Bare Escentuals Flawless Definition mascara

3.8

183 reviews

68% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.1

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.1

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

Water (Aqua), Beeswax (Cera Alba), Stearic Acid, Diisostearoyl Trimethylpropane SiloxySilicate, Acrylates/Octylacrylamide Copolymer, Euphorbia Cerifera (Candelilla) Wax, Silica, Butylene Glycol, Cetyl Alcohol, Triethanolamine, Ozokerite, Simmondsia Chinensis (Jojoba) Seed Oil, Limnanthes Alba (Meadowfoam) Seed Oil, Rhodochrosite Extract, Malachite Extract, Smithsonite Extract, Copernicia Cerifera (Carnauba) Wax, Butyrospermum Parkii (Shea Butter), Tocopheryl Acetate, Caprylyl Glycol, Phenoxyethanol. ( /-):Iron Oxides (CI 77491, CI 77492, CI 77499)


Age: 36-43

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Fine

Eyes: Other

This is an HG mascara for me. I also love Buxom Lashes, but for different reasons. Like others have said, it doesn't clump, flake or smudge. Why it is so difficult to make a mascara that doesn't is beyond me, but it's incredibly rare to find one that does - and also gives big, full, dramatic lashes.

The design of this wand is quite brilliant. It sort of "catches" at the bottom of the lashline, and has short bristles, so it manages to deposit a lot of product at the base of the lashes, acting almost like a layer of eyeliner.

It gives major definition to the eye this way, in a way no other mascara I've ever used does. I'm generally not a fan of rubberized mascara wands, but BE has perfected them, and for now I'm a convert.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.



Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Fine

Eyes: Green

I have a go-to mascara (Ulta Legendary Lengths) and it isn't too expensive. I managed to catch this mascara at a great price (around the same as my Ulta macara) so I thought what the heck? I'll try it out. I was not so impressed. It did not make my lashes clump and it did lengthen and separate my lashes... at first. It did not do a better job than my go to mascara, though. It also dried out REALLY fast. I would say my tube dried out in less than two months and I always get my full three from my Ulta mascara. If I am going to pay almost $20 for mascara, I want my full three months of use. I would use it again if I caught it for a super great price or if it came in a kit, but there is no way I would pay full price for it.


on 4/15/2012 6:10:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

By far, the best mascara I've ever worn. I swore I would always stick with drug store mascara. . . but this baby changed my mind. I can't wear anything else now. No clumps, no smudges, no flaking-- easy to apply and still looks perfect 12 hours later. It's worth the money.


on 1/23/2012 2:24:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Red, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

I bought this mascara nearly 3 weeks ago while looking for a black waterproof mascara by a cruelty free company. I really wanted the waterproof formulation cause I really detest when my mascara runs and this, true to its word is waterproof. I've worn this while crying and it hasn't ran at all. The colour of this mascara is highly pigmented and is a very dark black. The formulation is neither dry or watery but somewhere in between which is a consistency which can work for all lash types so it is very versatile. The mascara also gives more of a natural lash look and doesn't build up easily.What I didn't like about that mascara is besides it being waterproof, I did notice that it smudged a little bit and left a tiny bit of black under my eyes. Also, the bristles on the brush were so fine and close together they made my lashes clump. I have mixed feelings about this mascara, I don't love it or hate it. I probably would repurchase it if needed but I'd rather continue my search for the best mascara.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 1/19/2012 3:04:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Green

I have this in the waterproof version and adore it. This mascara really does define my lashes and makes them seem so much more longer and doll-like than they are. I have no problems with flakiness or smudging. Only issue is it's a pain to get off with my eye makeup remover lotion, but I'll deal as its the best mascara I've tried so far.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 1/8/2012 7:15:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Blue

This is a good mascara for daytime. I love the brush! It separates the lashes really well and reaches all the tiny lashes in the corners. No clumping at all! It doesn't give much volume but the result is longer, separated and natural lashes. I have this in both black and brown (espresso). I prefer espresso even if I am a brunette, it gives such a nice color. I don't use this mascara on a party or a night out but it is perfect for daytime. (I prefer a mascara with little more volume and oomph if I am going to a party).


on 12/17/2011 11:09:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Oily, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Blue

I received this mascare with my Bare Escentuals starter kit, and I was really excited to try it out. I wasn't sure how I felt about it the first time, so I continued to use it, and found out that I really didn't like it. The consistency is VERY wet, so it doesn't feel like its dry, so I always felt like my lashes were weighed down. The wand has very small bristles, but also has a lot of them. I thought that it made my lashes look like spider lashes, and I was always wiping off the wand (BIG waste of money and product), because I felt like there was WAY too much product on each individual lash. I know some people really love this mascara, but it just didnt work for me.


on 12/16/2011 5:43:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Oily, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I've gone through a couple tubes of this and I LOVE it. It's not clumpy, not super thick, not super thin, doesn't flake off.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 12/8/2011 12:59:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Fine

Eyes: Blue

The formula is thick, and very easily smears after applying it. I had to apply and then wait a few minutes before opening my eyes all the way for fear of leaving marks on the tops of my eyelids. At nights, it is very hard to get off, too. Once it is actually on, it is great, but the difficulties in getting it on just right and taking it off at night ruin this mascara for me completely.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

even though i like the volumizing version more, i still adore this mascara enough to give it five lipsticks. looking back at old pictures of myself, while i know i was using this mascara, i find myself thinking- wow! my lashes look so long and thick! my lashes are regularly pretty bad without mascara, and this one made a huge difference. gets very flaky when it starts to dry out, but so does the volumizing version, and i like to replace my mascaras often anyways to avoid eye infections and such.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


Popular Mascaras


Miss Manga
422 Reviews
Roller Lash
103 Reviews
They're Real
2006 Reviews


Top Rated Bare Escentuals Products

image

Eye Brow powder

113 reviews
image

Fruit Cocktail

57 reviews
image

Vanilla Sugar

61 reviews
image

Mineral blush

58 reviews
Back to Top