Clear Scalp & Hair • Shampoo • Shampoo

rated 3.0(169 reviews)

Average Rating.3.0
Would buy this product again.51%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 Arrington0 on 8/23/2013 2:02:00 PM more reviews by Arrington0

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Fair   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Before I start, I'd like to point out I'm reviewing their newest shampoo, the moisturizing scalp care i believe? Alright so I am currently already experiencing major hair loss and I know a lot of people are saying that this brand actually causes hair loss as well. The thing is, a lot of you guys don't state which line of clear you're actually using. Anyways, I went through all of the reviews and the ones that actually stated which line their using, same as mine, had no problem with their shampoo or conditioner (moisturizing scalp care). I went through the ingredients and theres quiet a bit compared to normal shampoos and conditioners, perfume being quite high up the list, 5th if i remember correctly. So if you're experincing itching or burning, you might be having an allergic reaction to the amount of perfume used or any other ingredients listed. Also, for hair loss, i took a quick look at other shampoo types by clear and many of them had more than one type of sulfate which is why your hair might be falling out. The amount of sulfate chemials might be too harsh for your hair and scalp which is whats causing them to just break off, same with head and shoulders if you're experiencing hair loss from that brand too. The mosturizing scalp care by clear only has one sulfate listed.

With that said, on to my review. The moisturizing scalp care shampoo. It has quite a strong perfume smell to it, so if you're those people who can't stand strong smells, I wouldn't recommend you buying it. The smell also lingers for awhile hear and there, which I personally don't mind. The shampoo also lathers very well. I only use a small amount, about a quarter, a little more if needed. I lather it in my hands before applying to scalp and hair. If you're experiencing buildup, you might be using more shampoo than needed per wash. Anyways, it leaves my hair shiny afterwards and light feeling. I'm also not experiencing any oil at the roots right afterwards like some people have experienced. Like i said before, the cause might be of over shampooing. And yes that is very possible. Oh and some also claimed that the shampoo theyre using has a thick formula which i don't believe mine has. I'm still experiencing some itching on the other hand but thats kind of normal for me but it didn't get worse or better. This shampoo does leave my hair feeling clean but I've only started recently using it so I'll update soon if anything has changed.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* 2010 on 8/3/2013 3:55:00 PM more reviews by 2010

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I love the scent, but it leaves my hair feeling unclean due to the buildup it creates. I am also very concerned about the possible hair loss this might create after reading the reviews. It really dpesn't do anything special for my hair.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 lizmolina1 on 8/3/2013 3:33:00 PM more reviews by lizmolina1

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown, Straight   Eyes: Brown    

When I bought this product i read quite a few reviews about hair loss. I didn't want to believe it since people have different reactions to shampoos etc. I went ahead and bought it anyway and sorry to say this but it's true. I've lost a lot of hair since i started using this product. When I shower, when I comb my hair, style it, etc. Don't get me wrong..it smells great and leaves your hair soft, but it's not worth losing your hair for it. =(

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 xxroyale on 7/23/2013 6:00:00 PM more reviews by xxroyale

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

Okay so I just tried this product for the first time (after being scared to death by the reviews which I read AFTER I already bought this) and my hair didn't fall out. Actually, I shed quite a bit usually and I think I might have even lost less hair than usual? The scent is really nice and I like the packaging and it was on sale. I got it because I'm trying to grow my hair out. After one wash, so far so good but I'll update soon.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 makeupbabe1223 on 7/21/2013 3:06:00 AM more reviews by makeupbabe1223

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I have been using this for months, and I have to say that its by far my favorite shampoo and conditioner, my hair is always smooth, soft, silky, smells nice. Until earlier today I was on here and saw that a lot of people are experiencing hair loss... I was honestly in shock, cause I have been dealing with horrible hair loss since I first purchased this product, and I honestly didn't even think about the fact that maybe my shampoo and conditioner had something to do with it. I already have thick hair that does shead a lot, but it has majorly amplified since i started using this product.. Overall its a great product and it does wonders to my hair, but the extremely hair loss is not worth it!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 filmgirl79 on 7/16/2013 3:46:00 PM more reviews by filmgirl79

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Add me to the list of people who have noticed extreme hair loss since using this product. I went through nearly two bottles before the hair loss became noticeable, and despite not using this product the past two weeks, it continues to fall out. I'm talking HUGE amounts every time I wash, comb, or run my fingers through it. I'm praying that this will stop soon! :( I did find it stopped my flakes and that my scalp no longer itched like it usually does, but the hair loss isn't worth it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* goldensyrup on 6/26/2013 10:09:00 PM more reviews by goldensyrup

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

Ok so before writing my review I went ahead and read what other people thought of this product to see if they were as pleased as I am and I can't tell you how shocked I am to read about the reports of hair loss etc. To me that is very serious yet perplexing at the same time as my experience is actually the opposite...

To be honest, I have been scared of using anything with sulfates for a while now but after buying a bathroom full of sulfate free shampoos that just make my hair feel dry at the ends yet oily too soon at the roots I was keen to try something different. Enter Clear Scalp Therapy FOR MEN!! Yes FOR MEN!! My husband who suffers from hair loss and dandruff bought this and I was in the shower one day and I thought "what the heck, I'm going to give this baby a try". My hair had been feeling gross and a little itchy so I thought why not! First up the smell is not at all masculine like most shampoos marketed to men are - instead of horrible spices this one smells fruity like apples!! Yum. The colour is an opaque white which for some reason made me feel like it was going to work.

You only need a small amount as it lathers up a lot yet rinses clear - no residue or dry tangly feel. I almost barely need conditioner after using this.

After blow drying my hair feels dry and soft - almost like a child's untouched hair!! I was surprised to read that the ingredients list is fairly decent and has a few natural nourishing ingredients and essential oils and not just chemicals like other drugstore/supermarket brands.

I've used this a few times now and I enjoy it a lot and happy to report NO HAIR LOSS. Yet.

ONE DRAWBACK: The packaging is ugly :/

I'm going to buy a female version of this and report back what I think of it.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* denns on 6/25/2013 2:27:00 AM more reviews by denns

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

Really loving this shampoo and conditioner duo lately. I have the Damage and Color Repair bottles and they are keeping my normally greaseball of a scalp much less oily than usual. I can go three days without washing when i use this stuff and thats unheard of for me. I haven't noticed any extra hair falling out (I do lose a lot normally though), but my hair IS more tangled after washing and conditioning. It's not a huge difference compared with other brands, but it's there. I use my tangle teezer or a wide tooth comb and I'm fine. SIDENOTE*** I will say that I forgot why I stopped using these awhile back until I went on makeupalley to write this review after starting up again...and then I remembered all of the awful reviews. Scary stuff and making me not want to use...again.... (but I'm still a fan - products are always YMMV!)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 aznflower101 on 6/20/2013 9:28:00 AM more reviews by aznflower101

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Tan, Warm   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Has been drying out my scalp like crazy! Flakes

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 ajones0712 on 6/19/2013 10:01:00 AM more reviews by ajones0712

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

This product has caused me to get sores in my scalp and I mentioned it to a friend and a co-worker who both had the same thing happen to them from using this product. I would not recommend it to anyone!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Clear Scalp & Hair products

More Shampoo products