Chanel • Shadowlights- Vega • Eye Shadow

rated 4.4(142 reviews)

Average Rating.4.4
Would buy this product again.82%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* NurseKristen on 9/28/2004 1:55:00 AM more reviews by NurseKristen

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I've been wanting to try this based on all the reviews here, and finally got it in a swap. I LOVE the shimmery, greyish-taupe color. I rarely wear makeup at all, and when I do, it's pretty subtle and neutral, so I like the way this can go on lightly for just some light color, or can be layered and darkened for a more dramatic effect. Great basic color!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 minimac on 9/24/2004 1:40:00 PM more reviews by minimac

Age: 19-24   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

What a stunning, multi-tonal, multi-tasking eye shadow. I will repurchase for ever. So versatile - I wear it for day in the crease, lightly, with a shimmery champagne colour like Ylang, and at night on its own, brushed all over the lid and blended into the crease, with smoky powder liner. Soft, silky texture, blends like a dream. And, as other reviewers have noticed, gorgeous on blue and green eyes. For reference, I'm neutral PPP, blue eyes, auburn hair.

UPDATE: Be very careful with these. Mine has shattered. For the price, I would have preferred something more sturdy.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 mdenbraber on 8/23/2004 5:16:00 PM more reviews by mdenbraber

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

This greyish taupe color is too cool on me (brown eyes, almost black hair, suntanned skin). It makes my eyes look hard. Don't like it too much. I like Chanel's warm colors better. Texture is nice as always.When applied wet it looks even worse. Too bad!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* mdfpaf on 7/29/2004 11:02:00 AM more reviews by mdfpaf

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Brown    

Very versatile greyish taupe shade. I love the texture of Chanel's eyeshadows and this is probably my favorite shadowlight. Excellent quality and it lasts all day on me.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 aprillia on 7/10/2004 6:02:00 AM more reviews by aprillia

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

This is a silvery taupe. It works well with most other colors, is a great crease shade and is smooth and buildable. You need this or a reasonable facsimile in your collection
But it's expensive. I like it as much as MAC Patina, and if I had to choose, I'd pick this. But for the pricepoint..eesh.
Compare to MAC Patina and Shu 944/945

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 lazlo8 on 7/4/2004 8:33:00 PM more reviews by lazlo8

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

Holy Grail of all shadows. I have blue/green eyes, and am PPP, 36 ... I use a Fresh eyeshadow brush and the quickest brush of this shadow over my eyelids only and my eyes turn green. I use Bobbi Brown's violet ink gel liner and I am set for the entire day. I don't even need a base for my lids with this. And I am the oiliest person south of Exxon. They could set up oil wells on my lids so this is seriously a high quality shadow. I haven't ever had a better longer lasting shadow. I promptly went back and bought six other colors which I am slowly working in to. The reviewer who said to just look at your eyes and NOT your lids was right. The effect here is just stunning. My BF tells me about six times a day how pretty my face is when I wear this shadow and I'm not kidding. If you have this coloring, you should try this shadow. Go very lightly and the shadow will stay for about 12 hours with no creasing. I agree with the person who said shadowlights has higher quality than the quads. This is the prettiest shadow I own and I honestly might have 150 different shades and many different brands. I think the shadowlights is the softest most pigmented most flattering shadow out there. If you feel like dropping the cash ... you found your baby here! edit; Do NOT drop her ... she will shatter. Shadooby.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 looavul on 6/29/2004 1:07:00 PM more reviews by looavul

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I wore this shadow on my wedding day (matched with what i thought was a rather unusual partner of IRRÉELLE OMBRE MULTI-EFFECT EYESHADOW in yellow. I wouldn't have guessed it myself, but somehow it worked on my pale skin, fare complexion with slightly tanned summer skin & blue eyes.

Like a previous posted stated though - mine literally self distructed in my MU bag as well. I've been known to drop makeup before, but i know i was extra careful with the sleek black chanel compact.

I had to move it to a different container where i still use it often - but brushing through little vega chunks was not nearly rewarding as swishing across a the sleek color in the pan.

I digress. I would buy it again. But next time i think i might spring for the $53 to get the similar colors in the vanites quad.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* tenderheart003 on 6/28/2004 5:20:00 PM more reviews by tenderheart003

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I am not impressed. While it is a pretty color I find it mediocre. The texture is fab, but I swapped for it for the "unusualness". Did a side by side comparison next to Stila Grace e/s and they are remarkably similar. The only diff is that Vega is a tad darker. On my eyes Vega picks up a bit of a green undertone which is pretty. I definatly wouldn't buy this. I do love the chic Chanel compact though.*EDIT* added one lippie due to staying power and also because this color really does go with every other e/s you can think of!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 operabuff on 6/18/2004 4:31:00 PM more reviews by operabuff

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

Others have described the color and texture very well, so I won't rehash that. In addition to being probably the prettiest eye shadow I own, it's also the most versatile. I use it dry during the day as either a crease color or on the lid. Wet on the lid for a more dramatic looks gives me a smoky eye for evening. I did not give it a 5 rating because of a problem I had with my first Vega...it literally self-destructed in my make-up bag. First one flake, then another, and then the whole shadow just broke apart. I did not travel with it; it was never in my purse; that' just what happened in my MU bag on my vanity. I returned it and got a replacement and now store it on a cabinet shelf by itself and treat it very gently -- like a little high maintenance princess!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* FoXyKiTten01 on 5/29/2004 10:34:00 AM more reviews by FoXyKiTten01

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Tan   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

colourings: asian MAC NC30-35

Wowie! this is a gorgeous color! It is a shimmery smoikey taupe/grey/beige in my opinion. Its hard to describe..but it is absolutely gorgeous! Originally i had wanted sphinx..and mistook vega for sphinx (how that happened i don't know) at any rate...I LOVE VEGA! great for a daytime smokey eye (like the middle color in a smokey eye)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Chanel products

More Eye Shadow products