Essie • Chinchilly • Polishes

rated 4.6(133 reviews)

Average Rating.4.6
Would buy this product again.85%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 heyjoni on 7/18/2012 5:55:00 PM more reviews by heyjoni

Age: 25-29   Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Love this gray. In some lighting, it sort of has a lilac tinge to it, but otherwise it's a creamy, mousy gray that can be paired with almost anything clothing-wise. For me, it works all year round, but I suppose it's especially nice for the cold months. Like most of the Essie polishes I've tried, the formula is thin. In this case, three coats brings out the best look, but I find that it builds up nicely, smoothly, and it dries fairly quickly. I'm pleased with the quality and the color is fantastic, but if your budget is tight, I'm sure there's a similar shade for a cheaper price.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 d1d1 on 7/17/2012 12:02:00 AM more reviews by d1d1

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Hazel    

The taupe shade "Chinchilly" is one of my favorites shades for any occasion. It's modern, smart, and unexpected.

I had no trouble with application, it wasn't streaky at all and two coats were enough to achieve the opaque look. It was super easy to clean up any mess around my cuticles and the two coats dried quick. Applied on clean, treated nails it will last up to a week with mild wear.

Love at first sight!! <3

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Melli098 on 7/6/2012 7:33:00 PM more reviews by Melli098

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Relaxed, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

One of my favs from Essie!!! The perfect shade of gray for those with warmer complexions due to its slight lilac/purple undertone....LOVEEEE <3. I prefer pastel or bright colors on my nails but I always opt for this color regardless when I am doing my nails :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 bionicbigjames on 4/24/2012 4:26:00 PM more reviews by bionicbigjames

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I absolutely adore this shade! It is my "go to" shade and I wear it more often than any other nail polish. It is a beautiful grey with lavender/purple and taupe undertones. To me, this is griege done right! My only *small* complaint is that its consistency is quite thin, requiring several coats to achieve the proper results. If you only use one coat, it will look too pale. After the second or third, the outcome is gorgeous! I've deducted one lippie for its thin consistency, but it isn't enough to ever deter me from buying it again. I've already went through several bottles of Chinchilly and plan to purchase many more in the future. Word of advice: give your nails ample time to fully dry, as Essie nail polish doesn't dry as quickly as other brands. This is a good thing, in my opinion, because it allows me to take my time with each nail. I definitely recommend Chinchilly to anyone & everyone! :-)

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 hiy0hiy0 on 4/17/2012 2:09:00 PM more reviews by hiy0hiy0

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This is a Gray with a Taupe untone, I think it's a great Fall/Winter color. I start with a base coat, then 2 coat of polish and finsh off with a top coat to keep my color and for extra shine. Generally, Essie polishes are watery (especially the lighter shades), Chinchilly is thicker in comparsion and doesn't streak. Essie's brush head is smaller compare to OPI. Keep in mind there products aren't "fast-drying" so make sure you give it enough time to dry. A bottle will last me a while and I will repurchase again.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 dawneaoi on 3/11/2012 11:44:00 AM more reviews by dawneaoi

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Blue    

I wanted a gray shade for the winter and picked this up at the local drug store. I love it! It's a really warm almost purplish gray and goes great with everything.

I worried about it being too dark looking since my skin is so white, but actually the warm undertone kept it from looking like I was going through a goth faze.

Anyone who wants a really opaque gray, this is for you!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 kysma03 on 3/1/2012 7:27:00 PM more reviews by kysma03

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Other    

Just discovered this polish at a local CVS and it really is gorgeous. It does require more than a few coats to get a nice even color but it is such a pretty color. A staple!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Chester99 on 2/27/2012 9:13:00 AM more reviews by Chester99

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

Chinchilly is a warm-toned grey creme on me. Warm-toned because it has a brown hint to it on my NW15-20 skin. it applies nicely but usually needs 3 coats for streak-free opacity. Overall it's a nice color that's very suitable to lots of clothing styles and colors.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 uponbluemoon on 1/20/2012 4:13:00 PM more reviews by uponbluemoon

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I find myself reaching for this all the time and have to literally slap my hands away from the bottle. It's an office-friendly griege color that's ultra chic. The application is quite smooth and two coats is opaque enough.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 dauncey07 on 1/9/2012 1:57:00 PM more reviews by dauncey07

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I just love this colour ... It's a staple bottle in my nail polish collection. And have repurchased a few times. It looks fantastic in the winter .. may be a bit too dark for summer for some, but I am more of a grey/brown kind of person when it comes to nail colour, so I wear it year round. I like neutral, so it goes with every thing. Great job Essie!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Essie products

More Polishes products