Living Proof • Full Thickening Cream • Styling Products

rated 3.3(95 reviews)

Average Rating.3.3
Would buy this product again.54%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* lmande on 8/11/2010 9:56:00 AM more reviews by lmande

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Normal   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I'm kind of surprised by the negative comments on this product. I have fine hair but a fair amount of it. I have to use products to boost up the volume otherwise I'm left with this awful 'wavy-gravy' hair that is flat and horrible looking. Ok, normally I use Kerastase voluming mousse which is great albeit expensive and/or Ted Gibson's fix it gel - also great and expensive. I use Nick Chavez volumizing shampoo and today I skipped the mousse and the gel and just used the thickening cream. Just a dab - and I have to say I got the exact same result from a pea size amount of the cream as I did using the mousse AND the gel. The result is immediate but not stiff at all so it makes it hard to style, not at all. I probably didn't even need the hair spray but I gave it a quick shot anyway. My hair is not stiff or sticky - it just looks and feels thick and 'together' which believe me is not. It also seems to be holding up well in the extreme humidity - a hugle plus.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 dianaec on 8/7/2010 1:03:00 PM more reviews by dianaec

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Olive   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

PROS: lightweight, non-greasy, the small one is perfect for carry-on luggage

CONS: so pricey for what you get, not very volumizing

In my bangs it's not bad - it does break it up a bit and the volume is ok. For the rest of my head, where my hair is below collarbone length, it does nothing. I do have fine, semi-thin hair. Maybe it's better for the people who have more hair than I do, looking at some of the reviews.

I bought it for travel because it's non-aerosol and tiny, but for the price, it sucks. Won't be purchasing again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 terei on 8/4/2010 4:55:00 PM more reviews by terei

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Silver   Eyes: Brown    

I am disappointed in this product too. I have very fine limp hair and this didnt do anything that I could discern, even though I followed the directions to the letter.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* violetmist on 7/30/2010 1:39:00 PM more reviews by violetmist

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

Once again the hype for living proof eclipses the product's performance. This is hideous. It made my fine hair sticky and dry. After blow drying it seemed to give it a little lift but nothing spectacular and it left my hair dull. It was in such bad shape that I feared I had done permanent damage to my hair. I washed it out immediately and apologized to my hair for being so mean to it! If I could give this product a minus 10 I would.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 BuckNekked on 7/24/2010 12:50:00 AM more reviews by BuckNekked

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I bought this off of QVC because they really made it look effective on the on-air presentation. It did not work for me though. I have long, fine, and limp hair down to my mid-back. I have tried using this every which way but every time my hair just came out annoyingly rough. I can usually run my fingers through my hair but not when this product is in. I saw no thickening effect...though my hair did become frizzier looking. Maybe this stuff works on short hair, but if you have long hair, I don't reccommend it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 steffoinnh on 7/10/2010 7:48:00 PM more reviews by steffoinnh

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Black   Eyes: Blue    

Awesome styling product for oily hair. Gives hold and volume without weighing hair down. Makes my layered hair look thicker.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* MackMimiMommy on 7/9/2010 8:25:00 PM more reviews by MackMimiMommy

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I use this when my hair is damp but not soaking. I do not use conditioner in the shower and use a non-residue shampoo only. I apply 2 small pea-sized dots on 2 separate fingers, and massage them in the palms of my hands. Then I poof it into my hair from bottom to just before roots. I then let it air dry because I don't really like using a blow drier. My hair is more full after it dries. It is not a detangler, though, or a hair smoother. This product makes me happier with my hair than any other on the market right now, but my hair is not perfect after application.

UPDATE: I just tried my "technique" with another product (Sexy Root Plump Plus). I find that I get more volume with the Sexy, so I will adjust my review accordingly. There is some volume after LP, but not as much as with Sexy.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* animalsrbetterthanpeople on 7/2/2010 10:19:00 PM more reviews by animalsrbetterthanpeople

Age: 44-55   Skin: Oily, Neutral   Hair: Red   Eyes: Green    

I have very thick hair, but it is fine in texture. My hair is short and color treated. Since I have been using Living Proof Full Thickening Cream (and now the accompanying shampoo and conditioner ) , I have noticed a MARKED difference in not only the fullness of my hair, but the ease of styling and the longevity of the style. I can get away with washing my hair three times a week instead of every day or every other day.

Now, my technique may not work for you, but this is how I use the products. I wash my hair with the full thickening shampoo. I follow with a TINY bit of the full thickening conditioner. I towel dry my hair and then apply about a nickel size dollup of the full thickening cream to my hair. I let my hair air dry for about ten minutes or so, then I turn my head upside down and blow dry it. ( I find if I store the bottle of full thickening cream upside down in my "traincase" of frequently used products, it dispenses more easily and I get better control with amount of product used.

I find that I have to use far less finishing spray and depending upon how I've slept, my hair will either have to be rewet and restyled with the blowdyer in the morning, or just touched up with a bit of Dove extra hold hairspray.

I am very satisfied with this product, and since I have short hair, I consider it to be cost effective since a bottle lasts me a long time. I have never used anything that gave my hair more body and as long as they keep making this stuff, I'll keep using it.

Plus, it gives me great pleasure to support an AMERICAN company and a product that was developed by American scientists at MIT.

This is one of the few "splurges" that I will regularly indulge in in my haircare and makeup arsenal.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 bellisimma on 6/25/2010 5:20:00 PM more reviews by bellisimma

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

This actually works! I have straight, slightly below shoulder-length hair that is both fine and thin. I have always been weary of thickening products, since while they may thicken a little bit, you sacrifice the texture,feel, and look of your transformed hair. I found this especially true with Aveda's Pure Abundance powder (ugh!) Not so with this product. It thickens nicely, doesn't leave a dull appearance, and doesn't leave my hair a tangled, unbrushable mess. I use this on slightly damp hair, applying a small amount first at the roots and then spreading it out to the ends. I then leave it to air dry and it looks great. I haven't used it with a blow dryer, but I would expect the effects would be even better. The only drawback is its scent. It smells very similar to BBW White tea and ginger, maybe a bit more perfumey. Way too strong IMO.

If you're on the fence and don't wanna risk spending a lot of $ in case it doesn't work, just go to Sephora and get a sample. They'll hook you up!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Lisa1000 on 6/24/2010 9:00:00 AM more reviews by Lisa1000

Age: 36-43   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I have fine hair that's just past my shoulders so I thought this would be a perfect product for me. Luckily, I received a generous sample from Sephora so I was able to try it a few times. I experimented with the amount I used, but never liked the results. It made my hair a little thicker, but coarser as well. I felt like I needed to use a straightener to get back some shine. My hair also felt like cotton candy, dry and sticky.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Living Proof products

More Styling Products products