No Brand (DIY or homemade) • Aspirin Mask • Masks

rated 4.2(2221 reviews)

Average Rating.4.2
Would buy this product again.85%
Ingredients


rated 3 of 5 S14 on 2/20/2013 6:10:00 PM more reviews by S14

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool   Hair: Other, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Edit: Removed 2 points from overall review. Unfortunately, the 'minor dry skin' patch I happened to noticed after one use turned out to be eczema. A dermatologist told me to discontinue aspirin usage because of this. Now I have acne and eczema to deal with (wouldn't think the two would go together, but...). I STILL recommend this for anyone who does not have very sensitive skin like I (apparently) do, but use caution. I developed a small "eczema" patch of skin immediately after ONE low-dose, watered down aspirin that I left on for about 30 seconds, immediately followed by strong moisturizers. Perhaps putting mosturizer on first as a buffer would have helped? Who knows. In any case, be careful.

*Original Review*

For the first time in over 13 years, I went two weeks without a pimple, thanks to a mask made from low dose aspirin.

What with all of the controversy surrounding the aspirin mask, I avoided it because I was afraid of what the results might be. There have been arguments both ways about how harmless or harmful it is, that I just thought it'd be better to not bother. I had used salicylic acid in the past, and it had NO effect on my acne, and often caused my skin to become dried out and crack, even with heavy moisturizing. More acne would develop within these breaks in my skin. Suffice it to say, I was not exactly driven to try aspirin.

I can't offer the final verdict on this product (in fact, I've never seen a professional study that could), but I CAN say I was able to achieve incredible results with a low-dose aspirin mask, instead of a full strength one.

Method: I use two low-dose aspirin (started with one at first). I dissolve the coating on them by letting them soak in warm-hot water in the cap of the aspirin container for about 5-8 minutes (the coating almost always mixes with the aspirin, which does not affect anything). I coat the more acne prone parts of my face with a thin, somewhat watery layer, and let it sit for 10 to 15 minutes (reduced from 30 minutes). I rinse it with warm, followed by cool water. I avoid parts of my skin that become dry easily.

Results: Amazing! I normally have 1 to 2 pimples a day, so when I didn't see new ones after a few days, I was cautiously overjoyed. After trying it for a month, I have had a total of one somewhat noticeable pimple that appeared on my face and went away just as quickly. I moisturize with EVOO, which seems to keep the problem of over drying away. I did this once a day, and am now cutting back to every other day with no problems.

As I said, I, too, am cautious about aspirin. If aspirin has had a negative side effect for you, do not do this mask. I use lower doses of aspirin because I worried about using 5-6 tablets at full strength on my face. I don't know if this makes any major difference, but the results I've seen proves to me that lower doses of aspirin, and fewer of them, appears to be just as effective as more aspirin in larger doses. I will continue to alter things to use as little as possible while remaining effective. I paid $4 for a bottle of 300 at Wal-Mart, as things currently stand, it's money well spent for a problem that's plagued me over a decade.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 LluviaCatMagic on 2/9/2013 9:51:00 PM more reviews by LluviaCatMagic

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Okay so I've been having a few problem areas (acne) around my cheeks recently. I thought I'd give this a shot because my skin is very prone to stay inflamed for a very long time. I also tend to get scars too. But anyway I use the regular non coated asprin, I use about five pills. I wanted to used honey but I didn't have any, so I just used water. I tried lemon juice once too but it was too strong for my skin. I like to use it as a scrub for like maybe two minutes then I allow it to sit for five to ten minutes as a mask. All the swelling and redness is gone when I rinse it off. It's amazing! It also draws out the blackheads on my nose. I personally don't use an extracting tool but to people who do I'd probably work super well. I've used this about five times and its faded my scars, its fantastic. My friends have even told is how great my skin looks. I'm so happy because I've had to try so hard to cover my face with makeup...but now I'm feeling more confident. I only have mild acne but I'm self conscious about it. And this has helped my skin a lot.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 cairnsa on 2/8/2013 9:09:00 PM more reviews by cairnsa

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Black, Straight   Eyes: Green    

works amazing!! For my mask i use 5 aspirins and some lemon juice once a week. Let sit 5 to 10 mins. Everynight I wash my face with 1 aspirin mixed with my cetaphil cleanser and exfoliate gently. I haven't had any breakouts since and I have dealt with adult acne for about 2 years. I seriously can't be happier now, I have clear skin finally :) I would suggest this to anyone suffering from acne to try it out for themselves

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* combatmedicwife on 1/31/2013 2:41:00 AM more reviews by combatmedicwife

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I crush a few of these babies with my cute little mortar and pestle and add a few drops of water. Apply to breakouts and let dry, then rinse off. Not bad! Works just as good and with less dryness than benzoyl peroxide or salicylic acid.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 luverchick on 1/16/2013 12:13:00 AM more reviews by luverchick

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

does wonders for my skin and i have very sensitive skin so not everything works for me....

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* jellybabe23 on 1/8/2013 3:28:00 AM more reviews by jellybabe23

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This is a great manual exfoliant that is easy to create. I ofcourse buy the uncoated/noncoated aspirin tablets. Powdered aspirin is also available but is more expensive. I use about 3-4 tablets per mask, put a few drops of water, and let it dissolve. In order for it to have a nice base, I use Cerave hydrating cleanser so my skin doesn't get too dry when I use this mask. So I mix the aspirin with Cerave, coat it on my face, leave i for 5-10 minutes and rinse. My face feel soft and clean and ready for the rest of my skincare. I suggest using a hydrating or moisturizing lotion or cleanser to add with the aspiring mask because the aspirin had a tendency to dry out the skin.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* anjelykah on 1/8/2013 2:35:00 AM more reviews by anjelykah

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Hazel    

This is a very quick and easy mask for acne skin.

HOW IT WORKS: Aspirin contains acetylsalicylic acid which helps reduce inflammation and redness. Acetylsalicylic acid is created by a chemical reaction between salicylic acid and acetic acid...as many acne sufferers might know, salicylic acid is an active ingredient used in many OTC acne treatments.

PREPARATION: Place 3 or 4 aspirins in your palm and several droplets of water. There is need to crush the aspirin (as long as you buy the uncoated kind; it will state so on the bottle) since they quickly dissolve when they come in contact with the water. Very lightly press on them and you will have a somewhat grainy paste. Scoop with your fingers and apply to your face. Leave for 10-15 minutes and rinse with warm water and moisturize.

BEST SELLING POINTS:
- Does not leave skin feeling dry or taut
- Very affordable (100 tablets for $1 @ Dollar Tree or Walmart)
- Quick & easy to make

TIPS:
- May make you more susceptible to sunlight; wear sunscreen.
- Even after dissolved, the mixture has a somewhat grainy texture, spread it over your
skin, don't rub it in.
- When it dries, the powder will begin to "fallout" which is very annoying so it might be a
good idea to wear an old shirt.
-Results are not immediate but rather cumulative.

EDIT:
This saved my skin this summer! I spent 7 weeks abroad and to make things less stressful while traveling, I packed lightly. I didn't take my skincare goodies except for face wash and sunscreen. Well, I ended up buying a bottle of this at a local pharmacy and used it once a week and it kept my super oily and acne prone skin clear.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 PantherBKNeff on 1/6/2013 5:15:00 PM more reviews by PantherBKNeff

Age: 25-29   Skin: Very Oily, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

Aspirin is one of the best sources for Salicylic Acid plus when you purchase an economy size bottle of the generic or store brand, it's dirt cheap! Salicylic Acid is great for a number of different beauty woes. First and foremost is for acne-sufferers. Unlike Benzoyl Peroxide (which is used to actually kill the bacteria that brews inside of a pimple), Salicylic Acid dissolves dead skin cells. This is great for acne as it helps to keep pores unclogged. It also helps with the VISIBLE appearance of pores, and it makes skin SUPER soft. Salicylic Acid CAN be drying and irritating, so I recommend using it in small doses, using it every couple of days and using an oil-free moisturizer afterward. These are especially important points to remember for acne sufferers who are also dry or have sensitive skin. I recommend starting by using only 4-5 aspirin pills (crushed to a fine powder) and mixing it with soothing ingredients like honey, as other members have pointed out. However, if you are like me and have very oily skin and skin that is about as sensitive as stainless steel, then by all means, use more pills (about 7) and mix with other drying ingredients such as lemon juice. I will actually mix my aspirin with other pre-made masks that already contain salicylic acid (such as Clinique Total Turnaround Instant Facial Mask) and leave it on for about 45 minutes. This is NOT what I recommend for beginners or for Sensitive Sally's. :0)
Another great purpose/effect of Salicylic Acid is anti-aging. Why Spend HUNDREDS of dollars on Anti-Aging Skincare just to put it on top of dead skin cells??? It doesn't soak in as well, and the benefits are not penetrating the live skin.
When it comes to Aspirin Masks and Salicylic Acid, start "slow and low" so that you don't have adverse reactions. You will know if your skin can handle more and you really don't have to feel bad about taking your time with figuring out the "dosage" you need since the cost of the product is soooo affordable!
A word to the wise, per another review, aspirin masks (when used frequently) can and will thin your blood as some will be absorbed into your bloodstream through your skin. Remember, your skin IS an organ, afterall!! Also, protect your "new" skin with oil-free hydration, antioxidants and SPF!! You may or may not be sensitive to fragrance or dyes after an aspirin mask.
- From a Former Clinique, Elizabeth Arden and Mary Kay Beauty Advsior (I've got experience! ; 0)

13 out of 15 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* BriddaBella on 1/1/2013 6:04:00 PM more reviews by BriddaBella

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Relaxed, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This is great if you have breakouts and you are looking for a cheap and effective way to treat your skin.
I usually mix this up with honey and it helps to soothe my skin.
If you want to know how to make an aspirin mask there are great videos on youtube.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 EWest on 12/18/2012 12:18:00 AM more reviews by EWest

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

Okay starting using this about a week ago and so far I am impressed!

My usual routine was my face wash (Its an all Natural Soap from a small company named Tallabred Soaps) then some rose water and Vitamin C Toner I make from pure Vitmain C crystals. I STILL kept getting acne on my cheeks and jawline though my forehead was perfectly clear!

So I tried the aspirin mask! Same face wash and I skipped the Vitmain C toner and made the aspirin mask. I use two tablets and dilute it with a couple of drops of green tea extract. and maybe a drop of water to make it that perfect paste. After leaving it on for 30 minutes I scrub it off and apply the Rose water.

After the first few times I used it I certainly saw an improvement and no new acne show up plus the exisiting stuff on my cheek started going down really fast! Just so you know you won't see results until the morning but they are noticable.

After a few days my forehead broke out a little bit in some tiny bumps (nothing serious) so I am trying the Vitmain C toner again with the apsirin but skipping the mask on my forehead. Hopefully that will prove the combination that is perfect :) But overall def reccomend this mask!!!

Will update in a few days!

UPDATE:
Been about more than 2 weeks I think. I am still happy! I have much less acne and my skin looks much better!! I only put it on my cheeks, chin and jawline. The rest of my face doesn't need it. Reduces acne quickly and helps keep it away.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More No Brand (DIY or homemade) products

More Masks products