MAC Satin - Shroom

4.3

920 reviews

81% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.4

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.4

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

Talc, Zinc Stearate, Octyldodecyl Stearoyl Stearate, Isostearyl Neopentanoate, Tocopheryl Acetate, Caprylyl Glycol, Hexylene Glycol, Phenoxyethanol Eye Shadows may contain: Silica, Mica, Titanium Dioxide, Iron Oxides, Bismuth Oxychloride, Carmine, Chromium Hydroxide Green, Chromium Oxide Greens, Ferric Ferrocyanide, Manganese Violet, Ultramarines, Blue 1 Lake, Red 40 Lake, Yellow 5 Lake....


on 10/10/2012 7:16:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Fair, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Fine

Eyes: Brown

This was my first MAC e/s. Right off the bat it was very hard and difficult to use. I expected a softer e/s. The color is subtle and beatiful, but the color payoff sucks. Since then I have found other MAC highlighters I prefer (like vex).

HUGE EDIT: I'm am so fickle lol I recently went on a no-buy and started re-discovering products in my stash. This is one of the gems that I have resurrected. I wear it as a under brow highlight and inner corner highlight every damn day!! It goes with every eye look it's incredible. Best of all, it's not too obvious it just provides a beautiful sheen that you can pick up in the light. I will rebuy when I run out. can't wait to try it as a cheek highliter! This no-buy has made me love all the products I used to hate it's crazy! (NC20 for ref.)



on 9/17/2012 1:51:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Green

i was given this by a friend, i use it as a highlighter on my brown bone, cupids bow, cheek bones, nose, inner eye corners, etc, and i love it! it's better than any highlighter i've ever used, and i probably will repurchase unless i find a better highlighter. it is very subtle compared to other highlighting tools i've used, it doesn't seem to last very long (def not all day), but it gives a very pretty subtle shimmer.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 8/6/2012 9:28:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

Another classic I've used for years. When I first tried this at the Mac counter many moons ago, I thought it was too "frosty" for me; I put the word in quotes because it's not frosty at all. I have no idea why it seemed shimmery, given that it's the satin finish, which contains only a very subtle and fine sheen.
I also found it utterly horrid because I thought it washed me out. Until trying it again a few years later because of some great reviews, that's how I remember it. Maybe it was in the way I applied it. This color can be tricky, and any shadow application needs to consider the color and texture of the shadow, in much the same way you'd handle water color differently from oil paints, and so on.
As such, Shroom can look simply beautiful or unpleasantly stark, depending on how its applied and what combination of colors are around it. It can work as a soft wash of color for paler skinned people, but can look chalky if applied too heavily all over (even though the texture itself isn't chalky, if that makes sense). It's kind of stark without being white, and I think that's what washes some people out if they're not careful. Some reviewers describe it as having a lot of yellow undertones. I don't see any prominent yellow, blue or red undertones, but rather a balanced blend of undertones, making it a true neutral. I see taupe undertones that, in keeping with its name, resemble the color of a mushroom. Mac's website describes it as a "soft beige with shimmer".
I love to wear Shroom on my lids and on the inner corner of my eyes. It provides a natural and delicate glow if used this way. I sometimes pair it with Soba in the contour/crease and outer corner. Combined with a soft black pencil eyeliner and a couple of layers of mascara, it makes a simple, natural, and lovely eye look for everyday.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.


on 6/18/2012 3:59:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Black

Don't get me wrong, Shroom is very flattering when used as a brow highlight. However, the pigmentation is very disappointing. While it is blendable at the very least, it feels very 'hard' and does not pack much pigment. I don't know if I just got a bad pan, but for the price point, I think Wet N Wild would be more impressionable.


on 5/19/2012 2:49:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Fair, Warm

Hair: Black, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Grey

This is my absolute favourite eyeshadows from MAC and one of the only ones, along with brule, that I've ever had to repurchase. I'm half way done with my second pan of this and I love it.

It's a beautiful light cream/slightly yellowish colour. It is shimmery, which I'm not usually a fan of, but the shimmer is so finely milled and isn't chunky at all.

I use it as a lid colour, a brow highlight and a cheek highlight. It's so universal and would look great on any skin tone. I'd definately recommend it.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 5/1/2012 9:14:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I've had shroom for a while now and I have to say that I don't use it very often. It makes my eyelids look blah and washes me out...I have no idea why because everyone else seems to love it. It applies kind of sheer and can look scaley on my skin if not blended in. Shroom looks like a pearl beige in the pan and shimmery white when swatched but for some reason on my eyes it pulls greyish white and just doesn't flatter me. I have other highlight and eye shadows I like better so I wouldn't repurchase.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 4/17/2012 10:36:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

Although I think Shroom is a pretty neutral and an excellent highlighter shade, it's too ubiquitous to pay such a high price for it. I'd rather use a less expensive brand for such a shade and spend my MAC dollars on some of their more unique duochromes or pigments.

If you're a MAC devotee, I'd say this is a must-have. If you're a bargain shopper, I'd say that you can find something similar elsewhere.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 3/31/2012 5:49:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

Shroom was one one of my first MAC eyeshadows. I have been using the popular Coastal Scents 88 Warm palette for a while which I think is great. I love shroom, it shows nicely on NC30 skintone, has a nice finish on the lid both in the day and at night. It's long lasting & I just keep reaching for this to make my eyelids pop. I also purchased All That Glitters as it looks so gorgeous in the pan but it doesn't really show up on my skin tone so I just have to cover it with shroom everytime I try it!


on 3/25/2012 12:15:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Normal, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

Shroom is a pale champagne shade with a hint of yellow. It's one of the "satin" shades so the finish is slightly shimmery. Good for hightlighting and the brow bone! I prefer Phloof over this one, but it's a good basic shade.


on 3/21/2012 12:46:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Coarse

Eyes: Hazel

Like the girl below me, I'm late to the party for this eyeshadow as well. The sad thing is, I wish I would've never shown up to that party....
I'm somewhat of a MAC eyeshadow newbie, and about a month ago I bought a 4-pan palette from MAC's site, and this was one of the shades I bought to fill it. I was going to go with Dazzlelight in the beginning, but I chose Shroom over it because of its mass popularity. Unfortunately, I have to disagree with the piles of great reviews on here, and say that I absolutely HATE this shadow. Terrible quality for the price, and I thought I did my research well when selecting this, because I can't afford to just collect MAC at my leisure, and just have unloved products sit in the back of my m/u drawer. Shipping is too much of a hassle when returning something, and my nearest MAC store is about an hour away.

Moving on from my poor girl rant lol. This looks like an everyday basic neutral highlight, not too light to use as a wash on the lid, which was what I essentially bought it for. I wanted it to perform well not only as a highlight, but I was expecting it to be pigmented enough to load up onto my brush without difficulty and use it on my lid, because I tend to go light on the lid. I don't know, maybe I was expecting too much from this? The texture of this is so stiff and dry, that it's almost impossible to load up onto a brush. Goes on my lid in patches no matter what brush I use, isn't smooth at all, and when packed on my eyelid, the shimmer makes my eyelid look crepe-y and scaley. Bad, just... bad. And I NEVER skip on primer, so I don't know why this won't show up on my NW15 skin. Maybe I got a dud, but it doesn't matter. I'm going to review that dud as is. I think this shade is EXTREMELY overrated for what it is, has poor color payoff, and bad texture. It also can pull slightly grey even on my cool toned skin.
The one good thing I will say is that I do somewhat like this as a browbone highlight, because it's subtle, not frosty, glittery, or stark at all. It just glows on the brow bone, in a 'Hey, I'm here, but I'm not trying to be obvious' kind of way. Again, maybe something to do with the sheer pigmentation, but I do like it for that function. Maybe I'm just so used to my buttery soft UD shadows, that I feel like MAC is overall inferior, and not up to par with them?

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Back to Top