Maybelline • Volum' Express The Falsies in Black Drama • Mascara

rated 3.4(376 reviews)

Average Rating.3.4
Would buy this product again.54%
Ingredients


rated 1 of 5 Bubbles98 on 6/30/2013 2:31:00 PM more reviews by Bubbles98

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Other   Eyes: Brown    

Worst mascara ive ever tried. Clumped my lashes with a second stroke . Really really wet. I tried it again after it dried for two weeks and still supper clumpy.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 MindyEllenxoxo on 6/25/2013 4:33:00 AM more reviews by MindyEllenxoxo

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I looooooooove this . Other people complain about clumps, but I have short sparse lashes , and this mascara makes them longer and darker. I love that , it stays on ALL day. I wear this mascara when I go swimming, dosent flake at all.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 AkiraMakena on 6/11/2013 11:20:00 PM more reviews by AkiraMakena

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

This is my go-to mascara that I use daily! It works well for me but when using a fresh bottle, certain steps must be taken to avoid clumps: Be sure to wipe off the excess mascara from all sides of the wand before applying, then apply two coats to the upper and one to the lower, outer lashline. If you don't properly wipe the excess, you will get gunky clumps, as this is a thick and rich mascara.

Pros:
- Dramatically thickens and lengthens your lashes, much to the effect of false lashes (thus the name)
- Stays on until makeup removal.

Cons:
- Can be messy if you don't wipe up excess.
- Does not work well in combination with fake lashes. (Come on, guys! The whole point of the product is to AVOID having to wear false ones!)

This is a great product for being a drugstore product and I personally prefer it over high-end makeup store mascara. I have no issues with it, so I continue to buy it. It's well enough to wear alone and provide beautiful eyes. You can use as much or as little as you want to get your desired effect. I always use it in two coats in combination with my cat eye, or for simple makeup, I add two thin coats and a thin amount of eyeliner on the outer side of my waterline. I recommend curling your lashes before applying, as this adds even more to the look. Good luck! I hope you get the great experience I do.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Sue_raisin on 6/8/2013 1:27:00 PM more reviews by Sue_raisin

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Not sure what the difference is between this mascara and every other Volum Express formula. Black drama - is it supposed to be more black? Who knows?

This is a decent formula, with a decent brush, it gives long, fluttering, dark lashes, with more length than volume. Sadly it absolutely refuses to hold my Shu Uemura curl. I curl before applying with my Shu's and layer on 2-3 coats for lovely thick lashes, and within 2 hours my lashes are completely straight. And we all know how unflattering straight lashes are on small eyes. There are some flakies, and gradually some colour does transfer to my under eye area. I do generally like Maybelline mascaras. Just not this one. I'm keeping the brush to use with my normal mascara though.

To summarise - very good formula if you have the right sort of lashes.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 crystaldw on 6/7/2013 12:12:00 AM more reviews by crystaldw

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight   Eyes: Brown    

I bought this and ended up returning.this clumped so bad on my lashes ended up washing it off.im always buying mascara, searching for one that will darken my already dark eyelashes (I personally pefer soft black colors to extreme black as I like my lashes to look real but still kapow)&add volume. I usually only apply one mabey 2 coats but still even with one this just didnt look good at all.mabey if u dont mind combing the bejezus outta ur lashes or have a metal toothed lash comb (those are the s*&^, but mine broke long b4 I bought this&hadnt found another yet) or if u like the layered mascara
Look then u might like this, but for those who want real looking but still kapow then you might have to look elsewhere.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Vana104 on 6/5/2013 11:46:00 PM more reviews by Vana104

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Olive   Hair: Black   Eyes: Other    

Great mascara. Really makes my lashes long and dark and gives it a doll like appearance. This mascara dries quickly so flaking occurs when applying a second coat. The waterproof formula stays on forever!! which is a good thing until you're ready to take it off. Olive oil or coconut oil removes most of the product so you will need a really good eye makeup remover to get it completely off. All in all it's a really good mascara if you like the dramatic look.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* misanders on 6/4/2013 3:12:00 PM more reviews by misanders

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This is a horrible product!! I normally love the falsies, but this in Black Drama is nothing like the other products I've used. First off it is very, very wet. I let it sit in my drawer for about 2 weeks and that didn't help. The worst part is it has fibers in it that are so long it looked like a cotton ball had been stuffed in the tube. I'm serious the fibers are as long as my eyelashes. I have sensitive eyes and just can't use this. Waste of money!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 ritables on 6/4/2013 12:41:00 AM more reviews by ritables

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

This stuff is hands down my all time favorite. It's so good that I have purchased 4 tubes in a row and have not strayed and tried another. It's that good! It's wet and lashes clump/stick together for the first 2 weeks, but after that it starts to flutter them out. Did I mention volume? Yes!!! For the record I have very long, but fine black lashes. I love how it flutters them out because it makes them look so dense and thick! Removal is a bit of a shocker, as it leaves a vast amount of pigment but it does wash cleanly away with soap and water. HG material for me, after a year long experimentation with a dozen different kinds.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 carcher7 on 5/16/2013 9:50:00 PM more reviews by carcher7

Age: 36-43   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I LOVE this mascara! It's my absolute favorite of all drug store brands. But it has to be the Black Drama version. Idk what's so different about this mascara but it makes my lashes look longer and thicker than anything else at the drug store and doesn't flake off and irritate either. That being said, I LOVE thick heavy lashes. So If you are more into a natural and clump free feel then you may not like this as much as I do.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 jsche on 5/8/2013 5:31:00 AM more reviews by jsche

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

This is a pretty good mascara. Not AMAZING, but I remember when I first tried it, I was amazed by it. It really volumized my eyelashes, but did not provide much length at all. I have short eyelashes, so this was a bit of an issue. However, I felt it dried out pretty fast and I became less and less impressed by it.

The curved wand is pretty convenient, but the big bristles makes it hard to use on my lower lash line. It's good for volumizing, but not so much for separating or lengthening. If that's what you're going for, then it's a great mascara! Just not for me :(

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Maybelline products

More Mascara products