MAC • Marine Life [DISCONTINUED] • Highlighters

rated 4.3(124 reviews)

Average Rating.4.3
Would buy this product again.75%
Ingredients

This product has been discontinued


rated 5 of 5 xxsweetDESiRExx on 6/3/2010 3:12:00 PM more reviews by xxsweetDESiRExx

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Wavy   Eyes: Green    

I absolutely love this product!! So, first of all, the packaging is very cute & perfect for summer! Secondly, the colour is great! I have fairly light skin, and Marine Life gives me a nice hint of orangey-coral colour my cheeks. The colour is not too overpowering, but it is definitely noticeable. I find that this blush colour can match with many looks & eyeshadow colours.
If you can get your hands on this, it's definitely worth it!! It took me a while to actually get myself to use it because the seahorse was just so pretty to look at! I'm glad that I did bring myself to using it though because I use it everyday now!

P.S. This is 10 grams I believe, which is larger than the usual MAC blush. So although this costs more ($32 Canadian dollars), it is worth the price!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 fleetgoddess21 on 6/3/2010 1:03:00 PM more reviews by fleetgoddess21

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

I simply adore this. I was lusting after it originally for the seahorse and simply how cute it was. I did not expect how much i would love this though. I'm NC20 in the winter and NC35 in the summer. Yes I tan easy so I need a wide range of shades to suit me. I'm going to be wearing this all summer. It's bright and beautiful and the coral looks so healthy on my skin. I apply this with a MAC 187 because it is very very VERY pigmented and the 187 gives me just a perfect wash of color across my cheeks. If you can get ahold of one, buy 2. I bought a second for backup because I love it so much. This isn't a product that is limited to just asian skin colored girls. Fairer girls can wear this too like me, I just recommend using a light hand and a good brush.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Naturalchick27 on 6/2/2010 9:38:00 PM more reviews by Naturalchick27

Age: 25-29   Skin: Very Oily, Dark, Warm   Hair: Brown, Kinky, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I did not intend to buy this product or any other product from To The Beach collection however, I stopped by Mac to glance at it during it's pre-release. I had to have it. It's such a gorgeous coral with a gold sheen to it. It also has a pink side to it which can be used as a highlighter. I simply swirl my Sigma 187 around on both colors and apply lightly as a blush. Some people complain that the color is too bright. It's just right on me. (NC43-44)

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Cherry_blossom on 6/1/2010 8:31:00 PM more reviews by Cherry_blossom

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I have to admit that I got sucked in because of the beautiful seahorse, and the bright vibrant color of this "highlighter". I use it as a blush, and it is a beautiful corally pink when the two colors are mixed together. This blush is extremely pigmented and I found it hard to make the blush look natural and blend in on my fair asian skin tone, even with a lighter hand. When the coral and pink color are mixed equally, the result is the EXACT same color (at least on my skin tone) as my beloved Clinique's precious posy. The only difference is that the Clinique's is more foolproof as it is slightly less pigmented. Now, if I were to use the coral side of marine life alone without mixing in with the pink, I would look like a clown, as it is just too dark on me - light hand or not (the color would however look gorgeous on tanned skin). I find my Clinique actually has longer lasting power than the MAC, but I gave it two lippies because after all it is a gorgeous wash of color that brightens up the face. Like one of the previous reviewers, the blush application was blotchy and chalky on me (even with a primer). IMO, the product is way too pricey, and I'd rather invest the money in a Nars blush.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 champagne86 on 6/1/2010 2:43:00 PM more reviews by champagne86

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I really hate to fall for 'hype' surrounding a product. I ended up getting this because my friend was and she said it was going to sell out - hence the hype. I looked at it and I was thinking 'omg what did I just do? I just fell into the death traps of the hype that is MAC!'

and then I took pictures...

and then I swiped and applied and..

my goodness it is beautiful..

Out of my coral blushes (MAC peaches, shell pearl, Nars super orgasm, Shu Eumura P44) I would have to say this makes me look the most 'alive' as in, the final look is very finished and pretty. I'm a pale asian NC20, that doesn't tan at all in the summertime.. and this looks stunning on me. The only problem for most people I would say is the application because it is so strong but if used with a lighthand it is really gorgeous on pale skin tones..


2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 makeuplover94 on 6/1/2010 2:59:00 AM more reviews by makeuplover94

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I definitely would not use this as a highlight, its more of a blush for sure. Adorable packaging, but i hate that the gold is just an overspray. It really annoys me actually because once you've used it theres no gold anymore. I also have hipness, and no they are not alike. I am glad I purchased both because they are definitely not dupes which everyone seems to think.. To be honest, I do kind of like hipness more for the summer than marine life, but I don't regret this purchase at all. It is one of the highlights of the collection, get your hands on it if you can.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Luirei on 5/31/2010 8:39:00 PM more reviews by Luirei

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Dry, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I bought the last two at my local MAC counter the day after it was released. I use this as a blush, applying only a little bit on the apples of my cheeks and blending it. It is super pigmented, and it gives me a great summery glow. I'm sure it will look better on my when I get tan for the summer. Definitely a great buy.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* imeldita22 on 5/31/2010 7:42:00 PM more reviews by imeldita22

Age: 25-29   Skin: Very Oily, Tan, Cool   Hair: Black, Medium   Eyes: Black    

i really adore this blush. I don't see this as a highlighting powder at all though since it's too pigmented. it's a beautiful coral, kind of similar to Hipness but this has more pigment in it. Too bad it only looks pretty with the overspray, after a few swipe the gold disappears. Other than that, it's still a great blush.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 MSMOZEKE on 5/31/2010 7:30:00 PM more reviews by MSMOZEKE

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Dark, Cool   Hair: Brown, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I absolutely love this "Blush" It is not a Hi-light powder no matter what the label reads...I had no intentions of buying this but swatched it a friends and had to have it...I am not fond of the shimmery gold overspray so I wiped that off...underneath is the most beautiful coral blush ever! It is over-hyped as with all MAC LE items, *cough* Ripe Peach...however, is it Gorgeous, YES...would I purchase it again if I ever ran out and it was available.....In a Heartbeat, YES. I am NC45 for reference...so glad I was able to get it before it was hard to find

4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 NikkiatMAC on 5/31/2010 3:21:00 PM more reviews by NikkiatMAC

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

Sad to say, I bought into the hype and got Marine Life mainly because it was the "it" product. My Mac store had one left on the day it was released so I was happy to pick it up. I had the chance to buy it online, but at that time I was sure I didn't need it. Oh how the mind is swayed by the internet and all the swatches out there. For the last 5 days I've just been looking at it, and it is gorgeous! Today I took the plunge and dusted off the gold overspray on one side of the powder (I still want to keep the seahorse as long as possible). I have to say the powder underneath the gold is just as pretty. So I applied it to my cheeks thinking this may be a huge bust, but WOW...it is sensational! I've never had a blush look this beautiful on. It is a bright pink coral that glows and illuminates my face like nothing else. Even better is that it only has a slight sheen to it, and its not at all glittery. I wish I had bought another one!! Mac has made magic in slim green compact. So worth the hype!

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More MAC products

More Highlighters products