Maybelline • Color Tattoo - Tough as Taupe • Eye Shadow

rated 4.0(258 reviews)

Average Rating.4.0
Would buy this product again.75%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 sheila12344321 on 9/4/2013 11:02:00 PM more reviews by sheila12344321

Age: 36-43   Skin: Other, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

This eyeshadow shade goes with anything. Plus, it lasts all day (I do use a primer, though). If you want to be really careful putting on the lid, use a brush. However, I just use a finger and swipe it on. I will buy this again, and I will buy the other colors, too. They are so much faster to use than a powder. Plus, they last longer.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Susee on 9/4/2013 6:45:00 PM more reviews by Susee

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

Update: While I love everything else about this shadow, I realized that when I wear it, my dark circles under my eyes look 5x darker(it almost looks like it "mirrors" them)--my eyes looked really dark and tired. NOT a look I want; I have to stay far away from this color.
Wow, this eyeshadow is awesome. The color is beautiful, not too dark, not too light--just a perfect taupe eyeshadow to make my eyes stand out. It's very easy to apply; I just dab it on with my ring finger over my lid and crease and blend. I like it better than powder shadows because I have a hard time controlling where the shadow goes; I always have fallout. I add a lighter color, usually a shimmery pearl or pink on my brow bone and I'm good to go. I've had a hard time finding a good neutral eyeshadow color--they're either too brown, orange, too light, too dark, too yellow, etc, but this is perfect!
It lasts all day until I'm ready to take it off, and the price is right, too--I paid $6 for it at Ulta. A little goes a long way, so I'm sure it will last me a while.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* adrenirushxaudri on 8/20/2013 12:21:00 AM more reviews by adrenirushxaudri

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

This is one of those staples that I can see being in everyone's arsenal. I love taupe and all things taupe-esque so when I finally received this (from a lovely fellow MUA'er) I was too excited. It's a good, deep taupe that's matte. Goes on more of a cream than a gel but with a light texture. I use a synthetic brush to apply rather than use my fingers (this works too, though, don't get me wrong). But a synthetic shadow brush will pack on the color more evenly than my ring finger would and blend out seamlessly. I blend out and over the lid and even underneath the lower lash line and it gives intense definition (intense, but natural!). On top, I can put another taupe shadow, a champagne colored shadow, a brown - all matte or shimmer or satin, whatever I've got and it just seems to look great. And this shadow can stand alone, too, with a matte highlight to round it out. It really is almost like a tattoo, only this is one you CAN removed. But only when you're ready, as this stuff doesn't budge all day.

For those like myself who really dive into Halloween makeup and such, this would make a great play-thing for a Halloween kit for contouring, as it isn't flesh-toned but isn't unnatural in color, either. (Think vampire cheekbones or skeleton shadows!) Overall, love this. Even the pot-format is fine with me, too.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Tam94 on 8/20/2013 12:06:00 AM more reviews by Tam94

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Very Dry, Olive   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I absolutely LOVE this product! I have super oily eyelids and have tried nearly all the drugstore/high-street primers available and none seem to have helped, i research thoroughly into this product before i brought it so that i was near enough sure that it wont be a waste of money if it did exactly what i wanted it to. It defo does not crease my eyeshadow and keep my eye makeup very long lasting. One critique was that the only matte shade which i could find was 'permanent taupe' (in america this shade is called 'tough as taupe), personally i found it wasn't very neutral for everyday use, also it is not at all true to colour, the product when first opened seemed like a nice champagne pink colour but after i swatched it is turned into a dark purply-brown colour, maybe keep that in mind when purchasing this shade :D

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* bimini156 on 8/13/2013 6:14:00 AM more reviews by bimini156

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Grey, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I agree with realitydust below on this one. I like the Maybelline Color Tattoos okay. This color in particular I find hard to blend. I don't like the look of it that much on its own and even with another shadow over it it still looks splotchy. I have a few of the Estée Lauder cream shadows and also the Make Up For Ever Aqua cream shadows. The Estée Lauder I think are the creamiest. These are, however, for the price, nice enough. I make sure I wear some UD Primer Potion underneath to assist the blendability. These are a nice option if you would like a color that you wouldn't use that often and so don't want to spend the money on a more expensive version. But these really do not compare, IMO to a more high end cream shadow.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 uhlizubeth on 8/1/2013 2:05:00 AM more reviews by uhlizubeth

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

If you are blonde and want a brow product that isn't too dark or orange, don't want to spend 18+ dollars on a brow gel, want your eyebrows to stay all day and not easily rub off: try this!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* PianoGirl1985 on 7/30/2013 1:18:00 PM more reviews by PianoGirl1985

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

Ok, so the color by itself can either look very flattering on some people but not so much on others. I love grays and taupes but due to dark circles I can't wear too much of them without looking sickly or as if I haven't slept enough.
What I ended up doing is I MIXING this color with MAC's paint pot in Painterly and the end result is an absolutely beautiful muted taupe (almost dark nude). ALSO I realized that this mix becomes a dupe for Bobbi Brown's cream eyeshadow in Cement which I was dying to buy but felt bad spending $25 for a tiny pot. SO if you enjoy color Cement and already have the Maybelline Tough as Taupe and MAC's Painterly, just mix them together!

Obviously, the end color result will vary depending on how much product you mix together, but just play around with it. Also, I find Bobbi Brown's cream eyeshadows a bit on a thinner side where if you mix Maybelline and MAC you'll a thicker, more opaque texture. I actually prefer that more.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 llydiall on 7/30/2013 12:59:00 PM more reviews by llydiall

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

im using this with an angled brush to fill in my brows. its too tacky to blend on my eyes and it creases. stays on my brows with slight fading only. try this if you have dark hair, on my brows this becomes less gray and more natural.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 marshiemallow14 on 7/29/2013 7:51:00 PM more reviews by marshiemallow14

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Other    

A matte grey-brown colour. Applies fairly well using fingers, though less creamy than my other Colour Tattoos. Works well as a base. Didn't find it particularly drying, and it was buildable.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 akharri785 on 7/27/2013 9:54:00 PM more reviews by akharri785

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

As others have mentioned, these are pretty much dead on dupes for MAC's Paint Pots. I really love the color of this, as it's a nice and soft, matte grey. I like the simple glass pot packaging as well. And the price is not steep so it's not too much of a loss if you want to give them a try and they don't work out. However, as others have mentioned, because it is matte, it's more of a drier texture than others and does not blend easily. Also, it applies much better with a finger than any of my brushes, and I don't generally like to use my fingers for application. Additionally, if you have oily eyelids like me, these will probably end up in your crease after two hours or so. I love the consistency and finish of cream shadows but I should just give up trying to make them work. Unfortunately, no matter what brand (drugstore or department) of cream shadow I use, they never stay put. I was more optimistic with this one since it promised prolonged wear, but nope, it's staying power is the same as the rest. I used my faithful Too Faced Shadow Insurance primer with these and they still did't work for me. So if you're a gal with oily lids, trying to find a lasting cream shadow, the search continues.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Maybelline products

More Eye Shadow products