NYX Soft Matte Lip Cream (All)

4.0

275 reviews

81% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.1

Price: $$

Package Quality: 4.1

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS

Pentaerythrityl Tetraisostearate, Dimethicone, Beeswax, Glyceryl Behenate / Eicosadioate, Phenoxyethanol, Dimethicone / Dimethicone Crosspolymer, Talc, Methyl Methacrylate Crosspolymer, Silica, Aluminium Starch Octenylsuccinate, Isohexadecane, Disteardimonium Hectorite, Propylene Carbonate, Parfum. May Contain: CI77019 (Mica) / CI77891 (Titanium Dioxide), CI15850 (D&C Red 6 Na. Salt), CI15850 (D&C Red 7 Ca Lake), CI15985:1 (FD&C Yellow 6 Al Lake), CI19140:1 (FD&C Yellow 5 Al Lake), CI45410 (D&C Red 28 Al Lake), CI77491 (Iron Oxide Red), CI77492 (Iron Oxide Yellow), CI77499 (Iron Oxide Black), CI77742 (Manganese Violet), CI77891 (Titanium Dioxide)


on 1/25/2015 12:13:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Tan, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Purchased Istanbul & Stockholm, I love how lightweight they feel.. Not too crazy about the pigmentation.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.



on 1/24/2015 12:28:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

Incredible products I love nyx and it's not drying (only after a couple hours) but it's so lightweight and the colors are so pigmented

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 1/22/2015 6:22:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I just bought this in Antwerp and it's not quite living up to my expectarions. I've read a lot of glowing reviews on this product and expected something a bit better.
Don't get me wrong. I still like this product overall, but I don't love it.
The PRO'S: Highly pigmented. Does not bleed or feather. Goes on even. Feels pleasant on the lips (not too wet or dry, actually you don't really even notice it's on).
The CON's: It can be a bit drying after a while (I remedied this by layering it on top of some Burts Bees, which worked, but it took that much longer for the product to dry). It transfers somewhat if you don't wait long enough for it to dry (which, for me, takes about 10 minutes so, I can't eat or drink anything during that time). The color is not true to the outside of the tube. The actual product is a brighter pink than the outside of the tube led me to believe it would be (not the biggest deal, but given my NC35 warm toned medium complexion, it ends up looking like a bright pink lipstick on me. It works so long as I only put a thin layer on).
Again, overall it's a good product. I just with it was slightly less drying. Just because it's a matte product that doesn't mean it must necessarily dry out the lips. Also, I wish the product color was true to the packaging. I will continue to use this product because it still works well for me. Next time I buy it, I'll make sure to try on swatches in store to make sure the color I buy works with my skin tone.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 1/16/2015 10:26:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Loooooove this product! Color selection is excellent. The lipstick wand is good for easy application. I suggest exfoliating your lip prior you apply this product since just like all matte lippies, it settles and highlights the dry patches in your lips. I love how it's so creamy yet dries up real matte. This doesnt feather out but I highly recommend applying primer or lip liner to intensify the pigment. Definitely part of my lippie collection!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 1/14/2015 8:20:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

I have absolutely NO idea why people hype over these so much.
Before I went out and tried these, I looked up several videos on YouTube of live swatches on all of the colors. The one color that stood out the most to me was in the shade 'Stockholm' and everyone seems to really lean towards that one in particular. I purchased mine at my local CVS. I was looking for a very nice every day lippie that wasn't too offensive and could be used just by itself with very minimal makeup and still look very flattering. I had swatched it on my hand before purchasing and was very pleased. I even swatched others to compare but I still really wanted Stockholm. Looking at the tube it is a perfect, light, every-day pink. Almost like a your-lips-but-SO-much-better. With it being swatched is a very light, beige pink. Now, with it being applied is a much DIFFERENT story. When I had got home to truly test it out, it applied ORANGE. It was almost like a muted-coral color with a very orange undertone which is VERY unflattering to my hair color, eye color, and skin tone. The color threw everything off. When it completely dried, it gained a more pink color but was still very much of a muted-coral. I feel as if the color would suit fair skin-tones with blue eyes or dark brown eyes.
I am 100% convinced that these colors are solely based on the original color of your lips.
Since I wasn't happy with my first purchase, I decided to get 'Monte Carlo' at my local Ulta. In the tube was a very deep, vampy-red. (I did not swatch this in store). Applied was a very BRIGHT, blue-toned cherry-red. Again, I was not fond of it.
I have decided to not repurchase another due to both experiences.
They are not true to their color at ALL, they're DRYING, AND they are nowhere near worth $6. I do not recommend whatsoever.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 1/12/2015 7:59:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Green

after hearing so much about the durability of this lip color, i decided to buy a tube and try it out. the texture of it is really unusual--both in the tube and on my lips, it is totally different from any lip color i have ever used. it feels totally dry on my lips (not in an uncomfortable way, just matte). however, a few minutes after applying, i gave it the "smooch test" and there was a surprising amount of transfer, considering how dry my lips felt. the color held up for a few more hours, but after i ate, the color had pretty much disappeared. i like the look & feel of this lip cream, but the search continues for a lip color that is kiss-proof/food-proof.


on 1/11/2015 11:35:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Very Oily, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

my current favorite lip product and i feel like i want to own every single color! i have this in different colors so far and none has failed me. i hope they continue making this!!

feels like nothing on but incredibly pgimented.. i only touch up after lunch and when it fades it leaves an almost even pretty stain.



on 1/9/2015 10:40:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

THESE ARE AMAZING. So cheap for the quality, $9 CAD. Colour range is outstanding so many to choose from, they glide on like a lip gloss and dry to a matte finish. They are so pigmented, one swipe over the lips and your good to go, I also think they last a decent amount of time on my lips (again for what I payed for I'm not complaining if I have to reapply in a few hours). They wear so comfortably and are a must have in my makeup collection.


Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Tan, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Love this matte lip cream! Goes on beautifully! My fav colours so far probably Cairo, London and Adu Dhabi! So beautiful. Only can find it in Rexall and Target only bad thing is they are usually always sold out! One thing i'd recommend is applying a lip primer to help from over drying especially in the winter!


on 1/8/2015 11:20:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Olive, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Other

Eyes: Brown

Iīve got three shades of the line: London, Stockholm and Milan. I think the texture of they all are pretty similar, at least in those three I havenīt found any downsides; I might be getting more in the future.

The texture is definitely very particular: its a smooth, matte cream (this wasnīt very difficult to guess, right?), that reminds me of a mousse. It glides on really easily and takes a little while to set, so it isnīt hard to remove in case you get out of your lip line at some point.

Even thought they are not sheer (the colour shows up), I usually place 2 layers to get a more even and long lasting application. I have found, suprisingly for what you could expect out of that mousse like product, that they last quite nicely! I mean, if youīre gonna be drinking of eating, they will probably need to be reapplied; but if you use a lip pencil underneath, theyīll stay put at least quite a few hours.

------------
Just some briefly comments about the shades (which names I find so original!):

*Stockholm: the very first one I purchased, itīs peachy and super natural. Very appropiate for spring and day time. Iīm brunnete and I have medium-olive skin; this looks very soft and romantic on me.

*London: even thought at the swatch it might look not to different, it is! I always apply two coats of this (even my lips are quite pale); the color is a light brown, slightly cool, that reminds me of the 90s lip in a softer version.

*Milan: itīs a bright pink, quite pop, that doesnīt need a second layer to show up -even thought I always do it, to make it stay put longer.


Back to Top