St. Moriz Self Tanner Mousse

4.1

148 reviews

84% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.9

Price: $$

Package Quality: 3.9

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS

Aqua (Water), Dihydroxyacetone, Propylene Glycol, Ethoxydiglycol, Polysorbate 20, Cocamidopropyl Betaine, Parfun (Fragrance), Citric Acid, 2-Bromo-2-Nitropropane-1, 3-Diol, Coumarin, Citronellol, Alpha-isomethyl Ionone, Butylphenyl Methylpropional, Eugenol, CI 16035 (Red40), CI 19140 (Yellow 5), CI 42090 (Blue 1)


Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I got a mild to moderate tangoing. It's not awful, but you can tell its fake. Some people like that look, but I don't. I feel a bit self conscious now and had to cover up my orange elbows and knees with foundation. The price is very good, but I'd rather spend extra for something that doesn't make me look like I spent a vain hour or two slathering on fake tan. Even though I have.



on 7/1/2013 1:08:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Medium

Eyes: Brown

Shake and apply. Had a greenish tint when applying. But turned out golden brown and compared to other self tanners this dries fast and goes on smoother. I'm using dark and have pretty light skin- one application and I can wear shorts without feeling ghostly. Nice and golden. So far one if my fav tanners, and I've tried a bunch.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 6/13/2013 6:15:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I love this tan it's nice and dark and makes you look like you have had a week in the sun the only downside to it is it really sticks to your neck , knees and feet if you apply it too often there fire you need to scrub regularly throughout the week to avoid build up. Other than that I think this is as good as the more expensive brands. Wish they would bring out a face tanner as well :)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 6/4/2013 10:27:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Curly, Fine

Eyes: Blue

So a little back story. I grew up all my life in sunny California and just moved to Europe (The Netherlands) last year. I knew I would have to sacrifice my sunny days and mild winters but I wasn't really prepared for what a north-western European winter was gonna be like. Winter pretty much lasted from November-April. It's June now and the temp won't go higher than 65 degrees. Needless to say, it was extremely rough on me. I was as pale as I had ever seen myself and it just didn't look healthy. I had tried fake tanners back in high school 10 years ago and the experiences were never very good. No matter what I did, it always came out blotchy and the smell was overwhelming.
So in my desperation, I started watching youtube videos and reading up on what decent self tanners are on the market now. I was shocked when I saw so many rave reviews because the price is so low compared to St. Tropez/Xen-Tan/Fake Bake. I ended up buying the St. Moriz Mousse in Dark and the mitt. It was extremely easy to apply. You can clearly see any spots you missed and it dries so fast. The smell was the typical biscuit tan smell but it wasn't overwhelming. I applied it after showering and moisturizing and then let it develop overnight. When I washed it off the next morning, I was so in love with my skin again! It was beautifully bronzed. No streaks, no patchy spots. My tan lasted for about 4 days before it started fading which I think is pretty good for the price I paid. Only con is that after 2 days, my skin feels a bit dry and itchy even after moisturizing. The product also tends to cling to the skin around the elbows and knees and after day 5 when you think the tan is gone, it's still on your elbows.This product is great if you have an event coming up and need a good tan overnight.

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.


on 5/5/2013 12:18:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Curly, Coarse

Eyes: Green

Bought this and the mitt from wilko for only 3 each (BARGAIN!) did the usual steps, exfoliate the night before and moisturize, however I used the St. Tropez exfoliator (the best and my favorite).
Application goes on well with the mitt and isn't really sticky like others, just make sure you shake the bottle well, however it is VERY dark when it first goes on. After your first shower it fades a tiny bit and looks very natural, like a holiday tan. I used medium as I am mixed race and am quite tanned already. I usually use St.Tropez or Su-Do tanning and to be honest, this gave similar results as these them. I highly recommend and will be purchasing again!


on 4/27/2013 9:31:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Love this tanner! I am quite a pale asian (nc15-20) naturally, can't tan so I am quite self conscious of my pale body. I have tried many other tanners in the past, dove, numerous garniers, and numerous others. However, this one never fails me. It is very easy to apply (wear gloves and use a bed sock) and feels like butter on the skin. The colour is a Very natural olive brown, depending on how much ou layer. (i have mine in dark) For the price of 8 AUD on feel unique, I will be purchasing it again and again.


on 4/23/2013 1:03:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Green

I bought this on Amazon, I think it shipped from the UK, cheap price pack of 2. It was hailed in the reviews as an amazing St. Tropez knock-off, and even though I'm a fair chic and have longed to find the perfect self tanner, I was not going to pay St. Tropez price. So, St. Moriz I ordered. It is everything I hoped it would be! I apply with a tan mitt, looks so real and no orange, no streaks makes me happy happy!


Age: 25-29

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I don't understand the people who are complaining about this product washing off. I'm not sure the understand the concept of this fake tanner.

St Moriz is best applied with a mitt before bed. Pump some foam straight onto your mitt and apply directly to the skin. To do my hands, face and feet, I just use the residue left on the mitt when I have finished doing my body, preventing them looking too dark.

This product goes on DARK. VERY dark, and will make your skin look quite greasy if you use it on your face, so i wouldn't want to apply it through the day and go to work in it! But worry not, if you go to bed in it, sleep, and shower in the morning, you will be left with a beautiful golden tan underneath.

This is great applied the evening before a night out, but as other users have said it does wear off pretty quickly and goes patchy after 1 or 2 showers, so it is important to exfoliate every other day when wearing this. I scrub my body with exfoliating gloves to prevent the colour "gathering" in areas.

Because the tan goes on coloured, you can see if you have missed any areas, and believe me, if you do miss somewhere on accident, that area will be noticibly whiter the next day!

Pros of this product:

Cheap as chips
Readily available from the supermarket
Leaves an even, golden tan
Can be used on the face
Comes in different shades (i am fair and still use medium or dark)
You can see where you have applied it

Cons:

Will stain your pyjamas/bed sheets
Looks "wet" and shiney when first applied
Can make the skin feel tacky for a while after application
Wears off patchy and quickly

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


on 4/21/2013 1:09:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I would love to review this product as its one of the best self tanners I have ever used. Im trying to understand what other women are saying about it coming off in the shower completely... I believe that when I self tanned yesterday with this product if anything after showering it made my tan look even and a stunning colour. None of it came off.

After showering I guess it makes the tan look more natural.. not so dark like how it is when you first apply. (which some are probably annoyed by) But overall, second day of being tanned with this product and it looks better than the first day. Its not orange.. I did stuff up on my elbows and my feet but thats always me..

Product is great, not orange, Does stay put for a few days strongly and would recommend!


on 4/8/2013 9:55:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

I have been using SunLabs Tanning lotion for a few years and LOVE it. It is pricey (averaging $23 a bottle) so I've been looking for alternatives. I ordered this product with really high hopes after reading all the raving reviews on several different websites. I thought I'd give St.Moriz a shot because its so cheap.. But I am regretting that decision! If i've learned one thing it is that some things are worth the money!
I would consider myself very skilled at the application of self tanners. I ordered the mitt to go with the mousse which DID make it easier. However the next day when i woke up, I still had so many blotchy areas on my legs, I had to wear pants. It was terrible. I cant imagine what this tan would look like if someone didn't use the mit. Furthermore, the next night when I took a shower I suds up like normal,(did not exfoliate) and when I got out of the shower, my tan WAS GONE. 99% had washed off. I was left with patches of slightly tanner skin. I couldn't believe it.
It takes time too apply it evenly, takes time to develop, and then washes off right away.
Very disappointed. I will try my luck with the St.Moriz Lotion instead of the Mousse. Unfortunately I would not recommend this to a friend.

Overall

PROS:
You can see where you're applying it

CONS:
Not blend-able.
Clings to knuckles and other joints more than normal.
Is drying.
Washes right off in the shower.
Would only look decent if applied with a mitt.
Dries too fast to work with.
Is rather "orange" on tops of feet and wrists.




Back to Top