Maybelline • Dream Smooth Mousse [DISCONTINUED] • Crème

rated 3.6(656 reviews)

Average Rating.3.6
Would buy this product again.66%
Ingredients

This product has been discontinued


rated 4 of 5 guinnrm on 10/6/2013 9:29:00 AM more reviews by guinnrm

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

I started using this cream foundation after I developed an allergy to my beloved mineral foundation. I couldn't stand going back to liquid foundation, and this is a necessary compromise (with oily, acne-prone skin, I really need foundation). I've been using this for about a month.

The coverage is excellent! My only complaint is that even the lightest shade is almost too dark for me, and since the coverage is so good, I have to be careful how much I apply. It does give me what I call "clammy face", and I really need a finishing powder to reduce shine with this. There is noticeable settling into fine lines after applying, but I smooth them out after it settles and I haven't noticed them re-settling throughout the day (this goes back to being careful of how much you apply).

The packaging is great for a drugstore brand. It is a bit annoying at first to unscrew the top to get to the foundation, and having the applicator in the top compartment--but after a few days, I really got to liking this packaging. It's great to just throw in your bag, no worries about spills or leaks. Not sure how I feel about using a sponge to apply (health-wise), but I do appreciate how the triangular shape makes it fairly easy to apply and blend.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 BlueEyedChik on 9/28/2013 9:22:00 PM more reviews by BlueEyedChik

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I don't think i've ever had a product that has made me look flawless. This does.. I love everything about it. The packaging is great and the fact it comes with a sponge is great! I kid you not it makes me look absolutely flawless. My skin is about as dry as it can get with eczema and winter coming up, This is super moisturizing and i can tell it will be my go to for a long time. A few touch ups in my t-zone a day which is no biggy at all. I totally recommend if you have dry skin! If you had oily i'd try the dream matte, I've heard that works better for oily. LOVE YOUUU

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 MissBay on 9/28/2013 6:01:00 PM more reviews by MissBay

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Tan   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

I'm in love with this product! It goes on fantastic for me! As for the cons.... I honestly can't say I've found any! I set this with my Dream Mattress Powder and I'm absolutely crazy about it! ~ XOXO Bay

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 katb on 9/26/2013 5:22:00 AM more reviews by katb

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

what can i say about this foundation, the color match for me was great! it goes on smooth (as its name indicates) looks super natural (i dont even have to brush powder over my face to set) and its really creamy and hydrating. medium to full coverage. blends nicely. covers my redness and blemishes well. only problem is there is something in it that causes me to break out, so sadly even though i loved it at first, (thought it was my HG foundation) i couldnt use it, and yes i gave it time (2 weeks) and even stopped using it a couple days, then tried again thinking it was my cleansing routine that was flawed, and i still broke out, also the packaging isnt all that sanitary. so give it a try, if your skin doesnt react to it youll probably really love this foundation.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 mikomarie on 9/19/2013 5:17:00 PM more reviews by mikomarie

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I have mild acne and as a highschool girl, I want to cover it up! This product does cover it and has a natural look to it. I love it and for 10 bucks I think it is worth its price but there isnt much product in the package with is a slight bummer but other than I like it :)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 BipedalPrimate on 9/13/2013 8:13:00 PM more reviews by BipedalPrimate

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I use the 350 honey beige as a 'cream blush/bronzer'.

The texture is very creamy, moist, and smooth. Very easy to blend into my skin and leaves a really nice moisturized dewy look on my cheek bones.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 bunnee2 on 9/9/2013 12:42:00 PM more reviews by bunnee2

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

I took off a star because this foundation is no "mousse." We all know mousse when we see it (think Max Factors discontinued mousse); this isn't it. I wouldn't even call it a "cream."

However, for the money, it's pretty good, though I had to use moisturizer on my face first. It glides on easily, and lasts longer than I thought it would. I'll pick it up again, if I don't first find another replacement for the Max Factor liquid (which I used when the whipped cream mousse was discontinued long ago), which was creamy and unlike any of the drying liquids available today. I should have stocked up on that like a previous reviewer did!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 TheLovelyGlamor on 8/15/2013 3:50:00 AM more reviews by TheLovelyGlamor

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Medium   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Sweet and Short: I like it and I would repurchase
The Nitty Gritty: This foundation is actually really great. I have old acne spots and this does a great job of covering them without making my face look cakey or too made up. I'd say it could be built up to a medium amount of coverage, maybe even a bit more. I myself have oily skin and this didn't make me look any oiler, but I do find that it tends to wear off at the end of the day. It has like a four hour max wear time (with powder it'd last much longer). But this hasn't made me break out and that's a win within itself because my skin can be super finicky and sensitive.
I normally apply it with my hands because I don't like to fuss with makeup brushes unless absolutely necessary and it goes on great, not looking streaky at all. But when I do decide to look my best I like to put this on with a damp sponge like a Beauty Blender or something like that and it makes my skin look uber flawless. It's just great. And the color Natural Beige also matches my skin perfectly so that's a plus, but that's just lucky because there aren't very many shades in the Dream Smooth Mousse line so it could be a bit tricky trying to find your color.
Some people like to compare it to the Revlon Colorstay Whipped Creme Makeup but they are so freakin' different it's not even funny. Revlon's is a lot more 'liquidy' and cannot stay in a solid shape and it's also much more unforgiving on oily skin than the Maybelline Dream Smooth. And Revlon's Whipped Creme doesn't have as much coverage as the Maybelline one.
Overall, I really do like this foundation and it's something that I will and have repurchased many times. It's not nearly as expensive as some other foundations out there and I like the way it feels and looks so I'd say that this is one of my makeup bag staples.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 StacyGrace on 8/14/2013 11:21:00 PM more reviews by StacyGrace

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Other    

It's okay I guess. It's so wet and sticky so it seems like I need to put powder on after RIGHT AWAY. I think it also clogged my pores. Either that or my new face wash that I got the same day. (I'm not acne prone AT ALL) It does have very good coverage though!! Not much comes in the package though. I feel like they should have used more space instead of adding that sponge they put with it. I don't really care for it and it seems like a lot of other people don't too. I just dip my beauty blender in it and use that. I think I will invest my money in something that I really like cause I'm sure there's plenty of other good ones that are they same price.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 acton13 on 8/10/2013 9:38:00 AM more reviews by acton13

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Green    

My go to foundation every time! I keep thinking that I should probably venture out and see what other foundations are out there, but I cant! I LOVE this foundation! I have combination skin with much redness and a few break outs, and this covers it all! The coverage is amazing! A little goes a long way and I recommend applying this on with a stippling brush. That is what I have found to be the best, but do whatever works for you. I bought this with hesitation because it was a mousse, but it did not let me down. Dont get discouraged by the product's texture. I like it because it is very quick and easy to apply, and as college student who unfortunately got stuck with some 8am classes, this was a perfect addition to my quick make-up routine (and it made me appear more awake). If you are looking for a flawless foundation this is it!

*I just want to note that I have not broken out with this product during the 2-3 years I have used it, and I also set mines with a powder. *

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Maybelline products

More Crème products