Pur Minerals Pressed Powder Foundation

3.9

581 reviews

71% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.9

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.9

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

ORIGINAL FORMULATION: Active Ingredient: Titanium Dioxide 8%; Inactive Ingredients:Mica, Boron Nitride, Caprylic/Capric Triglyceride, Bismuth Oxychloride, Zinc Stearate, Magnesium Silicate, Magnesium Carbonate, Silica, Shea Butter (Butyrospermum Parkii), Tocopheryl Acetate, Iron Oxides. May contain: Ultramarines NEW FORMULATION: Ingredients Mica, Caprylic/Capric Triglyceride, Boron Nitride, Bismuth Oxychloride, Zinc Stearate, Magnesium Silicate, Sodium Starch Octenylsuccinate, Mannitol, Sodium Gluconate, Citric Acid, Sodium Citrate, Waltheria Indica Leaf Extract, Dextrin, Ferulic Acid, L-Lactic Acid, Butyrospermum Parkii (Shea Butter), Silica, Thioctic Acid, Sodium Hyaluronate, Retinol, L-Ascorbic Acid, Ceramide 6 II, Magnolia Officinalis Bark Extract, Vitis Vinifera/Vitis Vinifera (Grape) Seed Extract, Tocopherol, Lecithin, Maltodextrin, Vitis Vinifera (Grape) Fruit Skin, Glycerin, Palmitoyl Tripeptide-5, L-Glutathione, Aloe Barbadensis Leaf Extract, Hydrated Silica, Tocopheryl Acetate, Aqua, Glucosamine HCI, Pisum Sativum (Pea) Extract, Bambusa Vulgaris Leaf/Stem Extract, Magnesium Carbonate, Iron Oxides (CI 77491, CI 77492, CI 77499). May Contain: Titanium Dioxide (CI 77891), Ultramarine (CI 77007)


Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

ETA (August 24th): Yesterday was past day 3 of my second attempt, and my face is one big rash again. =( So sad, I really did want this foundation/powder/concealer to be IT. But no. Rash like whoa. Colour and cover were awesome, so if you don't have sensitive skin, go for it. If you do have sensitive skin, though: avoid like the plague. I mean, yeah, I can go two days without horrors, but two days on a grander scale? That's nothing. So sad. =(

ETA (August 21st): I've started using this again, on day two now, and so far, it doesn't seem like this is what caused my issues. I didn't notice anything until after day 3 last time, though, so I'm still kind of holding my breath. ;)

I bought this the other week and for the first few days of using it, I was in love! The shade exactly matched my skin and the cover was great.
But then, after three days, I noticed that my skin was extremely irritated and I had a rash around my mouth, eyes, and nose. Right now, I'm thinking this powder is the culprit, though it might also have been these makeup remover napkins I used recently. I'm hoping they are to blame and will update this review once I've used the process of elimination to figure out what caused my issues.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.



on 8/11/2012 7:19:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Very Oily, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

Let me just say that I usually don't write reviews for anything as I am extremely critical and skeptical of everything, but I cannot keep quiet about this, anyways, I have extremely oily, acne prone skin, and huge pores/acne scars. I have been battling a severe acne outbreak lately, and nothing has been helping (not the expensive antibiotics or prescription acne creams), all the expensive foundations and powders I was using were only making me break out more (plus made my face look really greasy and tired, with huge pores and acne scars sticking out).
I'm only 24 but people said I look like I'm in my thirties (which is really depressing to hear).
Anyways I stumbled upon the purminerals compact foundation. I ended up buying the whole kit - powder/bronzer/blush/brush - everything cost me 28 dollars - they had a discount going on.
Anyways, as soon as I put it on which only took about a minute - I used the brush to put on the powder plus dabbed some blush on my cheecks, and my face was completely transformed. I couldn't believe how smooth and natural my face looked, how even the coverage was, my pores and acne scars looked almost non existant. Also after just a couple of days of using this, my acne started healing up and no new breakouts!!!! It is worth every penny!!! I will definetely buy it again.
The only down side is my face is still extremely oily so I have to dab some blotting sheets on my face every few hours. But this powder lasts about eight hours before I have to touch it up, instead of my foundation which cost twice as much and melted off my face in about two hours.
An added bonus is now I look like I'm 20 and I keep getting compliments on how good and sexy I look.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 8/11/2012 3:46:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I like to just use concealer and then throw a little powder on with a kabuki brush so that my skin looks very flush and natural. This does the trick, but after a few hours I feel like I need a touch up to cover the shine again. The applicator pad that comes in the compact is useless, so if I don't have a brush around I just have to walk around with oily skin. ): Overall I'd say it's a successful product, I just wish it had either more staying power or a better brush with it!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 8/8/2012 8:15:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Dry, Tan, Warm

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I was a devoted BE user for 5 years, but switched to MAC Studio Fluid Fix (NC 37) when I realized BE didn't match my skintone or cover the way it had in the past. While I love my MAC SFF, I hate how heavy it is on my face. After extensive research for a great mineral makeup, I discovered Pur Minerals. I ordered the Start Now kit (the new Pur formula) from Ulta, in light tan. I wanted to have the brush to apply the makeup, but I also noticed a lot of people complaining about the chisel brush shedding and being scratchy. So as a back up, I bought ELF's flat top brush. I prepared my face by scrubbing off the dry flakes, putting on my Olay Regenerist serum (eyes and face), and my Cetaphil lotion. I applied my Glamoflauge concealer under my eyes and waited 10 min. for my moisturizer to soak in. Once I started applying the makeup with the chisel brush, I was so happy that I had spent the $3 on the ELF flat top one. The chisel brush was awful. The ELF one did a great job with layering on the Pur Minerals. After I'd applied 2-3 layers, I used my BE maximum concealer brush to use the Pur to conceal some reddness I have. I don't use the Pur under my eyes because I think it would be too drying, plus I have really dark circles and need full coverage there. Overall, the light tan is a perfect match for my NC 37 skin and I love the coverage that doesn't feel heavy, at all, on my skin. I did have to use a dab of my Glamoflauge on an eruption I had on my chin. I just put the Pur over it, and was good to go. I would definitely recommend the Pur Minerals foundation if you are in the market for a great mineral makeup with buildable coverage. I only gave this a 4 because of the horrendous chisel brush.

**UPDATE** (8-23-12)
I am adding the fifth lippie, because I decided to give the chisel brush a second chance. After washing the brush and letting it dry, I used it and like it A LOT better than I did initially. It does give more coverage than the ELF brush, but the ELF brush is still softer.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 8/2/2012 2:33:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Oily, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Love this mineral foundation! The coverage is sheer to medium, good for your skin and it matches my Asian, oily with yellow undertones skin, light tan is perfect for me. I tried other mineral foundations - this one works and not messy at all. A little expensive for my budget. However, it lasts a long time. I find that this powder works well with the chisel brush from Pur. It sheds though. I might try the SK synthetic flat top brush when I'm ready to toss my chisel brush.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 7/27/2012 12:55:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Oily, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Fine

Eyes: Brown

ETA: As this product aged, it got really hard to the point it would NOT transfer onto my brush! What a waste! If you're looking for a better mineral foundation, I recommend a Bare Minerals foundation.

I honestly love this mineral foundation. It's lightweight but gives great coverage, and the porcelain shade matches my skin perfectly. I apply this everyday over concealer with the ELF complexion brush and get a flawless finish each time. I find it applies better with this brush than the chisel brush it comes with in the starter kit they sell because it deposits less powder, making it never look cakey like it can when I apply it with the chisel brush. The only reason I didn't give it a 5 is because it does not replace my need for concealer, but I think that's mainly because I have horrible hereditary under eye circles. This also works really well for setting foundation, but you really don't need foundation with this product, unless maybe you were going for stage makeup or something. Either way, this is THE best mineral foundation I've ever tried and I greatly recommend it!


Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I have a lot of issues with powder makeup. I can't wear it over foundation, if I do, I breakout. I can't wear it by itself either, again I break out. For some reason, I don't a have problem with liquid foundation... don't know why...
Until I tried purminerals 4in1 original foundation. The person at shoppers convinced me to try it and I really didn't expect to like it but, I do like it.
This is the only powder that doesn't destroy my skin. I think it might make my skin better but, that might be my imagination.
Anyways, this powder provides coverage as good as any other powder foundation (clinique, mac, covergirl) and it's much better for my skin.
Love it!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 7/15/2012 6:02:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

This powder foundation is super handy. It is my concealer, foundation, powder and SPF in one! Perfect for my oily skin.


on 6/16/2012 5:31:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Sensitive, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

This may contain more natural ingredients, but it may not be suited for sensitive skin. This powder caused breakouts, white-heads, and even redness on my skin. On top of that, the color was very unnatural on my fair skin. It gave me a yellow glow.


on 6/6/2012 8:35:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

Covers nicely, looks natural, good for your skin and stays really well through the day. The ONLY complaint I have is there is very little oil control and I would be super shiny around my nose and forehead by the end of the day. Thats why I only rated it a 4. So I had to buy the Perfectly Natural Everyday Balancing Make Up and when I brush a light bit of that in those oily areas before I use my powder foundation its perfect! So it is costly but i really think its worth it. Way better than BE or Sheer cover i think

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Back to Top