Essie Chinchilly

4.6

134 reviews

85% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.3

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.3

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS



Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Sensitive, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I have been an Essie fanatic for a long time, and I currently own over 30 colours of theirs. Chinchilly had been on my short list for ages, but I just recently purchased it. This has definitely become one of my favourite shades! The first coat is a little streaky, but the second coat made it completely opaque. It is a slate grey, with the slightest hue of lavender. The formula was not too thick, I had alot of control while applying it!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.



on 7/22/2012 7:01:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

Chic, understated slate grey, with lavender undertones and fabulous shine finish. Medium consistency aids even, fool-proof application. One coat might suffice when you're on the run, but two will deliver a depth of pigment and enhanced finish that lasts for some days. Grown-up and demure.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.


on 7/18/2012 5:55:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

Love this gray. In some lighting, it sort of has a lilac tinge to it, but otherwise it's a creamy, mousy gray that can be paired with almost anything clothing-wise. For me, it works all year round, but I suppose it's especially nice for the cold months. Like most of the Essie polishes I've tried, the formula is thin. In this case, three coats brings out the best look, but I find that it builds up nicely, smoothly, and it dries fairly quickly. I'm pleased with the quality and the color is fantastic, but if your budget is tight, I'm sure there's a similar shade for a cheaper price.


on 7/17/2012 12:02:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Hazel

The taupe shade "Chinchilly" is one of my favorites shades for any occasion. It's modern, smart, and unexpected.

I had no trouble with application, it wasn't streaky at all and two coats were enough to achieve the opaque look. It was super easy to clean up any mess around my cuticles and the two coats dried quick. Applied on clean, treated nails it will last up to a week with mild wear.

Love at first sight!! <3

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 7/6/2012 7:33:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Relaxed, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

One of my favs from Essie!!! The perfect shade of gray for those with warmer complexions due to its slight lilac/purple undertone....LOVEEEE <3. I prefer pastel or bright colors on my nails but I always opt for this color regardless when I am doing my nails :)


Age: 30-35

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Blue

I absolutely adore this shade! It is my "go to" shade and I wear it more often than any other nail polish. It is a beautiful grey with lavender/purple and taupe undertones. To me, this is griege done right! My only *small* complaint is that its consistency is quite thin, requiring several coats to achieve the proper results. If you only use one coat, it will look too pale. After the second or third, the outcome is gorgeous! I've deducted one lippie for its thin consistency, but it isn't enough to ever deter me from buying it again. I've already went through several bottles of Chinchilly and plan to purchase many more in the future. Word of advice: give your nails ample time to fully dry, as Essie nail polish doesn't dry as quickly as other brands. This is a good thing, in my opinion, because it allows me to take my time with each nail. I definitely recommend Chinchilly to anyone & everyone! :-)

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 4/17/2012 2:09:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

This is a Gray with a Taupe untone, I think it's a great Fall/Winter color. I start with a base coat, then 2 coat of polish and finsh off with a top coat to keep my color and for extra shine. Generally, Essie polishes are watery (especially the lighter shades), Chinchilly is thicker in comparsion and doesn't streak. Essie's brush head is smaller compare to OPI. Keep in mind there products aren't "fast-drying" so make sure you give it enough time to dry. A bottle will last me a while and I will repurchase again.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 3/11/2012 11:44:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I wanted a gray shade for the winter and picked this up at the local drug store. I love it! It's a really warm almost purplish gray and goes great with everything.

I worried about it being too dark looking since my skin is so white, but actually the warm undertone kept it from looking like I was going through a goth faze.

Anyone who wants a really opaque gray, this is for you!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.


on 3/1/2012 7:27:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

Just discovered this polish at a local CVS and it really is gorgeous. It does require more than a few coats to get a nice even color but it is such a pretty color. A staple!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 2/27/2012 9:13:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Green

Chinchilly is a warm-toned grey creme on me. Warm-toned because it has a brown hint to it on my NW15-20 skin. it applies nicely but usually needs 3 coats for streak-free opacity. Overall it's a nice color that's very suitable to lots of clothing styles and colors.




Top Rated Essie Products

image

A-List

29 reviews
image

Lady Like

64 reviews
image

Watermelon

48 reviews
image

Chinchilly

134 reviews
Back to Top