Stila Stay All Day Waterproof Liquid Eyeliner


614 reviews

80% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.2

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.2

Price: $$$


water/aqua, ammonium styrene/acrylates copolymer, butylene glycol, alcohol, beheneth-30, phenoxyethanol, acrylates/octylacrylamide copolymer, methylparaben, polyglyceryl-3 disiloxane dimethicone, propylparaben, sodium hydroxide, disodium edta, may contain ( /) carbon black

on 6/20/2015 9:12:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

I received this as a Christmas present. This eyeliner is alright, but it is nothing special and dries out quickly.

on 6/15/2015 1:47:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

- Definitely waterproof
- Stays on all day just like it says in the product name
- Very fine tip allows you to do thin lines

- Although it's waterproof, you can rub it or scratch it off
- Annoying to use when it gets dried out because you no longer get that fine tip application

If it's within your budget, definitely give it a try!

on 6/14/2015 2:07:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Relaxed, Medium

Eyes: Brown

It's great works like a charm. Pricey for me
Glides on easily and is dark enough. Just its not smudge proof or waterproof. DEAL BREAKER

on 6/13/2015 9:17:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Blue

I was happy to find this great eyeliner pen. I love how quickly it applies and how convenient it is to throw in a purse or wristlet. I've tried plenty of liquid pens that don't last. This is definitely one of the best. I have Jet Black.

When Marc Jacobs first came out with the Magic Marc'er, I was in love with that. The first one I had was great. But the second Marc'er I bought wasn't as inky black, didn't last as long, and dried out fast. I wondered if they had changed the formula from the first to the second, or if the second one I bought hadn't been stored properly, or had been opened and dried out in the store. It definitely didn't live up to the first one I had. Then I tried the tester for the new Coco brown Marc'er, and part of the line rubbed off before I got to the cash register. So I gave up on it.

I have Kat Von D's Tattoo Liner. I hate it. It smudges, transfers on the inner corners of my top lids, flakes, and sometimes it wears off in crumbly bits. I loathe it. Yes, I wear contacts. Yes, I get watery eyes from hayfever. My eyelids are not perfect. But Bobbi Brown's gel liners don't do that, and Stila's pen holds up better, too.

I bought Smashbox Limitless Liquid Liner pen. It wears off the inner corner. So I am constantly touching up if I use that one, too. Stila's stays better with normal tearing up or normal wear. I wear contact lenses and I use eye drops, so after having Smashbox's liner as well as Tattoo Liner completely fail me during hayfever season, Stila's was more reliable than that. I have Stila's Stay All Day Waterproof liquid liner pen in Jet Black. It's a nice deep black, with good staying power and no irritation. Urban Decay liquid liner burned my eyes. This doesn't.

I'm not sure it is waterproof because I've never swum in it, and I have had to touch it up. But it lasts better than Smashbox. With all of the liquid pens, I do use an eye primer (Nars) or Illuminare mineral cream shadow as a base to help the liner stay. I have to pull my skin taut when I apply liquid liner or I get a skippy line, but that's true of most pens (and eyeliners in general).

The most long-lasting gel eyeliner I've ever had is Bobbi Brown's gel ink liner in the little pot, but you have to apply it with a tiny brush and be relatively astute at doing so. Once set, it lasts all day. I've worn it to weddings and long days at amusement parks. But it does take longer to apply and it's not practical to carry the pot and a brush in your purse. Also, you have to wash the brush after you use it, so you need a sink. That makes it less practical if you're on the road. A pen is far more convenient. You just carry it in your purse in case you need to fix it.

I have a great makeup remover from Paula's Choice that I use to take off my eye makeup (Bobbi Brown's is good, too) and I don't mind doing that with any of the waterproof liners as long as they are good. I'd rather have eyeliner that stays than eyeliner that easily rubs off. When someone complains that an eyeliner is hard to take off, my ears perk up excitedly, and I write it down on my shopping list. I want my eyeliner to stay.

I don't love paying $22, but it isn't bad when the product works well. Since buying this Stila liner, Clinique came out with the Pretty Easy Liquid Liner Pen for 19.50, and I have to say that Clinique's pen has a thinner, more precise tip, and I prefer their tip. Also, Clinique's finish isn't as glossy as Stila's, which I personally like. And Clinique's stays very well. Both are great eyelining pens.

The only thing I don't like about Stila is that according to, Stila is no longer cruelty free. Neither is Clinique, unfortunately. Estee Lauder owns these brands and sets their policies regarding the environment and animal testing. As of the time of writing this review, the only liner I have by a cruelty free brand is Kat Von D's Tattoo Liner, and I have that in "Trooper," but it doesn't perform as well as the Clinique pen or Stila's, so I can't wear it anywhere important because it smears a lot. After struggling with KVD's liner, which embarrassed me in public by running on several occasions, I was excited to get Stila's because it held up much better.

The name "Stay All Day Waterproof" is boastful, and as far as whether something is truly waterproof, I'm not swimming in these pens. Mostly I'm just wearing my eyeliner to work. But this is one of the best options at Sephora. Usually when someone is unhappy with this liner, it seems like they have purchased a different color, and I only own one of these, so I don't know how well Periwinkle or Paradise Pink performs. Mine is Jet Black and it's been great. The Java (dark brown) and Midnight (navy) colors are beautiful, too.

on 6/12/2015 7:41:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I love this eyeliner! I am not good at using pen type eyeliners, especially to do winged eyeliner looks but this has changed my eyeliner game & made it so easy to make that perfect flick. The price point is also pretty good for the quality of this product thought I wish I could find a cheaper dupe. It doesn't dry out too quickly thought so it's not too bad. Just remember to put the cover on when you're not using it. My daughter got into this & took my cover off overnight & it totally dried out. I'll defiantly be buying another one though after I get through the other eyeliners I have. Highly recommend to anyone who's having trouble with their eyeliner.

Age: 30-35

Skin: Normal, Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I bought this in one of the Sephora Favorites packs from 2014 as I've always struggled to find an eyeliner that doesn't smudge below my eye and this is the one. I like the felt tip for ease of application and it withstands showers at the gym. By the end of day there is little to no smudging under my eyes. Have tried the L'Oreal and Revlon felt tips but they smudged more. Price is high but I think I would repurchase if I can't find another that lasts.

on 5/29/2015 7:37:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Red, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Green

One word: perfect. Stays all night long during 12 hour shifts on nearly 50 year old eyelids. You will hear a mighty roar from the Rockies if they ever discontinue this product.

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

on 5/27/2015 10:58:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Blue

My HG liquid eyeliner. It makes drawing cat eye liner much easier than most other ones I've tried, it's INCREDIBLY dark, very waterproof, and I've left it on overnight with no bleeding or smudging. The price is okay, it isn't exorbitant, and packaging is minimalist.

The black liner is my favorite, but I've also owned the navy blue. The blue dried out faster, not sure why.

After a while, the tip does start to fray, which makes drawing harder, but it takes six or more months to do that. After six months you should probably replace eyeliner anyways, just to be sanitary.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I absolutely swear by this product. This is my holy grail liquid liner. It is easy to control with the felt tip pen. The tip is fine and flexible, it reaches accurately along the eyelashes.It is perfect for creating that cat that effect.
This product is highly pigmented and can be easily worn for 16 hours. I've never had a problem with creasing or smudging.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

on 5/20/2015 10:01:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I know everyone is completely head over heels over this product so maybe mine was just a defect but I absolutely hated my Stila eyeliner! When I was applying it, it was streaky which is something I don't even want to try to work with. It reminded me of the Revlon Colorstay Liquid Eye Pen (absolutely awful eyeliner). When I finally went over it a couple of times so it didn't look streaky, the eyeliner would actually flake off after it dried. The same thing happens to my friend who uses this eyeliner but nevertheless she still wears it everyday.

Video Reviews & Tutorials

Faking a Crease: Smokey Eyes (great for monolids?) by KoreanLovesBeauty

New Year's Eve & Party Smokey Makeup Tutorial! 2015 by Angie Wilches

How to look like a cute doll: Easy simple steps & ideas, Very Kawaii! by beautybysantaana

Top Rated Stila Products



180 reviews

Wheat Eyeshadow

125 reviews
Back to Top