Maybelline • Volum' Express The Falsies in Black Drama • Mascara

rated 3.4(380 reviews)

Average Rating.3.4
Would buy this product again.54%
Ingredients


rated 2 of 5 martel92 on 8/1/2013 2:41:00 PM more reviews by martel92

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I used this mascara only once or twice because it is sooooo clumpy! I also was not a fan of the brush. I found it made it difficult to apply to the lower lashes. I understand that it is supposed to provide a false eyelash look but it just looks really cheap once applied. Definitely will not be purchasing this one again and will be sticking with the rocket instead.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 amandahart on 7/17/2013 10:03:00 PM more reviews by amandahart

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Dry, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

The Packaging: The packaging for me was pretty decent. Before I bought it, it was the packaging which attracted me to it. It has a bit of shimmer in the purple colour of the bottle.

First Impressions: When I first opened the mascara bottle, I noticed that the formula was pretty wet. The brush is a nice shape (kind of like a spoon shape). If you are expecting the brush to be gi-normous, you will be pretty disappointed.

On my eyelashes: My eyelashes are at a decent thickness and an average length (for a SE Asian), and the first thing I noticed when I applied this on was probably how spidery my eyelashes looked (spidery in a good way).

When I pre-curl my eyelashes and then apply this mascara, the curls would just limp and fall back straight, so if this happens to you a lot, then I would probably recommend the waterproof version (if there is any) as it would have more wax in the content and wouldn't have a really wet formula.

This mascara also flakes throughout the day, so regular checkups are necessary. If there is a problem with clumping, I would usually use my finger as like a brush to brush out the clumps because the brush is sometimes ineffective.

Don't buy this mascara if you wear glasses that are pushed up close to your eyes, because your lashes will get stiff and harden and start brushing against the glass. Make sure your mascara is dry before you out on glasses.

If I ran out, I would buy this again.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 etternax on 7/8/2013 1:19:00 PM more reviews by etternax

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

OK mascara all around but the lengthening fibres in the mascara substance itself are annoying and could get into the eyes if any got into the upper waterline while applying. I have naturally thick long lashes and need something to lengthen, define, and curl a bit more. I am not after a volumizing mascara. This one is volumizing (drama), the wand is good for curling but the colour is very black and is hard to remove without staining.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* jellybabe23 on 7/3/2013 6:12:00 PM more reviews by jellybabe23

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Tried the regular formula after a disastrous experience with the waterproof formula removing my natural lashes whilst removing it at the end of the day. When I apply this to my top lashes, it, for some reason, smudges on the my lower lash line--i could not imagine applying it to my lower lashes. it makes my lashes look great, but I cannot handle the smudging.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Bubbles98 on 6/30/2013 2:31:00 PM more reviews by Bubbles98

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Other   Eyes: Brown    

Worst mascara ive ever tried. Clumped my lashes with a second stroke . Really really wet. I tried it again after it dried for two weeks and still supper clumpy.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 MindyEllenxoxo on 6/25/2013 4:33:00 AM more reviews by MindyEllenxoxo

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I looooooooove this . Other people complain about clumps, but I have short sparse lashes , and this mascara makes them longer and darker. I love that , it stays on ALL day. I wear this mascara when I go swimming, dosent flake at all.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 AkiraMakena on 6/11/2013 11:20:00 PM more reviews by AkiraMakena

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

This is my go-to mascara that I use daily! It works well for me but when using a fresh bottle, certain steps must be taken to avoid clumps: Be sure to wipe off the excess mascara from all sides of the wand before applying, then apply two coats to the upper and one to the lower, outer lashline. If you don't properly wipe the excess, you will get gunky clumps, as this is a thick and rich mascara.

Pros:
- Dramatically thickens and lengthens your lashes, much to the effect of false lashes (thus the name)
- Stays on until makeup removal.

Cons:
- Can be messy if you don't wipe up excess.
- Does not work well in combination with fake lashes. (Come on, guys! The whole point of the product is to AVOID having to wear false ones!)

This is a great product for being a drugstore product and I personally prefer it over high-end makeup store mascara. I have no issues with it, so I continue to buy it. It's well enough to wear alone and provide beautiful eyes. You can use as much or as little as you want to get your desired effect. I always use it in two coats in combination with my cat eye, or for simple makeup, I add two thin coats and a thin amount of eyeliner on the outer side of my waterline. I recommend curling your lashes before applying, as this adds even more to the look. Good luck! I hope you get the great experience I do.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Sue_raisin on 6/8/2013 1:27:00 PM more reviews by Sue_raisin

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Not sure what the difference is between this mascara and every other Volum Express formula. Black drama - is it supposed to be more black? Who knows?

This is a decent formula, with a decent brush, it gives long, fluttering, dark lashes, with more length than volume. Sadly it absolutely refuses to hold my Shu Uemura curl. I curl before applying with my Shu's and layer on 2-3 coats for lovely thick lashes, and within 2 hours my lashes are completely straight. And we all know how unflattering straight lashes are on small eyes. There are some flakies, and gradually some colour does transfer to my under eye area. I do generally like Maybelline mascaras. Just not this one. I'm keeping the brush to use with my normal mascara though.

To summarise - very good formula if you have the right sort of lashes.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 crystaldw on 6/7/2013 12:12:00 AM more reviews by crystaldw

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight   Eyes: Brown    

I bought this and ended up returning.this clumped so bad on my lashes ended up washing it off.im always buying mascara, searching for one that will darken my already dark eyelashes (I personally pefer soft black colors to extreme black as I like my lashes to look real but still kapow)&add volume. I usually only apply one mabey 2 coats but still even with one this just didnt look good at all.mabey if u dont mind combing the bejezus outta ur lashes or have a metal toothed lash comb (those are the s*&^, but mine broke long b4 I bought this&hadnt found another yet) or if u like the layered mascara
Look then u might like this, but for those who want real looking but still kapow then you might have to look elsewhere.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Vana104 on 6/5/2013 11:46:00 PM more reviews by Vana104

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Olive   Hair: Black   Eyes: Other    

Great mascara. Really makes my lashes long and dark and gives it a doll like appearance. This mascara dries quickly so flaking occurs when applying a second coat. The waterproof formula stays on forever!! which is a good thing until you're ready to take it off. Olive oil or coconut oil removes most of the product so you will need a really good eye makeup remover to get it completely off. All in all it's a really good mascara if you like the dramatic look.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Maybelline products

More Mascara products