Clarisonic • Mia • Misc Beauty Tools

rated 4.3(990 reviews)

Average Rating.4.3
Would buy this product again.80%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 Belle144 on 3/29/2014 6:04:00 PM more reviews by Belle144

Age: 44-55   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I could not live without this product as it has done wonders for my skin. I do not use it everyday as I did at first, as it made my face dry and sore.
I use this as part of my once a week beauty regime where I steam my face, apply a scrub and then use the Clarisonic. I then apply moisturiser and my skin looks smooth and the wrinkles are definitely smoother!
I used to suffer from acne, which has now gone and I believe the Clarisonic had something to do with that. Also red marks I used to have on my skin can hardly be seen now.
Unfortunately I still have blackheads on my nose though.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 oneseatapart on 3/27/2014 3:09:00 AM more reviews by oneseatapart

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I bought the Clarisonic Mia because of my hyperpigmentation and generally dull looking skin. I do not get acne and don't get many pimples, despite having quite an oily t-section.
After trying the Clarisonic for a couple of weeks I thought it was great and my skin felt soft and my open pores on my nose and chin appeared to look smaller.
Then... I started get pimples. Not just one or two but about 10 or more. I thought this is just the 'purging' stage everyone talks about so I kept using for weeks more (1-2 times a day and very softly as recommended). I thought it would eventually clear up after a while but it didn't. I had pimples in places I've never had pimples before and I had several blackheads on my cheeks and around my nose, lips, chin. It was absolutely horrible, especially because I'm not a pimple/blackhead person usually. I stopped using immediately.

It's now taken about 6 weeks to get my skin back to how it was before. Thank goodness!

I guess if you already have clean and clear skin, it might make it worse. If you have problematic skin and are yet to find a solution, you never know it might work for you.... But not for me..

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 spikefive on 3/26/2014 3:28:00 PM more reviews by spikefive

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Medium   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Im a guy and have very oily skin, but its condition is good. No blemishes or acne.
I bought the clarisonic hoping it would make my skin produce less oil and make my pores appear smaller.
I didn't notice huge difference in those concerns, but my other products sank in much better and my face was perfectly clean and soft every day. This is not an exfoliator, this is just avery goos skin ckeansing system. For now Im using the sensitive brush head and am satisfied, but I may try the deep pore one aswell. One more thing - the purging time does exist, upon first use I got one big spot on my face and thought that this does nothing, but I used it anyway. That period lasted about a week ( horrible week), but now my skin is claer as never before and I am happy I inveted in this!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Endit on 3/23/2014 5:22:00 PM more reviews by Endit

Age: 19-24   Skin: Other, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I had two other sonic cleansing devices before the Mia. They both worked well, but then broke. I didn't want to get burned again, so this time I just stepped up to the "real thing" even though it cost more. I managed to get it for almost $90.

PROS: I wasn't using any devices for a while, so when I did introduce the Mia, I immediate noticed that extra smoothness I was missing.

CONS: That smoother than natural feeling just... stopped. It's like it plateaued or something. I feel like it doesn't really do much for my skin now. The charges didn't hold well at all either. I hooked it up to charge and like 10+ hours later it was still going! I thought maybe the light wasn't supposed to change so I just started using it. It seemed to want to be recharged a lot after that point, so I then let it go for like 16-24 hours and now it doesn't need it as often. I also have some persistant acne right now and this has done NOTHING for it. Zero. Finally, I also don't find it working well with foaming cleansers. They aren't designed for it, but I remember my Sirius skinsonic being a lot better in this area.

OVERALL: I'm rating this a 3 because honestly it's not as great as the hype. The knockoffs I had worked just as well; what you're really paying for is reliablity and brush choices by going Clarisonic. I stop when the timer tells me, which doesn't seem that long for cleansing either. It may be just not enough for me. I'm a guy and we're supposed to have thicker skin. I'm using the sensitive brush that's included (which feels somewhat sensitive and somewhat not sensitive) but I will bump up to a "harsher"/different one as an experiment when I need to replace it. And if my Mia also breaks, I won't buy another one, I'll get a Foreo Luna instead. I learned of Foreoshortly after getting my Mia, and while more expensive, it has a longer battery, no brushes to replace, and on the higher end model, more speeds and a sonic infusion mode. I think that Clarisonic has been around a while and are not so innovative anymore.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Becky565 on 3/19/2014 8:50:00 PM more reviews by Becky565

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

I've always suffered from acne prone and oily skin. I knew this was simply down to hormones yet no matter what I tried (medication from the doctor, contraceptive pill and cleansing etc) my acne would not go away. I found out about the Clarisonic online and always wanted to buy one after hearing good reviews yet was put off by the price. After growing sick and tired of my acne I decided to give the Clarisonic a go despite the price.

I heard about something called a 'purging phase' which worried me as I couldn't face my acne getting any worse yet some people said it was basically a load of rubbish and didn't exist. After a couple of weeks using the Clarisonic my skin broke out so much! I was gutted my acne became worse and I even considered stopping using the Clarisonic.

However, I decided to continue and now I've been using it for three months. It took as long as 2 months for me to notice an improvement in my skin but It was so worth the initial purging stage and the cost of the item. I haven't had spots in weeks! I only have a few marks from my acne but the Clarisonic is even fading them gradually. I've never felt so good about my skin, it looks brighter, it's smoother and I don't get spots anymore PLUS my skin is no longer oily and my face does not look greasy halfway through the day when I wear foundation. The only thing I would say about the item is don't use it as much as the manual recommends. My face got really dry when I used it too frequently so I try to use it 5 times a week now.

I would thoroughly recommend this product to anyone who would like to improve their skin. I think it's a great product and is worth the investment :)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Kitten27 on 3/13/2014 10:27:00 AM more reviews by Kitten27

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I have been using this in morning for a few days now and my skin feels so much smoother. It also help calm down the flaky patches all over my face and it's very gentle. My skin also appears a little brighter and it is less abrasive than using a scrub.

I do wish this came with a stand and that it vibrated every 20 seconds like the other models.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Nicole46 on 3/11/2014 12:04:00 AM more reviews by Nicole46

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

I love this cleaner so much, the only problem I had is the company said that you could use it twice a day and I found out the hard way that most people shouldn't/cant(including me). I use this 3-4 times a week because even though it is a gentle exfoliator it still exfoliates and you should only exfoliate your face 1-2 times a week. So, because this is more gentle than an actual exfoliator I use it a little more than I would a regular exfoliator. I can honestly say that besides the bad information the company gives the overall cleaner is great. it truly does make my creams and cleansers go in so much better and as a result work better too. My redness and a lot of my acne had completely gone away, not to mention my face feels like velvet. Its charge lasts really long and even though the price is a little high I have found that its worth every penny. I would recommend this to anyone who has any type of skin problems and even for people just looking for a good face cleaner. just make sure not to use it too often or more than likely it will break you out and cause problems for you/your skin.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 mccafferty on 3/10/2014 5:11:00 AM more reviews by mccafferty

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

I bought into this clarisonic craze based on the good reviews here. But after trying for two months, I can see no noticeable difference to my skin. Before clarisonic, I had always cleaned my skin thoroughly anyway - if I've worn make up that day, then cleansing oil (DHC is my favorite) followed by a mild cleansing milk (avene at the moment,but there are plenty of good ones out there), if not, then cleansing milk on its own. My skin is in good condition. I bought this to see whether the supersonic technology will do anything magical that's beyond what my hands can ever achieve. The answer is no. Here's my conclusion: first, if you've spent enough time to message your skin with a quality cleanser and rinse thoroughly afterwards, there is no extra need for a "high tech" machine. Plus, when done properly, daily gentle message is so good for your skin, why would you want to skip this step? Second, you need to be really careful to keep the brush clean so that it won't become a hot bed for bacteria. If you have this time to spare, why not spend it on your face rather than on this gadget? I definitely won't be buying this again. Total waste of money. If you think your skin is not clean enough, my advice is to buy a good quality cleanser, and learn proper cleaning and messaging technique. (By the way, the cleansing gel that comes in the package feels incredibly cheap quality.)

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 charmaineloves on 3/8/2014 6:12:00 PM more reviews by charmaineloves

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Red, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I have acne prone skin, and this didn't help much with my acne, but I'm still giving this four stars. My acne is caused by hormonal problems, so using a skin care brush won't help with that, however it does keep makeup and dirt out of my skin, so that's a good thing. I feel an obligation to use this every night in order to keep my skin as clean as possible. I replace my brush head every three to fours month and please remember this is ESSENTIAL to make keep your brush heads clean and bacteria free. Although this is not a miracle worker, it does its job and I see no reason to stop using it even though it didn't clear my skin up after one year's use. I like it and will repurchase it if I lose it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 yellowease on 3/7/2014 3:03:00 PM more reviews by yellowease

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I hate to be the odd man out but I was not impressed by the clarisonic Mia. I gave it an honest try for around 6 months, but it neither helped nor hurt my skin. That being said, my skin is generally very cooperative but within the past year I've been experiencing more break outs. They initially started as flesh-colored bumps in the eyebrow region. Thus, I decided it was the ideal time to try out the clarisonic mia. So I did, in August. First couple weeks I experienced no purging which was a relief but my eye brow region became more irritable. Again, I decided to give my clarisonic the benefit of the doubt. I switched up my cleansers from my Cetaphil to Philosophy in hopes that there would be those "wow" results everyone's been raving about.
I also noticed that if I stopped using the Clarisonic my face would begin to break out. I weaned myself off finally after a month of not using it and my skin is finally returning to normal.

I'm torn about the Clarisonic. I don't wear make up so my face doesn't need to be excessively cleaned. It is also pricey to maintain the integrity of the brush and the overall device itself. Too me, it was more of a hassle than it was a lifesaver.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Clarisonic products

More Misc Beauty Tools products