John Frieda • Precision Foam Color • Hair Color

rated 3.3(351 reviews)

Average Rating.3.3
Would buy this product again.55%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 MissTheSweetest on 10/4/2013 2:07:00 PM more reviews by MissTheSweetest

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

Best hair color ever! Better then the salon or any other box color. Expensive but so worth it!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 jessimon on 9/19/2013 8:18:00 AM more reviews by jessimon

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Have to say I love the results I get with John Frieda Precision Foam Color! I have very dark brown hair and use the colour in Deep Cherry Brown (3VR). The gloves supplied are black and of good quality - I rinse them at the end of application for future use (used them with another brand of coloring that had easily torn gloves). The colour is easy to mix and apply and the foam doesn't drip (although if it is very humid, the colour can run a bit due to sweat). The one con is that it takes me ages to use up most of the mix (I have shoulder-length hair and the instructions say I should use all the mix, but I never can do this). Possibly my hair is very fine and although longish, it isn't thick. So, for those with a lot of hair, one box of this product gives very good coverage.

After rinsing and using the conditioner, my hair feels very soft and is very shiny. The colour result is vibrant and I can definitely see a difference if my hair was lighter before application. It doesn't seem to fade much - I can go 4 weeks before I need to use again, but I think the need to reapply is due to regrowth, not fading. The price is a bit steep for me (considering how often I use hair colour) but I've always been able to find it on sale, anywhere from $13 - $16 at the local chemist/supermarket.

I'd definitely recommend it - recently tried the Garnier Olia but the result was so poor (fading colour, very dry hair), I re-coloured using the John Frieda only 3 weeks later.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 emhesk on 9/9/2013 6:57:00 PM more reviews by emhesk

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

Honestly this is the BEST hair dye I have bought and used !! I originally had blonde ombre hair (blonde down the bottom and brown up the top) this dye covered all my hair (long and thick!) and made the colour all an even beautiful light ash brown!! LOVE THIS PRODUCT AND WILL RECCOMEND THIS TO EVERYONE!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 aliciahaha on 8/30/2013 6:14:00 PM more reviews by aliciahaha

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

I had medium-dark brown hair and dyed it with the color Dark Red Brown. The application was easy, very little mess, and the color was alright but it didnt change much. Just a tint of reddish purple over my other hair color. It looks nice, the only thing that really bothers me is how my hair feels after dying. The roots feel gross as if there residue? I'm sure it will wash out, just kind of gross. This hair dye was alright, I'll probably end up trying something's different next time. One good thing though is that one box covered my entire head! Usually I need two, because I have long, thick straight hair but this dye saved me money. :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Mramsey12 on 8/29/2013 4:31:00 AM more reviews by Mramsey12

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Blue    

I got this product with a free coupon. It did nothing. I used one of the darker brown shades to try and get coverage. My hair is about 4 inches past my shoulders, so I used the entire bottle, which was more than enough. I left it on for the 30 minute max. After I washed it thoroughly and blow dried my hair, I came to the conclusion it did nothing at all. It was as I had just washed my hair. I would never use this product again.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 daynas on 8/25/2013 1:15:00 PM more reviews by daynas

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I have been coloring my hair for many, many years and this has been the best product I have ever used both for ease of use and for coverage of roots. The most difficult thing when coloring one's own hair is to get complete and consistent touchups of roots all over the head. The foam approach accomplishes this well and also makes the entire process much less messy than the earlier generation of hair colorant products. In the "old" days, I used peroxide and drabber to achieve the light ash blonde color I need (my natural hair color varies from light blonde near the temples to dark blonde at the back of my head). Gradually, I shifted to the prepared products. I found Preference too harsh and used Excellence until I tried John Frieda. John Frieda does a better job in covering roots than Excellence, partly because the foam penetrates areas that can be missed using other techniques when one attempts to touch up roots by oneself. But it is not a product I would use if I wanted to dramatically change my hair color. For that, one needs to use a two-step process and probably have it done professionally.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 suzieyellow on 8/18/2013 10:00:00 AM more reviews by suzieyellow

Age: 19-24   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I got this in the colour Deep Cherry. It was on sale for AUD$12, but it's usually $25, which is extremely expensive for an at-home dye kit.

Firstly, it smells quite nice. It does smell a bit like hair dye, but no where nearly as strongly as other home hair dye kits. Wow!!

The foam is easy to work with and to distribute throughout your hair. My only problem with this is that a tiny amount of the liquid will result in a large amount of foam. So after 10 minutes of putting foam in my hair, I'd only gone through half of the dye in the bottle, at which point I gave up and chucked the rest out, which was a bit of a waste.

It came with 50mL of conditioner, which is very very generous.

After washing it out, my hair felt quite soft, which was a pleasant surprise. Some dyes do damage my hair or make my hair not as manageable, so I was glad it wasn't the case here.

The colour wasn't particularly vibrant, though that might have been because I'd chucked out half the dye. I guess I'll see how the colour holds up in the next month.

Basically, a great product, but one lippie off for a) the price and b) the fact that it would take ages to foam up all the dye.

EDIT: Took one lippie off because the colour didn't last very long (though perhaps that was my fault for not using all the dye). In a few weeks you could see all my old regrowth :(

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Reviewsonly on 8/10/2013 11:27:00 PM more reviews by Reviewsonly

Age: 44-55   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Black, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

Absolutely the worst! Not only did it dry my hair out, but it didn't cover ANY of the gray! I rinsed it off, and all the gray roots were still totally visible. Expensive too - it was a total waste of $14. Save your money - so far, the best foam color I've used is Garnier Nutrisse, and I'm going back to that.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Lkessler41 on 8/5/2013 9:31:00 PM more reviews by Lkessler41

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

I like the Precision Foam Color. I've noticed that people don't generally like the price--well, it is pricey hair color, but compared to other stuff, it's generally worth it for me.

I hate messy hair color. It takes time to prep your head for coloring if you're doing it on your own. This hair color reduces the mess and the likelihood that the color will run.

The first time I used the color, I read the instructions. Please don't attempt to over-shake the product. It doesn't mix any more no matter what you do. Follow instructions to the letter. 8-10 gentle shakes of the bottle from side to side will do.

If you have never dyed your hair, it always pays off to do a test on an inconspicuous area. Do it if in doubt. If you have any sort of reaction in your test area, DO NOT USE THE HAIR COLOR! Return the box that you did not use for the test to the store and get your money back.

For extra thick hair: buy a second box. I have to do this. I don't complain--I like my hair to be entirely saturated to ensure good coverage. If you have thin to normal hair that isn't long (ie. beyond shoulder length) one box should do. Any more hair, err on the side of safety and ensuring proper coverage--buy a second box.

I love the gloves that come with the John Freida Hair Color. They're high-quality gloves, very similar to the ones used in salons (I dare say identical). They fit well and won't allow any hair color to seep onto your hands. (This is a huge pet-peeve of mine).

If you have stubborn gray, leave the hair color as long as you feel it needs to cover. I leave mine for an hour--and that's typical with me.

Finally, rinse thoroughly and condition--use a comb in your shower while conditioning. This will ensure that you condition all the way from root to tip. Leave the conditioner as long as you like. Again, rinse thoroughly. Go ahead and either let your hair air dry or blow dry... You'll be very happy with this hair color. I don't buy any other brands.

And when I want an outrageous change of color--please, go to a professional. No box of hair color can ever make a truly outrageous hair color change--and you could end up with orange hair. Is that really what you want?

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 gogo35 on 8/3/2013 7:36:00 AM more reviews by gogo35

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

I loved this product when it was first introduced but they reformulated it several months ago to make it liquify on contact...the foam now dissolves right away. Now it drips all over my face and neck. To prevent that, I covered it with a shower cap and that made the color grab too much on the previously colored portion so it was too dark. I still love the shade...medium chocolate brown, but now I am looking for another foam or something thicker that I can apply to the roots without it dripping all over. I have a box in inventory that I don't plan to use and when I wrote to the company about the dripping, they sent me a coupon for a free box, and I don't intend to use that either. I was truly unhappy and disappointed.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More John Frieda products

More Hair Color products