Neutrogena • Oil-Free Acne Wash • Cleansers

rated 2.8(914 reviews)

Average Rating.2.8
Would buy this product again.44%
Ingredients


rated 1 of 5 xbriyeon on 12/3/2013 11:19:00 PM more reviews by xbriyeon

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

The worst. WILL DRY OUT YOUR SKIN LIKE CRAZY. As well as harsh and will burn your cheeks, as it did when I used it at age 12/13. I still have faint red splotches on my cheeks now at age 20 though luckily it's not that obvious since I naturally have a slight Asian flush anyways.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* redmakeup on 12/2/2013 6:31:00 AM more reviews by redmakeup

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I should have known better. I read all the reviews about it being overly drying and the stupid marketing about it being the #1 dermatologist choice convinced me to purchase it anyways. I usually use the Clearasil Rapid Action Daily Gel Wash (which I really like the smell and the way it works, although it is a little on the liquidity side), so I thought this one would be close to it. Wrong. It did an average job at foaming up and cleaning and after I towel dried my skin I saw a dry patch that I normally wouldn't see except for when after I put on benzoyl peroxide. My Clearasil wash never caused dry spots to stand out, expecially after one wash. I half want to return it as I have sooo many washes that I already have and this one is really drying... all the other reviewers weren't kidding. I don't know what I was expecting honestly, but I really don't know why this is the #1 acne cleanser? If you have really oily skin I'm sure that this would work, but for me with combination sensitive skin and spots of surface dryness it was horrible. The odor is not that nice either. I gave it 2 stars because I do believe it would work at controlling acne if it didn't dry me out so much. It even really dried out my hands. I'm going to return this one and just stick with my Clearasil wash that works.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 77xxxx on 11/21/2013 12:02:00 PM more reviews by 77xxxx

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Tan   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

Okay so this product does probably kill off the pimples but it dries your skin like crazy definitely doesn't work as a daily face wash, because drying out your skin so much may cause to take off the essential oils in tour skin thus your skin will try to compensate and secrete more oil, so more pimples, if you're using this currently PLEASE apply Moisturizer afterwards

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 kendallhndrsn on 11/18/2013 5:49:00 PM more reviews by kendallhndrsn

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

i've used this as my shower face wash for the past few years and it has never caused me any trouble. i can definitely see it being a bit harsh on sensitive or even combination skin, and definitely harmful for dry skin. i have oily skin, so this works fairly well controlling that, but doesn't necessarily do any tremendous work healing breakouts. i would caution anyone who suspects their skin to be anything less than oil-prone to try something different before using this. it works well if you have acne issues on areas other than your face where the skin is a bit less sensitive like your back or neck, but this generally just serves as an oil-controller for me. thinking about switching to something different soon, as this doesn't actually cause much improvement for my skin.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 mnich on 11/16/2013 2:09:00 PM more reviews by mnich

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Olive, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I broke down and bought a stronger face cleanser. The only reason I chose Neutrogena is because I had used their acne body wash for pimples on my back and it always seemed to dry them out and get rid of everything nicely, quickly. I have been having more hormonal breakouts lately, not bad acne, but pimples where I never used to on my neck and cheeks.

I found this face wash to be more effective than my Vichy Spot Treatment for drying out pimples. This product is very drying though, so I only use it when I really want quick effective treatment, and even then I use it only on the areas of my face with breakout. The first few times I used it I developed some dry skin at the lower sides of my mouth so I just stopped using it all over my face.

Over all I will purchase again for the quick effectiveness: if I wash pimples with this before bed by the morning they are significantly reduced. I also make sure I moisturize and use some more holistic remedies when my skin is calmer, this is used only at the times I need some strong help.

Use in moderation is the best bet. I am also trying to balance things inside my body so that the breakouts reduce. Stress played a large role in the hormonal breakouts, so the face wash is just a treatment for the physical manifestation of imbalances going on at a deeper level.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 briella86 on 11/7/2013 6:54:00 PM more reviews by briella86

Age: 25-29   Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Worst acne face wash created. So drying and harsh. Will never buy or recommend.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 LisaVe on 11/3/2013 1:49:00 AM more reviews by LisaVe

Age: Unknown   Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

I used this cleanser in high school and it was a holy grail cleanser for me. Over the years this has caused dryness and irritation to my face and i can no longer use it. This is a good cleanser to remove makeup but it does not necessarily help to clear my acne as of right now.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* StephKatz1 on 11/3/2013 1:08:00 AM more reviews by StephKatz1

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

This thing is a great product. I have terribly acne-prone skin and this really helped a lot, I don't get crazy breakouts anymore. I use it almost everyday but only once a day (at night) because it can dry the living hell out of skin. After that i just moisturize and boom! great looking skin has happened.

Neutrogena has different types of versions of this product, there is a green one for redness soothing and the pink grapefruit which may be a lesser harsh than the original. Ladies, pick and choose your product wisely or else your face will suffer greatly and that's the last thing we want.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Vanessamucho on 11/1/2013 9:53:00 PM more reviews by Vanessamucho

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

If your face is not too sensitive, this facial wash does indeed cleanses your face quite thoroughly in just a small amount. It is suprisingly tough on heavy make up and even waterproof mascaras! It does not seem to control acne however. For me, it is better being a daily wash.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 kbono23 on 10/28/2013 3:22:00 AM more reviews by kbono23

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Olive   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Black    

teenage favorite of mine. worked well when I was young but sadly now is too drying for my adult skin. loved the hygienic pump but found it hard when travelling.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Neutrogena products

More Cleansers products