Maybelline Volum' Express The Falsies in Black Drama

3.4

393 reviews

54% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.8

Price: $$

Package Quality: 3.8

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS



on 10/27/2013 2:36:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

Prior to this mascara, I used Maybelline The Volume Express mascara. My eyelashes are average I suppose, not too long or short. Surprisingly, I found that the Volume Express mascara made my eyelashes look more fake than the Falsies did. The Falsies gave more of a natural look, which was strange, since it claimed to make them really stand out. However, for me, the Volume Express mascara gives way more length and volume than this one does. I don't mind that, since I don't go for the false lash look all the time. But contrary to what this mascara claims to do, I think the Volume Express mascara does it better.

If you're going for the really dramatic eyelash look, go for the Volume Express (yellow tube) mascara instead.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.



on 10/16/2013 11:24:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

This one didn't work for me. I have used the original falsies mascara and found it fine, but the formula of this was horrible (non-waterproof version). I got panda eyes after an hour of use! And I find the tube allows the brush to become so overloaded with formula I had to wipe the wand on a tissue, which in turn wastes a lot of product. I've thrown it in the bin after a handful of uses because it's never going to work! I wouldn't touch this one again with a 10 ft pole!


on 10/14/2013 2:40:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Black

i have this in waterproof, and oh man it's waaay too dry. I have to apply this by pressing it onto my lashes. It gives nice volume, but no length. Holds a curl for an ok amount of time, but I just dont like this super dry formula.The brush is nice tho, fits the shape of my eye nicely. Just too dry


on 10/6/2013 8:40:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm

Hair: Brown, Relaxed, Medium

Eyes: Black

This is such a long lasting mascara(got the waterproof) it looked nice and separate when applied. Really natural. It holds up curls! The thing though about it is after having it for awhile it started to dry abit and doesn't look as nice as before. I use the maybelline makeup remover and it removes quite easily but I do have to say once it starts to feel abit drying in the bottle,it affects the removal of this mascara. I would find some lashes that comes off but not much and also after using it a lot my lashes started to feel abit dry. It still is better than many mascara a I tried and would still keep using it. Love the wand too. This mascara is as good as cover girl lash blast waterproof though that wand isn't as good as this one!


on 10/6/2013 10:29:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

The best mascara for me! It makes my short eylashes look like false lashes, really! I have never had a mascara as good as that, and I have tried Diorshow, High Impact by Clinique, some by Estee Lauder and other high end mascaras. I really love the Falsies Black Drama and will definitely buy it again, it makes feel great with my lashes for the first time!!!!


on 9/14/2013 9:50:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Sensitive, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

One of the best. Really.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Very Oily, Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Black

slightly the packaging was the overall Maybelline package, which was so fat and has the handy brush to use. The color of the shade was really black and need more than 2 or 3 application to get the thick lashes. And it will smudge after few hours wearing it.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 8/29/2013 4:58:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

THE GOOD: Inky, dramatic looking formula...cute packaging

THE BAD: Its got that dumb bendy brush that Mega Plush has as well >.>

THE UGLY: This formula was phenomenal the first time I used it, after that it became very dry very quickly. This dryness makes it extremely difficult to, in any way, perfectly comb this formula through the lashes. The result is tons of clumpiness, and very flakey and crumbly lashes. Not hot at all.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 8/26/2013 8:49:00 PM

Age: 56 & Over

Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Blue

Initial review: I haven't written a review for every mascara I use, but it's time to give praise to this one. Just recently I bought 2 new mascaras, highly reviewed here, and both were epic fails. I decided to try this old standby and I realized it was head and shoulders above any of the new wannabes with all their promises. Maybelline has far too many types of mascara and I tried all of the Falsies line, of course. This one is surely the best. My reasons:
- The formula is thick, and there is a lot in the tube
- The coverage is excellent, and lengthens and thickens just as it says - dramatically. But still suitable for daytime use, because my lashes are light and sparse and I need the drama.
- The brush, though curved which normally I hate, is only gently curved and not hard to use. The design does create a curl.

The negatives:
- You have to wipe a lot of product off the brush before applying, as it doesn't seem to have a cuff to catch and wipe the brush. But this is far better and more reliable than a mascara which wipes the brush totally dry, defeating the purpose of mascara.

There are no other negatives as far as I am concerned. I am so sick of mascaras that promise the world and deliver nothing. This one does work and I am going back to it on a daily basis until I can afford to try some high end dept. store brands. All my other drug store reliables have failed me right from the brand new tube, or dried up too soon. I know this one is at least 6 months old yet it is still wet and thick and goes on beautifully.

Update Oct. 1, 2014: This has gone into my bad/dried up mascaras bag. I found it gave big clumps when trying it the other day, just to compare it with my current HG, Miss Manga. It has semi-dried out and I will not be struggling with it again, having to wipe off the nasty globs with cleanser. The look is not lush or beautiful anymore, but stiff and fake. I will not be rebuying this. Miss Manga also dried out after a while, but does not clump and still looks fantastic. There is no need to use substandard products. I am lowering my rating to 3 because it is good for the first few weeks. I have come to the conclusion that there can be no perfect mascara, ever, until they bring back cake mascara - to which you add water when you use it, and which thus lasts to the very end - with no waste. All these mascaras have the tendency to dry out. It is a design flaw. They are throwaway products and that is just corporate greed. When can we have a return to the cake mascaras of the long forgotten past? Oops, it would mean less profit for the companies who want their mascaras to dry out and be replaced every month!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 8/23/2013 4:14:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Oily, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

Omg this is the best mascara ever I looovvvveeeed it I can't tell you how many tubes I have bought of this stuff, it's amaze balls. I curl my lashes and add a couple coats of this and I always get asked wow what mascara are you wearing or your eye lashes look long today I love itttt! And for £8 it's a bargin :)




Back to Top