Clinique • Moisture Surge Tinted Moisturizer SPF15 • Tinted Moisturizer

rated 3.8(157 reviews)

Average Rating.3.8
Would buy this product again.64%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 dariaarz on 11/10/2012 8:23:00 AM more reviews by dariaarz

Age: 25-29   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

Good product for those who are not looking for full cover. I found a good match wit my skin tone. Even though its a moisturiser, i prefer to apply it on the top of my day cream.
Contains some SPF.

On the other hand, it leaves marks on my phone when i use it (i hate it)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 rainydays1234 on 11/1/2012 2:15:00 PM more reviews by rainydays1234

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Green    

This is such a great foundation. It is sheer but you can layer for more of a medium coverage. I have fair skin and freckles and I really don't like covering up my freckles but I do need some "color" because I tend to get a little pale. This is best foundation that I've used for a nice, sheer coverage that is gentle on my skin and lasts all day. It is sheer so I've found that I do need to use a concealer for under my eye makeup for it to last. I love that it has an SPF15 and usually when I use sunblock or products with SPF, my skin will breakout but this has never broken me out or made my skin react adversely in any way. I've used this product daily for about 6 months now and I absolutely love it. It's a little pricey but such a great quality product that I would definitely purchase it again. For a tinted moisturizer, it's not streaky and blends into the skin really well and has a buildable texture that you could get medium coverage out of. I've also found that because I only use about a nickel-sized amount of product for my entire face, I'm still using the same tube that I bought about 6 months ago :)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 nagasakisteph on 10/29/2012 8:59:00 AM more reviews by nagasakisteph

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I don't usually use tinted moisturisers, but received a sizeable sample of this in a gift set when replacing my Clinique 3-step - so I thought I would try it out!

After using this quite regularly over the past two months, I have to say that I like this product, but I don't love it.

What I liked:
• The coverage is quite nice - it evened out my skin well, although if I want to cover spots then I have to use a concealer as well.
• It goes on well and is easily blendable. I like how light it feels on my skin, especially next to my normal foundation (Estιe Lauder's Double Wear).
• It was an excellent match for my skin colour. I have very pale skin and finding the correct shade is always a problem for me, but not with this!
• After it's just been applied, my skin looks dewy/glowy without looking greasy.

What I didn't like:
• I have oily skin and after a relatively short amount of time, the dewy-ness just fades to greasiness.
• The price of the full-size product.

Although there was a lot I liked, the effect over a longer period of time just wasn't good enough to make me want to spend over £20 on the full-sized version. The lightness of it on my skin has, however, prompted me to start looking into other tinted moisturisers, as well as BB creams, in the hopes of finding something which will suit my skin better!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 fragiles0ng on 10/14/2012 11:04:00 PM more reviews by fragiles0ng

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This felt more like a foundation than a tinted moisturizer. That wouldn't have been a problem in itself, since I have lots of acne scars to conceal, but this oxidated really badly on me. Since it was heavier than your average TM, the oxidation really showed. I'm NW15, and Shade 01 was a good match (two lippies for that and the quality of the coverage).

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Afrojk on 10/14/2012 10:10:00 AM more reviews by Afrojk

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

As many people have pointed out already, a real problem with this tinted moisuriser is the limited shades. I got colour matched to #3 neutral and though it looked good for a while, it tends to oxidise, making me look salmon pink (I am Asian so it definitely does not suit those with a yellow undertone). It's also a bit too dark for my skin despite the 'sheer' coverage, but the one they had in #2 had run out apparently.

I also did not like the smell. I guess they didn't add any fragrance to it and kept it natural, but there was this typical plaster-y smell of lower end foundations/tinted moisturisers that I really don't like so it was quite annoying having to put it right next to my nose.

That aside, I will focus on some positive points. What I really liked about this was the glow it gave off, like a luminating glow you see on models, without looking oily. It is also good for use in winter, as it will moisturise your skin immediately and you will not need to put any primer on.

All in all, I think there are better products out there, like bobbi brown bb creams which have more range in their shades, offers higher SPF and sits lighter on the face. I find that this product will 'stick' to you skin for a few minutes before it dries and feels less sticky/heavy.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 evethebee on 9/30/2012 3:10:00 PM more reviews by evethebee

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Tan   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I have had no problems with this product. This is my first tinted moisturizer, and it worked out great. The only thing I don't like is that a little DOESN'T go a long way with this tinted moisturizer. Instead of the small amount of moisturizer needed with most other products, this one needs literally a whole blob. A dime-sized amount will NOT work. Another con is the price. It could be cheaper. I'd also recommend wearing a lotion/actual moisturizer underneath this tinted moisturizer. Other than those two or three things, though, I actually really like this product. It's very natural-looking and evens out the skin tone really well.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* AntiqueGlitter on 9/18/2012 10:29:00 PM more reviews by AntiqueGlitter

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Black    

This was actually the first tinted moisturizer I've ever tried. The only other one I've tried is the Laura Mercier Oil-Free Tinted Moisturizer, so I don't have much to compare to.
But, either way, this is a great product.
Its coverage is great--to be honest, it came to me as a shock. It has light-to-medium coverage, almost medium coverage, which is way more coverage than I expected. Apparently, according to the other reviews, this TM has too much coverage to be a TM, lol, but I would rather say that its coverage is a "pleasant surprise".
That said, it wears well over my primer. It doesn't contol oil that well (I have combination skin), but then again, it's a moisturizer, hence it's not really supposed to. But that's okay because that's nothing a light layer of translucent powder can't fix.
Its lasting power really isn't that great--I'd say 5 hours, maybe, with primer and a little powder--but I didn't expect it to either.
Shade 04 matches me pretty well. I'm NC35 in MAC btw.
It retails for $27, which is really cheap compared to all the $40-$60 price tags I'm used to paying for foundations.
Would I repurchase? No.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 trishz on 9/11/2012 10:56:00 PM more reviews by trishz

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I had a big sample of this that I used for about two weeks and then I purchased it. I actually preferred the bottle of the sample to the full sized bottle. I do love this tinted moisturizer though. It doesn't break me out, provides coverage and is pretty cheap!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 glitterbox on 9/8/2012 11:27:00 PM more reviews by glitterbox

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Dry, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

This isn't my HG, but it's pretty good and I will likely re-purchase unless I come across my HG in the meantime. I don't really consider it a true tinted moisturizer, more a light foundation. I can't imagine applying it the way I would a moisturizer - I just apply it as I do any other foundation. But as a light foundation it's quite nice. Gives me a quite natural finish, although not as dewy as I'd like personally - I still put a liquid illuminator on my cheekbones, cupid's bow, etc after the foundation to get a dewy look. As someone with dry skin, I usually wear this without a powder over top and it looks good. However, if you are wearing it over sunscreen, a powder is definitely needed or it will oxidize and start sliding off your face. Love the packaging - very neat and easy to use, with the only con being that I can't really tell how much is left in the bottle since it's opaque.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 caraspilates on 9/6/2012 11:06:00 AM more reviews by caraspilates

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Red, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Green    

This product makes me breakout . It claims to be oil-free but it turns greasy after an hour.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Clinique products

More Tinted Moisturizer products