John Frieda • Precision Foam Color • Hair Color

rated 3.2(335 reviews)

Average Rating.3.2
Would buy this product again.55%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 5 of 5 mystikspyral on 6/12/2013 2:41:00 PM more reviews by mystikspyral

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Brown    

I've been dying my hair at home on and off since I was a teenager. I've used tons of at home hair dye kits over the years, all different brands, but I never was as satisfied with a product than I was with John Frieda Precision Foam Color.

Nowadays the only reason I dye my hair is because I'm experiencing early graying (and I'm only 26). It isn't that bad, it's really not noticeable to other people unless I point it out to them. But it's bad enough that if I look closely, I see it every time I look in the mirror and I can't have that! I'm too young!

I bought two, one in the dark brown and another in cool espresso brown. (They were having a buy 1, get 1 50% off sale at my supermarket). I decided to first experiment with the dark brown. I was so shocked at how easy it was to use! I usually have trouble getting every strand when I do it myself, but not with this. The foam makes it effortless to apply everywhere. My hair is just past my shoulders and one box was way more than enough. (My hair is somewhat thin, though).

It left my hair a pretty dark brown and covered up all my gray strands. Other boxed dye kits would barely cover my grays at all! And even if they did, almost all of them faded on my hair within a few weeks, my grays peeked through again, and it left an unpleasant reddish hue on the rest of my hair.

But with this, the dye faded to a slightly lighter but very natural brown shade. I didn't have that reddish coloring hair dyes always fade to with this! I was SO excited.

The grays started showing up again after about 6-7 weeks. But that isn't bad, I will always use this kind from now on!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 LexiJay on 6/11/2013 10:56:00 PM more reviews by LexiJay

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Relaxed, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Loved this dye. Left my hair amazingly soft and didnt have to worry about having enough dye to cover my whole head. I had TONS EXTRA. Exactly like the color on the box (my hair was about 2 shades lighter) Totally in love with it! Not just the color but it felt like dying my hair actually made it healthier for once! Definately worth the extra few dollars!!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Tayla91 on 6/10/2013 8:44:00 AM more reviews by Tayla91

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I love John Frieda products but unfortunately am not a huge fan of this hair colour. I have brown hair that has gone very light at the ends from sun exposure so I chose a dark brown shade from John Frieda's Precision Foam collection. Despite the fact that it is meant to be permanent my hair was back to it's light brown/verging on blonde after about a week. I'm not a virgin to home hair dye and I know I used it properly so I can't figure out why the colour didn't take. Either way I won't be using it again, I much prefer Garnier Nutrisse hair colours.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 nolaladyj on 6/6/2013 4:41:00 PM more reviews by nolaladyj

Age: 44-55   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I wish I had read the reviews before I used this. I got this free with a coupon, as I would never pay 4 times as much as I pay for Colorsilk. My hair is probably 50% gray. I used 6.5PBN and left it on the roots longer, maybe 40 minutes, for the stubborn grays, and because I thought the foam would be a coverage issue. Then I pulled it through to the ends to brighten the color, for probably less than five minutes. As mentioned by others, I had the scalp staining and burning. When I rinsed it out, I got quite a shock. I have been home coloring for decades, and haven't gotten an unpleasant shock like this in quite a few years. The ends, where the color had rested for less than 5 minutes, turned out very dark, in places that "black shoe polish" dull color, with a slight greenish tinge. After a week, the roots had faded a lot. (I usually don't color them but every three weeks; will have to re-color this sooner.) The ends remain very dark. Not flattering for a woman of my age.

I agree the packaging, the foam dispenser, the gloves are all top notch, the very best I've used in a home kit. But what good is that, if the color is off? There seems to be a common theme of colors coming out a lot darker than depicted on the box. I have NEVER had a light brown color come out so dark in such a short time, and I've used all kinds, mostly Colorsilk, Loreal Preference and Excellence and Feria, Ion color brilliance, etc. I won't use Frieda color again, even if it's free.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 fayray00 on 5/20/2013 6:46:00 AM more reviews by fayray00

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

It started because I desperately needed to dye my hair for my wedding. Being low on funds, I ended up deciding to do it myself at home. I've had a hard time finding hair color that sticks to the white hairs invading my roots (and there's A LOT of them now.). I chose 7PBN (Dark Cool Pearl Blonde) because it looked the closest to my natural hair color (or so I thought). The instructions were easy to follow. I prefer the foam application as I can easily see where the product is going and any spots I missed. However, because it is foam, I would say use a bit more than you think you need. Foam is a little less concentrated. This is one of the better smelling at home hair dyes I've used. Though it still has a very chemical smell. I left it on for 45 minutes and rinsed. After I dried my hair I was really amazed. It covered all the white hairs and the color came out so even! I would given this rating a 5 if the colors were better represented on the box. Even though I absolutely love the color, I was really going for something with very little red in it. I figured because it said "Cool" then it would be perfect. However, it actually does have quite a bit of red. So I got lucky that in the end, the color looks beautiful on me anyways. Whenever I see pictures from the wedding, I think "Woah, nice hair color!". It also managed to stay vibrant for a good 4 weeks before fading. When it did start to fade, the color still looked great. I've seen a lot of people on here unhappy with the fade time. I can get away with going 3-4 days without washing my hair because it's naturally very dry. I also use a color protecting shampoo so maybe that's why it lasted so long for me. I just did my roots today in the same color and it came out great again. I think I found my go-to color for a while. :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 alicogo on 5/18/2013 9:17:00 AM more reviews by alicogo

Age: 25-29   Skin: Other   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

I have been dyeing my hair myself for over 10 years and never once had any major disasters in doing so, nor have I ever been so extremely dissatisfied with a product that I felt the need to warn others off. That is, until today of course.

I chose this product because in my experience foam dye is generally much easier to apply and covers the hair more evenly, less streaks etc etc. But with this product I found it to be exactly the opposite.

I have shoulder length hair and I had run out of the so called foam by the time I got to the right side of my hair. I say "so called foam" because I was literally dealing with more or less runny liquid of a water like consistency, to the point where my entire sink was COVERED in the dye.

In the end I had to pour the remaining liquid over my head and hope for the best. The result was obviously not good.

John Frieda Precision Foam Colour was, in my opinion, horrible to use and anything but precise. I will never use it again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Guccigirl28 on 5/9/2013 3:22:00 PM more reviews by Guccigirl28

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

I really like this new technology - foam hair color. I have a long hair and only need to buy 1 box. Out of quite few that i've tried ( nice and easy, garnier, l'oreal) i like it the best so far! But my judgment is for the hair color range only. P.S. i don't have gray hair and i also have henna in my hair ( its a good natural hair color Only if you want to stick with it for a long time or until you cut off your hair;), so I can only use brown or black hair dyes, besides all of these dyes eventually bring out reddish undertone to my hair:(. Otherwise if you use henna in your hair and at some point you would like to go lighter or have highlights, balayage or ombre - it will turn Green!!;-00) Therefore, avoid :)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* halfpastsunday on 5/8/2013 5:54:00 PM more reviews by halfpastsunday

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Olive, Cool   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I bought the shade 4PBN (dark cool espresso brown) to get rid of my ombre highlights that I had for over a year. I was tired of my ends looking completely dead and dried even with multiple trims. As someone who is pretty much hair-dye-at-home-incompetent, I really prefer using foam dyes because you basically just lather up your entire head in the foam, and you're done. That's pretty much how this worked for me. I was afraid at first that it wouldn't completely cover up the bleached ends of my hair, but I applied the foam to my ends first (opposite of the directions) and let it saturate my ends for 10 minutes before applying the dye to the top of my end. Overall, I left it in my hair for 30 minutes. I was pleasantly happy with the results. There are still some peek-a-boo lighter strands on the ends of my hair from the ombre, but I expected that. This worked pretty well and was easy to use. I did knock off one point because it's pretty expensive for a drugstore kit ($13.)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 mzcitizen on 4/28/2013 11:42:00 AM more reviews by mzcitizen

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I love John frieda colour mousse. The colour I used dark cherry red (had not tried this shade before) is gorgeous. I have very dark hair, thick, in a long bob with a little grey growing through (I know this covers greys perfectly already) I wanted a change from dark brown and my main concern whether it would show the plum aspect or if it would just look black. The colour was perfect and what I love most it's natural looking as good I think as salon dyes and shines with a beautiful shimmer of plum. Giving my very dark brown that extra oomph i wanted. Superb coverage covered all greys perfectly. Total ease to apply. Non drying. And I find it to last me long enough but then I dye my hair every 3-4 weeks to keep on top of greys. I have my haircut regular once a month to keep it in condition. I think I've tried ever hair dye and along with clairol (semi permanent which I use every so often as a rest from permanent) this is the only other I really like. This really being my number 1.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Pupnut5 on 4/27/2013 2:37:00 PM more reviews by Pupnut5

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

Pros and Cons Pro 1) my hair is extra long, down to my waist. However unlike all other box dyes I've used, I don't need 2 boxes. One is more than enough. So good value for money. Pro 2) this is hands down the easiest application I've ever used. Simple, quick & easy to apply on your own. Pro 3) even coverage & drip free Con 1) unlike the loreal ranges, these dyes fail on the shine factor. Con 2) after having my mum try these dyes out too, it's clear they aren't suitable for covering greys. She only has around 10% greyness but these dyes didn't colour the grey much at all. Con 3) I can't comment on the darker shades as I've only used the blondes. So far I've tried 3 different blondes (8g, 8n & 10n). My hair is naturally golden blonde but all 3 of these blondes only lightened my hair 'slightly' at best. By far the worst shades of blonde unfortunately. Plus a tip: use the entire bottle. You will probably get to the point where your hair is drenched with dye. But don't stop, use the entire bottle & keep lathering. The trick to getting a good lather going is to use the whole lot and keep massaging gently.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More John Frieda products

More Hair Color products