NARS Sheer Glow Foundation

3.7

1485 reviews

62% would repurchase

Package Quality: 2.9

Price: $$$$

Package Quality: 2.9

Price: $$$$

INGREDIENTS

Cyclopentasiloxane, Butylene Glycol, Glycerin, Polymethylsilsesquioxane, Dimethicone, Dimethicone/Vinyl Dimethicone Crosspolymer, Triethylhexanoin, PEG-10 Dimethicone, Bis-butyldimethicone Hectorite, Sodium Glutamate, Sorbitan Sesquiisostearate, 1-Methyl-Hydantoin-2-imide, Phenoxyethanol, Sodium Dehydroacetate, Triethoxycaprylylsilane, Polysilicone-2, Serralysin, Curcuma Longa (Turmeric) Root Extract, Glucosyl Hesperidin, Ascorbyl Glucoside, Tocopherol, [may contain: titanium dioxide, iron oxides, iron oxides]


on 3/23/2015 12:12:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

This is my current foundation and possibly one of my favourite foundations. It's a little cheaper than my favourite giorgio armani luminous silk with a very similar coverage and look. It leaves quite a matte medium coverage finish when you first apply it but gives a beautiful glow. I would say it is better for oily/combi skins as I think drier girls would find this a little too matte. It blends really easily into my skin when I apply it with my real techniques buffing brush and leaves a really flawless finish. It lasts all day on me.



on 3/22/2015 9:47:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

I got matched to this product in Fiji by a Nars salesperson at Sephora. I told him I though it was too yellow and he was like ''noooo, that's fine'', try it! I asked for a sample of it first to be sure and ta-da, it was too yellow. I'm fair with pink undertones and red cheeks, and Fidji is really yellow on me. MUFE HD in 115 is a perfect match for me, and this is far from it.

Even if it was a good match, it's not a foundation that I like, It's too sheer for me and also kind of hard to set. I will not purchase this product.


on 3/20/2015 8:21:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Other

Eyes: Green

OK so first impressions are WOW!

I have been using Estee Lauder Double Wear for the past short while, just trying to find a good foundation that covers my acne and also matches my skin well. Double wear is very good, but in retrospect, it is very thick and mask like when compared to Sheer Glow. Estee Lauder also test on animals, which is pathetic and sad. NARS don't test on animals, and are in fact vegan. Just nice to know if you're an animal lover!

So I got a sample of Sheer Glow from Mecca in Sydney, Australia. I was honestly not really expecting much for some reason. I suppose I just thought it would be too sheer for me. But I was surprised! It covers my acne and scars just as well as Double Wear does, but it doesn't have that thick mask like feeling. I honestly can't feel that it is there. Also, it spreads so easily. I only took a dab on one finger, and it easily covered my whole cheek, including very red marks.

The shades available are also very good, and the one I have from the sample matches my skin well (Mont Blanc - Light 2). I may even buy the palest shade though (Siberia - Light 1), because I think that will also be a good match and I quite like having neutral undertones, as I also powder.

Now, I have only been wearing this foundation today, so I do realise I might be jumping the gun, but I have a good feeling about this foundation. It feels really light on, and I just feel like my skin is breathing whilst still having great coverage. It feels too good to be true, so I am knocking on wood right now hoping that it doesn't let me down.

I will continue to use the sample and just hope it doesn't cause me to breakout. Having sensitive, oily, acnegenic skin is very frustrating when trying to find a foundation. You never know what's around the corner. I thought double wear was probably going to be my HG foundation, but am certainly glad I tried this sample! Fingers and toes crossed for NARS to agree with my skin.

Will update this review in 3-7 days.

UPDATE: I used this for about 2 weeks or so, until my sample ran out. I am sad to report, this definitely broke me out. I went back to the store to get samples of other things, and the lady said that a lot of oily / acne prone skin types do break out from Sheer Glow, sadly.

The crusade for the Holy Grail foundation continues...

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 3/16/2015 2:44:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Green

I was so exited to try this foundation after hearing so many great things about it, so i decided to splurge on it. This foundation is not "glowy" att all, more like a satin finish. The collor is too yellow for my pink undertone, and it didn't cover any off my readness ore any imporfections really. This is just like an OK drugstore foundation.


Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Dry, Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

Is it good? Yeah.
Is it life changing? I wouldn't say so.

For reference:
- MAC NC35
- Estee Lauder Double Wear Tawny
- I am the shade Punjab in this.

There's a lot about this foundation online, so my expectations were pretty high. The general public says it's moisturizing and good for dry skin, but I would say it's just alright for dry skin-- not super great and not horrible. To be honest, I think I might be able to get away with this in the summer when my sahara desert skin is producing some sort of moisture.

For starters: it clings. UGH. I can't say I'm not used to this. Dry skinned ladies are; we just hope that it won't every time we put something on. It's better with the beauty blender, but it still does. Granted, I'm super dry around my mouth right now. I don't think it dries me out, but I don't find it particularly hydrating either.

The finish is beautiful. I have to agree with the big shoot beauty bloggers: it makes me look like I'm glowing. It's almost like an illumination that I can't quite describe, but I just don't get the same look with my other foundations. It's satin and feels like skin.

This doesn't wear too well on me throughout the day, but then again, I don't really find that anything does. This is kind of weird due to most people with foundation not wearing well problems are oily, but hey, my skin does what my skin does.

It's also pretty high up there on the price spectrum. It isn't YSL or Armani per to say, but $45 USD a bottle is a little much. It's even more when you realize it doesn't come with a pump and you have to buy one for $6 if you're clumsy like I am. Also, it is a common complaint, but you can't take this baby anywhere if you have a pump on it. THE CAP WON'T GO ON IF YOU HAVE THE PUMP ON. You've been warned.

Despite all the problems, god the glow is gorgeous. I'm hoping that I can find something that mimics it. Also, if you're going to buy this, remember to shake before you pour/pump!

Edit: Apparently, I was still experiencing the aftermath of a pretty bad allergic reaction when I wrote this review. That, or I hadn't established a good enough skin care routine yet. All of the problems I've stated perviously still stand, but I find that most of them are at a lower rate now. I don't find that sheer glow clings as much if I apply a generous amount of both moisturizer and moisturizing primer. Some say that this is too much for them to make a foundation work, but as stated above, I really love the glow.


on 3/13/2015 3:49:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This is a great foundation. Great coverage even though the name says sheer, it is not. Gives a nice soft finish, not shiny or sticky. Very blendable too and no breakouts!!


on 3/9/2015 4:54:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Blue

I'd read soo much about this foundation and I'd honestly wanted to try it for so long after seeing so many youtubers talking about it, but if I'm completely honest I was kinda disappointed by it. I really wanted to like this as the colour match was so good (I was matched to the shade Siberia, I really struggle to find cool-toned yet pale shades) but with my dry skin in the middle of winter, it kind of just sat on my face and didn't really blend very well and looked a little streaky. I applied lots of moisturiser before as well as exfoliating well- I even tried applying it with brushes and sponges but it just seemed to make my skin look dry and to put it simply, a bit odd. I feel like this foundation might work well for me in the summer as the coverage and colour match were great, but maybe it's just not for me in the winter months.


on 3/8/2015 4:45:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I am a die hard NARS sheer matte advocate but a year ago I switched to sheer glow and was hooked. I originally used the sheer matte for my oily skin however, I found with sheer glow it stayed on longer and looked great on my skin. I'm naturally dewy FYI. I alternate between the two foundations but if I want to look less natural and caked, I use sheer glow. I absolutely would recommend this to all skin types who appreciate a natural look and face friendly products.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 3/8/2015 12:25:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I was pretty disappointed with this foundation with all the hype I've seen.

this looks terrrrrrrible if your skin is even the slightest bit dry! So bad. Never experienced a foundation aging me and looking as dry and weird as this one. And I don't even have dry skin! My skin's pretty normal/combo.
If I wear this over a radiant/moisturizing primer and ensure my chin isn't dry, I get better results. And I will say it looks the best when you apply with your fingers!!

I've had my bottle for over a year and a half now and still have about half left. too much of hassle to use and results aren't really worth it. On the rare occasion I feel willing to give this another chance, it does photograph beautifully and wears alright. The color range is good too. I have the shade deauville and it's ok for my NC25 skin.

Hate how this doesn't come with a pump. so ridiculous.


Age: 25-29

Skin: Dry, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

The only redeeming quality of this foundation is that the color Siberia is a perfect match for my NC10 skin.

I don't know why they market it for dry skin, it looks awful on dry skin. It accentuates dry patches, sinks into fine lines (I'm 29, this shouldn't be happening yet) and just looks blah on my skin. I also hate that I had to buy a pump separately for it.

I mix it with moisturizer and use it on top of a hydrating primer and only wear it when I am going out at night (so only a few hours of wear). I probably won't buy it again, it's too much of a hassle trying to make it work!


Video Reviews & Tutorials

May/Current Favorites by TheAlicehere



Top Rated NARS Products

image

Coconut Grove

29 reviews
image

Bali

35 reviews
Back to Top