MAC • Matchmaster SPF 15 Foundation • Liquid

rated 3.7(374 reviews)

Average Rating.3.7
Would buy this product again.62%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 jasminekeys on 1/15/2014 10:46:00 PM more reviews by jasminekeys

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I love this foundation. I'm very pale, with sort of weird reddish undertones, and it's the first thing I found that matches my skin tone perfectly (I use the 1.0). It also looks really good on my skin- it doesn't even look like I have a medium-to-full coverage foundation on. One $35 bottle will last me a year, so it's good price-wise too. I have very troublesome skin (acne-prone, super sensitive, lots of red) and this erases all of that. It also builds and blends really well. I don't really notice a chemical smell, and it looks fantastic.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 carpenox on 1/12/2014 1:14:00 AM more reviews by carpenox

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Blue    

I was just colour matched at the MAC Counter. I was matched 1.0 (which was too yellow for me). This stuff smells like chemicals- and not in a good way. The smell was still bothering me an hour later.

I went to the counter asking for help as I have a hard time colour matching (i'm very fair). I have combo skin and this was the makeup which was recommended too me.

As far as coverage, it has a medium to full coverage. Demi-matt finish, which was nice. The girl at MAC put it on me without a primer and it sunk into every line and pore on my face. So it'd probably be a lot better with a primer.

This stuff felt caked on- but didn't look it. It felt rather drying around my nose as well.

In all honesty the first thing I did when I got home was wash it off. I wear glasses and the amount that had rubbed off where my glasses sit was fairly disappointing as well. If I was to continue wearing, I would have already had to touch up under my glasses after an hour and a half.

Definitely not for me at all!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Beccahgibbo on 1/8/2014 5:15:00 PM more reviews by Beccahgibbo

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I have dry and spot prone skin which is an odd combination but hey ho, I am also very fair and even the foundations in nc15 are a little too dark for me , however this foundation in the colour 1.0 is the perfect match for me, I love the finish of this foundation and I don't find it cakey at all as I find other mac foundations. It's about medium to full coverage and build able . It covers the redness in my skin but not all of my blemishes so I use the studio fix concealer over my blemishes and set it all with the studio fix powder .

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 savyrain on 1/7/2014 11:59:00 PM more reviews by savyrain

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Other, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

This is my favorite liquid foundation. I personally prefer to just wear powder to make things simple but now that i've found this i've made a complete turn around.
It gives me the perfect amount of coverage and is EXACTLY the right shade for my skin. It feels light on my face and I could leave the house feeling confident just wearing the foundation by itself. It stays put from morning to evening, that's when it starts to get a little weak...but it's a fabulous everyday foundation with build able coverage. Will be repurchasing.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 molatrice1 on 1/7/2014 10:19:00 PM more reviews by molatrice1

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium Brown   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

This thing is cakey , it's over priced and it disappeared on my face after 6 hours ! And I was wearing a primer smh!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 tobydoodle25 on 12/31/2013 1:51:00 PM more reviews by tobydoodle25

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

So I just went to Mac and got a sample of this foundation and started applying it this morning. what I noticed was it was hard to blend it on your face the consistency wasn't as liquidy as i had pictured it to be. Once getting it on it was definitely full coverage and it did cover well however it kind of gathered on my acne scars. I notice the color is already sort of a jersey shore orange tan color. It makes me look tanner which is a plus but something about the darker orange tint makes me look shiny. I'm not super in love with the color but I would say its a great foundation for summer time and great for people who are really tan and are trying to get their face to look as tan as their body overall it's pretty good haven't worn it long enough to see if it breaks me out I will update it once I wear it another day!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Jacheampong on 12/30/2013 12:29:00 PM more reviews by Jacheampong

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Deep Dark   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I bought 2 the first one I bought was a 10 and was to dark for me (which was a surprise because. I am really dark). So I got a 9.5 and it was to LIGHT so I just started mixing the 2 foundations to get the color that I wanted. My only issue is that due to my complexion I do not really have any scaring on my face that shows. and I also never break out so I didn't need the full coverage YES I SAID IT FULL COVERAGE foundation!! I never like wearing a lot of makeup and this foundation makes it look like in caking my face on especially when it's hit out so me...I don't think I will purchase again just because of the coverage but other than that it was a great foundation.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 MannieKu on 12/30/2013 7:18:00 AM more reviews by MannieKu

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium Brown   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

Looove this foundation ! I never went back to my other ones since I have had this !

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Sp0ntaneous on 12/27/2013 9:45:00 AM more reviews by Sp0ntaneous

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Dark   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

This is my first liquid foundation ever. I am more on the oily side (combination oily if that) and I also tend to break out if I have a bad reaction to a product. I was using mac studio fix powder plus foundation for FIVE years! Yes you read that right - 5 years. In the first 3 years, i loved it. However the last 2 it was beggining to not match my skin, control my oily tzone or give me the finish I was looking for. I asked my friend what foundation she used and she said mac matchmaster. I asked if it was powder and when she said liquid I was instantly turned off. However, she has oily skin and it seemed to be working for her. I went to the counter and got a sample which lasted me about 2 full times and I was able to use test to see how I felt about this product. Basically in my best Rihanna voice ..WHERE HAVE YOU BEEN ALL MY LIFE ?!? Seriously. Best foundation I've used. It's been about 2 1/2 weeks, no breakouts. Coverage is light-medium but definetly buildable. Oil free, water is the first ingredient. If you use the powder plus foundation with no problems, I assume this would be even better considering talc is the first ingredient in the powder. Now onto how I use this foundation - first I cleanse and moisturize with cetaphil. Then use milk of magnesia on my tzone (love this as well) take one full pump of foundation and use a flat top kabuki brush and first stipple it into my skin one area at a time after completing the rest of my makeup (concelear, blush) I use mac blot pressed powder in deep dark on my tzone. Lasted me about 5-6 hours without having to blot (that's how long I usually wear makeup for). Looks extremely natural, doesn't feel like anything is on my skin and it blends beautifully. ( I apologize for any spelling errors I'm on my phone )

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Emilyy777 on 12/22/2013 11:39:00 PM more reviews by Emilyy777

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I was so excited to try this foundation, but I was honestly disappointed with it.
I purchased it from a MAC counter and the SA matched me as the shade 2.0 - however once I tried the foundation myself, it was too dark. I am normally an NC20 and technically the 2.0 should match, but it's definitely too dark!

So I only use this shade for when I fake tan.
Anyways, the product isn't all bad.

Pros:
I love the amount of coverage - light to medium
The packaging is great and it has a pump
It doesn't make me shiny (I get an oily T Zone quite easily)

Cons:
It smells like chemicals
It dries VERY quickly
I didn't find that it altered colour what so ever, as it's name suggests.
It clings to dry patches. I have combo skin and occasionally get dry patches on my cheeks, I definitely do not recommend this for people with dry skin.

I think the main reason I am so disappointed is because I paid almost 60 dollars for this foundation expecting it to be amazing. It is still great for when I fake tan and my skin isn't dry.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More MAC products

More Liquid products