Living Proof • Full Thickening Cream • Styling Products

rated 3.3(100 reviews)

Average Rating.3.3
Would buy this product again.54%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* wagashi on 11/27/2010 6:14:00 PM more reviews by wagashi

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

I'm not much of a hair product person -- I have absolutely unstyleable, awful hair. It's fine yet wavy, thin yet poofy. Poofy is the word to describe my hair. But I'm also cursed in that most products weigh down my hair and leave it greasy and dirty-looking. Not a good combination. Recently I've grown my hair out as long as it's ever been and colored it red, so I've been trying out more products to see if there's anything that will help. My roommate had left the sample size of this untouched on our bathroom windowsill for about 3 months so I decided to whisk it away to my room and give it a try. I was pretty surprised when my hair looked as good as it had looked in a while, just by putting this in. I don't need volume since my hair has enough poof on its own, but this product helped me control my hair -- the style stayed the whole day and I had less frizz and flyaways. My hair also felt thicker and healthier. It does nothing for shine however, so a shine serum or spray on top is necessary. Overall, not a miracle product but I do like what it does for my hair personally.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* rickisyed on 11/14/2010 8:52:00 PM more reviews by rickisyed

Age: 25-29   Skin: Very Oily, Tan, Warm   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

This product gives me style memory but its really sticky and took twice as long for it to dry using a blow dry compared to my usual volumizing product. It also coated my hair and made my hair gummy, and didnt really volumize, just gave me style memory only.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 luvnewstuff on 11/9/2010 11:22:00 AM more reviews by luvnewstuff

Age: 44-55   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

Okay, I have been using this for a week now. Does it give me a supermodel haystack of hair? No. I am 50 years old and my hair is the same texture it was when I was 5. Plenty of hair but oh so fine and slippery. It basically collapses on itself. No other product I have ever used has done what this does, the best way I can describe it is that it adds FRICTION. My hair is shoulder length with long layers.I use a fat pea sized amount and dry thoroughly. What I end up with second day body immediately and a little more volume. The only other product I use is a little spray on the top. Leaves my hair shiny and it feels like normal hair, not sticky or gunky. I have high and lowlights and I am not seeing any negative effects on my color. Having carried on this battle with my hair with 30+ years I have left behind the wishful thinking and maybe this works approach to products . This is a real result and I am very pleased with it and will definitely repurchase.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* pinknika on 8/31/2010 8:32:00 PM more reviews by pinknika

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

So I am not sure if I should be writing a review for this product just yet. Today is my 2nd time using it and for some reason it doesn't work really well like I had hoped. I have fine, thin and pretty healthy hair. I worked up about a little more than a dime size this time, ran it through my hair expecting it to get really thick and voluminous-nope. After blow trying and styling my hair, it still looks the same. My first try, same thing, although it didn't make my hair greasy or flat, it made it really soft. I don't really use a lot of thickening products or styling stuff really, I try to keep my hair nice and healthy without using harsh products. I would like to branch out because I want to look more styled but I am not sure if this product is the one. I will have to update this review to see if I can get it to work better.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 lulabellabeauty on 8/21/2010 11:25:00 PM more reviews by lulabellabeauty

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

I am a minimalist when it comes to hair products and doing my hair, mostly because I suck at it. Now, alot of reviewers gave this product terrible reviews. I would have to disagree. This is currently my HG product. I don't like too much product in my hair and this is perfect. It really thickens my hair ( i have thin hair, with an average amount) This makes my hair voluminous and it feels thicker. I do agree with the fact that this can dry out the hair. I mostly use this in my scalp area and a little everywhere else. That def. helps. I also have oilier hair then most and have very soft hair so that could be why some don't like it. But, this stuff is so expensive for the amount that you get, that I am on a search for a more affordable option. So far, I haven't had any luck.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* lmande on 8/11/2010 9:56:00 AM more reviews by lmande

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Normal   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I'm kind of surprised by the negative comments on this product. I have fine hair but a fair amount of it. I have to use products to boost up the volume otherwise I'm left with this awful 'wavy-gravy' hair that is flat and horrible looking. Ok, normally I use Kerastase voluming mousse which is great albeit expensive and/or Ted Gibson's fix it gel - also great and expensive. I use Nick Chavez volumizing shampoo and today I skipped the mousse and the gel and just used the thickening cream. Just a dab - and I have to say I got the exact same result from a pea size amount of the cream as I did using the mousse AND the gel. The result is immediate but not stiff at all so it makes it hard to style, not at all. I probably didn't even need the hair spray but I gave it a quick shot anyway. My hair is not stiff or sticky - it just looks and feels thick and 'together' which believe me is not. It also seems to be holding up well in the extreme humidity - a hugle plus.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 dianaec on 8/7/2010 1:03:00 PM more reviews by dianaec

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Olive   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

PROS: lightweight, non-greasy, the small one is perfect for carry-on luggage

CONS: so pricey for what you get, not very volumizing

In my bangs it's not bad - it does break it up a bit and the volume is ok. For the rest of my head, where my hair is below collarbone length, it does nothing. I do have fine, semi-thin hair. Maybe it's better for the people who have more hair than I do, looking at some of the reviews.

I bought it for travel because it's non-aerosol and tiny, but for the price, it sucks. Won't be purchasing again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 terei on 8/4/2010 4:55:00 PM more reviews by terei

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Silver   Eyes: Brown    

I am disappointed in this product too. I have very fine limp hair and this didnt do anything that I could discern, even though I followed the directions to the letter.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* violetmist on 7/30/2010 1:39:00 PM more reviews by violetmist

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

Once again the hype for living proof eclipses the product's performance. This is hideous. It made my fine hair sticky and dry. After blow drying it seemed to give it a little lift but nothing spectacular and it left my hair dull. It was in such bad shape that I feared I had done permanent damage to my hair. I washed it out immediately and apologized to my hair for being so mean to it! If I could give this product a minus 10 I would.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 BuckNekked on 7/24/2010 12:50:00 AM more reviews by BuckNekked

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I bought this off of QVC because they really made it look effective on the on-air presentation. It did not work for me though. I have long, fine, and limp hair down to my mid-back. I have tried using this every which way but every time my hair just came out annoyingly rough. I can usually run my fingers through my hair but not when this product is in. I saw no thickening effect...though my hair did become frizzier looking. Maybe this stuff works on short hair, but if you have long hair, I don't reccommend it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Living Proof products

More Styling Products products