Maybelline • Color Tattoo 24hr Cream Gel Shadow • Eye Shadow

rated 4.3(442 reviews)

Average Rating.4.3
Would buy this product again.87%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 2 of 5 waters2 on 10/3/2013 11:39:00 PM more reviews by waters2

Age: 36-43   Skin: Other, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Not impressed with these and don't get the hype. They colors stay on all day, but these DO crease, and when they do, the creased shadow just clings to lids looking bad. It also takes time to use these as shadows, and not just base, in the morning. I prefer using my Nars eye primer, which is easier. I like that there are different colors to choose from, but they're all run-of-the-mill. The product is OK if you need to make do, but they dry out too quickly to keep around. Certainly not getting more.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* postmoderngirl on 9/28/2013 2:37:00 AM more reviews by postmoderngirl

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

These are fantastic. I have 5 of the colours. They can be used alone, or as a base for other shadows. They're actually long wearing so you don't need a primer under them (although I use one sometimes if I'm gonna be wearing my makeup for a long time). The idea is similar to MAC's paint pots. They're pigmented, apply evenly and stay all day. They're really a gem in the drugstore.

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 annieherdez on 9/21/2013 11:33:00 PM more reviews by annieherdez

Age: 36-43   Skin: Very Oily, Medium   Hair: Red, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I love this product, it has reduced my eye make up routine time considerably. Let me explain: I have the oiliest lids you can imagine, previously, I used a thick coat of Vichy's Dermablend foundation set with foundation powder before applying any powder eyeshadow. Now, I just need a thin layer of an oil mattifier only on my crease then, over the entire lid, a primer and the color tattoo as preparation to the powder eyeshadow on top. If you have very oily lids you can make your powder eyeshadow last 16 hrs with this routine. However, if I only use the color tattoo and not use a powder eyeshadow over it, it will crease in 3-5 hrs depending on the eye primer. I have used the oil mattifier+Mary Kay's primer+the color tattoo and it last 3 hours before creasing. If I use Too Faced Shadow Insurance instead then it will crease in 5 hours.

Based on my experience I would say that this will work only with powder eyeshadow on top if you have very oily lids. I apply my eyeshadow about 7am and remove it around 8 pm and it lasts without creasing and the colors of the powder eyeshadow are more vibrant if you use the right color of the color tattoo underneath. I have different colors and they all are great except the eternal gold one which is very dry and doesn't blend well.

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Law08 on 9/19/2013 11:08:00 PM more reviews by Law08

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

Love this great for on the go color I splash one on and I look chic and done it great lasting power

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Cassyray123 on 9/7/2013 2:36:00 PM more reviews by Cassyray123

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Hazel    

I have six of these and they are by far my favorite primer. For whatever look I'm doing that day, ill use to corresponding color to the primer. These are not pigmented enough for me to use alone though.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Sssunshine03 on 9/4/2013 8:51:00 PM more reviews by Sssunshine03

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Hazel    

I absolutely love this shadow in inked pink. Looks stunning lasts all day.But the too cool (white) is streaky doesn't come out smooth no matter how you apply it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* peachesndream on 9/4/2013 2:22:00 PM more reviews by peachesndream

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I am writing this review for all of the girls, like me, who are shy or lack confidence about eye shadow application. I really feel that I lack good eye shadow skills and therefore never wear it. Then, a few weeks ago I had some bonus bucks to spend at CVS and searched the isles without finding anything. I didn't want to waste my free money, so I thought, what the heck, let me try a color tattoo!

Well, that one item I bought has turned into 7 total. Yeah, they are that good! I still feel I am not good a eye shadow application, but with these, it is really hard to mess up or make a mistake. I truly just apply with my finger and gently rub my eye lid and viola, I think it looks pretty good! It also lasts forever and the color selection is amazing.

I know that people do fancy things with these and top them with powder shadows, which is great! But if you are like me and don't really know how to do that without looking clownish, you can still give these a try and look really nice with basically no skills or tools. It is that easy!

I never have written an eye shadow review because I really don't own any and never buy any. I felt so compelled after trying these gel shadows that I wanted others who may be in my boat to feel that there is hope for the eye shadow impaired girls! It is amazing what a little confidence can do for someone! :)

8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Hannah743 on 8/29/2013 6:31:00 PM more reviews by Hannah743

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

Does exactly what it says on the packaging! I have quite oily eyelids, yet this product stays on for the 24 hours it promises to stay on for. It's as smooth as butter and so easy to apply with amazing pigmentation. I like to use them as bases for my eyeshadow, meaning my shadow stays on for 24 hours if needs be too, but I have once before used a gold one as a wash of colour over the lids. They're beautiful products in a wide selection of colours and don't break the bank!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 hellokittyrox on 8/29/2013 5:54:00 PM more reviews by hellokittyrox

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Tan, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I love these. they're very pigmented and easy to apply. they last really long on my eyelids and are water proof. i have the colors bad to the bronze and inked in pink, both of which are beautiful colors. they have good packaging and I'd like to get more colors.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 HoneyCosmetics on 8/29/2013 11:28:00 AM more reviews by HoneyCosmetics

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Grey    

I am in loooove with these gel cream eyeshadows! I'd always been hesitant to try any of them cause it always seemed they'd be a little sticky or gross or difficult to blend but i was so wrong. The first one i bought was 'on and on bronze' and I loved it! It's amazingly pigmented, you only need a tiny bit, it stays all day with no creasing and its easy to blend with other eyeshadows etc. I actually went out and bought 4 more for the cheap price! These are brilliant, I definitely recommend them.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Maybelline products

More Eye Shadow products