Physicians Formula Matte Collection Quad Eye Shadow in Canyon Classic

4.5

130 reviews

88% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.6

Price: $$

Package Quality: 3.6

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS



on 1/5/2011 3:38:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Blue

This is one of my favorite eye shadow quads of ALL TIME! Great for neutral looks, but also fantastic for using for blending. It comes with a light neutral beige, a warm light brown, a darker cool brown, and then a dark almost grayish brown. I use the warm and cool brown colors everyday to blend whatever shade I'm using for that day into my highlight color.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.



on 12/12/2010 9:24:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

Finally, a totally matte eyeshadow palette and not a sparkle or shimmer in sight! It's perfect for those with light skin; those with tan or deeper skin tones may find it doesn't show up on them. The lightest shade is a creamy ivory. I like it because it's not too white, like some highlighter shades. The two browns are quite similar. The lighter one is a camel brown and the slightly deeper one has a hint of taupe to it. The darkest color, a warm gray, is a perfect brow or eyeliner color. I also like to use it to create a subtle daytime smoky eye. The texture is soft and creamy and when I wear a primer, they last all day. While the packaging is nothing fancy, it's sturdy and functional. The only drawback is that because the texture is very loose, there is some fallout when you sweep your brush over the shadows. I think this is because there's not a lot of binders in it. But even if this does waste some product, at this price, I can certainly live with that.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 12/1/2010 10:53:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I am amazed! I have been looking in Nordstrom for a matte shadow in these colors. I came VERY close to buying Georgio Armani Maestro Eye Shadow Quad in Desert for $59. $59!!!!!!!!! I just couldn't do it.

I stopped at CVS on the way home for something else, and some inner voice told me to check out what Physician's Formula had. No idea why. I never shop that line. Anyway, there was one quad left in Canyon Classic. EXACTLY the colors I wanted. For $7.99. I decided to risk it, and I am thrilled. These colors are great, and they last all day long, no primer needed. I am overjoyed. Think I'll check out PF for its other little miracles.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.


on 11/25/2010 2:18:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Green

I recently got back into eye shadows, and this is a cheapie keeper. I purchased and returned Too Faced Naked eye palette. While being a nice kit, the shimmer in some shades was OTT on my 50-something eyes. The packaging was darling, as always, but for $36, no thanks. This kit works better for me. There is a bone shade, 2 light taupes (one with more of a greenish hue) and a gray, all matte. My faves are the bone and gray, but I shaded my eye today with the less-green taupey brown and it was very pretty and subtle. I used Smashbox's Envy (shimmery graphite) gel liner. I could add a nice shimmery light beige and black, and essentially have the Naked palette for $30 cheaper. I'm sold.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


Age: 30-35

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Warm

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Green

The PF Matte Collection Quad in Canyon Classics is a great find. The shadow applies smoothly to a matte finish. It has no powder residue left under the eye. I use a matte concealer beneath the shadow, and it lasts all day. A very good find! The highlight color is great, and the 2 browns works well as both a crease color and a brow definer.

I am displeased with the following:

The packaging is cheap. [Some of the shadows are "tilty", the mirror is very tiny, the applicators are not even worth mentioning as I use brushes anyway.]

The colors are redundant. [There is a light highlight shade, 2 camel browns that are nearly identical, and a grayish color.]

One color is "off": [The gray color does not go with the other 3 colors IMO. Also, it gives me an ugly appearance. I avoid the shade.]

No color is appropriate for eyeliner shade.

OVERALL: I consider this a great DS find. I will repurchase just for the 2 good colors and the brown brow color. I will pretend the gray color isn't there! So, it's a great trio!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 5/22/2010 2:13:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Tan, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This is my every-day, go-to quad. I use one of the mid-toned browns all over the lid, a little bit of the white as a brow highlight, and the darkest gray-brown to fill in my brows. I would re-purchase just because the brow color is right on but I'm still looking for a brow product that will last all day.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 4/27/2010 3:40:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Green

I don't even know how many of these I've gone through!
The first one I bought was actually a Canyon shimmer or "metallic", which I liked until I had to replace it and ended up buying the matte instead.

I've stuck with this quad because these neutrals can be built up from a natural look, to a darker, more sophisticated finish. The dark grayish one has definitely been my eyeliner staple for the past few years. And I really enjoy the dark brown as an everyday shadow. The vanilla shade is a great highligher.
I never actually used the lighter brown one unless I made a point to, though.

I started buying MAC shadows not too long ago, and I found myself buying shadows in similar shades to these.

This quad is definitely my favorite of all time. I will be lost when they stop making this.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 4/19/2010 4:22:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

I love this product! I use it everyday. I can't live a day without it. I use the flesh colored shadow as a highlight and the one lighter brown color for my eyebrows. Sometimes, I take a LITTLE of the dark brown and put it into my eyebrows. I love all of the shadows, accept the dark brown one, it's okay. It's blotchy, kind of. If that makes since?
I definitly recommend it. It's my HG.


on 3/31/2010 5:17:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Fair, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

This is definitely a great asset to my makeup collection. I found it on clearance at my local walgreens and decided to pick it up since i didn't own very many matte shadows. I am so glad I did! I was also thrilled to find that it wasn't discontinued.

There are four very silky and pretty well-pigmented shades in this quad. The first is a yellowish matte off-white color. It's my favorite matte highlighter, even after I purchased many more matte highlight shades. Then there is a cool-toned light brown shade, which is a nice color, but not one I use a lot. There is also a warm-toned light brown shade. I find that to be excellent for blending out creasework or to create a very natural look that I like to wear with colored eyeliner. Last is a very nice slightly cool-toned grey color. I really love this for smudging along my lashline, or for deepening a crease color. It's probably one of my favorite colors for a smokey look. Each of these shadows are amazing on their own and I would repurchase the quad or the colors as singles in a heartbeat.

I really like the quality of the eyeshadows. They aren't quite as creamy as the shimmer strips, but are almost a silky texture. They have good staying power. I haven't noticed any fading or creasing. the payoff is good. I haven't had any problems with the packaging or anything else concerning these eyeshadows. They're an excellent addition to any collection. I'll definitely repurchase if I ever run out.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 2/20/2010 1:01:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I have been on the lookout for matte shadows, and was glad when I found this quad on sale at drugstore.com. It's really hard to distinguish colors on a computer screen, but I have a chronic illness that has robbed me of the ability to go shopping. Let's put it this way, my DH wishes there was no such thing as internet shopping :D...


Unfortunately, I am in the minority here, because I did not like this quad. The eye shadows are on the cool side, and were mostly grey tones. Out of four, I only liked one shade, which was the darkest shade. They seemed to be of fairly good quality, but I thought the shades were all too blah! I think I will check out the NYX matte shades. I will not buy this product again...


Video Reviews & Tutorials

Frugal Fridays | Drugstore Dupes for MAC Eyeshadows by macshadowcombos

Back to Top