MAC • Satin - Shroom • Eye Shadow

rated 4.3(915 reviews)

Average Rating.4.3
Would buy this product again.81%
Ingredients


rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* jdmcgi2 on 5/1/2012 9:14:00 PM more reviews by jdmcgi2

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I've had shroom for a while now and I have to say that I don't use it very often. It makes my eyelids look blah and washes me out...I have no idea why because everyone else seems to love it. It applies kind of sheer and can look scaley on my skin if not blended in. Shroom looks like a pearl beige in the pan and shimmery white when swatched but for some reason on my eyes it pulls greyish white and just doesn't flatter me. I have other highlight and eye shadows I like better so I wouldn't repurchase.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 UTdaisy on 4/17/2012 10:36:00 AM more reviews by UTdaisy

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Although I think Shroom is a pretty neutral and an excellent highlighter shade, it's too ubiquitous to pay such a high price for it. I'd rather use a less expensive brand for such a shade and spend my MAC dollars on some of their more unique duochromes or pigments.

If you're a MAC devotee, I'd say this is a must-have. If you're a bargain shopper, I'd say that you can find something similar elsewhere.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Crystal44 on 3/31/2012 5:49:00 AM more reviews by Crystal44

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

Shroom was one one of my first MAC eyeshadows. I have been using the popular Coastal Scents 88 Warm palette for a while which I think is great. I love shroom, it shows nicely on NC30 skintone, has a nice finish on the lid both in the day and at night. It's long lasting & I just keep reaching for this to make my eyelids pop. I also purchased All That Glitters as it looks so gorgeous in the pan but it doesn't really show up on my skin tone so I just have to cover it with shroom everytime I try it!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* badkitty82 on 3/25/2012 12:15:00 PM more reviews by badkitty82

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

Shroom is a pale champagne shade with a hint of yellow. It's one of the "satin" shades so the finish is slightly shimmery. Good for hightlighting and the brow bone! I prefer Phloof over this one, but it's a good basic shade.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Cailee on 3/21/2012 12:46:00 AM more reviews by Cailee

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Hazel    

Like the girl below me, I'm late to the party for this eyeshadow as well. The sad thing is, I wish I would've never shown up to that party....
I'm somewhat of a MAC eyeshadow newbie, and about a month ago I bought a 4-pan palette from MAC's site, and this was one of the shades I bought to fill it. I was going to go with Dazzlelight in the beginning, but I chose Shroom over it because of its mass popularity. Unfortunately, I have to disagree with the piles of great reviews on here, and say that I absolutely HATE this shadow. Terrible quality for the price, and I thought I did my research well when selecting this, because I can't afford to just collect MAC at my leisure, and just have unloved products sit in the back of my m/u drawer. Shipping is too much of a hassle when returning something, and my nearest MAC store is about an hour away.

Moving on from my poor girl rant lol. This looks like an everyday basic neutral highlight, not too light to use as a wash on the lid, which was what I essentially bought it for. I wanted it to perform well not only as a highlight, but I was expecting it to be pigmented enough to load up onto my brush without difficulty and use it on my lid, because I tend to go light on the lid. I don't know, maybe I was expecting too much from this? The texture of this is so stiff and dry, that it's almost impossible to load up onto a brush. Goes on my lid in patches no matter what brush I use, isn't smooth at all, and when packed on my eyelid, the shimmer makes my eyelid look crepe-y and scaley. Bad, just... bad. And I NEVER skip on primer, so I don't know why this won't show up on my NW15 skin. Maybe I got a dud, but it doesn't matter. I'm going to review that dud as is. I think this shade is EXTREMELY overrated for what it is, has poor color payoff, and bad texture. It also can pull slightly grey even on my cool toned skin.
The one good thing I will say is that I do somewhat like this as a browbone highlight, because it's subtle, not frosty, glittery, or stark at all. It just glows on the brow bone, in a 'Hey, I'm here, but I'm not trying to be obvious' kind of way. Again, maybe something to do with the sheer pigmentation, but I do like it for that function. Maybe I'm just so used to my buttery soft UD shadows, that I feel like MAC is overall inferior, and not up to par with them?

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 nm1981 on 3/17/2012 3:00:00 PM more reviews by nm1981

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

SHROOM! I love this color! I have resisted buying this shade for literally years. To me it looked SO frosty and who needs to resurrect that 80's faux pas?? But it keeps winning beauty awards as fan favorite and the ladies can't be that wrong. So I bought it and I love it. This is an excellent barely there everyday neutral that add's some glow to the eyes. The satin finish is elegantly pearly, not a sign of frost in sight. I've arrived at the party a bit late but so glad I got there eventually. Cheers!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* bamaRN37 on 3/13/2012 12:06:00 PM more reviews by bamaRN37

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

Shroom, how do I love thee? I've repurchased this little gem 3 times, which says a lot for me. I am pretty pale, NW15, and also have to wear conservative makeup for work. I like to use NYX JEP in Mocha very lightly on the lid then apply Shroom on top. I love the color! Shroom is not chalky or glittery. Since I wear it pretty much everyday, it takes about 2 months to hit pan. I buy the refill pans from the MAC website and it is $11.00 this way. Will most def repurchase!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 groove on 3/5/2012 6:01:00 PM more reviews by groove

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Love this colour! Not too glittery, a wonderful basic! This is my go-to base colour!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 LuHu82 on 2/21/2012 9:19:00 AM more reviews by LuHu82

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Good, neutral base colour that works well with my colouring.

Very forgiving, buildable, work-friendly and it lasts well on me with no creasing. As if all that wasn't enough, it's multipurpose (highlighter, eyeshadow) too !

It's quite expensive though, which is why I've marked it down a little, but on the whole, I like it and will buy it again as in the case of eyeshadow, I have found that you tend to get what you pay for.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 amyers12 on 2/20/2012 1:55:00 AM more reviews by amyers12

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I actually really like shroom. I wore it as a highlight with bamboo for my crease, mulch for my lid, and purple and black for my outer corners for my junior prom and it turned out pretty well and I'm no jr. make up guru. I also wore this last night for my lid color with sketch on the outer corner to my military ball and I got a lot of compliments. :) Just remember, before you buy a product, test it out! It's free!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More MAC products

More Eye Shadow products