E.L.F. • Mineral Eyeshadow Primer • Eye Primer

rated 4.1(320 reviews)

Average Rating.4.1
Would buy this product again.77%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 oogg on 12/19/2012 12:09:00 PM more reviews by oogg

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Kinky, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

at first i used to switch between elf's eyelid primer and urban decay's depending on how much i ll spend and the type of occasions i m about to attend then i was looking up the internet when i read the amazing reviews and that it is full of healthy vitamines so i gave it a go and WOW....here is why:
very light weight
easily blendable
though sheer helps to cover discoloration arround my eyes
as good as UD in holding the shadow in place
cheap dirt
my only prblem is that i never found that one primer that keeps my shadow fresh not just there after 8 hours of hard work but so far this is one of the best.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* andToto2 on 12/13/2012 8:43:00 AM more reviews by andToto2

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Grey    

Ouch. Burn. Ick. Not in that order. First of all, I think it is quite a watery product. Too thin. Second, I applied it, and when I then went to put eyeshadow on, the primer itself was creased. I had put a thin layer on, just as I do with Urban Decay, for instance. But the burning. Oh my, did it hurt. I thought it would let up, so I applied the rest of my eye makeup. But it got worse. I had to take off my makeup and start over.

I won't give a really bad rating to a product that I have a reaction to. I realize that any product, no matter the quality, can cause a reaction in a certain number of people. But the consistency and the fact that it creased as quick as I put it on, well, that did it for me. The burning and pain were just the icing on the cake.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 dawny0826 on 11/24/2012 4:09:00 PM more reviews by dawny0826

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Red, Kinky, Coarse   Eyes: Green    

I purchased this product during a sale on the E.L.F. website and I will comment that I think in terms of price - this is a very affordable product.

I purchased it for less than $3.00.

Packaging - I'm not a fan of primers that come with wands. The packaging is nude colored, so you can't tell how much product is left in the tube.

Overall, I think you get a better value with primers that come in tubes or jars.

I don't like the consistency of the primer, personally, but, shadows are longer lasting when I use this primer as opposed to wearing shadows without the primer. It works, I just don't find it comparable in quality to Urban Decay primer potion or Too Faced Shadow insurance.

If one is looking for a less expensive primer, L'Oreal Shadow Insurance is a great one, although, that too comes with an applicator, but, you can see how my much product is left and I do find it of better quality, which, in my opinion, justifies the additional price.

Hands down, i think that Urban Decay and Too Faced make better primer products and I'm inclined to pay more, as a little goes a long way and quality surpasses that of of some of the less expensive primers.

This is just my opinion, of course. If you're looking for something affordable that works, without bells and whistles...this product may suffice.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Ancatje on 11/22/2012 10:06:00 AM more reviews by Ancatje

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Relaxed, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I used to swear by Too Faced Shadow Insurance, but this works just as well, if not better, for a fraction of the price!
I have very oily hooded eyelids, so that everything and anything smudges and creases on me.
This primer prevents that for hours on end - definitely through a work day or night out. I have tried it for a full 12-16 hour day a few times, but I did get some creasing by the end of the day then.
It is nude and matches my skintone perfectly, goes on smooth and matte (and feels less siliconey than other primers that I've tried), sets quickly and grabs shadows very well but still allows you to blend them fine.
The applicator tip wears out after a while but who cares, you can still get the product out just fine!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* leoisillon on 11/3/2012 4:08:00 PM more reviews by leoisillon

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Olive, Neutral   Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Black    

Oh E.L.F. primer, where have you been my whole life? I have tried numerous eylid primers--high end, drugstore and there have been some that I have enjoyed--but none quite like this. I bought this at my local Target without really expecting much. I was blown away after using it a week! This one does the job and is DIRT cheap! The wand has a doe-foot applicator and the tube isn't shaped ridiculous so you can get most of the product out when you get to the end. The most impressive thing is that the formula feels very silicone-y but it absorbs and truly works to keep the shadows from creasing. I have oily lids and this powers through an 8 hr. work day like a charm. No embarassing creasing at the end of the day. For the price you really need not spend money on anything other primer for the eyes. I will repurchase for sure.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Decobalgal on 11/1/2012 7:31:00 PM more reviews by Decobalgal

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry, Medium   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I have only recently discovered ELF to my delight, and I've been so impressed with much of their Studio line products. Their brushes are insane (just want to EAT the Kabuki and become one with it :), so many of their eyeshadows have fantastic pigmentation and creamy blendability, their blushes are great, I love the HD ones, even though they have too much pigment and have therefore been repurposed as a lipstain.

Despite being Miss Greasy Lids Extraordinaire, I nevertheless have the great fortune of having found my HG eyelid primer, the Nars Proprime. It has solved all my creasing/smearing/smudging/slipping/sliding/fading eyeshadow problems. But it is pricey, impossible to find on sale, and Ebeneezer Scrooge is in charge of filling the tubes.

So it was with great enthusiasm and optimism that I saw a meh reviewer of the Nars primer proclaim that the cheapo ELF was just as good.

Hell to the no. At least not the mineral version, which is the more highly regarded of the ELF primers.

I was so, so, so pulling for the ELF. But I did a scientific experiment (yes, I live dangerously): In the morning I put ELF on one eyelid and Nars on the other. All the rest of the makeup/eyeshadow routine was identical. At the end of the day, it wasn't even close. On a scale of 1 to 10, with Nars scoring a 10 in performance, ELF eeked out a 5. After a full day's work, there was zero creasing and slight eyeshadow fading on the Nars side. The ELF side showed a prominent crease, no shadow/pigment directly above and below the crease, and the rest of the shadow looked a greased out and much more faded.

I love me my ELF, but I won't be buying this primer again. I can see how it's a respectable performer and you can't beat the price. But for those with greasy lids who need nothing less than primer big guns, I suggest you pass on this ELF.

4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* micdeajones on 10/18/2012 12:23:00 AM more reviews by micdeajones

Age: 36-43   Skin: Acne-prone, Tan, Warm   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

This doesn't really deliver the results I expect from an eyelid primer. It makes it difficult to blend shadows and they become blotchy in spots. At times it causes my eyelids to itch and my eyes to water. I also noticed that it pools in the outer corners, leaving this whitish liquid there.

I do like the tube and the doe tip applicator. I'm going to use this for my when I make my lip gloss or some eye moisturizer.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 smsine on 9/14/2012 2:00:00 PM more reviews by smsine

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Blue    

Such a great primer! It works so so well and is only 2 dollars. Feels less greasy than the 1 dollar primer and stays on a bit longer. awesome!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 nena923 on 9/11/2012 10:40:00 AM more reviews by nena923

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I am really in between with this product I use it on the daily bases and it holds up pretty welll from 7 am to around 3-4 so I would recommend this to someone that does not have oily lids like me because it would probably last for them a lot longer. But if I were in a pinch on money I would definitely buy this again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* staci13 on 9/6/2012 5:34:00 PM more reviews by staci13

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

This product is phenomenal for the price. It does what it claims and the original price is great, and its even better when you can score with one of ELF's many sales that they have. The only setback is that after application, you have to let it dry for about a minute, which isn't a problem for me, but some impatient people may have an issue with that.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More E.L.F. products

More Eye Primer products