Bare Escentuals • Matte Foundation spf 15 • Powder

rated 3.5(694 reviews)

Average Rating.3.5
Would buy this product again.60%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 SmileNowCriiL8r on 3/13/2014 3:28:00 PM more reviews by SmileNowCriiL8r

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Tan   Hair: Brown, Medium   Eyes: Green    

So i bought this because I received a gift card to Sephora and have always wanted to try it.

It has a clever little package that has a twisty-motion top that keeps the product from getting all over the place during travel, so that's pretty sweet.

This has light to medium coverage. Its buildable. You have to apply one layer, wait a few minutes, and then apply the next. I use a kabuki brush from E.L.F. It actually gives a really natural finish and you don't sparkle like Edward Cullen as with most mineral foundations. It really is matte.

Make sure you get color matched for your shade and then check that color in sunlight. I have this in the Fairly Light shade.

Definitely wear a moisturizer under this or it will look horrible.

My skin is pretty sensitive to makeup and breaks out easily. This product never breaks me out so I would definitely repurchase.

Only bad thing is that It was about $30 or so, which I consider to be expensive.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 ashmaaa on 3/13/2014 11:52:00 AM more reviews by ashmaaa

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

This is the first foundation that actually feels like skin to me. Super light, breathable healthy everyday foundation. Fell in love from the first application. It costs $49 here in Singapore so i checked a lot of reviews on youtube before purchasing it and i must say 90% of the people using this were people with extremely good skin. You know the kind of people who dont even need makeup? Whereas i have terrible terrible acne scarring AND an ongoing acne party on my face all the time. Obviously i wasnt looking for coverage, i have other foundations for must-cover situations but for everyday its excellent because it just about covers my redness which is all i want for everyday.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Allymays on 2/27/2014 5:31:00 AM more reviews by Allymays

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Oily, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

Everyone's skin is different so if you want to buy this foundation you never know it could work for you. For me I just wanted to wear something lighter than my liquid foundation which is the Estée Lauder Dw btw great foundation! I actually put this mineral foundation on than a light powder of the mattify cosmetics ultra matte powder and it worked for me. People need to know it is just a mineral foundation and won't give you the best coverage so if u hate that it's not full coverage just stick to Liquid or cream foundations. And no foundation is going to control your oil 100% but just think the plus side if u have oily skin your skin will age better ;)

Overal I like it :) not love it but I like it

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 EmilyHobson on 2/12/2014 12:22:00 AM more reviews by EmilyHobson

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Tan   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

Well I had heard hype about this product forever and finally decides to give it a try. I have very oily skin and had heard it was a good product to use. Unfortunately, I was very disappointed. My face got very oily and quickly. Even more so than with liquid foundation! Maybe my expectations were too high but I really don't see why people love this. Taking it back to Ulta tomorrow.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 dstar12 on 1/29/2014 4:07:00 PM more reviews by dstar12

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

You need to be realistic with your expectations about this "foundation" (I put foundation in quotation marks because to me, this is really a power +). I bought it because I was tired of wearing liquid foundation on a daily basis, which I found quite heavy, and wanted to switch back to a more natural looking makeup routine. I also have acne prone skin and wanted to try mineral makeup sine it is supposed to be good for my skin type.

I've read this is a medium coverage, and if you gradually build it up I supposed it could be. But basically, it is a light foundation with decent oil control. I don't have bad skin right now so I just put concealer in my problem areas, and then dust this in my t-zone to take away any shine. If you're looking for super oil control and maximum coverage, this obviously isn't for you. This is a good low-maintenance foundation with a little coverage and oil control, but will not hide major imperfections or take away all your oily face problems.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Elena95 on 1/29/2014 12:01:00 PM more reviews by Elena95

Age: 19-24   Skin: Other, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

This product has been great for my acne prone skin. Before I used this product I was always wearing liquid foundations that made my skin feel very oily and made me have alot more breakouts. Now my face looks and feels alot better! The coverage is a bit light but I prefer it because it looks natural. The only problem is that when I try to get some extra coverage you can notice the powder on your face, but maybe I don't blend it enough.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 siruhi on 1/22/2014 8:42:00 PM more reviews by siruhi

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

I've got 2 mineral foundations from the different companies at the moment.Bare Minerals and Sweet Face Minerals. I sure notice the difference! Bare Minerals Matte is so satiny and velvety texture and it makes skin perfect. But damn,I got the wrong color,Light W15,which is definitely so warm shade it's not good for my ivory skin. I have to get the Fairly Light N10. I will purchase it soon,cause it is so fine result that BM Matte gives,no else foundation can do that.And I have tried lots and lots of different makeup foundations. I don't like that much of the click lock go system,because when you got some overleft product after applying,you cannot get it back there.Otherwise that is pretty good too. So I just LOVE this stuff,and the price isn't so bad I think.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 effinxmandy on 1/19/2014 6:47:00 PM more reviews by effinxmandy

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Fair   Hair: Black   Eyes: Blue    

I went through one and a half pots of the Bare Minerals Matte Mineral Foundation because a. It looked most natural and uncakey as any other foundation I've tried (& I have tried A LOT) b. A little goes a long way - the pot lasts awhile! and c. I was not dealt a lucky hand when it came to skin - my face breaks out very easily and this never broke me out - I really could sleep in it and it improved my skin overtime. But dun dun dun here is the however...

However, I have VERY oily skin which was why I opted for the matte (and I'm also very fair so the original with the sparkles in it makes me look like a 12 yr old fairy) but even with the matte and a matte finishing veil I still got very shiny 2 hrs after applying. That being said, it also oxidizes and makes it much darker. I'm as fair as they make so even slight oxidation makes it obvious I'm wearing foundation. I told an Ulta girl about this and she said that's common with the Matte mineral powder and she's also heard it makes you itch in the summer...so she steered me to the bare minerals ready foundation. It's a new formula and she raved about it. She told me she was underwhelmed with the original formula but this one is the closet to real skin texture. She applied it in the store and it looked magnificent! EDIT: I'll be reviewing the Ready Foundation. NOT magnificent.

If you are not shine prone or very, very fair then matte bare minerals will more than likely look excellent on you but it wasn't for me. The product itself isn't bad, necessarily and I wouldnt mind blotting every now and then throughout the day but the oxidation really killed it for me.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Jakkieee on 1/6/2014 1:30:00 PM more reviews by Jakkieee

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I have acne prone, dry skin. I planned on switching to powder foundation after vichy dermablend broke me out horribly.

I read that pressed powders are more likely to break you out due to the binders. I decided to go with bareminerals because it was least likely to break me out and was "buildable".

I didn't want the original because it was very shimmery, which I hate and the shimmer can break people out.

I really think this is one of the most over rated products. In Canada, it cost $36 for 5 mg. Not worth it. You need to use so much to cover anything and its patchy, especially over concealer. It takes forever to build up. The product flies all over and you inhale it, which is not good.

Shades:
The lightest shade is too dark and pink in undertone for asian or pale skin. I have nc15-20 skin.

Pros: This did reduce the appearance of pores. It looked good on my nose, but that's it.

I'm returning it...

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 wgillesp92 on 1/6/2014 1:02:00 AM more reviews by wgillesp92

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I bought this hoping that it would help with my acne and oil slick for a face, and it did the opposite. First, this product somehow made me more oily... It dried out my oily skin (which is REALLY a feat) and left me with dry, itchy, irritated red patches around my nose and on my cheeks, which subsequently made me MORE oily as my face tried to compensate for the sahara desert that had popped up after applying this. Additionally, it broke down really fast, especially on my chin, and left me with weird patchiness on my face. It also didn't cover very well unless I built it up a ton, which only worsened the dry/oily battle happening. Additionally, I hate the packaging. The black lid shows smudges really easily, and the powder makes that worse, and the whole "swirl-tap-buff" thing seems very wasteful and results in clouds of makeup dust all over everything, and I'm a bit OCD and therefore powder products like this just drive me crazy (can't do loose eyeshadow, what a nightmare) because they get stuck around the lip outside the canister and underneath the sifter cap in the foundation. DO NOT RECOMMEND AND WILL NEVER REPURCHASE! What a huge waste of money :(

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Bare Escentuals products

More Powder products