Physicians Formula • Healthy Wear SPF 50 Tinted Moisturizer • Tinted Moisturizer

rated 3.6(170 reviews)

Average Rating.3.6
Would buy this product again.68%
Ingredients


rated 2 of 5 KESTRADA14 on 1/10/2012 5:48:00 PM more reviews by KESTRADA14

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

In a nutshell: Heavily fragranced, heavy coverage (more like foundation) and caused breakouts

I have normal skin, not particularly dry, oily or sensitive with only occasional breakouts but this has made me break out badly every time I've used it. I think it might be the fact that it's heavily fragranced (in a perfume-y way, which was a big turn off for me). I also found the coverage to be too heavy as I really wanted a light look, not a foundation. Also, when using after I've washed my face it is not sufficient as a moisturizer (skin still feels dry when even light moisturizers usually are fine for me).

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* timothybcat on 1/10/2012 2:14:00 AM more reviews by timothybcat

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

For me, the major initial selling point to this was the high SPF. I purchase this last summer after looking for makeup that wouldn't look cakey or overdone when it was hot out. Then I saw that this had SPF 50!!! To me protecting my face is much more important than making it look "perfect" with a well-known and highly regarded TM like Laura Mercier, so I took a gamble. HW is more coverage than I was expecting, but that's a plus to me. It has a dewy finish, which seems to be a problem for people with oilier complexions. But when I try to make my skin look matte in the heat, it just becomes this layer of crud over a layer of sweat, so why even bother trying? I have oily/combo skin but it wears just fine without looking too oily or melting off my face. I bought Light to Natural, which is actually a couple of shades too dark on me. I'm rather pale, but I was afraid the Fair to Light would look too chalky in the sunlight. Nonetheless, it doesn't look orange-y or fake in any other way. I'd buy this again in a heartbeat (I just can't get over the SPF 50!) but in the next lighter shade.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* rolanda on 12/27/2011 2:15:00 AM more reviews by rolanda

Age: 44-55   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Love this and am really surprised by how many folks hate it, but it seems like those who dislike it have oily or combo skin. It gives my dryish skin the most beautiful finish - smooth and silky looking. There is no greasy feeling whatsoever to me, but my skin will drink up oils/moisturizers for quite a bit before they make it look shiny. I dislike thick foundations, but most TMs don't really cover enough for me. This is the best of both. Very pigmented and covers fantastically, but seems to float over pores and fine lines without accentuating them; in fact, they look diminished. The finish is very natural and looks like skin, not makeup. I have it in the two lightest colors - light to fair and fair to natural, something like that. No orange in either of them, which seems to be very unusual for these light, sheer bases. Sometimes I top it with the matching powder, or some other powder, but don't usually need to unless I get sweaty in the summer. If you are a woman of a certain age, and starting to get fine lines (and don't have oily skin), or if you have dryish skin, this is well worth a try.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 grotesquee on 10/23/2011 8:51:00 PM more reviews by grotesquee

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Pros:
little goes a long way (2=face and neck)
it makes my skin lighter(perfect for winter)
does not break me out
does not need powder to set it
easily blendable with stippling brush
very cute packaging and pump

Cons:
the price
kinda cakey
feels greasy at first

i love this tinted moisturizer (:

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 jujumasta on 10/16/2011 1:55:00 PM more reviews by jujumasta

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Black    

I REALLY wanted to like this TM because of the super cute bottle it comes in but I cannot use this at all.

Yes, it does moisturize and it's good that it has SPF (although 50 is a bit high, because we all know that SPF 30 is most worth your money!) but aside from that... D:

This did not blend well into my skin AT ALL.
Maybe it will work better on you if you have redness in your face.
Maybe if you want to be a pink and glittery unicorn, then this is right for you.

If you have more yellow skin as I do, then stay away! On first contact with my skin, the moisturizer looked kinda gray. As I spread it around, the color started changing and the glitter? and I thought to myself, it's evolving! But it started to get really pink... and stayed that way.

So in the end, this left me looking like a piece of bedazzled bubblegum. No thank you.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Tovah on 10/5/2011 1:35:00 PM more reviews by Tovah

Age: 44-55   Skin: Oily, Olive, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Hazel    

I'm trying to find products that make my routine go faster. I use Refissa nightly, so, unfortunately, high level sunscreen is a necessity, every day. Sunscreens hate me, and sunscreens + makeup hates me even more. I read the sunscreen actives in this product, and impulsively decided it was worth a try.

Yuck. The deepest shade available in my CVS is Natural to Tan. If you are naturally GRAY, this is perfect. I have never in my life seen "Tan" that's anything like this, and I sincerely hope I never do. Does this company test their products on human skin? Where do they find pale gray people who think this is tan? In addition to the horrible color, this product is sticky, greasy, and smudges on everything. It's so greasy powder doesn't even set it; the powder just gets mottled and clumpy.

I should have thought twice before purchasing. I was in a hurry, and even though I reminded myself that every single Physicians Formula product I ever bought has gone in the trash, I keep thinking there might be SOMETHING that works for me from their endless array of products. I fall for their sunscreen claims, because I so want a multi-tasking product. I should return this Tinted Moisturizer to CVS, but I'll probably try to find someone who can use it, so it won't be wasted entirely. There's probably someone on Venus, where the sun shines for 24 hours once every seven years.

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 glowgirl123 on 9/25/2011 8:05:00 PM more reviews by glowgirl123

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

i HATE* this tinted moisturizer . It's sticky, and greasy feeling, and looking. I even set it with a powder, and it still made me look so gross, my eye liner was almost half way down my face with the oils in this . the packaging is really cute, i do like it . but this is way too over priced, i wouldn't even pay $1.00 for this after trying it .

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 6rungirl on 9/21/2011 6:44:00 PM more reviews by 6rungirl

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium   Hair: Blond, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

Hated this. Left my face feeling super greasy. Basically feels like sunscreen slathered all over your face, which makes sense since it is an SPF 50. I don't remember the exact shade I had but it was the ''tanner" one. It was not nearly dark enough and I was only semi-tan at the time.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Strawberryblonde3 on 9/8/2011 4:45:00 AM more reviews by Strawberryblonde3

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Red, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Green    

This is my summer foundation. To me a tinted moisturizer is not supposed to have a lot of coverage so I love it. Being a red head I burn very easily so I always need a good sunscreen. This was especially helpful to me since it protected me from the sun and it didn't break me out like regular sunscreen. It is also very sweat and water resistant. It does however feel a lot like sunscreen which is why so many people thinks it feels greasy. I wish it came in lighter colors though because even the lightest is to dark for my pale skin.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 KitoX on 9/5/2011 2:53:00 AM more reviews by KitoX

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Neutral   Hair: Black, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Loved the coverage, but just couldn't get rid of the shiny oil slick it left behind.

As far as tinted moisturizers go, this one's got more coverage than I've seen in any other so far. The 'Light to Natural 7068' shade matched well with my NC42 skin tone. However, no amount of powder, blotting, or light application will get rid of the oily sheen this product leaves behind for more than 20 min. So dissapointed.

You're better off applying a SPF 50 sunscreen underneath your regular foundation. At least the sheen left from that can be covered up (permanently) by powder foundation.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Physicians Formula products

More Tinted Moisturizer products