Revlon • ColorStay Whipped Creme Makeup • Crème

rated 3.9(1198 reviews)

Average Rating.3.9
Would buy this product again.70%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 siruhi on 8/13/2014 12:20:00 AM more reviews by siruhi

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

At first I have to say; with beautyblender(I use Real Techniques sponge though) I get very much better result and a different coverage.I applied this with L&Y large stippling brush and I was happy that it came with a good result; natural medium coverage,dewy finish and nice consistency of a product. But, when I second time applied it,did it with Real Techniques sponge and yes,it was a full coverage.Much like Revlon Colorstay liquid foundation,but more creamy and still more natural. At 7 hours it got a little bit shiny on the sides of my nose and forehead.I have acne-prone fair/ivory,caucasian skin and I bought this in 200 Sand Beige. It is same as ivory I think.On fall,winter and spring it is definitely correct color for my skin.But now that it's summer this can be a little bit on lighter side on my skin. I will still wear it as it is so good,I'm excited! I'm very happy that I bought this and will absolutely buy more when I run out =)

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 shabutey on 8/7/2014 9:16:00 AM more reviews by shabutey

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Coverage: medium but buildable Consistency: thick, spongey cream Colour: I'm a NC25 and I have it in sand beige. It's almost a perfect match, just slightly too light, but it's not very noticeable. I will probably have to go a darker shade in summer though. Wear: lasts around 6-8 hours with no oilies (I tend to get oil breakthrough with foundations even though my skins not oily.) starts to lose its perfect look around the 7 hour mark, but still looks alright. I use it with Too faced primed and poreless primer and Rimmel silky loose powder underneath. Application: only need a tiny bit, very spreadable and melts into skin, no need to wait for it to dry. I use my fingers, as it's a cream foundation, a brush would waste a lot of product. I've heard of people getting good results with a beauty blender though. Finish: not matte or Dewey but a very natural "your skin but better" finish. very natural and soft to the touch. Does stick to dry patches on skin though Packaging: screw top jar isn't the most convenient or hygienic, however it's a cream foundation, it wouldn't work in a pump bottle so I guess this is why they've gone with a jar. I use a little plastic spoon to get it out. Overall, one of the best foundations I've used, it gives an almost flawless coverage with a very natural skin finish. I've never used a foundation that kept my oilies at bay for so long. It is silicone based, so make sure to get a silicone based primer to go with it! Beware if you have dry skin, I first tried this without a primer and it dried my skin out horribly for the next few days... so a good primer is a must.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 emem054 on 8/5/2014 12:56:00 AM more reviews by emem054

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I have been using this foundation on and off for the past 2.5 years. I have to say that I keep coming back to it, because it is the only decently priced foundation that doesn't break me out. I always experiment with others, but this is my "safe" foundation. I have worn this through two pregnancies, and my skin is starting to change and become more dry so I may have to change pretty soon :(.

Pros:
+ For the price, you get a lot of product.
+ Doesn't break me out.
+ It is nicely pigmented.
+ A little goes a long way, and the foundation covers nicely.
+ Doesn't oxidize on my skin.
+ Long-wearing.

Cons:
+ Packaging is bulky and inconvenient.
+ Packaging is unhygienic.

Overall, I love it and I have gone through 5 or so jars of it. The packaging is annoying but I usually just dab a clean finger in there to grab some product and put it on the back of my hand, similar to the liquid formula Colorstay.

Another good thing about Revlon is the sales and coupons - take advantage of them if you're scared to try this!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 makeupgal718 on 8/4/2014 10:40:00 PM more reviews by makeupgal718

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Love the creamy whipped texture of this foundation. The best way of applying is with your fingers, the warmth from your hands just helps melt the product into your skin, appearing oh so flawless. However, I don't like how it comes off in pictures :( looks pasty and washed. In person thou, superb. I use color natural tan 370, maybe i should go a littler warmer.
.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 starbuck777 on 8/3/2014 8:11:00 PM more reviews by starbuck777

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

Edit*: A kind reviewer informed me there is salicylic acid in this, and that's why it makes me feel so awfully dry.

Okay, so I've been a colorstay girl for years. I ALWAYS want to leave, but after I buy a new high end foundation, I inevitably come back. And then I curse myself for ever waisting the money...

My skin is dry yet acne prone (won the genetic lottery, I know) and although mixing the regular colorstay with my shea moisturizer provides the best effect, I hate to say this whipped cream version LOOKS good, but my god I feel so freaking dry it makes me want to claw at my skin. Even after layering on rosehip seed oil (my HG). It honestly feels like a mask. I wonder if mixing it in a 50/50 ratio with a normal moisturizer would work... but the problem is I don't use my Positively Radiant Aveeno moisturizer anymore. That moisturizer mixed into Revlon colorstay ALWAYS LOOKED AMAZING. But sadly, I became more health conscious and didn't want to keep slathering my face in chemicals and endocrine disrupting soy products so I stopped this a few years ago. Now I only use products with natural oils and/or raw Shea face lotion from Chagrin Valley. You can mix in the latter, but only so much because the natural oils can make you look like a slip in slide.

Hence my search for a new day time moisturizer (that won't break me out or make me look like an oil slick) and my new search for a foundation also continues.

Ugh. I want to love this so much. Maybe I'm just having my first real reaction to a product ever? I mean, I've used the regular Revlon Colorstay for years... and that can totally feel too dry without mixing it with a moisturizer. But this seriously feels so tight and itchy. I can't wait to wash it off. Again, maybe I'll feel differently if I find a good moisturizer to mix it with though.

I'm giving it 4 stars because the look is a good medium-full, and I would totally wear it if I didn't feel like I was wearing uncomfortable clown makeup.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Kw153028 on 8/3/2014 1:31:00 PM more reviews by Kw153028

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry   Hair: Other   Eyes: Brown    

I love this foundation! It is long lasting and looks very smooth on the skin. For dry skin it just glides right over my dry patches. There are a few complaints: the packaging is very bulky and after I had been using it for a while the cap started cracking on the inside, so it would close, but the cap would come off if I just grabbed it. The shade range is terrible as well, I wear the darkest shade (caramel) in the summer which is comparable to nc42, so if your any darker you won't find a shade. This shade is also very yellow as well. I had too blend it quite a bit to make it work for my cool undertone skin. The shade rich ginger is my usual shade and is very pretty and works nicely.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 mrsyunyun on 7/28/2014 3:52:00 PM more reviews by mrsyunyun

Age: 30-35   Skin: Very Dry, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

I find that this matches my NC30 skin very well. If you're having problems with it blending in, use your fingers to apply. I had no luck with a brush or sponge but it melts right into my skin with my fingers. It's true that in sunlight the color has a faint taupeish cast but I find that if I use a powder to set that matches my skin tone on top instead of a translucent powder this isn't a problem. Blush and bronzer also fix this problem for me so I don't look flat. I like the finish it gives me--dewy and natural. I am not a big fan of the big glass pot it comes in or the smell so I subtracted one lippie. I love that it doesn't cake up in the lines of my face. I'm 30 but I have dry skin and a lot of foundations cling to my dry patches.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 VerbanaLight on 7/19/2014 5:51:00 PM more reviews by VerbanaLight

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

Update on the yellow issue: I wore a gray top on an overcast day, and Sand Beige did look slightly gray. I'm sad because it holds its own against my yellow inside the house and when it's sunny, but I don't want to confine myself indoors or run inside when the clouds come in just for my foundation!

I'm like the 10th person here now in the NC30ish range to complain about the gray or pink cast in many shades, so if you fall into this category and are a banana too, please don't be hard-headed like me. Skip this and try something else. The best affordable yellow I've found is Mehron's Eurasia Japonese and Eurasia Light. Japanese is crazy yellow but blends in well with my neck! Loreal's true match in W4.5 looks really yellow in swatches, so that might work if you are not too oily.

Previous review: I'm NC30-35 and have a lot of yellow in my neck and chest. I was so relieved to find Sand Beige--it has a strong yellow undertone! Trust me, I know what it's like to feel frustrated by pink or gray casts from umpteenth bottles of drugstore foundations! Another reviewer here called Revlon and was told this and Warm Golden (a tad too dark for me) were the two yellow shades. Don't be alarmed though if it goes on gray--it takes an hour for the color to fully develop for me, like others have reported.

Based on other NC35 reviews, I also tried Natural Tan, but it was too dark as well. I wear Golden Beige in the liquid version. I like the liquid version better because it makes my skin look soooo good, but the whipped is better for when I just want to slap something on with my fingers.

I like this foundation, but I do get shiny after only three hours, so a mattifier and powder are a must for me when wearing this.

Buy from CVS so you can exchange for other shades/return wrong shades. Their return policy is a godsend!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 miniequalcrzy on 7/13/2014 12:56:00 PM more reviews by miniequalcrzy

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Tan   Hair: Black   Eyes: Green    

I bought this thinking it could replace the liquid version seeing as how that one is a gift from the heavens and all
but this just sucks.

It really does. I can't believe stores here are selling it for almost 20 dollars because its not even worth half that. This is like some weird mutated colorstay wannabe.

Not only does it look like makeup, (no matter how much you put on it looks cakey) it doesn't even stay on more than 5 hours or so. The wear time is even less with a primer (actually), and the coverage is...well it's not too bad but it's nothing compared to it's liquid counterpart. Oh yeah, and it looks ugly. Did I mention that? It looks so strange, like greyish yet like heavy foundation at the same time.

So no makeup-alley, I would not repurchase this, I don't even want to look at it because I'm sad I wasted 20 dollars on junk. I could of bought 5 happy meals instead. Now that would've been money well spent.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 ImUrAddiction on 7/12/2014 3:30:00 PM more reviews by ImUrAddiction

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I love this formula. The coverage is awesome and the product goes on smoothly! I purchased early tan which seems to fit me nicely; a bit too beige for my skin since I have yellow undertones BUT I still love it!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Revlon products

More Crème products