E.L.F. • Essential Eyelid Primer - Sheer • Eye Primer

rated 3.9(795 reviews)

Average Rating.3.9
Would buy this product again.78%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 loopymonkey on 6/17/2014 6:42:00 PM more reviews by loopymonkey

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Other    

I love this. Since finding it it's the only eye primer I will use, I have the pearl one which is great for adding a little sparkle but the sheer one is m holy grail. I've true tons of primers but my shadow will be on lash line after a few hours, this beauty keeps everything in place for the whole day.. Love it.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Kifmaster on 6/8/2014 8:04:00 PM more reviews by Kifmaster

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Tan, Cool   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

I absolutely love this stuff, HG! The packaging could use some work but I don't mind it, you just can't really tell what's left.. For a buck it's deff worth it. I would rate it up there with urban decays primer potion! It's smooth, sheer, applies nice and is just tacky enough for the shadow to stick. Use sparingly because using too much of any product can also cause creasing. Stock up!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 acatcalledbellatrix on 6/8/2014 1:12:00 AM more reviews by acatcalledbellatrix

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I bought this as I needed a sheer eye primer that was thin and didn't crease on my eyes. This works perfectly and does everything it's meant to but it irritated my eyes like crazy.

I used this under some Chi Chi eyeshadows in quite a dramatic peacock eye look for a 21st back in April. I came home that night, removed my eyeshadow, eyeliner, mascara and false eyelashes and was left with red, itchy, scaley, dry eyelids. As I had used so many new products that night, I wasn't sure what had caused it. At first I thought it was the lash glue but after using it again with no reaction that was ruled out. I eventually narrowed it down to this eye primer.

The second time using it made the reaction a lot worse than the first time and it took two weeks to clear up.

It only cost me $3 and I have had no other reaction to any ELF products so I will not rule out the brand from one bad experience.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 lifeinfuschia on 6/7/2014 12:37:00 AM more reviews by lifeinfuschia

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

This is *the* option for your very first eye primer. It's a mere dollar! It's much much better than going without, that's for sure. It gives a sheer wash of color and makes the color stay for about 6 hours before it starts to break down. It's not a miracle worker but it's a good first option. If you love eye shadow, buy urban decay's instead.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* larosedechanel on 6/6/2014 11:42:00 PM more reviews by larosedechanel

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Medium Brown, Warm   Hair: Black, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Like all primers, e.l.f. Essential Eyelid Primer is supposed to prep my lids to make eye shadow longer-lasting & to stop it from creasing. The packaging is like a lip gloss—a tube & a wand with a sponge applicator. I apply it to my eyes with the wand & blend it in with my fingertip; after it dries, I apply eye shadow like normal. Unfortunately, it was average & cheap; it was a classic case of “getting what I paid for.” I didn't love this, but I like it well enough. It would be good for a teenager experimenting with makeup or someone who’s just starting to wear it. (Hey, I was practically 18 before I’d started wearing makeup!) If you’re experienced or have used a good-quality primer, I think you’ll agree that it isn’t the best to use. I honestly have two or three other primers I know I’d grab before this one.

What annoys me the most is I am almost certain it “doesn’t work” because of my skin type. I have oily skin & lids & while this does work for me, it’s only for a little while, & just barely. It’s not the worst product, but I only use it if I have no other options… out of necessity. I have shade Sheer, but on the website I see there are others. They're Champagne, Pearl, & Golden. The primer cost me $1 & I got it from Target.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 xoxomalak on 6/1/2014 10:32:00 PM more reviews by xoxomalak

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Tan   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I get the same outcome with urban decays primer. I have trialed both of them. Urban decays does eventually crease sometimes and so does this. Sometimes I felt like this lasted longer. This doesnt make ur lids matte but does keep shadow from creasing.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* troo12 on 5/14/2014 1:58:00 PM more reviews by troo12

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I don't know what changed but this primer no longer is working for me. It's greasy and just sits on my eyelids. Even if I barely use any, it still creases like crazy.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 anglmill on 5/10/2014 10:30:00 PM more reviews by anglmill

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

This product was pretty worthless for me. Worked slightly better than nothing at all, but at the end of the day I still had shadow build up in my creases. Maybe it works for some people, and I just have especially oily eyelids. I didn't expect much for the price, but was still a little disappointed.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 AsianWonder805 on 5/8/2014 2:41:00 PM more reviews by AsianWonder805

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

This is better than the Urban Decay Primer Potion! The UD one runs for about $20 while this one only runs for $1 & it works even better!! My eyeshadow will stay for 12+ hours & it never creases! I am almost finished with bottle #2 & I will be repurchasing

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 BubblegumKisses on 5/7/2014 6:04:00 PM more reviews by BubblegumKisses

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

All I can say about this product is YEEEESSS. Before buying this, I just tried using concealer as a primer, but it creased horribly. This actually withstands my oily eyelids and keeps my shadows on all day!! I used this primer today when i went to a glassblower studio and my shadows DID NOT BUDGE even next to the heat of 3 furnaces! Just remember that this is a primer, it doesn't claim to make your shadows look more vibrant, although it does help a little with that. For $1, you must! try this if you have not!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More E.L.F. products

More Eye Primer products