Maybelline • Instant Age Rewind Eraser Dark Circles • Concealers

rated 3.7(441 reviews)

Average Rating.3.7
Would buy this product again.68%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 2 of 5 OrangeUGlad on 2/15/2014 1:06:00 PM more reviews by OrangeUGlad

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

When I first got this concealer, I thought it was perfect. Covered up my dark circles well, nice texture, not too heavy, didn't crease too much, good staying power, the whole deal. I loved it. After about 3-4 months of using it, disaster struck. I was sitting in the car one morning and decided to pull down the mirror to check out my makeup. When I pulled the mirror down, this patchy oompa-loompa was looking back at me. My under eyes were caked with orange, and parts of my face that I had dabbed with the concealer to cover up scars and the like were all this really stark orange as well. I looked like I had tried to paint myself like a tiger but didn't quite know what a tiger looked like. I was horrified, and desperately tried to rub the concealer off, to no avail.
I don't know what happened. At first I thought that the concealer oxidized, but when I got home and tested it on my arm, it was really bright orange straight out of the tube. Maybe it oxidized in the tube, if that's a thing that can happen.
The more plausible explanation however, is that I bought the wrong shade. I just compared the bottles of this concealer and my usual foundation, and it is several shades too dark for me, even when comparing colour out of bottles (which are usually pretty deceptive). I'm always torn between buying medium shades or fair shades. I decided to get the medium shade for this concealer since I thought that from the bottle the only lighter shade that they had at the drugstore looked a little too light and more pinkish than I would have liked (there are no testers for this product at drugstores, unfortunately). Also, I guess it's worth mentioning that my bathroom lights are pretty yellow, so they must have played some part in making my concealer look better than it really was. I'm a huge idiot. I should have tested it out in natural light as soon as I had gotten it. I can't believe I walked around like this for 4 months.

Overall, it's a good concealer for a good price, but it's just not the shade for me, and thanks to my own idiocy I don't think I'll be trying the lighter shade. It'll probably look just as foul.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* SHeust on 2/13/2014 11:17:00 PM more reviews by SHeust

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I have this in the concealer + treatment formula in "neutralizer." It is a yellow-toned, fair shade concealer that works pretty well to cover dark areas around the eyes and even helps a little bit to minimize puffiness.

You get a generous quantity in the glass tube this comes in, and you twist up the concealer into a domed sponge applicator that makes it easy to apply and blend in. However, sometimes the sponge puts it on a little more thinly than I'd like. This is good stuff but I still prefer the Dream-Lumi concealer from Maybelline for the same purpose. Comparatively, the lumi applies thicker and has the nice brightening highlight effect. Plus I think that the treatment ingredients (ingredients? This isn't a recipe!) of this have dried out my eye area a bit.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 elicandytime on 2/11/2014 3:58:00 AM more reviews by elicandytime

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

This is amazing Im on my third tube of this stuff and I've been hooked. I love the sponge tip applicator and it makes my dark circles vanish I never have to worry about it. It does crease a little so I put a primer underneath other than that it's perfect and lasts all day with a powder! I love this stuff!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 angelaslh on 2/9/2014 5:00:00 AM more reviews by angelaslh

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

When i first used this i didn't like it because it creases so badly and settles into fine lines. I have since made it work by finding techniques that work for me and now it is part of my daily makeup routine. It has quite high coverage and i am able to use it for multiple things besides just under eye circles even though that's what its for. I like the facts that it highlights your undereye area while covering up dark circles at the same time. I think this product is great once you learn how to use it on your skin.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* lovelymallie on 2/7/2014 8:29:00 AM more reviews by lovelymallie

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Blue    

*review for the concealer in light*

I have mixed feelings about this concealer.
I bought it way back in the summer, where my skin was more tanned. Now, the colour doesn't match me at all. It's not dark, but it's orange.
The colour range isn't amazing, so if you find your perfect match you must be lucky. :-)

The coverage however, is pretty amazing. It's deffintly full coverage, and covers everything from spots to dark circles.

However the thing one thing that I hate about this product, is how it creases and sets into dry patches and lines so badly. If your skin is dry, that might be a problem for you.

- Overall I see this concealer to be perfect if you have normal/oily skin without too many lines or wrinkles, and if you fit into the colourrange.
Since my skin is dry and pretty pale, it wasn't for me.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 tswope57 on 2/6/2014 1:59:00 PM more reviews by tswope57

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Dry, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I looking for an inexpensive, everyday concealer to use. My 50+ skin is very good with some lines just beginning around my eyes. The undereye area is dry and if not using the right concealer and moisturizer can be flaky after makeup applied. The Maybelline Instant Age Rewind was ok, but was a little flaky upon application. I liked the sponge applicator and the color selection, but this was not suited to my dry skin. I will return to Lancome Effacernes (adding a bit of Olay serum for the winter months) as my undereye concealer.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* xxxPikadoodlexxx on 2/4/2014 10:57:00 AM more reviews by xxxPikadoodlexxx

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Green    

This little product is a gift from God. I'm a huge drugstore makeup junkie but I tend to avoid hyped up products because I'm usually instantly disappointed in them. If it weren't for the $3 coupon in this weeks paper I never would have bought this but I'm glad I did. This little guy is holy grail worthy ten fold.

I have fair skin, warm undertone, lots of redness in my cheeks and deep set eyes with very dark purple undereye circles. I've been trying to find a concealer to do what Kim Kardashians concealer does for her- make her eyes pop. I also need something that will blend well with my foundations so I can layer this product over the redness in my cheeks. Then of course there is the issue of staying power, yada yada yada.... This concealer was a home run on everything.

This concealer is creamy, blendable, long lasting, full coverage, buildable... it's just amazing. It instantly brighthened up my eyes. It didn't crease or look greasy or chalky. It covered all, yes ladies, ALL of the redness in my cheeks with one application and my undereye circles disappeared with one swipe too. Above all else it looks more natural than any other concealer I have ever used... high end or drugstore.

I love the applicator. Whoever invented it is a frappin genius. I don't feel like I'm wasting product and it really does help blend the concealer. It also makes for a much quicker application when compared to my other two favorite drugstore concealers which both have that pen/brush type tip.

My only teeensy weensy complaint is that since it's so creamy you will need to set this with a powder if you have deep set eyes to avoid "raccoon eyes". This does seem to break down my mascara if the two come in contact with each other but a good matte powder fixes this problem. I don't have much in the way of creases or wrinkles around my eyes but I'd imagine if you did it would be a good idea to set this with powder to avoid creasing due to the creaminess of it. Powder isn't something I like to wear but it's totally worth it in this case.

I will be buying this forever and ever and ever. Unless this is discontinued (Please dear God, don't ever discontinue this Maybelline!) I don't think I'll ever buy another concealer again. Do yourselves a favor and give this a try if you haven't already.

Note: You might need to twist the applicator 20-30x the first time to get the product to start coming out...at first I thought mine was broken but I keep twisting and it eventually came out.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 OhAlejandra on 2/3/2014 1:59:00 PM more reviews by OhAlejandra

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Love it! Really covers my under eye circles, and I have really dark purple tone under eye circles. Just dont like the packaging because it's hard to get the product out, but I will still repurchase because of how well it works.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 tresbelle15 on 2/1/2014 8:32:00 PM more reviews by tresbelle15

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I was really impressed with this concealer. I have very purple under-eye circles, so finding something that conceals them well can be difficult. This has almost full coverage and gives my face a "smooth and flawless" look. The only thing I really dislike about it is its staying power... I've noticed that it wears off after about 5-8 hours. Otherwise, I really like this concealer. It's really lightweight, yet provides a super great coverage. It also doesn't have any noticeable scents.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* makeup9111 on 2/1/2014 5:17:00 PM more reviews by makeup9111

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I tried this after I saw a woman using it over a yellow corrector on You Tube. My skin tone and circles are dead on to hers, and it worked so well I wanted to experiment.
I use this on top of a corrector and underneath a mineral powder to cover up my Beetlejuice-like hereditary dark circles.
I bought the Neutralizer, it's cooler toned than I would like for my skin tone, but it goes on smooth, blends well (with a beauty blender), is layerable, and has decent coverage.
For gals with lighter circles than mine, this would be great by itself. Used as a trio with other products, blended well (that's the trick) and set with Ben Nye Final Seal, it's great.
I would recommend this product by itself, especially for light-medium tones, light-medium dark circles, and use it with other products if you're seriously fighting dark circles.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Maybelline products

More Concealers products