MAC • Lustre in Lady Bug • Lipstick

rated 4.4(125 reviews)

Average Rating.4.4
Would buy this product again.81%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 rocksmom on 2/2/2011 5:05:00 PM more reviews by rocksmom

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I bought this today along with See Shear (which I also wrote a review for). I applied it first from the tube and it went on pretty rich. That was a bit much for me since I'm used to wearing a gloss so I ended up applying it with a brush in a very sheer coat. The color looked much better against my fair, neutral skin than blue-based reds do. I actually like it, but it's definitely going to take some getting used. I know I'm going to be self conscious the first few times I wear it, BUT I do see myself wearing it. I've been wanting a red for some time and have tried another lipstick as well as a few glosses and none of them looked right at all. I'll definitely be sticking with Lady Bug.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 gotlipstick on 1/25/2011 10:10:00 PM more reviews by gotlipstick

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy   Eyes: Green    

I just purchased Lady Bug today after my interest was sparked reading reviews on MA. I recently purchased Chili from years of being away from red lips, and I absolutely love Chili, finish, color and all. With that said, and loving a warm matte red, I do think there is a freshness about Lady Bug. Since it's a Lustre and not a lot of texture the sheen it has makes it amazing; if it was say an Amplied formula it just wouldn't be the same for me. I'd say as a rule; matte/full texture opaque & shiny/sheer texture works for reds.....that just IMO. It has a less serious look for day than Chili when you want that fresh look. I think going into spring this will be beautiful. I used Hover liner with it today at the counter which looked nice, as you definitelty need to line with this. The color has enough of a warm yellow undertone to flatter my NC25 complexion. Who would have ever thought I'd find the "need" for another red lippie.....I just love when our little indulgences are justified. Especially if a full texture matte red seems too much for you give this beautiful color a try, it's a safe way of easing into red this season. I think it would compliment most skin tones.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Ereee on 12/28/2010 5:31:00 PM more reviews by Ereee

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

A good daytime red. Works very well with my NW20 skintone. Will repurchase!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 goldfishblowfish on 11/22/2010 9:34:00 AM more reviews by goldfishblowfish

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I got this as one of my b2m items because I wasn't sure if the color would look good on me. I'm barely an NC15, and red lippies tend to turn orange on me...even the blue based ones! I got this on the recommendation of the MUA at the counter, and I'm in love! This is the perfect 'every day' red shade. I can wear it sheer or opaque, and I haven't had any problems with it running without a lipliner. I do a lot of talking at work (which means a lot of water drinking!) and I don't have to reapply as often as I thought I would. If I could rate this a "YES!!!" I would buy again, I would :)

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 carsonrach on 11/15/2010 11:48:00 PM more reviews by carsonrach

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

I love this one. A wearable red that goes on smoothly. I can wear this to work and get compliments on it. Like most red lipstick, lipliner goes a long way on this one- Cherry or Brick are a good match.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* UDMAC on 10/15/2010 7:51:00 AM more reviews by UDMAC

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Tan   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Other    

Like everyone said, this looks great sheer or opaque. Prior to this ls, ive always worn reds matte bc red can look disastrous if it smears but the lustre finish is great, i love how it makes my lips look juicy. and my llips are comfortable while wearing this :-) however, if you wear this ls opaque, a ll is a must!! one sip and you'll have to reapply :-( for reference, im a c4/nc30 brown hair and eyes

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Ohh2pretty on 9/17/2010 1:37:00 AM more reviews by Ohh2pretty

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Tan, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I got so many compliments on this lip-color today I may never buy another! It really complimented my eye (green contacts), hair (chocolate brown tone) and tan (yellow based NC40) skin color. I have trouble finding a "red" that looks good on me. Paired with a Revlon lip pencil this really looked great!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* TinaGreece on 8/19/2010 6:16:00 AM more reviews by TinaGreece

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I too will agree with the below reviewer that it does look uneventful in the tube and had I not read the reviews I don't think I would have given it a second look. I really wanted a wearable red to wear to work and to have as a go to red without the shade screaming fire! or resembling Ronald McDonald - you get the drift. This really is a great shade! Firstly, very flattering on my skin tone (pale with warm yellow undertones) secondly, you can build it for a more intense red -which will still however look "sedated" or just apply a bit and go for a tinted/stain look. I usually apply it somewhere in between and it brightens up my look without having to wear too much makeup, just the basics. The texture is divine too-moisturising and smooth. So I'm a happy camper with this one. However I'm still on the hunt for a more daring but not naughty red I could wear on outings with a sun kissed/bronzey look, but that's another story. :)

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* jokasta on 8/6/2010 10:05:00 AM more reviews by jokasta

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Red, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

HG red lipstick! I asked the SA for a red lipstick that would also look natural and she suggested Lady Bug. It looked a bit uneventful in the tube but when worn it is the most perfect, easy red you can wear. It can go from just a hint of red tint to more dramatic depending on application and you do not have to think twice before wearing it because despite being a pure red, it isn't overpowering. It has good staying power and leaves your lips tinted red.
I have also tried other reds like Chilli and Lady Danger but despite wanting to wear them I felt too self conscious with them on. Not the case with this one as I can just apply it and do not have to think twice.
Love it!!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* ashleydutta on 8/5/2010 11:39:00 PM more reviews by ashleydutta

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

This is my favorite red lipstick - it's the perfect bright cheery cherry red without being TOO bright and loud - it's easily wearable - even in the daytime, or at the office. it's the perfect shade for me because it isn't too warm-orange based, and also not too dark/garent -just a pretty cherry red. I LOVE that it is glossy. matte red lipsticks don't look good on me, so I do not like MAC Ruby Woo. Russian Red is more matte also. this is pretty and glossy, makes your lips look kissable and like a 1950s pin up girl :). I love the texture of the lipsticks - MAC lustres and cremesheens are my favorite lipstick formula! I would definitely buy this again :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More MAC products

More Lipstick products