Thierry Mugler • Angel • Fragrances

rated 3.2(1809 reviews)

Average Rating.3.2
Would buy this product again.51%
Ingredients


rated 2 of 5 Myaan on 9/30/2013 5:22:00 PM more reviews by Myaan

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Medium Brown, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I was thinking of purchasing this perfume and decided to go check it out at Macy's. IT WAS HORRIBLE. It gave me a bad headache, I just couldn't stand it. Thought I'm gonna like it based on the reviews but I got disappointed. Deffinitely not for me.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* rasputin2 on 9/21/2013 9:23:00 AM more reviews by rasputin2

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Medium, Cool   Hair: Silver, Straight, Coarse   Eyes: Green    

What can one say about ANGEL? It has become a classic, and I'm one of its lovers. Just for sheer ingenuity, to blend a traditional patchouly/rose perfume accord... with all the sweet, fruity and sucrée edible notes, it is a landmark and a treasure.

Is it the first sweet gourmand fragrance? I'd say it is the spiritual granddaughter of Guerlain L'HEURE BLEUE (1912), which also combines floralcy with almost-candied vanillic notes.

The first time I tried ANGEL, what I pictured was a romantic beau's Valentine's Day gift to his girl: roses, chocolates filled with caramel, coconut, nougat. it was only with time that I came to see just how much patchouli is a major player in ANGEL. Just as with A*MEN, its masculine counterpart, I seem to detect subtle notes of wintergreen, clary sage and geranium.

A few years ago, I was stuck in the hospital for a month; one day, one of my specialists came in to check on me... redolent of ANGEL. She and her scent seemed like instant cheer to me at the time.

Highly recommended. The best scents are those for which everything you've heard about them-- good and ill-- are true.

3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 MMoralesRuiz on 8/12/2013 2:44:00 PM more reviews by MMoralesRuiz

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I absolutely love this scent.

Although I can understand how there are so many bad reviews - this really isn't a scent you need to use too much of - ONE small spray, please. I honestly think that some people dislike Angel because some idiot has probably sprayed almost the entire bottle over her clothes. No. Just no. Please, if you want to wear Angel, then do it justice and use very sparingly.
Anyway. Rant over.

Regarding the scent itself, I use the Eau de Parfum and have been obsessed with it ever since I first tried it.

This perfume is incredibly popular in Spain - whenever I go over to visit relatives I recognise this on so many girls in the street. It just smells gorgeous in summer - as I'm writing this I can picture Seville in the really hot months - and this scent conjures up loud, buzzing nights. This is a very mediterranean perfume - we tend to like the stronger scents, that leave a bit of a trail. I would say this is very unmistakeable, and an absolute masterpiece.

The overall composition is sweet. Yes, it is a gourmand, but not one that I find too sickly or offensive. You will not actually smell like a dessert while wearing this, despite all of the rich, almost edible notes - it's too complex to come across as a chocolate pudding/sugarbomb attack on the nose, because of the patchouli that serves as a base. I definitely get a strong, immediate hit of honey, red fruits, cotton candy and dark, dark chocolate - which I am slightly obsessed by.

I always feel great while wearing this. It's so warming and exotic. And yes, you may have
heard, men adore this scent. It really is an aphrodisiac. A kind of smell that you want to snuggle up to or savour - I always find myself sniffing my wrist because I'm craving more of its sensual, heady goodness. But it has to be on the right skin and body chemistry. If Angel doesn't suit you, then you'll probably know about it very quickly from other people's reactions, which could put some people off and explain the bad reviews. But please, I repeat, don't give Angel a bad name by wearing it if it doesn't suit you. That's just encouraging any bad rep for such a wonderful product.

So, if you're feeling like you want to try Angel, ease into it with just a single spray and you might be surprised. It really is like nothing I have ever smelt before or since. My firm favourite - the good news is it's quite economical despite it being more expensive than a lot of other perfumes. It's definitely an investment buy. This is because you need such a tiny amount due to the incredible sillage and longevity. I can spray this once onto my wrist, dab it onto the other one, rub my wrists behind my ears and on my neck, then I'm good to go - and, unbelievably, I can still smell it the next day. All day. So, if you like the smell, this is good news. If you don't, then it could be a bitch to scrub off in the shower. While I'm wearing it I tend to feel like it's quite a confident, sexy, rich, deep and complex scent - not the typical watered-down fruity crap that so many unfortunately misguided girls wear now. No, this is proper perfume - a classic scent.

I also adore the most recent campaign for this with Eva Mendes. She really suits the vibe of the perfume and just embodies its confident, strong but also really feminine and classic appeal. I would definitely picture somebody like her wearing this scent. I don't know why but I really feel this suits Hispanic women (probably because it reminds me of the thousands of girls who wear this in Spain). It just conjures up dark hair, tans and summertime.

The bottle is also great - very pretty on my dresser, I have the little blue star and I love the fact that the juice is coloured. Everything about this product, from the scent to the marketing is stylish and luxurious.

Try it, and if it doesn't work for you, then leave it alone. But if it does, then you'll be very lucky to enjoy such a gorgeous, unique smell.

13 out of 17 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 jdcapps on 8/6/2013 10:09:00 PM more reviews by jdcapps

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Medium, Cool   Hair: Brown, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I often wonder what people are thinking when they give a fragrance such as this one 5 stars. I have read numerous reviews on this perfume all singing it's praises. I received a sample and couldn't wait to try it. Upon spraying myself I immediately jumped in the shower to scrub the horrendous scent off of me. It is truly terrible IMO! I smell this on so many people just in my day to day travels. I know we all have our own opinions regarding something personal such as perfume. BUT...it to me smells like a mixture of cat urine and cotton candy. I realize everyone had different chemistry but I work with many women that wear this and it doesn't smell good on any of them IMO. But they all rave how their men love it. So....I guess that men like scents like this?

7 out of 12 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 FyrePhoenix on 8/3/2013 8:15:00 PM more reviews by FyrePhoenix

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Fair   Hair: Red, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

Angel is not ethereal or romantic to me.
It starts out pungent and musky, and turns thickly, sickly sweet after several minutes. Turns my stomach pretty bad, too.
It has incredible staying power, so it's too damn bad that I can't stand it. And the packaging is gorgeous. I love that you can get the little stand for the stars. Beautiful. But my cod, that smell just does not agree with me.

4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 tmb1975 on 8/2/2013 2:30:00 AM more reviews by tmb1975

Age: 36-43   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I have the Angel fragrance with the bitter cocoa in it, but it smells about the same as the regular Angel, at least to my nose.

This perfume is definitely a love it or hate it fragrance and I have to be in the mood for it. Sometimes it's too much for me and I don't use it for months. It should really come with a warning on the bottle that says one pump of it is too much, and definitely not on both wrists. I have a bottle of Jicky with a dabber and that would have been the nicest way to package this scent, although that could be inconvenient.

When I do apply it, I either unscrew the bottle and dab the end of the sprayer on one wrist or spritz out the most miniscule amount possible. This is a "little dab will do ya" kind of perfume. You will smell it all day, even with one dab.

Caution is the watchword when it comes to this fragrance, but if you're in the mood for a sweet, candy-like scent, this is a nice one. I'm a choco-holic, so the chocolate notes are really appealing.

I'd give it 3.75 stars, but rounded up. :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 lspado on 8/2/2013 2:02:00 AM more reviews by lspado

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Red, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

Many people on here have already made some very good points about this fragrance.

1) You either love it...or hate it.

2) A little spritz goes a looonnngggg way.

3) It's either going to get on well with your body chemistry......or you're going to smell like vomit baking on a sidewalk under a boiling hot sun.

4) If you do love it, you'll especially love it in the wintertime.

I'm firmly in the LOVE it camp. I've bought so many refills over the years for both my large and small stars that I've lost count.

It's my signature scent and has been since it came out. I flirt, now and again, with something else....but am always, always irresistibly drawn back in by it's complexity, uniqueness, and beauty.

I wear it year-round. I tried, long ago, to "put it away" during the warmer months but felt completely naked without it. I've worn it for such a long time; it's become a part of the way I self-identify. I already have a very light hand with it. I go even lighter in the summer.

I have had people (men and women) stop me in stores, at airports, on the street, in the supermarket, parking lots, movie theaters - you name it - to ask me what on earth am I wearing because, "You smell SOOO GOOD!!" They have this dreamy, goo-goo eyed look about their face when they ask me.

I swear they've got to be putting some sort of instantly addicting drug in it that grabs hold of the people that like it.

I have yet to come across a man that hasn't fallen under it's spell. And, from what I've encountered, the men that have expressed admiration for the scent on me are totally ga-ga over it. Like.....they-are-YOUR-SLAVE-if-you-so-command ga-ga.

It's worth it's weight in pink diamonds.



11 out of 16 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* SorceressOfTheDark on 7/25/2013 11:34:00 PM more reviews by SorceressOfTheDark

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

A warm, dark candy scent that reminds me of an expensive chocolate bar that's melted over and mixed into fried cotton candy at a summer county fair on a very hot, humid night. You dip your fingers into this outrageous candy delight in the night air, enjoy the sweet taste sensations while your other senses are assaulted by the lights and sounds of the carnival. There's a sensory overload that you put yourself through because you want to, because you like where you are, knowing you want to absorb everything that's there. That's what Angel is all about.
This is an inviting scent that lingers for a number of hours with a dark chocolate liquor flavor. About one hour into settling, Angel gets comfortable, drunk on cherry chocolates, languid, sweet and syrupy. After its run of about eight hours, she quietly slips away. Her booziness is gone.
When I first went to inquire about this perfume, the SA at Macy's told me she had so many complaints about this complex fragrance, she was hesitant to have me spray-test it on myself. She instead handed me a number of samples with judicious eyes and told me to try it out at home.
I have absolutely no complaints about this complicated frag. It's different and I like that. It's a gourmand and you must enjoy a food type fragrance if you will associate yourself with Angel. There are so many delicious notes for your skin to absorb from Thierry Mugler's scent each time you apply it, you really should give it a try a few times to see what flavors become you.
As with any frag, especially a gourmand, go lightly. Unless you go to bed with it. Then you get to snuggle to your own delight with as many sprays as you'd like, cuddle up to it and enjoy the scent.
I find the bottle a pleasing addition to my own perfumery. Art deco in design maybe, modernistic perhaps, certainly not run-of-the mill. Definitely a keeper.
The notes that are prominent for me are coconut, bergamot, cotton candy, plum, red berries, tonka bean, amber, patchouli, musk, vanilla, chocolate and caramel. This is a quite a mix.
Top Notes: Melon, Bergamot, Mandarin Orange, Coconut, Cassia, Jasmine, Cotton Candy.
Middle Notes: Honey, Apricot, Blackberry, Plum, Orchid, Peach, Jasmine, Lily-of-the-Valley, Red Berries, Rose.
Base Notes: Patchouli, Musk, Tonka Bean, Amber, Vanilla, Dark Chocolate, Caramel.

6 out of 10 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 GoDawgs on 7/23/2013 9:41:00 PM more reviews by GoDawgs

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

I LOVE Angel. It's one of my favorites. I love that it's puzzling; I can sniff and sniff and nothing is exactly identifiable. I also love that one person can describe it and the description sounds like an entirely different perfume from another person's description.

I've heard Angel described as decadent and desserty, but I don't agree. There are so many different notes that I smell nothing very literal. For example, when I sniff SL Jeux de Peau, I make out butter, salt, and even popcorn. With Kilian's Love (don't be shy) I smell honeysuckle and sweet, sticky honey. But with Angel? It's like a weird meld of so many different things that it creates it's own distinct scent. Yes, it's gourmand, but less like a comforting baked good that I want to devour, and more like something intriguing that I've never seen, that seems like it's edible but might turn out to be poisonous.

In the beginning I smell red berries, but not yummy, sweet berries. It's like wild berries found in the woods that I probably shouldn't eat. I think it's the red berry scent that throws me off on this smelling like something truly edible. There is also a peppery scent that is so strong at first it tickles my nose. When the scent dies down I can smell a bit of the vanilla and caramel, but it's still not distinct and is melded with so many other scents.

Sephora describes Angel as pure, soft, and innocent. Huh? I disagree. It's sexy, daring, almost dirty but with a sweetness at the core, and keeps you guessing.

The longevity is crazy. I can smell this on me 12 hours after spraying.

6 out of 9 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 AMSClassic on 7/23/2013 9:59:00 AM more reviews by AMSClassic

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Olive   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Coarse   Eyes: Green    

This perfume smells like you went into Sephora and sprayed no less than 10 fragrances on you at once. Also the sillage is extremely high and just a small drop is known to induce headaches for you and everyone you come into contact with.

7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Thierry Mugler products

More Fragrances products