L'Oreal • Voluminous Million Lashes - waterproof • Mascara

rated 3.8(134 reviews)

Average Rating.3.8
Would buy this product again.70%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 4 of 5 fallaciousimage on 12/15/2012 1:24:00 PM more reviews by fallaciousimage

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Tan, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

To start off, I have short, stick straight eyelashes and I wear contact lenses. I did not really wear much mascara due to the fact that my lashes were basically non-existent and it was pointless to apply it everyday. This mascara changed that for me and I've been using this mascara for about four months now. This mascara really does hold curl but it will not hold curl if your eyes water a lot and if your eyelash curling technique is not good. Make sure you have a good eyelash curler, because I accidentally bent my eyelash curler (giving it a wonky shape that didn't hold the curl in my lashes very well) and I use to think that this mascara the problem until I bought a new eyelash curler. This mascara volumizes without clumping at all, and really separates my lashes but it does clump quite a bit on my lower lashes. I suppose it is because my lower lashes are veryyy short and thin, so if you have reallllyyyyy thin and short lashes this may not be for you. It could be that my technique for applying to the lower lashes is wrong though. I noticed that it doesn't clump at all when this mascara reaches 3 months of being opened. After the mascara dries, DO NOT apply any more coats of mascara unless you want spider lashes. This mascara also lengthens a bit but not by that much, but its okay because with the kind of lashes I have I do not expect falsies. This never flakes. This does smudge if you apply it to your lower lashes (I have oily skin), a quick fix for that is to just apply powder under your eyes and it won't smudge :) I highly recommend this mascara to anyone with short, stick straight eyelashes.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 VeryCherryBaby on 12/8/2012 9:47:00 PM more reviews by VeryCherryBaby

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Red, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

As a general rule, I despise L'Oreal mascara. I realize everyone else loves it, but it runs, smudges, flakes, and is generally a waste of money for me. This one changed my tune though. I had no intention of buying it but for some reason, I did.

The first time I tried it, I wasn't really impressed. It didn't coat my lashes that well, and I was convinced I'd wasted my money again. Since I bought it because I was completely out, I had to use it again the next day, and I don't know what happened overnight, but the next morning, it coated them on the first pass. No idea what was up with that, but I was satisfied. It was buildable and didn't clump, so I was warming up to L'Oreal slowly but surely. It didn't flake all day or run, and I was a bad girl that night and slept in my eye makeup (I know, I know), and when I woke up the next day, it hadn't budged. It looked the same as it did when I had applied it the previous morning.
S.T.U.N.N.E.D. Now on a particularly humid day, I usually get a little smudging from my lower lashes with every mascara known to man, including this one, but I can't blame the formula for it. I have long lower lashes and for whatever reason, that section of my face gets kind of dewy after a while and that's all it takes. :)

So I am now a convert, at least with this mascara!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Susanner on 11/11/2012 11:24:00 AM more reviews by Susanner

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

Almost HG. My No. 1 requirement is that a mascara must hold curl and this does like no other I've tried and at my age I've tried them all. In fact I would go so far as to say that it even adds some curl which is unheard of for me. I have very long but rather fine lashes due to my beloved Latisse. Sadly though they grow downward so I curl my lashes a lot which takes time to get them just right into a nice curve and this mascara holds them there all day. I can get dramatic results by adding two or three layers being careful not to let it dry completely between coats. The results are dramatic but it takes a bit of time but it's totally worth it. Also, no clumping with this brush. I usually prefer traditional brushes but this one is really good and isn't too huge like some so you can get all the corner lashes.

I have used many, many waterproof mascaras because they hold curl better and this is one of the easiest to remove by far. I use remover with the two layers that you have to shake together, I put it on a cotton pad, hold it on my eye for under a minute to let it act like a solvent and then wipe it all off in a few passes. No yanking, no irritation. I always wonder if people who have trouble removing mascara are actually giving the remover a chance to penetrate the product and let it do its job.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 mewsings on 10/16/2012 6:35:00 PM more reviews by mewsings

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Red, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I am totally in love with this mascara. Is it the most Volumizing and dramatic mascara ever? ...probably not! BUT It definitely gives me the best defined and perfectly pumped up lashes that stay curled that I've ever had. This mascara does not budge on me until I am ready to remove it with oil and it holds a curl better than any other I have tried. It may be hard to get off by conventional methods, but I don't have any trouble removing it with oil. I love the brush that comes with this. It is one of those rubber brushes similar to CG Lashblast, but not quite as large so I have an easier time getting to all my lashes. The formula is not too wet so that it is messy to apply, nor is it so dry that it makes my lashes feel brittle. I get no clumps... just nicely separated lashes that I can build up to my desired volume. The packaging is just the icing on the cake for me. I love the chic gold tube. I would definitely call this my HG after trying dozens of ds mascaras.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 tigerangel9 on 10/7/2012 9:39:00 PM more reviews by tigerangel9

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

The most difficult mascara to remove ..period..hate this product.Do not waste your money unless you have Lots of time to try to get it off your lashes.I tried to remove this with eyemakeup removers,oils including olive, coconut and almond.. The skin around my eyes was very sore after each attempt.. I am a bit of a mascara addict and try new ones as soon as they hit the market. skip this one guys !!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 16andFace on 10/1/2012 1:54:00 PM more reviews by 16andFace

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Oh gosh, this mascara is as great as falling in love. Haha. I remember seeing so many commercials with this mascara which is what caused me to buy it. I'm a sucker for commercials haha. Well anyways, I bought the waterproof version because for some strange reason it was $3 cheaper than the nonwaterproof version. The packaging is beautiful, I love the golden tube. This mascara has never clumped on me, i've been a proud owner for maybe 3 months now. You can layer the mascara as much as you can and it won't clump!!! It just makes you eyelashes thicker and darker! It's absolutely amazing. But doesn't give you the "oomph" like Maybelline's lash stiletto but this is still an unbelieveably great mascara.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* secondadonna on 9/17/2012 11:36:00 PM more reviews by secondadonna

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

ETA: I keep editing this review as I use up my tube of this. I'm starting to see why so many people like this mascara. The brush - awkward as I find it - is The AntiClump. As long as you don't want a truly volumized, dramatic look, you can get a really good "natural" long-lasting look with this mascara. Holds curl, no smudges, et. (In fact, the brush is so comb-y and the formula so dry that it "curls" my lashes without a curler - some might find that useful.) I just really want to apply about 3 more coats, and that doesn't work with this mascara.
ORIG: I hate the new spiky plastic brush -- the old Voluminous was much better. Good staying power/waterproofiness, no clumps or flakes, but it's just impossible to apply enough to get that thick look that it should have. As a result it's very finicky -- there's a stage at which it looks ok (not the volumizing look I want, but at least it doesn't look terrible) and you have to stop applying at exactly the right moment or BOOM! Tarantula eyes. Gross.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 superlemon on 9/5/2012 9:30:00 AM more reviews by superlemon

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

This stuff is amazing. It holds a curl like nothing I've ever used, and doesn't clump at all. The only downside is that it's a nightmare to remove. I've yet to figure out how to get it off without three rounds of makeup remove + face wash, so it's not an everyday thing for me. If I ever figure that out, I'll never wear anything else.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 barebearxo on 9/3/2012 11:58:00 PM more reviews by barebearxo

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

My friend recommended me this mascara about 10 months ago. I love love love love it. And after using it for a long time, not as much. My eyelashes are kinda on the short side, but they're not non existent. They're still a decent length, and they stick straight out, like most Asian eyelashes.

Pros:
I found that this mascara held my curl well. It really lengthened my eyelashes.It separates my eyelashes really well also. Affordable. I like the shiny packaging lol. I love shiny things ;)

Cons:
Not a lot of volume. I have oily lids and just all around my eyes, and at the end of the school day, the mascara starts to bleed. And no, it's not my eyeliner or anything because on the days when the only makeup I wear is this mascara, I still look like a raccoon. Not good. It has an odd smell, but I'm not all that bothered by it. I also found the packaging to be kinda bulky.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Vanilly on 8/30/2012 6:29:00 AM more reviews by Vanilly

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Red, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

My very first WP mascara was Maybelline's Lashblast. It was great & all, but it was so tough to remove!
L'Oreal's Voluminous Million Lashes, on the other hand, was easy to remove with MUFE's Sens'Eyes remover. That's a big thumbs up for me, since it rains a lot where I live and I needed a WP mascara that was easily removable.
This mascara certainly defines & lengthen your lashes. If you're looking for volume, there are other mascaras that can do better. Though, you can build up the coats and eventually you will achieve that thickness.
The formula is dry (holds your curl) and was easy to apply. No clumps, no flakes. Just as L'Oreal promised.

The only CON that I have with this mascara is its brush. Yes, it's good at separating lashes, but I have a very hard time trying to reach my lower lashes since the brush is so thick. I might need to use the business card trick for this.

> Overall, you should try out this mascara if you're looking for a product that defines, lengthens, and some mediocre volume to your lashes.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More L'Oreal products

More Mascara products