Essie • Chinchilly • Polishes

rated 4.6(129 reviews)

Average Rating.4.6
Would buy this product again.85%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 hiy0hiy0 on 4/17/2012 2:09:00 PM more reviews by hiy0hiy0

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This is a Gray with a Taupe untone, I think it's a great Fall/Winter color. I start with a base coat, then 2 coat of polish and finsh off with a top coat to keep my color and for extra shine. Generally, Essie polishes are watery (especially the lighter shades), Chinchilly is thicker in comparsion and doesn't streak. Essie's brush head is smaller compare to OPI. Keep in mind there products aren't "fast-drying" so make sure you give it enough time to dry. A bottle will last me a while and I will repurchase again.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 dawneaoi on 3/11/2012 11:44:00 AM more reviews by dawneaoi

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Blue    

I wanted a gray shade for the winter and picked this up at the local drug store. I love it! It's a really warm almost purplish gray and goes great with everything.

I worried about it being too dark looking since my skin is so white, but actually the warm undertone kept it from looking like I was going through a goth faze.

Anyone who wants a really opaque gray, this is for you!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 kysma03 on 3/1/2012 7:27:00 PM more reviews by kysma03

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Other    

Just discovered this polish at a local CVS and it really is gorgeous. It does require more than a few coats to get a nice even color but it is such a pretty color. A staple!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Chester99 on 2/27/2012 9:13:00 AM more reviews by Chester99

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

Chinchilly is a warm-toned grey creme on me. Warm-toned because it has a brown hint to it on my NW15-20 skin. it applies nicely but usually needs 3 coats for streak-free opacity. Overall it's a nice color that's very suitable to lots of clothing styles and colors.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 uponbluemoon on 1/20/2012 4:13:00 PM more reviews by uponbluemoon

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I find myself reaching for this all the time and have to literally slap my hands away from the bottle. It's an office-friendly griege color that's ultra chic. The application is quite smooth and two coats is opaque enough.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 dauncey07 on 1/9/2012 1:57:00 PM more reviews by dauncey07

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I just love this colour ... It's a staple bottle in my nail polish collection. And have repurchased a few times. It looks fantastic in the winter .. may be a bit too dark for summer for some, but I am more of a grey/brown kind of person when it comes to nail colour, so I wear it year round. I like neutral, so it goes with every thing. Great job Essie!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Allyxx on 1/1/2012 7:11:00 AM more reviews by Allyxx

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I adore this colour! Its such a gorgeous taupe/grey and it looks classy without being too boring or too over the top. Perfect shade for my Nc25 skintone. Get loads of compliments on it

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 kerrismile87 on 11/12/2011 11:15:00 PM more reviews by kerrismile87

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Olive, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

My favorite shade for fall! It's a muted purple/gray and I like it because it's a fall color, but I don't like to wear dark fall colors considering they stain my cuticles. This is such a pretty color on any skin tone (I'm NC35) and it's a cream finish which I look for in most polishes. I'm wearing it right now, and I love the name too!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 sjmuns on 11/9/2011 3:09:00 PM more reviews by sjmuns

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

My all-time favorite nail polish! Creamy, neutral yet a little sexy, versatile, opaque at 2 coats, long wearing. Personally I like Essie's small brush, I have really small hands & nails. Perfection.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* ashleyanders on 11/2/2011 12:53:00 AM more reviews by ashleyanders

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

*This is primarily a first-impressions review, which I will edit once I've used the polish for a longer period of time.


What it Claims:
"A sleek granite gray. DBP, Toluene and Formaldehyde free. For best results first apply a base coat to clean, bare nails. Then apply 2-3 coats of colored polish (depending on its consistency and thickness). For long lasting wear finish with a top coat."


Packaging:
Very aesthetically pleasing. Simple design consisting of a clear glass container, an embossed logo on the sides, and a sticker with the name of the polish on the top of the brush cap. There is no real information about the polish or brand, which can be seen as a downside to buyers; there is no sticker disclosing ingredients. The cap is easy to twist on and off, although the shape and size of the bottle makes cap removal a bit awkward for me. The brush is longer, thin and rounded, and does not spread/separate that much on the nail - this can be a bit annoying on wider nails.


Consistency:
I personally find this formula to be on the thinner, runnier side. I was able to get a completely opaque finish with three coats, so it's still one of the thicker formulas for the brand, but doesn't not feel thick on the nails. I didn't get any real flooding issues into the cuticles, and I didn't really notice any initial streakiness, even with the first thinner coat. Not a super fast-drying polish, but dried quick enough - maybe 3-5 minutes. A completely creamy shade without any sparkle or shimmer. Creates a nice shiny finish, but not over-the-top, which I prefer. It definitely has a warmer undertone to it against my skin tone, kind of a taupey dark grey. I'm not sure how this would work against cooler skin tones, but since it is a neutral it's probably worth checking out, as it may pull cooler against cooler skin tones versus warmer on warmer skin tones.


Wear time:
I only wore it for a few days, but after those few days I saw some minor wear and one chip (although the chip might have actually been the nail itself, not the polish).


Bang for your Buck:
13.5ml or 0.46 oz at $11.00CAD at Shoppers Drug Mart. Definitely pricey, especially for such a small amount of polish. I do see this shade as being dupe-able, but the formula is quite nice, so I do feel like the price was worth it.


Final Consensus:
With initial application, I really like this shade. It's a nice fall shade, but doesn't feel completely gloomy. It works nice as a dark neutral, it can work well for casual or dressy attire, and overall it just seems quite versatile. Based on finish and formula, I'd repurchase; it is, however, a dupe-able colour (as greys are not uncommon among brands), so if the price seems too steep then hold off and check out cheaper/higher quantity brands.
- Pros: nice packaging, beautiful colour and finish, no visible streaking, dries nicely, easy to apply.
- Cons: Pricey for a drug-store brand, brush can be a bit small, takes 3 coats for opacity


Overall Rating: 4.5/5
Price: 2/5
Packaging Quality: 4/5
Would you buy this product again: Yes.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Essie products

More Polishes products