New York Color • Pressed Translucent Powder • Pressed Powders

rated 4.0(360 reviews)

Average Rating.4.0
Would buy this product again.75%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 SouthernFried on 3/29/2011 3:35:00 PM more reviews by SouthernFried

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This is the best drugstore translucent powder I have ever tried! It's dirt cheap and very effective in my oil control/shine. I am extremely oily and this product helps to set all my makeup and keep me shine free much longer than any other drugstore powder I have used (which is basically all of them). This is my HG translucent powder. It's not magic, but it does works wonders. Blotting is inevitable for almost everyone with skin, so I don't hold anything against this powder for actually having to blot hours after application.

Critique:

Pros-
*Cheap cheap cheap
*If applied lightly and blended well, does not look powdery/chalky
*Oil control! Shine control!
*Able to be layered for extra shine control (but again, it needs to be layered lightly!)

Cons-
*If applied too heavily, can look chalky
*Packaging is cheap (but hey, for the price, I don't care. Packaging doesn't matter much to me anyway, it's the product inside that matters!)


I will most definitely purchase again. This is my second compact of this stuff!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* captainflamingo on 3/3/2011 10:29:00 PM more reviews by captainflamingo

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Dark, Cool   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

First of all, this product is not "translucent." It is WHITE. I know some foundations use "traslucent" as the name for their lightest shade and I think that is where NYC was going with this. I'm an NC40 and this shade is impossible for me to just apply throughout the day to keep oil at bay. However, I do like using this powder to set my liquid foundation in the beginning of my day with a verrrry light hand. I also use the truly crappy sponge(literally, it's like the stuff you put in packages to stop breakage so I don't put it on my skin) it comes with to blot powder on my bangs to absorb the oil as well. The packaging takes a hard push to close properly and it certainly isn't the prettiest packaging, but I can live with that. I might repurchase because it does soak up oil well, but I'm thinking about getting their Sunny bronzer because it seems like my skin tone and I can use that as a touch-and-go powder throughout my day, though.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 beautylover94 on 2/14/2011 8:33:00 PM more reviews by beautylover94

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I love this powder! It's very inexpensive (anywhere from $2-$3) It's the perfect powder to wear over liquid foundation because it really sets it in. I love the price and the quality of the product, I have mine in beige and I just love it. I dont' reccomened just using the product by itself, its the the perfect product to wear OVER liquid foundation, but not to use by itself. It's an awesome product and I HIGHLY reccomend it. It's my everyday powder :D

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 xoxotoe on 2/14/2011 8:14:00 PM more reviews by xoxotoe

Age: 36-43   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

this is my reliable, beloved oil-blotting powder. i buy mine in translucent and it does the job without all the hype. if you are looking for a straight forward no-nonsense non-hyped no-frills shine absorbing powder that WORKS, this is the one you want. it's cheap! it WORKS! it will accentuate any dry patches you have, but just use some moisturizer on those spots & set your makeup with this pressed powder. the sponge that comes with it is a cheapy little kid type thing, but in a pinch it works just fine. the powder itself is pretty fine and smooth, it's not gritty; it's very light and evens out my complexion. i originally bought it as an emergency powder--i was going someplace & left my compact home & didn't want to spend $10 on more dang powder. it worked so well, i use it exclusively now. it's not pretty to pull out when you're out in public-- it's not a status thing, definitely. i'm thinking about getting a fancy compact & depotting it into there. nyc should sell fancy compacts separately so you can depot all their makeup into pretty containers. good stuff. get it. if you hate it, you're only out 3 bucks.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 mishilafferty on 2/14/2011 7:58:00 PM more reviews by mishilafferty

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Love! The powder is soft and gets the job done. For 3 bucks and some change, this product is amazing! I had to deduct a lippie because the packaging isn't the greatest. There's a gap on the side when I close mine up but it's not a huge deal.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 cSquaredFactotum on 2/14/2011 7:41:00 PM more reviews by cSquaredFactotum

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Other, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

i love this powder! it's super sheer, non-cakey and i use it to set in the morning and blot throughout the day. it is a lot better than their loose powder (though that isn't AWFUL). when i first saw the little sponge it came with i was like: yeah right. but being at a loss for powder puffs at the moment and not wanting to carry a brush around i used the sponge and i actually like it! this powder doesn't cake even with the sponge and if i apply too much i can just press it/dust it away with my fingers. you don't need to waste your money on expensive blotting/setting powders when this works just as well. the packaging in sleek but looks a little cheap and the hinge might break but hey, that's what ducttape is for, right?
NYC continues to impress me with their powders.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 XxOmgItsDaraxX on 2/12/2011 11:12:00 PM more reviews by XxOmgItsDaraxX

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I use this powder to set my undereye concealer,to make my face a bit matte and to set cream blush. I find it to be a lightweight powder and is actually translucent (doesn't leave a white mask on my NC40 skintone). I apply it with a kabuki brush and don't use a lot. I love that its a multitasking powder and I only have to pay a small price. The packaging isn't the most appealing but it hasn't broken so its worth it. Would recommend and buy again when I finish it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* summerrain1994 on 2/12/2011 2:56:00 PM more reviews by summerrain1994

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I would never use this powder when I put on my make-up in the morning - it's very white (and I'm very pale), and NOT translucent.
I DO use this, however, at school and at work when my face gets oily and shiny. I wouldn't suggest using it with the little sponge it comes with it, because it gets cakey. Instead, I use it with a mini (very mini) Ecotools Kabuki. It blots up the oil nicely and gives the slightest bit of extra coverage.
Gotta love the price too! Though the packaging it VERY cheap, I really don't mind.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 molakip on 2/7/2011 8:09:00 PM more reviews by molakip

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

The best thing about any make-up product is its price (i.e. cheap!) and does what it claims WITHOUT causing skin irritations. For 3 bucks CDN, this is a steal for an easy go-to translucent powder when the disco ball shininess comes around.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 clp53 on 2/3/2011 3:30:00 AM more reviews by clp53

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

It changed color on my face where my skin is more oily :s soo embarassing . It went darker on my forehead and nose, I looked ORANGE. Gross, never use it again

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More New York Color products

More Pressed Powders products