TheBalm • Mary-Lou Manizer • Highlighters

rated 4.6(324 reviews)

Average Rating.4.6
Would buy this product again.87%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 Pamam13 on 3/6/2014 12:18:00 AM more reviews by Pamam13

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

Love, Love, LOVE this! It's perfect. It's extremely pigmented and looks fantastic on top of cheekbones and in the inner corners of your eyes. I love this because it can also be blended out very easily. My HG highlighter!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 zaynaz on 2/18/2014 8:13:00 AM more reviews by zaynaz

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Grey    

I wish I loved this as much as everyone else. I bought it after reading glowing review after glowing review, and it is a shiny gold powder, basically my cat-nip. But I'm just not feeling this.

First of all, as an eyeshadow it's lovely, very frosty, and a bit too much for a brow bone highlight, but as an inner corner dealie, or a lid colour it's gorgeous, finely milled blendable, total win. And I'll never, ever run out.

But I didn't really buy this to use as an eyeshadow, I bought it as a cheek-bone type highlight, and there I'm a bit less in love. It's so metallic, I feel like I overdo it with the slightest dusting and it highlights all the pores near my nose unless I'm super careful about where I put it. It can work, but it's not the effortless, every day product I thought it would be, and it looks like I've highlighted, rather than just naturally being a glowing, soft focus vision.

As a highlight for my cupid's bow or nose it can be nice, though because it is faintly gold it can look a bit artificial if I'm anything less than meticulous about how much I use.

The packaging is sturdy, and the mirror is pretty nice, and big enough to be usable. I don't love theBalm's vintage pin-ups that much, and I think the overall prison theme is kind of tacky, but that's just me and I know other people think it's cute.

In all, I use it for all the things it claims it can do, and I'm sometimes happy with the results, but this always feels like it's waiting to trip me up and transform me from 'subtly glowy' to 'greasy faced drag queen'. I don't regret buying it because it was both cheap and good value but I think the hype might have given me expectations higher than I should have had. When I say I wouldn't re-purchase that's just a 'yeah, probably not' not an 'I'd rather take a bullet to the head than buy more of this'- I don't hate it, I just feel more meh about it than I expected to after buying this site's top rated, five star highlighting powder.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 CassidyAdams18 on 2/17/2014 9:34:00 PM more reviews by CassidyAdams18

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Hazel    

This is the best highlighter I have ever tried, not to mention you can also use this as a beautiful shimmery eyeshadow. It is a light gold, champagne kind of color with a finely milled shimmer. It is a soft, pigmented powder. I use a light fan brush to sweep on a small amount along my cheekbones for a natural glow, and build it up depending the look I want. This can easily be built up for an intense dewy glow or kept light. This is absolutely beautiful and definitely worth the money, but I recommend getting it on Hautelook for around $12 dollars I believe when it comes on sale. I bought it for $30 dollars however with the Betty Loumanizer. The packaging is adorable, though it doesn't feel extremely sturdy so I would make sure not to toss it around too much in a makeup bag. (The powder is soft) I absolutely love and recommend this product! A must have for me whether it's a every day look or a nighttime.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Beautynbullets on 2/15/2014 7:01:00 PM more reviews by Beautynbullets

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

This is one of my top highlighters along with my MAC skinfinishes and my Dior.
My first one cracked and fell out all over, so I purchased another one on Amazon, I can't say how happy I am with this product! It's one of top highlighters in my opinion. It dosen't enlarge my pores or make me look like a disco ball.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Walko on 2/15/2014 5:34:00 PM more reviews by Walko

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Other   Eyes: Brown    

Well , here's another fan of the manizer. I was a bit worried about purchasing this product because at 57 I don't need a shiny face .I needn't have been worried. This is a gorgeous champagne beige highlighter. It's not white which I didn't want either.I use this on the top of my cheekbones over blush and it leaves the most stunning subtle shimmer, not at all overpowering.I was also worried about it showing up the lines near my eyes,but it doesn't . Yes its pigmented but it looks natural.Does not emphasise pores,(but then mine are not obvious anyway), but seriously if you large pores I don't think you'll like this or anything shiny for that matter. I don't like it on cupid's bow,looks too obvious..This has got to be one of the best highlighters available both in performance and value.It's the size of a powder compact,so it will last years! And the packaging is sturdy. you will have to go far to beat this fantastic product. Very impressed and delighted with my purchase!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 2LaSirena on 2/15/2014 2:48:00 PM more reviews by 2LaSirena

Age: 36-43   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

Hmm.. so far this is the best performing highlighter..it stays on..which I can't say that for the rest of the powder highlighters I have tried. Most just disappear. That being said, the color really isn't right for a cool toned, pink skinned, fair complected person like me. I wish they had more of a silver pinkish toned color in this highlighter. It just doesn't really show up that much. I want to get that highlighted definition on the tops of my cheeks...but I really can't see it..and where I do..it's not really that flattering. It does show up better on my cupids bow and around eyes and under eyebrows..but, I was a bit dissapointed. If anyone has recommendations for a silvery, pinker toned highlighter, I would love to hear it. I do think in the summer when I have a tan I might like this more.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 iheartmakeup01 on 2/12/2014 5:42:00 PM more reviews by iheartmakeup01

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Other    

Mary-lou Manizer is such a pretty honey-hued highlighter that gives a very subtle healthy glow to your skin. I tried multiple highlighters and this one is by far my fave of all! I think it worth all the hype and rave reviews out there. The packaging is also very pretty and fun. The price is quite good for the quality you get. This highlighter and the Bahama mama bronzer from the same brand gave my skin the perfect glow. Can't wait to try them this summer with a tan, it will look gorgeous. I would repurchase for sure!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* KatWKSF on 2/11/2014 2:16:00 PM more reviews by KatWKSF

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Brown    

I marked down that I "would" buy this again, so as not to impune this product's current score, because I do feel like it deserves a high score...but in reality, I do not think I would buy this again. As far as highlighters go, this has been the best of the rest, of the many I have tried. Most make my pores look huge, which is weird because I don't even have large pores! Or they have a strange coloration that looks bad on me, like a shadow. Or they are too "sparkly" or too heavy on the skin & break me out. This highlighter is none of those bad things. It has no weight, generally does not make my pores look huge, is SHIMMERY not glowy (has no color), has no glitter, and has no fragrance (that I notice). It is highly pigmented, which kind of shocked me, being that it doesn't look like it would be in the pan. It is SO highly pigmented that I have to use a small very puffy brush to just lightly sweep a small quantity around and under my eye area and near the apples of my cheeks. It is TOO pigmented for me to use anywhere else on my face. Looks silly anywhere else (forehead, chin, cupid's bow). You get a large quantity in the pan, and given the pigmentation level, this should last me forever. The plastic pan is of supercheap construction, so hopefully it will last as long as the product does. I bought mine at Kohl's Department Stores, which I was surprised to see now carries TheBalm. I believe it was $28, which is WAY more than I ever wanted to pay for something like this, but I'm getting married this year, and have been trying to put together a collection of suitable products.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 purplepolkadots on 2/10/2014 4:08:00 PM more reviews by purplepolkadots

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight   Eyes: Blue    

This is very pigmented and gives a very pretty glow. It is now my go to highlighter for brightening up my face when I am opting for a more dramatic makeup look. I was very happy to see it was quite shimmery rather than glittery from the swatches online and I am very happy I purchased it.There is a good bit of product so you are getting more value for your cash compared to other high-end highlighters. I would recommend using a very light hand for the daytime as it really catches the light!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 xxkgg on 2/7/2014 12:16:00 PM more reviews by xxkgg

Age: 19-24   Skin: Other, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I havent written a review in such a long time but i got this product last week and i seriously felt compelled to write this. I LOVEEE this product. It gives the most beautiful glow. It is quite easy to go overboard with this product and you only need to dip ur brush into the slightest bit , but i still think it gives such a pretty look to the face. Highlighting is one of my fav parts of doing my makeup and the Mary Lou manizer makes it THAT much better. I cant say enough good things about it. Love.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More TheBalm products

More Highlighters products