthinsouthern on 1/26/2010 8:16:00 PM more reviews by 1somthinsouthern

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I really enjoy this palette. It's a no fuss, takes out the guess work of choosing colors and it blends beautifully. For a drug store eyeshadow, this is really top notch for an everyday, weekend, whenever look.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Physicians Formula products

More Eye Shadow products