L'Oreal • Colour Riche Balm • Lips

rated 3.8(215 reviews)

Average Rating.3.8
Would buy this product again.71%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 4 of 5 herbgurl82 on 2/6/2013 9:50:00 AM more reviews by herbgurl82

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I am reviewing the Plush Plum shade. Such a pretty color! It goes on shimmery at first, but soon morphs into a very nice MLBB. My only complaint is that if your lips have dry patches, it clings to them, making the color go on patchy. The packaging is also irritating. However, minus these two things, I love this product.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 horatia on 2/4/2013 8:51:00 AM more reviews by horatia

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Tan   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

This starts out well (I have plush plum) with a gorgeous but subtle MLBB color and a natural sheen. Thats about it. The sheen wears off very quickly leaving a plummish, matte, finish that doesnt look good on my already dry lips. Quickly after that, the color wears off.
It is more moisturising than Revlon lip butters but not hydrating enough to replace my lip balm and not pigmented enough for even a MLBB color unless I reapply a lot.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Honeybunches84 on 2/1/2013 11:25:00 AM more reviews by Honeybunches84

Age: 25-29   Skin: Very Dry, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Brown    

In the store I tried the colours out on my hand and they looked great. It looked nice and moisturizing and had lots of shine. As soon as I got home and put it on my lips, I had to take it off right away. The taste was horrible. Iíve never had a lip balm taste so bad. I wiped it off and returned it the next day. Too bad because the colors were what I was looking for but I couldnít stand to wear it because of the taste. I even had to brush my teeth after to get rid of it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 hellothere2013 on 1/21/2013 10:58:00 PM more reviews by hellothere2013

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Green    

Best. Lip balm. Ever.

I absolutely love these balms. I can't even put into words how amazing these are. But i will try.
I favor lip balms that give some color. I like a natural finish- not too glossy, yet not too waxy either. I generally hate vinyl looking lips.
These give a beaaaauuutiful color, a nice blanket of breathable moisture, and is long lasting. It just looks so pretty on my lips. Its the right contistency and everything!

Good for: ppl who like the 'my lips but better' philosophy. Someone who wants some color and a nice soft balmy finish to lips.

Not for: ppl who want opaque lipstick or thick vinyl looking lips

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 shio318 on 1/21/2013 1:08:00 AM more reviews by shio318

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Oily, Tan, Neutral   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

This product is probably L'Oreal's resonse to the Revlon lip butters. These are similar to the lip butters, except I personally think they are a little less sticky.There was not as wide a color range as the lip butters. I bought Heavenly Berry and Tender Mauve at Walgreens and they cost about $8, which I thought was a bit pricey for a balm. Luckily, there was a buy one get one half off sale. I like this product a lot. I had to use a lot of product to get some color on my lips which was a bit disappointing. Fortunately, I love both colors on my lips. They are natural colors and look nice. I would like to try some of the darker colors of this balm, but as I said, there aren't too many options. The packaging is pretty, however I do not like that the cap must be put on precisely. There is one side with a little piece that must be matched with another opening (sorry if this doesn't make much sense). Not very convenient when in a rush, but nevertheless I would repurchase this product.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 thefallenangel525 on 1/19/2013 1:05:00 AM more reviews by thefallenangel525

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I have heavenly berry and plush plum. Plush plum is pretty pigmented while heavenly berry is a lot more sheer. Heavenly berry is my go to shade for school and gym while plush plum is more my going out shade. It does have spf, which is nice, but is low on UVA protection. I find the moisturizing factor to last a couple hours while the color does seem to fade a bit sooner than that.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 sarah_417 on 1/17/2013 2:27:00 AM more reviews by sarah_417

Age: 30-35   Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I LOVE LOVE LOVE these balms. There are a lot of mixed reviews on these, but they are NOT lipsticks - and they are NOT supposed to be. They are sheer tinted balms. (a my-lips-but-better product)
I have spent years looking for this exact product - something that adds a nice, but noticeable sheer color, and a slight gloss to help finish a look. I coordinate a tone with my cheek color to give a more polished and put together look - but never overdone.

I get a really nice hint of color, and a beautiful glossy sheen. I have very fair skin, (NC15) so many lipsticks leave me feeling very clown-like. That's why I love these. I actually bought them for my sisters for Christmas, and they both immediately went and purchased more.

I actually went back and bought every color. (Walgreens does a buy one, get one, fairly often too, making them a steal) These are my favorite lip product of all time. (so glad to find a much more affordable option than the Dior Addict Lip Glow)

For me, the staying power is great. I don't really lick my lips or anything like that, but typically I only need to re-apply after about 4 hours. (not the 8 hours they claim, but really great staying power for a gloss) I think they are perfect for the office too.

I HATED the Revlon Lip Butters - which these are often compared to. The L'oreal balms moisturize my lips, and feel great, not waxy like most balms.

A few of the shades do have a bit more color pay-off than others. Plush Plum, and Tender Mauve deliver the most color.

If you are looking for a lot of color, look elsewhere. I think if you have highly pigmented lips these might not show up very well either. For me, and my fair/cool complexion, they are great.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 punrara on 1/2/2013 10:27:00 AM more reviews by punrara

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Black    

I have these in Pink Satin, Caramel Comfort and Plush Plum.

I absolutely adore these! They smell so creamy and they feel so creamy when I apply them. I especially love Plush Plum because it's the darkest color and it just looks so good when I wear it. <3

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 HotPinkLipstick01 on 12/31/2012 11:17:00 AM more reviews by HotPinkLipstick01

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I bought color 215 something rose I can't remember the full name. Let me say right off the bat this gave me hardly any color. I ended up buying a lip butter cause I really wanted some color. Also it doesn't stay on it goes away in like 15 minutes. Besides the lack of color these aren't half bad. It's like a lip gloss for me. Adds a teeny bit of color and a lot of shine. They smell great and have a moisturizing feel. I love the packaging, it's so pretty. I wish they were slightly more pigmented but on days when I want natural lips with shine this fills the job. It's like lipgloss in lipstick form :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 mcall on 12/28/2012 12:40:00 AM more reviews by mcall

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

The L'Oreal color riche balms are what I wanted the Revlon Lip butters to be. Revlon is my go to drugstore brand, but I never wear lipstick and shy away from anything that will be opaque on my lips, so I have to be very light handed when wearing the Revlon lip butters, and have to have a mirror to reapply. The L'Oreal balm is exactly what I was looking for. It leaves enough pink (I have the Rose Elixir 218 color) to visibly change the color of my lips, but is not so pigmented that I feel like my lips look fake. The amount of shimmer is great for me. I cant feel it, and it doesn't make my lips look like a disco baIl. It is just barely noticeable. l like the feel of the balm as well. It is pretty thick, but smooth, and it seems to moisturize as well as the Chapstick brand balms, but not as moisturizing as my Burt's bees pomegranate balm. I love that I can reapply with out looking and without worrying about it looking sloppy. I think each person's individual expectations of this product will determine if they are happy with it. If you are expecting it to be sheer, then you will be satisfied, but if you expect it to be as pigmented as the lip butters, you will be disappointed. I didnt give it a perfect 5 because for me, the last lippie would be earned by it being super hydrating on top of all the things I like about it so that it would be the only lip product I would need to carry with me. I will be purchasing the coral color soon.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More L'Oreal products

More Lips products