Revlon ColorStay Whipped Creme Makeup

3.9

1231 reviews

70% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.1

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.1

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

Dimethicone, Isodecyl Neopentanoate, Water, Isododecane, PEG/PPG-19/19 Dimethicone, Trisiloxane, Trimethylsiloxysilicate, C13-16 Isoparaffin, Adipic Acid/Neopentyl Glycol Crosspolymer, Boron Nitride, Dimethicone/Bis-Isobutyl PPG-20 Crosspolymer, C10-13 Isoparaffin, Glycerin, Salicylic Acid, Tocopherol, Lactobacillus/Eriodictyon Californicum Ferment Extract, Cymbidium Grandiflorum (Orchid) Flower Extract, Lilium Candidum Bulb Extract, Malva Sylvestris (Mallow) Extract, Sodium Hyaluronate, Silk Powder, Alumina, Polyisobutene, Disteardimonium Hectorite, Dimethicone/Silsesquioxane Copolymer, Cyclodextrin, Ethylhexyl Palmitate, Silica, Methicone, Sodium Chloride, Sorbitan Sesquioleate, Propylene Carbonate, Triethoxycaprylylsilane, Silica Silylate, Silica Dimethyl Silylate, Tetrasodium EDTA, Phenoxyethanol, Caprylyl Glycol, 1,2-Hexanediol --- MAY CONTAIN (CI 77019/Mica, CI 77891/Titanium Dioxide, CI 77491/CI 77492/CI 77499/Iron Oxide, CI 77947/Zinc Oxide)


on 11/16/2014 11:18:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Olive, Neutral

Hair: Black, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

This is definitely my HG foundation. I have olive/dry complexion & this foundation awes me. The finish is flawless & it lasts all day. The makeup actually looks progressively better the longer you wear it. I just hate that the color range is so limited, as usual medium-dark tones (&yellow undertones) hardly get any kind of selection. The packaging is bulky & heavy but very luxurious looking. I prefer this foundation applied with my (clean) fingertips oddly enough because I never like to use my hands for makeup application but I find the best coverage that way here. All in all, I always try new foundations but I always come back to the Revlon colorstay whipped creme!



on 11/12/2014 3:02:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Blue

I really thought I hated this foundation but it turned out that I hated it because of the technique I was using to apply it: my hands or a cosmetic sponge, these two applications yielded no coverage for me. Then I tried my Real Techniques Expert Face brush and omg, I got great coverage! I was even able to apply a little bit more in areas that needed more coverage using my brush.
The color I use is Buff, the lightest color would of course have a cool, pale coloring to it so I knew I needed to go up one color so Buff was the only option. In other countries they have other color options like Ochre in Japan and China if I remember right but here in the US they don't have certain color options that other countries do.
I know some people are complaining about not being able to see the color through the jar but I wonder why some of you have not taken to Google images to see swatches of the colors of this foundation? That is how I knew Buff would be a good match for me, by looking at tons of swatches on Google. It's not a 100% perfect color match for me but I knew the palest color would be too pale and I would end up having a pink face with a neutral neck.
I have acne prone skin that is oily in certain spots. I don't think this will last 24 hours like the jar says, especially on an oil skinned gal like me. I do think I got some oil break through though, mostly on my forehead which is normal but nothing likes to stay on that area of my face when it comes to makeup so I can't fault that on this foundation.
I may or may decide to buy the palest shade and mix it with Buff cause I'm starting to get paler now that it's freezing outside and have little to now sun exposure now because I doubt Buff will look good on my skin once my skin gets lighter.
This doesn't oxidize at all on my face which is awesome cause I've had the hardest time finding foundation that doesn't oxidize and it doesn't matter if I use liquid foundation or mineral foundation.
I was using Lucy Minerals but took a break from it because my oils kept breaking it down and making it pool up in places. I still love Lucy Minerals but the buffing, mixing 2 shades together to get my perfect match, waiting for it to "warm up" on my face, waiting for my moisturizer to sink in before applying, trying to find ways to control my natural oils so it wouldn't break down, etc became too much for me so I sought out a liquid foundation to make my makeup routine easier and this is it. I will also be hopefully returning to the original Color Stay to see if I can get full coverage using my Real Techniques brush and if so then I will update my old review of it.
This leaves a matte-semi matte finish and I feel that the colors are forgiving too. I don't think this dries fast like others have stated, that is weird so I have no idea what some of those reviewers are talking about. I can take my time applying this, no problem. I use a q-tip to take a small amount out of the jar and apply the dollop to the back of my hand, dip my finger into the dollop on the back of my hand and dot in the area I'm going to be blending in first then use my brush in that area and continue down my face using that method; dot on face and blend using RT brush. No complaints about the packaging, I think Revlon probably has a reason that they chose to have it in a jar versus a bottle, besides, I like being able to get every last bit of product out of the jar, this stuff was nearly $5 more than the original Color Stay! I think I paid close to $15 for it at Walmart. Also, no breakouts from this so far! I will update this review if I need to.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 11/11/2014 10:42:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Blue

Gives medium-full coverage, depending on the amount of layers. Blends like butter, very smooth and optimal for finger blending or using a brush/sponge. Tip: Blend quickly because it dries fast. Only needed a little amount to cover a wide range of face. Does not cake up, make face oily, and has wonderful staying power. Wide ranges of colors to choose from, has a "Gel" like feel in the glass container.
Really, truly gives a flawless finish. Almost an airbush look. I love this foundation and although I still use Neutrogena Foundation as my HG, I would use this if I wanted a flawless and full coverage look. Wonderful, a little pricey for a drugstore brand, but still a GREAT foundation for those who want a high-end fancy foundation for half the price.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Acne-prone, Olive, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

Pros:
- buildable coverage -- I have quite a bit of hyperpigmentation scars from previous breakouts and this product does a good job of covering it with just one layer.
- long lasting -- not sure if it really lasts for 24 hours (I would definitely not try to have it on for that long!) but it sure still looks reasonably good after 13 hours of wearing it
- felt nice on the skin and does not feel cakey -- my face felt like skin even with this foundation on, but beware to not have too many layers on as it might look cakey
- great texture -- felt very smooth and velvety

Cons:
- expensive (it was around US$25 in my country, but make-up products are generally more expensive here, even "drugstore" ones)
- horrible packaging -- I really hate how the product comes in a glass jar which is very unhygienic. Also, the cap breaks really easily in my case. When that happens, it's a big mess that I wish I didn't have to deal with.
- it clogs up my pores -- Since it is a long-wearing product, it does tend to clog up your pores, so you have to make sure to remove it properly at the end of the day.
- sometimes it tends to smell like chemicals throughout the day -- but this rarely happens


on 11/7/2014 9:32:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown



I had to try this foundation after the hype on MU board and I really do like it. It reminds me of Revlon ColorStay Mineral Mousse Makeup (discontinued) except that it's less drying and more comfortable to wear. It blends nicely, although you have to work fast, because once it's set, there's no going back. It's very long-wearing and on my normal to combination skin, it lasts all day. But, unlike ColorStay for oily skin, it doesn't require makeup remover for removal. I just use my regular cleanser, water and a washcloth. However, I use a strong cleanser; if you use a gentle cleanser, you might need to use makeup remover first. I have it in Ivory, which is a good match for my fair skin. I would say the coverage is flexible. You can apply it with a damp sponge over moisturizer for a very sheer coverage, with fingers or a foundation brush for medium coverage or with a stippling brush for full coverage. It is buildable and I often go back over my under eye area for more coverage. Sometimes I noticed that it collects in my pores and makes them stand out. This is easily remedied by dabbing the area with a sponge.

The reason I won't be repurchasing this product is because of the packaging. I feel that it's very unsanitary to dip fingers or an applicator into a cream product like this. I tend to use my fingers to apply and although I always wash my hands first, I know that bacteria can linger on the skin. The Mineral Mousse makeup that I referred to above came in a tube and I LOVED it! It was precise, sanitary and there was no pump to clog. Perhaps Revlon is trying to compete with higher-end brands with elegant packaging and I get that. But for me, hygiene is a deal breaker.

So, to sum up:

PROS:
Blends well
Flexible coverage
Buildable
Creamy formula feels nice on the skin
Long-wearing

CONS:
Unhygienic packaging
Might require makeup remover, depending on your cleanser and how much you apply

***UPDATE*** I have changed my mind about this product and have in fact repurchased. Even though I do hate the packaging, I can't find another foundation that looks this nice, comes in the right shade, doesn't oxidize, etc. I also like that it doesn't contain sunscreen, as I have very sensitive skin and I use a sunscreen underneath.

I still think it's pricey for .8 oz. (why not a full ounce?) and I still think the packaging is bulky and unsanitary. But, the foundation itself can't be beat, so I'm looking into getting a refillable tube to transfer it into.

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.


on 11/5/2014 10:42:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

Love this foundation. I am a fan of Revlon foundations, in general, because most other drugstore brands are too pink for me. I need a warm color and they have a great variety of shades. They keep changing the name and number of my color, but I can usually find one that works well.

This foundation is very thick and creamy. I have combination skin which is dry and acne-prone in the cheeks. This foundation keeps those areas hydrated and supple. Provides medium to full coverage on discolorations. Very buildable coverage. I do have an oily t-zone and without powder on top, it gets very shiny in these areas. I use Wet n Wild coverall powder on t-zone over this foundation and it works very well. Stays looking fresh all day. What I love most about this foundation is that it truly is color stay. Does not wear off or rub off on clothes but it is very comfortable and feels like you're not wearing foundation.

I buy this whenever I can get it on sale. It is normally about $13 at Target or Walgreens. I buy it on sale at Kroger (grocery) for $10.

I do not much care for the packaging. Hate sticking my fingers into a jar, wish they could put this in a pump bottle.


on 10/29/2014 7:46:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Very Oily, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This is my go to foundation, I will try other foundations and will always return to this one. My skin is beyond oily in the t-zone and this stays on the best. I do have to powder about 4-5 hours into the makeup but its the longest I have found. It also is the only foundation that does not turn orange on me. I mix 2 separate colors together to get my shade. Buff and early tan.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 10/29/2014 6:42:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Straight, Coarse

Eyes: Hazel

Still on the hunt for my drugstore fdtn. After reading rave reviews for Revlon ColorStay Whipped Creme Makeup, had to buy it.

When I opened the jar, fdtn looked creamy and emollient, but texture when applied to my face brought to mind cement being poured ~ thick and gritty. I'm used to fdtn with more slip, and not as thick.

I really wanted this to work because finish is soft and pretty, and it evened skin tone, but fdtn very drying on my skin, and settled into fine lines.



on 10/29/2014 2:30:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I've searched high and low for a foundation that works with my skin and doesn't look like I'm wearing makeup. I'm still searching, however, this particular one is the best I've found thus far. It's fairly cheap ($13 ish) so until I find my holy grail, I'm comfortable enough wearing this everyday. The packaging is unnecessarily bulky but I can deal. The shades in this range are sadly limited; I'm between shades. The foundation itself feels like yogurt almost but it's not heavy. It glides on pretty well and doesn't cling to my dry patches but the coverage is light to medium at best. I've tried using my fingers, Real Techniques face brush, and a beauty blender and the brush has worked the best for me but you have to experiment. I'd say this lasts like 4-5 hours, depending on how much coverage you needed in the first place. All in all, this is definitely a drugstore foundation to try out if you've been failed by many others. It's nice to have my sensitive skin react well for a change and I'll probably repurchase this continually as a back-up.


on 10/28/2014 6:09:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

Ultimate full coverage drugstore/highstreet/cheap foundation. I know some people think this feels heavy on the face, but to me with my oily skin it is the perfect all day, no fuss foundation, no matter what powder I put on over the top, this foundation stays perfect all day, and can last from early morning to very late night. The colour is perfect for me and there is quite a wide range. Wish it didn't have SPF because then it would be fantastic for photography, however still photographs quite nicely. Truly flawless finish, and so well priced for the quality, always enjoy revoln foundations.


Popular Crème Foundations


Stick Foundation
182 Reviews

Video Reviews & Tutorials

HOW TO: HIGHLIGHT AND CONTOUR YOUR FACE!!!! by gossmakeupartist

Back to Top