Suave • Professionals Dry Shampoo Spray • Dry Shampoo

rated 3.4(291 reviews)

Average Rating.3.4
Would buy this product again.61%
Ingredients


rated 2 of 5 mgrubbs on 10/15/2013 11:18:00 PM more reviews by mgrubbs

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Tan   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

I have really oily hair so I have to use dry shampoo and I bought this on because of the price. The first time I used it I thought it was ok but after a while the smell gave me a head ache!!! I have dark hair so I had to be really careful because it would make my hair look dirty and white and it just looked nasty..it also left really bad buildup on my scalp and I had to use backing soda to get the build up out of my hair!! I will not buy it again!! I have been buying other products and I am using big sexy hairs volumizing dry shampoo, the product is working pretty well right now..it really dries up all the oils and lasts all day!!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Angelique79 on 10/15/2013 9:42:00 AM more reviews by Angelique79

Age: 30-35   Skin: Very Oily, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

For the price, this stuff is pretty good.

PROS:
Sprays evenly

Works quick - most sprays tell you to leave it on your hair for a couple of minutes but not this one, it says to work it into your hair for a second and then brush it out which brings me to the next PRO.

Brushes right out! I dont need to brush the living daylights out of my hair to blend the powder in. Nice!

The formula soaks up oil without making my hair stiff or weird, adds a little volume.

Makes my hair smell delicious!

CONS:
Sure, the scent is strong while you're spraying, but you dont need to spray a ton of it on your hair, a little really does go a long way here. So for me, it didn't overly bother me.


So this works, is easily accessible and wallet friendly. An hour later, my hair looks clean, is full and every now and then, if I shake my head, I detect a light clean citrus scent. Sort of like I just washed it. I love their Keratin one too but because it makes my hair smell sweet, I like it better.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Alleighe on 10/13/2013 4:45:00 AM more reviews by Alleighe

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Bleh. I don't understand the better-than-average reviews for this stuff. I can just assume that those who rated it so highly just haven't tried anything better. I usually use Batiste, but it's almost ten bucks where I get it, which is a bit pricy for a starving college student such as myself. I saw the good reviews this stuff got, and it's about 3 dollars, so I figured what the heck. First off, the scent is revolting. I normally love fruity scents, but this is like an EXTREMELY overpowering, chemically pineapple scent. It gives me a headache. The scent alone is enough to make me not use this product. Not only that, but the oil absorbing properties are weaaaak. I have to spray a lot for my hair to look less greasy. I still have over half a can left and I'll probably just throw it away. This stuff is that bad. Definitely going back to Batiste. THAT is an amazing product.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 jekki012 on 10/11/2013 1:39:00 PM more reviews by jekki012

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I had tried out dry shampoos a few years ago when they were first coming gaining popularity (I believe Oscar Blandi was one of the few you could find in most places), and I was confused by how people thought this stuff could possibly serve as a substitute for washing your hair. All the formulations of Oscar Blandi's dry shampoo left me with worse/greasier looking roots than I originally started with, even after watching tutorials on how to use it properly. I resorted to just dusting my hair with baby powder/cornstarch with an old powder brush in a pinch, which face it, doesn't do much for anyone. Zip 3-4 years later to the present, when my friend raved about this stuff during happy hour and I was impressed with her results. I was going on a camping trip and this stuff was less than $3 so I figured, why not, there's really nothing to lose here. I LOVE this stuff. I have thin wavy hair that is highlighted and dry at the ends, and I try not to wash it more than every other day so as not to dry it out more. I love how this product gives me some oomph and texture at the roots and takes away the oil without leaving a white/gray cast. It does make my roots a little duller, but I think that's a tradeoff you'll have to make when you're trying to sop up oil with powder. Even if I don't need it, I sometimes spray this in my hair for extra volume and texture, as I'm used to having salt in my hair (from the beach or from Paul Mitchell's salt spray), and I miss the texture after I wash my hair. My only qualm with this spray is that the smell is kind of strong. I understand that it needs to be able to take away/mask some smells on your scalp, but I can smell this stuff all day, even after using this a few times a week for a month (you know how you get used to your perfume after a few days? Yeah that doesn't happen with this stuff). As other reviewers have noted, it's some sort of mango mandarin smell that you would find at Bath and Body Works, and I wish they would come out with a more sophisticated/less fruity scent (which I think they tried with the Keratin version but... that one smells a little too mature, if you get my drift), but hey, this stuff works so well for about the price of a cheeseburger at In-N-Out, so I think I can deal. If you're curious, try it out! You really have nothing to lose (other dry shampoos that I've seen are in the $20 price range!). Will def buy again, in fact, I'm already on my 3rd can!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* fabmac1 on 9/5/2013 1:56:00 PM more reviews by fabmac1

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

First off, for the price, this is unbeatable! Under $3 a can?!?! I bought this for the days when I don't wash my hair. I wash my hair everyday cuz it gets oily very fast (gross, I know!) but I'm trying to wash it every other day now. I found that this works best if you use it BEFORE your hair gets really oily to prevent it from getting too oily (if that makes sense). On days where I don't wash my hair, I spray this in the morning after I get up and spray it again when I come home from work. It keeps the oil at bay much longer. Infact i dont really notice much oil at all! Also due to the strong (pineapple-y scent) fragrance this shampoo has, it's a really good hair deodorizer!!! I have a smelly and oily head :( but when I use this, my hair doesnt smell for the whole day!! Would definitely repurchase and I have already bought 2 back up cans!!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* AgentMakeup007 on 8/31/2013 6:11:00 PM more reviews by AgentMakeup007

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

I had never bought dry shampoo before, this was my first experience with it. I went for this product since it's the cheapest out there and I heard good things about it. I needed a product that could help me get rid of excess oil in between washes without making my hair feel too heavy. I have thick hair and it gets pretty oily, fast.
This is a powdered spray with a really STRONG citrus scent! It's really overwhelming, but I didn't mind it at first. This feels refreshing to the scalp for a while, the white residue fades on its own, the problem is it doesn't really get rid of the oilyness of the scalp. It leaves hair sticky and volumized like a setting hairspray would, but it just makes your hair dirtier than before. The volume and refreshing feel disappeared after a while, and my scalp felt oily, sticky, dirty with a cheap citrus scent that was already making me nauseous... Ewww. I ran to the shower to wash my hair as fast as I could. It really made me feel uncomfortable.

I do NOT recommend it, I hope they make a new formula or something. But for $3 I couldn't really be expecting much...

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 imasocalgirl on 8/24/2013 5:14:00 PM more reviews by imasocalgirl

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I have been very happy w/ this product ~ at the very first, the smell is a little strong (almost like a strong deodorant) , but it disappears quickly. I use it on my bangs. I take a brush and brush back the hair while letting it fall back into place by layers & do a quick spray between the layers. Holds up all day ~ good job Suave!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 foreverstella21 on 8/24/2013 4:58:00 PM more reviews by foreverstella21

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

THE BEST dry shampoo I have ever used, hands down.

There are numerous reasons why I love this stuff. I could go on and on about it. I've raved about it so much to my family and friends that they all have gotten it themselves and love it as much as I do.

First, the price is great. $2-$3 for a dry shampoo? Unbeatable. Used to use my trusty Oscar Blandi Dry Shampoo, but at $21 a bottle no matter how great it is I can never find myself repurchasing that.

Secondly, the smell is refreshing and tropical. Some may complain about the strong scent on this product, but personally I love it. Very tropical and fruity, if that's your thing than you'll love this.

Thirdly, THE ACTUAL PRODUCT ITSELF! I have very oily hair and in no time my hair felt as clean as it did when I first showered. You all know the feeling when your hair starts to get itchy and oily and you're dying to take a shower but you don't have time...this is just a complete lifesaver. I love the ease of this product and also adds a ton of volume and life to my limp hair.

If getting this product, PLEASE DO NOT GET THE KERATIN FORMULA. It smells awful and does NOT have the same effect as this one. I made this mistake once when I ran out of this and this kind wasn't available. I highly suggest you stick to this original formula.

I also have dark brown hair and if brushed out it doesn't leave my hair looking white or grey. Awesome, awesome product.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 aobrie on 8/19/2013 7:37:00 PM more reviews by aobrie

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I would definatly buy this product again. I don't love the smell and I can see how brunettes could be put off by the stark shade of white it sprays on your hair however that's my favorite part because I am blonde and it returns my oily hair back to normal better than the dove dry shampoo and is the cheapest dry shampoo out there.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 MissBay on 8/19/2013 3:21:00 AM more reviews by MissBay

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Tan   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

I have re-purchased this product twice already. It's under $5 a bottle at average retail, it's quick easy and mess free, and it works! :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Suave products

More Dry Shampoo products