MAC • Matchmaster SPF 15 Foundation • Liquid

rated 3.7(368 reviews)

Average Rating.3.7
Would buy this product again.61%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 Jacheampong on 12/30/2013 12:29:00 PM more reviews by Jacheampong

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Deep Dark   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I bought 2 the first one I bought was a 10 and was to dark for me (which was a surprise because. I am really dark). So I got a 9.5 and it was to LIGHT so I just started mixing the 2 foundations to get the color that I wanted. My only issue is that due to my complexion I do not really have any scaring on my face that shows. and I also never break out so I didn't need the full coverage YES I SAID IT FULL COVERAGE foundation!! I never like wearing a lot of makeup and this foundation makes it look like in caking my face on especially when it's hit out so me...I don't think I will purchase again just because of the coverage but other than that it was a great foundation.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 MannieKu on 12/30/2013 7:18:00 AM more reviews by MannieKu

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium Brown   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

Looove this foundation ! I never went back to my other ones since I have had this !

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Sp0ntaneous on 12/27/2013 9:45:00 AM more reviews by Sp0ntaneous

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Dark   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

This is my first liquid foundation ever. I am more on the oily side (combination oily if that) and I also tend to break out if I have a bad reaction to a product. I was using mac studio fix powder plus foundation for FIVE years! Yes you read that right - 5 years. In the first 3 years, i loved it. However the last 2 it was beggining to not match my skin, control my oily tzone or give me the finish I was looking for. I asked my friend what foundation she used and she said mac matchmaster. I asked if it was powder and when she said liquid I was instantly turned off. However, she has oily skin and it seemed to be working for her. I went to the counter and got a sample which lasted me about 2 full times and I was able to use test to see how I felt about this product. Basically in my best Rihanna voice ..WHERE HAVE YOU BEEN ALL MY LIFE ?!? Seriously. Best foundation I've used. It's been about 2 1/2 weeks, no breakouts. Coverage is light-medium but definetly buildable. Oil free, water is the first ingredient. If you use the powder plus foundation with no problems, I assume this would be even better considering talc is the first ingredient in the powder. Now onto how I use this foundation - first I cleanse and moisturize with cetaphil. Then use milk of magnesia on my tzone (love this as well) take one full pump of foundation and use a flat top kabuki brush and first stipple it into my skin one area at a time after completing the rest of my makeup (concelear, blush) I use mac blot pressed powder in deep dark on my tzone. Lasted me about 5-6 hours without having to blot (that's how long I usually wear makeup for). Looks extremely natural, doesn't feel like anything is on my skin and it blends beautifully. ( I apologize for any spelling errors I'm on my phone )

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Emilyy777 on 12/22/2013 11:39:00 PM more reviews by Emilyy777

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I was so excited to try this foundation, but I was honestly disappointed with it.
I purchased it from a MAC counter and the SA matched me as the shade 2.0 - however once I tried the foundation myself, it was too dark. I am normally an NC20 and technically the 2.0 should match, but it's definitely too dark!

So I only use this shade for when I fake tan.
Anyways, the product isn't all bad.

Pros:
I love the amount of coverage - light to medium
The packaging is great and it has a pump
It doesn't make me shiny (I get an oily T Zone quite easily)

Cons:
It smells like chemicals
It dries VERY quickly
I didn't find that it altered colour what so ever, as it's name suggests.
It clings to dry patches. I have combo skin and occasionally get dry patches on my cheeks, I definitely do not recommend this for people with dry skin.

I think the main reason I am so disappointed is because I paid almost 60 dollars for this foundation expecting it to be amazing. It is still great for when I fake tan and my skin isn't dry.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 elenidem on 12/7/2013 4:42:00 PM more reviews by elenidem

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

This was my first ever foundation and I was excited and it was really a let down. I was so excited to cover all my blemishes and have perfect skin and it actually made it worse and I end up wearing just a conceal and powder and makes you look very pale and ghost like. It also looks very obvious on your skin and I find that I have to layer it on a lot to cover all my imperfections

This foundation is perfect if you don't have blemishes or dry spots (and i do) because it sticks to it and looks cakey, also if you have dry skin I wouldn't recommend this.

When I went to MAC and asked for a foundation I think they gave me this one without asking me which one I wanted and I guess that's smart because it was their newest one.

Plus side is that this comes with a pump and it has spf to protect your skin

If you have normal skin this would be good but I guess there are better MAC foundations you could buy for the money

Hope this helped xx

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 muchi090 on 11/27/2013 9:12:00 PM more reviews by muchi090

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Oily, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

I have very oily skin and this foundation did nothing for me. It looks flawless in photos but cakey in real life. It appears to b very ashy on my skin. I dont like it. Waste of money and time

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 EboniBrandon on 11/12/2013 11:18:00 PM more reviews by EboniBrandon

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Medium Brown, Warm   Hair: Black, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Grey    

Went in to get a Pro Long Wear or Studio Fix but they were out of my shade NC45. Sales woman told me to try this in 7.0. Didn't love it then. I'm not sure if I like it at all. I find that some days it looks lovely, the finish is very natural, hardly need powder. 6.0 was too light, 7.0 I find a bit dark but still better than the 6.0 and omg the god awful RED TINGE after a few hours or if I get oily. 6.0 was the right undertone however. That may have worked if the shade was right. I'm lazy these days or I could simply have used a darker powder but I honestly prefer a foundation as close to perfect as possible that dries matte/semi matte so I don't need more than a dust of powder on my T-zone.

WHY OH WHY do some MAC foundations turn that disgusting orange-red??? NC or NW they're all red and nasty. In any event I may just mix with strobe liquid and use up as tinted moisturizer on days I don't want much coverage (I don't have many blemishes to cover) because I cant see myself wearing a full face of this anywhere important. On the upside it photographs well with flash despite the high SPF. Took lovely photos with this while out boating before I took on the Oompa Loompa cast. NOTHING beats Revlon Colorstay. More stuff I try the more I realize this.

Ultimately I think if you find something in this formula that works for you you will love it as the coverage and texture are lovely. If you've tried it and didn't get matched properly you'll probably hate it. When my bottle is done I shall not repurchase. Waste of $33.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Kristenhonto on 11/8/2013 7:22:00 PM more reviews by Kristenhonto

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Olive, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

This foundation is very similiar to Pro Longwear but it's easier to remove and not as drying. Good coverage. A little goes a long way and it's pretty long lasting. Matte finish. I love that it comes in a pump... but unfortunately this foundation is just too drying for my dry skin, and as I've found with other MAC foundations, it leaves my skin lifeless and unhealthy looking after a few months of use. This would probably be better for someone with oily skin.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* junomacguff on 11/4/2013 8:26:00 PM more reviews by junomacguff

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Green    

Im NC15ish and it's very hard for me to find a foundation that matches my skin. Shade 1 does!! It also makes the texture of my skin look smoother, makes my pores look less noticeable, and manages to prevent shine without making my dry skin look flaky. I apply this with a MAC foundation brush and smooth out cakey spots with my fingers. I top it off with a little Mineralize Skinfinish Natural powder in Light. Finally found my HG!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* hippihanna on 11/4/2013 5:41:00 AM more reviews by hippihanna

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I am a NC 42 with most of Mac's other foundations and found that the #5 matchmaster matched my complexion very well. The foundation itself is medium coverage which is easy to layer onto a full coverage if needed. It feels very light on the skin, easy to apply and is very natural looking on me. It needs a powder to set but the good thing is that I don't necessarily need to do so much contouring and highlighting like with some other foundations of this consistency that could leave my face looking quite flat.
I am over-all pleased with the colour match and the coverage it gives but my only issue with this product is that I find that i still get visibly oily within only a few hours of having this on, not only do I get oily but the foundation looks like it's disintegrating and melting off in some places, particularly around my nose, I've been trying some different primers to help with this issue but none have helped so far. I previously used to use mac's pro-longwear foundation prior to this but had ran out on that which led me to give this a try. This foundation is not bad but the pro-longwear just works better for me and for this reason I will not be repurchasing.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More MAC products

More Liquid products