E.L.F. • Essential Eyelid Primer - Sheer • Eye Primer

rated 4.0(782 reviews)

Average Rating.4.0
Would buy this product again.78%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 TheHipsterlicious on 4/10/2014 10:18:00 PM more reviews by TheHipsterlicious

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Red   Eyes: Brown    

I love this primer! I can most definitely tell a difference in the lasting power of my shadows when I don't use this. It has sort of an odd smell (reminds me of glue, funnily enough). It is the same color as the tube, but when it goes on it blends in and is clear.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 saddle57 on 4/10/2014 7:38:00 PM more reviews by saddle57

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Very Dry, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Green    

I just purchased the E.L.F. Essential Eyelid Primer in Sheer yesterday. I was very excited to use it, because I read so many great reviews about it. I won't be using it a second time. I have to say it smells horrible, like plastic. The doe foot applicator is alright, and it went on like a dream. My eyeshadow looked really nice when I left the house. It's after I got home from work, that I looked in the mirror and was horrified! It caked, creased, and went into all my lines, nooks and crannies. It was actually flaking off! Maybe it's only good for a few hours. I have very dry skin on my face, and maybe now my lids are dry too. I normally take back any makeup that does not work for me, but since this was only a dollar, it's not worth it. I tossed it in the trash. If it works for you great, because you can't beat the price.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* LittleViolet on 4/5/2014 5:02:00 PM more reviews by LittleViolet

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

Bought this on Drugstore with a 20% off coupon, bringing the total to about $2. I had read that this is a dupe for Urban Decay's eye primer, which I will not to go to work without. I get horrible creases in my shadow if I am not wearing UD, and that is after only a few hours.

I was shocked at how well this worked and how little of it I needed to keep my shadow from traveling all day (even through a nap!). Shocking in the best way--it is only 10% the price of a typical UD, which I would (and have) paid full price for ($22!). Very excited about this discovery.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 madisonhouston9 on 3/24/2014 3:19:00 PM more reviews by madisonhouston9

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

There are certainly pros and cons to this product.
Pros- only $1, a little goes a long way, blendable, finishes into a powder
Cons- only works if you put NYX jumbo eye pencil over it, bad packaging, greasy and oily feel

Overall, I like it and will continue to purchase this product. :)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Shopah0lic21 on 3/23/2014 7:33:00 PM more reviews by Shopah0lic21

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Tan   Hair: Black, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Black    

I actually like this better than the urban decay primer potion?! And for the price, can't beat it. Simple to use,cheap, and effective= winning.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Benyakult on 3/20/2014 9:51:00 PM more reviews by Benyakult

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Tan   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

I smell nothing from this product. It makes an eyeshadow color show off better. But it neither makes the eyeshadow last longer nor prevent them to crease. I think if you don't have an super oily skin like me, this product is great. Because it is soooooooo cheap!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 NinaGrimes29 on 3/18/2014 3:18:00 PM more reviews by NinaGrimes29

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

I think for the price ($1) this product is amazing. I haven't tried any other eyelid primers but in my opinion this primer does pretty decent job: it prevents creasing, makes eyeshadow colors more opaque and also slightly masks little broken capillaries above my eyelid. Overall it's grate primer for the price and great for those who are just starting to use eyeshadows and eyelid primers.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 BriJax01 on 3/13/2014 5:25:00 PM more reviews by BriJax01

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

If you don't have super oily lids this is great!! I get some small creasing, but for $1 it's for sure a go to primer.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 rfoss16 on 3/12/2014 5:25:00 PM more reviews by rfoss16

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I really wanted to like this since the price is so affordable, but it unfortunately made my eyes itchy.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Coraldc on 2/28/2014 9:35:00 PM more reviews by Coraldc

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Great product, but horrible smell!!

PROS:
This is a great eyelid primer - it goes on smoothly, a little goes a long way, and it makes putting on eye makeup easy. It makes eye shadow colours more vibrant (makes them "pop") and helps to keep the eye shadow stay in place and prevent colour depositing in the crease throughout the day. Great price.

CONS:
The smell is minging!!! It smells like synthetic plastic horribleness... it's not a smell I've been able to get used to, and although the product does what it's supposed to the smell has completely put me off using it.

The packaging is very basic, and when trying to get the applicator out of the bottle it sticks at the end, so you have to be a bit forceful to get the end of the wand out of the bottle which causes it to flick product around if you're not careful.

VERDICT:
I will not be repurchasing, I will be spending more money on a better smelling product.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More E.L.F. products

More Eye Primer products