New York Color • Pressed Translucent Powder • Pressed Powders

rated 3.9(355 reviews)

Average Rating.3.9
Would buy this product again.75%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 5 of 5 cSquaredFactotum on 2/14/2011 7:41:00 PM more reviews by cSquaredFactotum

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Other, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

i love this powder! it's super sheer, non-cakey and i use it to set in the morning and blot throughout the day. it is a lot better than their loose powder (though that isn't AWFUL). when i first saw the little sponge it came with i was like: yeah right. but being at a loss for powder puffs at the moment and not wanting to carry a brush around i used the sponge and i actually like it! this powder doesn't cake even with the sponge and if i apply too much i can just press it/dust it away with my fingers. you don't need to waste your money on expensive blotting/setting powders when this works just as well. the packaging in sleek but looks a little cheap and the hinge might break but hey, that's what ducttape is for, right?
NYC continues to impress me with their powders.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 XxOmgItsDaraxX on 2/12/2011 11:12:00 PM more reviews by XxOmgItsDaraxX

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Tan, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I use this powder to set my undereye concealer,to make my face a bit matte and to set cream blush. I find it to be a lightweight powder and is actually translucent (doesn't leave a white mask on my NC40 skintone). I apply it with a kabuki brush and don't use a lot. I love that its a multitasking powder and I only have to pay a small price. The packaging isn't the most appealing but it hasn't broken so its worth it. Would recommend and buy again when I finish it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* summerrain1994 on 2/12/2011 2:56:00 PM more reviews by summerrain1994

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I would never use this powder when I put on my make-up in the morning - it's very white (and I'm very pale), and NOT translucent.
I DO use this, however, at school and at work when my face gets oily and shiny. I wouldn't suggest using it with the little sponge it comes with it, because it gets cakey. Instead, I use it with a mini (very mini) Ecotools Kabuki. It blots up the oil nicely and gives the slightest bit of extra coverage.
Gotta love the price too! Though the packaging it VERY cheap, I really don't mind.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 molakip on 2/7/2011 8:09:00 PM more reviews by molakip

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

The best thing about any make-up product is its price (i.e. cheap!) and does what it claims WITHOUT causing skin irritations. For 3 bucks CDN, this is a steal for an easy go-to translucent powder when the disco ball shininess comes around.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 clp53 on 2/3/2011 3:30:00 AM more reviews by clp53

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

It changed color on my face where my skin is more oily :s soo embarassing . It went darker on my forehead and nose, I looked ORANGE. Gross, never use it again

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 MandySaysHaii on 1/30/2011 10:36:00 AM more reviews by MandySaysHaii

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Other   Eyes: Hazel    

I put this product on over my NYC Smooth and Natural Matte Powder Foundation last night when i went out, and when i got home, i barely had a shine to my face! :) its non-comedogenic so it wont clog your pores and its oil-free. Ive used this product for a day, and so far im happy with it! :) as of right now i will repurchse.
If anything changes i'll write an update!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 sillychicken on 1/20/2011 2:46:00 PM more reviews by sillychicken

Age: 30-35   Skin: Very Oily, Fair   Hair: Black, Wavy   Eyes: Brown    

I can give a comparison to MAC Blot Powder which I used for a few years.

This powder has a more natural look to it than Blot. Blot would start to look cakey after re-applying the 2nd or 3rd time of the day and this powder doesn't do that, Blot would oxidize on my skin as the day wore on and take on a orange hue and this powder doesn't change color, Blot would cause my skin to look oilier when I wore it (maybe it increased oil production?) and this powder doesn't, I had to remove Blot after a few hours with a wipe and then reapply to keep it from getting that cakey oxidized look but with this powder I just use blot sheets and reapply lightly to t-zone as needed. I like the color Translucent for my fair skin because it blends in so well that you can't even see it vs. in MAC the Medium looked "dirty" especially in photos and although the next shade Light was a closer match to my skin it was more heavy/chalky looking. This powder doesn't really add any color but it does get rid of the oily look especially from using sunblock so my skin looks the same color except matte.The only thing better about the Blot was that the compact was well made and more presentable for times when I need to whip it out to check something in my eye or whatever in public while the NYC compact is cheap looking with the way the logos are plastered all over the front cover and doesn't have a proper hinge (the compact in the photo looks a lot better with a more discreet logo than the one I bought which has shiny silver words covering most of it).

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 XsqueegeeX on 1/19/2011 12:40:00 AM more reviews by XsqueegeeX

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Oily, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Other, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

What ISN'T there to like about this powder? Super affordable, doesn't cake on my super oily skin (of course I use oil blotters first to remove the excess oil before applying), does a decent job at keeping the oil at bay, and it doesn't look/ turn yellow or orange on my super pale skin! So much cheaper than the M.A.C. blot powder, yes it isn't as fine in texture, but for the price? I can live with that (:

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 ashleycohen3 on 1/18/2011 11:42:00 PM more reviews by ashleycohen3

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Very Oily, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

It's too pink-toned. I am very yellow (similar to an Asian female) and this just makes my face look pink in natural lighting. Don't get this if you are warm-toned.

Also, I have used this for a while, and I am very oily. It wears off very quickly and that's a problem for an oily person like myself.

I'd recommend this for a dry/normal-skinned girls who have pink undertones. Otherwise, don't buy it. Seriously.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 sarah1208 on 12/31/2010 8:10:00 PM more reviews by sarah1208

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

This is a great pressed powder, and you can't beat the price. The powder might look chalky on those with darker skin tones, but on me it looks great, and works very well at setting undereye concealer.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More New York Color products

More Pressed Powders products