Essie • Chinchilly • Polishes

rated 4.6(128 reviews)

Average Rating.4.6
Would buy this product again.85%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 5 of 5 dawneaoi on 3/11/2012 11:44:00 AM more reviews by dawneaoi

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Blue    

I wanted a gray shade for the winter and picked this up at the local drug store. I love it! It's a really warm almost purplish gray and goes great with everything.

I worried about it being too dark looking since my skin is so white, but actually the warm undertone kept it from looking like I was going through a goth faze.

Anyone who wants a really opaque gray, this is for you!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 kysma03 on 3/1/2012 7:27:00 PM more reviews by kysma03

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Other    

Just discovered this polish at a local CVS and it really is gorgeous. It does require more than a few coats to get a nice even color but it is such a pretty color. A staple!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Chester99 on 2/27/2012 9:13:00 AM more reviews by Chester99

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

Chinchilly is a warm-toned grey creme on me. Warm-toned because it has a brown hint to it on my NW15-20 skin. it applies nicely but usually needs 3 coats for streak-free opacity. Overall it's a nice color that's very suitable to lots of clothing styles and colors.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 uponbluemoon on 1/20/2012 4:13:00 PM more reviews by uponbluemoon

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I find myself reaching for this all the time and have to literally slap my hands away from the bottle. It's an office-friendly griege color that's ultra chic. The application is quite smooth and two coats is opaque enough.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 dauncey07 on 1/9/2012 1:57:00 PM more reviews by dauncey07

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I just love this colour ... It's a staple bottle in my nail polish collection. And have repurchased a few times. It looks fantastic in the winter .. may be a bit too dark for summer for some, but I am more of a grey/brown kind of person when it comes to nail colour, so I wear it year round. I like neutral, so it goes with every thing. Great job Essie!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Allyxx on 1/1/2012 7:11:00 AM more reviews by Allyxx

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I adore this colour! Its such a gorgeous taupe/grey and it looks classy without being too boring or too over the top. Perfect shade for my Nc25 skintone. Get loads of compliments on it

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 kerrismile87 on 11/12/2011 11:15:00 PM more reviews by kerrismile87

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Olive, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

My favorite shade for fall! It's a muted purple/gray and I like it because it's a fall color, but I don't like to wear dark fall colors considering they stain my cuticles. This is such a pretty color on any skin tone (I'm NC35) and it's a cream finish which I look for in most polishes. I'm wearing it right now, and I love the name too!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 sjmuns on 11/9/2011 3:09:00 PM more reviews by sjmuns

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

My all-time favorite nail polish! Creamy, neutral yet a little sexy, versatile, opaque at 2 coats, long wearing. Personally I like Essie's small brush, I have really small hands & nails. Perfection.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* ashleyanders on 11/2/2011 12:53:00 AM more reviews by ashleyanders

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Curly   Eyes: Blue    

*This is primarily a first-impressions review, which I will edit once I've used the polish for a longer period of time.


What it Claims:
"A sleek granite gray. DBP, Toluene and Formaldehyde free. For best results first apply a base coat to clean, bare nails. Then apply 2-3 coats of colored polish (depending on its consistency and thickness). For long lasting wear finish with a top coat."


Packaging:
Very aesthetically pleasing. Simple design consisting of a clear glass container, an embossed logo on the sides, and a sticker with the name of the polish on the top of the brush cap. There is no real information about the polish or brand, which can be seen as a downside to buyers; there is no sticker disclosing ingredients. The cap is easy to twist on and off, although the shape and size of the bottle makes cap removal a bit awkward for me. The brush is longer, thin and rounded, and does not spread/separate that much on the nail - this can be a bit annoying on wider nails.


Consistency:
I personally find this formula to be on the thinner, runnier side. I was able to get a completely opaque finish with three coats, so it's still one of the thicker formulas for the brand, but doesn't not feel thick on the nails. I didn't get any real flooding issues into the cuticles, and I didn't really notice any initial streakiness, even with the first thinner coat. Not a super fast-drying polish, but dried quick enough - maybe 3-5 minutes. A completely creamy shade without any sparkle or shimmer. Creates a nice shiny finish, but not over-the-top, which I prefer. It definitely has a warmer undertone to it against my skin tone, kind of a taupey dark grey. I'm not sure how this would work against cooler skin tones, but since it is a neutral it's probably worth checking out, as it may pull cooler against cooler skin tones versus warmer on warmer skin tones.


Wear time:
I only wore it for a few days, but after those few days I saw some minor wear and one chip (although the chip might have actually been the nail itself, not the polish).


Bang for your Buck:
13.5ml or 0.46 oz at $11.00CAD at Shoppers Drug Mart. Definitely pricey, especially for such a small amount of polish. I do see this shade as being dupe-able, but the formula is quite nice, so I do feel like the price was worth it.


Final Consensus:
With initial application, I really like this shade. It's a nice fall shade, but doesn't feel completely gloomy. It works nice as a dark neutral, it can work well for casual or dressy attire, and overall it just seems quite versatile. Based on finish and formula, I'd repurchase; it is, however, a dupe-able colour (as greys are not uncommon among brands), so if the price seems too steep then hold off and check out cheaper/higher quantity brands.
- Pros: nice packaging, beautiful colour and finish, no visible streaking, dries nicely, easy to apply.
- Cons: Pricey for a drug-store brand, brush can be a bit small, takes 3 coats for opacity


Overall Rating: 4.5/5
Price: 2/5
Packaging Quality: 4/5
Would you buy this product again: Yes.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* pinkfrost52 on 10/25/2011 4:48:00 PM more reviews by pinkfrost52

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I love grey earthy shades of polish and 'Chinchilly' is a good example of that. This is a cool toned medium grey with a slight hint of taupe. It's very chic and would flatter many skintones. The formula is a little thicker than usual. I used two thin coats and it was opaque.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Essie products

More Polishes products