MAC • Sheertone Blush in Blushbaby • Blush

rated 4.5(437 reviews)

Average Rating.4.5
Would buy this product again.85%
Ingredients


rated 2 of 5 SleepingBag on 7/12/2012 10:23:00 AM more reviews by SleepingBag

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Blush... where to start? Honestly, used on bare skin (no foundation) before I had colored hair, this blush was fine by me. The color was understated and generally looked good throughout the day. This aside, since I have lighter/highlighter hair now (went from dark blonde to light/medium blonde) and wear foundation, I find this blush looks nuts. I can't exactly pinpoint what it is, but here are my thoughts on the whole situation. First, this blush has a muted color (versus a bright color). My natural haircolor had muted tones (ashy, sandy) and used to be a good match for this. Now, with brighter hair, this blush makes me look like I have blatantly obvious makeup and a dirty face. Second, in theory, I think brighter blush colors applied lightly look better overall. Many MUAers have commented on this and I've paid attention. In fact, a muted blush looks reassuring in the pan for buyers but you have to apply a lot to get a decent glow. By that time, you also look like a dirty cupcake face. Instead, a bright blush only needs a little dusting on and voila! Third, I find this blush kinda disappears throughout the day. For the price, I would prefer a product with better staying power.


Overall, I can understand why this has good ratings on MUA. Just make sure to not over apply and to check it out in natural daylight once in a while. Its just not for me right now and I'll update if I ever change my thoughts on it.

9 out of 12 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Nanciiieeee on 7/7/2012 12:09:00 AM more reviews by Nanciiieeee

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

This blush looks very natural and since it's a sheertone its hard to overdo. On my Nc30-35 skin its looks really natural like I have no blush on. I don't use this by itself but instead I put it on and layer it with another blush and its soo pretty. I have used it everyday since I bought it and there's still plenty left in the pan so that's really amazing.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 helloroo on 6/23/2012 12:19:00 AM more reviews by helloroo

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Medium   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I was very excited to get this because I thought this would be IT. My HG blush..the blush to end it all. I'm on the never ending search for a blush that doesn't turn orange on me. I've tried lots of beige/pink colors and decided to give Blushbaby a go.
It comes in standard MAC blush packaging and retails 20$. Everyone else has described the color pretty accurately so I won't go there again.
First of all, it did end up turning my NC30-5, MUFE #125 (neutral undertones), NARS Punjab cheeks slightly orange. Not as bad as others but still noticeable to me.
Secondly, this is INCREDIBLY sheer. Must build it up to get a noticeable amount of color. Could be good or bad depending on your taste. Very natural looking and work friendly.
The staying power is straight up god awful in my opinion. I use primer, setting powder, etc. the whole nine yards and have never EVER have had a problem with a blush fading (from drugstore to MAC to NARS) on my normal skin type cheeks. When I looked in the mirror, I found patches of this blush on my face and was horrified. Back to the MAC store it went.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Yrie on 6/22/2012 12:38:00 PM more reviews by Yrie

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

Love this blush!

I am quite fair (NC10-15), so the colour is rather darker than what I usually wear, but it is subtle enough because it's not too pigmented. I use this to contour my cheeks (bronzer or any brownish contour colour looks horrible and too harsh on me). I place it on the back of my cheekbones and work it towards the center of my face. I usually pair it with a brighter blush on the apples of my cheeks, which I blend back towards the contour.
It looks evry natural, because the blush is quite sheer, so the effect is very subtle and, therefore, hard to overdo.
Would definitely repurchase again.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 mom2er on 6/10/2012 12:32:00 PM more reviews by mom2er

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Grey    

I was advised by a MAC makeup artist to try this color. I was skeptical, as it appeared too peachy for my red undertone/ruddy skin tone. It is just the right color to balance fair skin with red undertones. It goes with every lip and eye color I use. I tend to keep my makeup natural. LOVE THIS!!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* royas784 on 4/18/2012 12:43:00 AM more reviews by royas784

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

Blushbaby is my go-to blush that I use literally every day, as it's subtle and very flattering. It's a pinkish-beige shade that would flatter light to medium skin tones. I've tried different blushes, in search of "the one," and let me tell you, the search wasn't easy, mostly because I was clueless as to which shade would best flatter my skin tone (NC30). Most of what I've tried before was either too reddish, peachy or pink- nothing looked quite right. I wanted something natural and flattering that I could wear for all occasions. Enter Blushbaby. I searched MUA, and after an extensive google search, thought I'd give Blushbaby a try- SO glad I did! It felt like a "wow" moment the minute I saw how it looked on me; it was exactly what I was looking for...the middle ground between pink and beige- something muted, but not so beige it doesn't look like blush. I love that it's a sheertone blush, since it's buildable and so easy to apply. It's actually hard to over-apply, since it's very natural looking and not at all too bright or pigmented. This shade also pairs nicely with any makeup look, since it isn't over-the-top. It's a staple in my makeup bag.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 bernsie on 4/11/2012 7:38:00 AM more reviews by bernsie

Age: 44-55   Skin: Other, Medium   Hair: Silver   Eyes: Hazel    

I love these "sheer tone" powder blush's from MAC. They are more forgiving with placement and amount used: It's hard to over do them. This particular color "Blushbaby" is very universal for most skin colors exept the very darkest of skintones. It's totally neutral so when in doubt reach for this shade as it duplicates how skin naturally flushes w/color. The formula allows easy pick-up w/blush brush and ease of deposit: I like it started on the apples of the cheek and swept across the cheekbone. Whatever is leftover on the brush sweep across bridge of nose, temples and chin/jawline. This gives a natural flush/glow to these areas making the skin look young and healthy. This is also a very easily "buildable" color/formula. Start off subtle and add more where it might seem the need for more deposit. I don't know which is better: the sheer formula or the color itself. I think the combination of both makes it so sought after/formidable. Highly Recommended!!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 loiseva1988 on 3/7/2012 6:02:00 PM more reviews by loiseva1988

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I love this blush, Blush baby is a sheertone so it gives you the option of wearing it very sheer or building it up rather than going on heavy and having to blend it out a tonne. I love MAC's sheertone blushes. This one in particular is great for a 'natural' flush of colour, nothing dramatic and I think unlike a lot of blushes this one WILL work well from very fair skin to medium-tan skin tones depending on how much you build it up (I am between nc25 and nc30) this is the perfect effortless blush and very much an everyday, wearable colour. plus it is matte too so if you want something subtle with no shimmer grab this one! LOVE IT!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 lilblue10 on 3/5/2012 10:26:00 PM more reviews by lilblue10

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Kinky, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

This looks more like a pale peachy brown on my skin rather than pinkish brown but I still like it, it's very natural and since I was very tired of my usual pink blush this is perfect. The pigmentation is good and it shows up nicely on my NC20 skin !

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Montana_Wildhack on 3/4/2012 7:21:00 AM more reviews by Montana_Wildhack

Age: 25-29   Skin: Very Oily, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

This blush looks very different when applied from what its look in the pan suggests. "Blushbaby" was purchased when I discovered that MAC's "Peaches" was a tad too orangey on my very pale skin. Although Blushbaby looks more like a mixture of beige and rose in the packaging, it's a perfect flush of peach on the skin, almost like the colour when I blush naturally. Simply perfect! Handling is easy because of its sheertone finish, you can build it up the way you want it. I'd definitely repurchase this baby.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More MAC products

More Blush products